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INTRODUCTION
The Official Florida Driver License Handbook is produced by the Florida Department 
of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). This guide has the information 
you need to prepare for the Florida Driver License Class E Knowledge Exam and 
Driving Skills Test and to help you drive safely and lawfully.   

DISCLAIMER
The Official Florida Driver License Handbook contains many condensed and 
paraphrased points of Florida laws and provides safety advice not specifically 
addressed in the laws. The handbook is not a legal authority and is not intended 
for use in court. This handbook will not reflect any changes made by the Florida 
Legislature after the last revision date (located at the bottom of this page).  

WARNING
Florida law prohibits using a false name, making a false statement, concealing a 
material fact or otherwise using fraud in an application for a driver license or ID card. 
The penalty can be up to five years in prison, a $5,000 fine, and suspension of any 
existing driving privilege for at least one year. 

In addition, it is illegal to permit or authorize an unlicensed person to drive a motor 
vehicle and doing so can result in a 60 day jail sentence and a $500 fine. If the vehicle 
is involved in a crash resulting in bodily injury or death of any person, the person who 
permitted the unlicensed person to drive may (unless this is an automatic mandatory 
suspension) have his/her license suspended for one year. 

PUBLIC RECORDS
Florida law requires the FLHSMV to collect certain personal information during the 
licensing process. This information, which identifies licensed individuals, is used 
for records management, driver improvement, financial responsibility, and law 
enforcement purposes. If you do not provide the required information, you will not 
receive a driver license or ID card. 

Florida’s Public Records Law makes all records made or received by FLHSMV in the 
course of its official business available for inspection, unless specifically exempted by 
law. Your personal information, including name, address, and driver license number 
is exempt from public disclosure, but may be given to law enforcement agencies and 
other entities permitted by law to get the information. Your medical information, 
social security number, and emergency contact information are available only as 
specifically authorized by law.

FLHSMV strives to ensure the accuracy of the information obtained during the 
licensing process. If you discover any incorrect information, please call us at (850) 
617-2000 or mail your request with your complete name, date of birth, driver 
license number, information about the error, and any documentation to support 
your request to: Chief of the Bureau of Records, 2900 Apalachee Parkway MS 89, 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0575. Some information, such as reports of convictions 
received from a court, can only be corrected if notification from the court is received 
that the report was in error.
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PENDING FLORIDA STATUTE CHANGES FOR 2020
As of the printing of this handbook, the following legislation has passed the Florida 
Legislature and is contingent upon becoming law, or further action taken by the 
Governor.

Section 322.57, F.S.: Effective July 1, 2020, requires FLHSMV to waive the requirement 
to pass the commercial driver license skills tests for certain servicemembers and 
veterans. 

Sections 316.003, 316.008, 316.027, 316.083, 316.1995, 316.2065, 316.20655, 316.306, 
316.613, 316.614, 320.01, 320.08, 322.01, and 324.021, F.S.: Effective July 1, 2020, 
creates regulations governing the operation of electric bicycles.

Sections 322.08, 322.14, F.S.: Effective October 1, 2020, requires application forms 
for driver licenses and identification cards to include language allowing a voluntary 
contribution to Live Like Bella Childhood Cancer Foundation. Additionally, authorizes 
an optional “D” designation on the driver license of a person who has been 
diagnosed with a developmental disability. 

Sections 320.06, 320.0657, 320.08, 320.08053, 320.08056, 320.08058, 320.08062, 
320.08068, 320.0807, 320.089, 320.0891, 320.0894, F.S.: Effective October 1, 2020, 
amends several provisions of law related to specialty license plates (slps). Authorizes 
new slps and caps the number of slps in the state. Revises the presale requirements 
for the issuance of a slp. Additionally, authorizes the election of a permanent 
registration period for certain vehicles.

Section 318.18, F.S.: Effective January 1, 2021, increases the minimum civil penalty 
for failure to stop for a school bus from $100 to $200. For a subsequent offense within 
five years, FLHSMV must suspend the driver license of the driver for not less than 
six months and not more than one year. The bill also increases the minimum civil 
penalty for passing a school bus on the side that children enter and exit from $200 
to $400. For a subsequent offense within five years, FLHSMV must suspend the driver 
license of the driver for not less than one year and not more than two years.
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IMPORTANT INFO 
FOR MINOR DRIVERS
Learner’s License
•	 Must always drive accompanied 

by a licensed driver, age 21 or 
older, who rides in the closest 
seat to the right of the driver. 

•	 Must only drive during daylight 
hours during the first three 
months after earning learner’s 
license. After three months, may 
drive until 10 pm.

•	 Must have at least 50 hours driving 
experience prior to getting driver 
license, and 10 hours should be 
at night.

Age 16 with Driver License
Must not drive between 11 pm to 6 am 
unless driving to or from work OR 
accompanied by a licensed driver 
who is age 21 or older. 

Age 17 with Driver License
Must not drive between 1 am to 5 am 
unless driving to or from work OR 
accompanied by a licensed driver 
who is age 21 or older. 

Driving Record Points
Any driver under the age of 18 
who  accumulates six or more 
points within a 12 month period 
is automatically restricted for 
one year to driving for “Business 
Purposes ONLY.” 

Remember...
Always carry your driver license 
with you when driving, and always 
have proof of vehicle registration 
and insurance with you in the 
vehicle you are driving. 
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Congratulations!

If you are opening this handbook, you are 
more than likely looking to join the next 
generation of licensed drivers in Florida. 
Driving is a tremendous privilege and 
responsibility. The Florida Department of 
Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) 
provides this official Florida Driver License 
Handbook to give you the foundational 
knowledge to be safe behind the wheel and 
become a lifelong safe driver. 

Florida continues to change and evolve, and technology continues to have 
significant impacts on highway safety. In 2019, Florida adopted lifesaving 
legislation to enforce the restriction on texting, emailing and instant 
messaging behind the wheel. The decision to text and drive can have deadly 
consequences, affecting everyone on the road. I urge you: put it down and 
focus on driving. 

As we drive into the future, Florida is leading the nation in the promotion 
of automated vehicle technology to create safer vehicles and improve 
transportation options. Self-driving vehicles will soon be rolling out on our 
roadways, and I encourage you to learn more about sharing the road safely 
with these vehicles. 

Driving can unlock a world of opportunity, but this privilege also comes 
with enormous risk. Educating yourself on the various rules of the road and 
preparing for the challenges you may face are important steps in giving you 
the confidence you need to drive safely. Carefully review this handbook to 
ensure you and the millions of people who travel Florida’s roadways can 
Arrive Alive.

Terry L. Rhodes,
Executive Director
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
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Getting Ready to Drive
Before you start your engine:
	 •	 be sure vehicle is in park or neutral.
	 •	 adjust the seat so you can reach all controls.
	 •	 adjust all rear-view mirrors so that you can use them without having to lean 

forward or backward.
	 •	 move anything that blocks your view of mirrors or roadway.
	 •	 lock all car doors.
	 •	 put your seat belt on and make sure all passengers do the same.

Equipment Standards
The equipment on your car must meet certain standards.  
You may be stopped at any time by law enforcement for a vehicle inspection. 

Required Equipment
Brakes Two braking systems. Each must be able to stop the car 

alone. The parking or emergency brake should be strong 
enough to hold the car on any hill. 

Low Beam Headlights Show objects 150 feet ahead. Visible from 1,000 feet.

High Beam Headlights Show objects 450 feet ahead.  Visible from 1,000 feet.

Taillights Two red taillights. Visible from 1,000 feet.

Brake lights Two red brake lights. Visible from 300 feet in the daytime.

License Plate Light White light that makes the license plate visible from 50 feet.

Directional Signals Amber; or white (front) or red (rear). Visible from 500 feet.

Horn  Heard from a distance of 200 feet.

Mirrors At least one rear-view mirror with view 200 feet to the rear.

Windshield Wiper In good working order to clear the driver’s view.

Windshields* Must be safety glass and may not be covered or treated with 
any material that makes the windshield reflective or non-
transparent. Must be free of any stickers not required by law.

Side  & Rear Windows* May not be composed of, covered by, or treated with any 
material which has a highly reflective or mirrored appearance 
and reflects more than 25% of the light (side windows) or 
more than 35% of the light (rear window).

Tires Should have a minimum tread of at least 3/32 of an inch or 
greater, and no worn spots showing the ply.

PREPARING TO DRIVE: YOUR VEHICLE

*See FS §316.2953 and FS §316.2954 for details on window tint restrictions. 
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Equipment NOT Permitted
Red lights visible from front or blue lights. For emergency/law enforcement vehicles only.

More than two spotlights, cowl or fender lights, fog lights, or other extra lights.

A siren, bell, or whistle.

A very loud muffler (heard from more than 50 feet) or one that emits smoke.

Signs, posters, or stickers on the windshield or windows (except if required by law).

A “television-type receiver” that the driver can see.

Headsets/headphones worn by driver while operating a vehicle.

Bumper Height 
Requirements
Owners of automobiles and pickup trucks 
are required to have both front and rear 
bumpers mounted within certain height 
levels. Height limitations are governed 
by the net shipping weight of the vehicle, 
not the modified or altered weight. The 
maximum allowable heights between the 
pavement and bottom of the front and 
rear bumper are:

Vehicle Weight Front Rear

Cars < 2500 lbs. 22 in. 22 in.

Cars 2500–3499 lbs. 24 in. 26 in.

Cars ≥ 3500 lbs. 27 in. 29 in.

Trucks < 2000 lbs. 24 in. 26 in.

Trucks 2000–3000 lbs. 27 in. 29 in.

Trucks 3000–5000 lbs. 28 in. 30 in.

  EMISSIONS CONTROL DEVICES
   It is illegal to tamper with, remove, or cause  
   not to work any pollution control device on  
   your vehicle. Tampering will damage your  
   vehicle and can cause increased air pollution,  
   lower gas mileage, less vehicle efficiency,  
   breathing difficulties. 

Keep Your Car in  
Good Condition 
Brakes: Check to see that the pedal 
stays well above the floor when you 
step on it. If the car pulls to one side 
when you use the brakes or if you hear 
any scraping or squealing noises, your 
brakes may need to be repaired.

Lights: Check lights often, replace 
burned-out bulbs and keep lenses clean. 

Tires: Inspect often for proper 
inflation/tire pressure, even tread wear, 
and damage. 

Windows and Windshields:  
Keep the glass clean inside and out. 

Rear window: If the rear window is 
covered by or treated with any material 
that makes it nontransparent, the 
vehicle must be equipped with side 
mirrors on both sides that allow the 
driver a view to the rear of at least  
200 feet. 

Read your vehicle owner’s 
manual! It is an excellent resource 
for information specific to your vehicle, 
such as: what types of fluids your car 
requires, what dashboard warning lights 
mean, what your car services intervals 
are, and more.
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.................................................................................................PREPARING TO DRIVE: YOUR VEHICLE

Anti-Lock Brake System 
Anti-lock brake system (ABS) prevents 
skidding and allows drivers to steer 
during an emergency braking situation. 
ABS can help improve vehicle stability, 
steering ability, and stopping capability.

It is important to know if your vehicle 
has ABS because it will affect the way 
you should stop in an emergency 
situation. Drivers with ABS need to 
press down hard on the brake pedal, 
hold it, and steer out of danger. In 
an emergency situation, the ABS 
automatically pumps the brakes at 
a faster rate than the driver could. 
Removing steady pressure from the 
brake pedal or pumping the brakes 
will disengage or “turn off” the ABS. 
Drivers with conventional brakes must 
pump the brakes in order to stop in an 
emergency situation where traction is 
lost and the vehicle slides. 

You can determine if the vehicle has ABS 
by looking for a lighted ABS symbol on 
the dashboard right after starting the 
engine, checking the owner’s manual, or 
asking the dealer. 
 

Trailers, Towing, & Load
Equipment requirements:
	 •	 Trailer, semitrailer or pole trailer 

weighing 3,000 pounds or less: 
	 ◆	REAR—two reflectors, one at each 

side.*	
	 ◆	A brake light if the trailer or load 

blocks/hides the brake lights on 
the towing vehicle. 

	 •	 Trailer or semitrailer weighing more 
than 3,000 pounds: 

	 ◆	FRONT—two clearance lamps, one 
at each side. 

	 ◆	EACH SIDE—two side marker 
lamps, one at or near the front 
and one at or near the rear. Two 
reflectors, one at or near the front 
and one at or near the rear.

	 ◆	REAR— two clearance lamps, one 
at each side, and two reflectors, 
one at or near the front and one 
at or near the rear.*

	 ◆	Brakes that can be operated by 
the driver in the towing vehicle. 
They must be designed and 
connected so that they will 
automatically stop the trailer if 
it breaks away from the towing 
vehicle.

	 •	 Pole trailer weighing more than 
3,000 pounds: 

	 ◆	EACH SIDE—one side marker lamp 
and one clearance lamp. 

	 ◆	REAR—two reflectors, one at each 
side.*

*Every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, 
and pole trailer must have two or more 
stop lamps (one stop lamp is permitted 
on vehicles built before January 1, 1972). 
 
Drawbar or Towing Connection
The drawbar or towing connection must:
	 •	 be strong enough to pull all towed 

weight;
	 •	 not be more than 15 feet long 

unless you are towing poles, pipes, 
machinery, or other objects that 
cannot be easily taken apart; and

	 •	 have a white flag at least 12 inches 
square attached to it if it is chain, 
rope, or cable.

Securing the Load
You must not drive or move any loaded 
vehicle on the highway if the load is not 
secure. The load must not be able to 
drop, shift, leak, or otherwise escape.
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	 •	 You must use a close-fitting cover 
when hauling loads which could fall 
or blow onto the roadway (e.g., dirt, 
sand, gravel). 

	 •	 Every truck carrying logs or 
pulpwood must use lock chains to 
securely fasten the load.

Projecting Load
A load that extends beyond the sides 
of a vehicle and more than four feet or 
more beyond its rear must be clearly 
marked. During the day, red flags at 
least 18 inches square must mark the 
extremities of the load. Requirements 
from sunset to sunrise, and during any 
rain, smoke, or fog include:
	 •	 two red lamps on the back of the 

load that can be seen from at least 
500 feet to the rear;

	 •	 two red reflectors on the rear that 
can be seen from 100 to 600 feet 
when directly in front of low beam 
headlights, and located to show the 
load’s full width; and/or

	 •	 one red lamp on each side of the 
load, visible from at least 500 feet to 
show maximum overhang of load.

If the trailer or motor vehicle is 
transporting logs, pulpwood, poles, or 
posts that extend more than four feet 
beyond the rear of the load, you must 
have one amber strobe-type lamp 
equipped so that the lamp is visible from 
the rear and both sides of the projecting 
load. The lamp must be operational and 
seen any time of day or night.

Passenger vehicles must not be driven 
on any highway with a load extending 
beyond the fenders on the left side of 
the vehicle or extending more than 6 
inches beyond the line of the fenders on 
the right side. 

Slow Moving Vehicles
Farm vehicles designed for operation at 
speeds less than 25 MPH must display 

this sign on the rear when 
using public highways (not 
limited access/interstates). 
Also, these vehicles must 
only be operated during 

daylight hours unless equipped with 
the proper lights/reflectors required for 
night driving.
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PREPARING TO DRIVE: YOU—THE DRIVER

Driving an automobile is a huge responsibility. In order to drive safely, you must be 
fully engaged: hands on the wheel, eyes on the road, and mind on driving. Anything 
that affects your physical or mental condition can impair your ability to drive. 

Physical Conditions
It is important that you get regular vision, hearing, and general physical check-ups. 
Get treatment for illnesses and avoid driving when sick. Remember that whenever 
you are prescribed medication, you should ask your doctor or pharmacist how it can 
affect your driving. 

Drowsy Driving
Drowsy driving can be just as dangerous as drunk driving. Do not drive when you are 
tired. It is risky to drive drowsy because fatigue (being sleepy) can:
	 •	 slow your thought processes and reaction time;
	 •	 affect your judgment and vision; 
	 •	 impair your senses and abilities; and/or
	 •	 cause micro-sleeping (“nodding off”) or falling completely asleep.

The two main causes of drowsy driving are lack of quality/quantity of sleep  
and driving at times of the day when you would normally be sleeping.  
Avoid driving drowsy!
	 •	 Don’t drive at times when you would normally be asleep.
	 •	 Get a good night’s sleep before you travel.
	 •	 On long trips, take a break every 100 miles or 2 hours.
	 •	 If you think you might fall asleep—find a safe place to stop and take a nap.
	 •	 Use the “buddy system” and switch drivers when needed. 

Emotions
Emotions can have an effect on driving safely. You may not be able to drive safely 
if you are worried, excited, crying, angry, or depressed. Emotions can distract you 
from your driving because your mind is focused on other issues, not driving. Your 
emotional state can alter the way you react—or overreact—to driving situations. 
Take time to calm down and get focused before driving. 
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Road Rage
Road rage is violent or visibly angry 
behavior by a driver which can result in 
crashes or other incidents on roadways. 
Signs include:
	 •	 sudden acceleration or braking,
	 •	 following too closely;
	 •	 cutting off other drivers; 
	 •	 preventing other vehicles from 

merging into your lane;
	 •	 excessively hitting the horn or 

flashing headlights;
	 •	 shouting obscenities or threats;
	 •	 making obscene hand gestures;
	 •	 intentionally causing a crash; 
	 •	 getting out of a vehicle in an 

attempt to start a confrontation;
	 •	 using a weapon or threatening to 

use a weapon; and/or
	 •	 throwing objects from the vehicle. 

If another driver is threatening you 
or intentionally driving dangerously 
around you, remain calm and try to 
put as much distance between you 
and them as possible. Slow down 
and let them pass.† Do not make eye 
contact; do not make obscene gestures. 
If you need help, call *FHP (*347) or 911 

Distracted Driving
Distracted driving is extremely risky 
behavior that puts you and your 
passengers in danger, as well as 
pedestrians and bicyclists sharing the 
road. Focused attention on driving helps 
to prevent crashes. 

There are three main categories  
of driver distraction: 

CATEGORIES OF DISTRACTION
Visual taking your eyes off the road

Manual taking your hands off the 
steering wheel

Cognitive thinking about anything 
other than driving

Texting involves all three types of 
distractions, making it one of the 
most dangerous of distracted driving 
behaviors.** However, this is not the 
only cause of distracted driving. Other 
common distractions include:
	 •	 talking on a cell phone;	
	 •	 watching an object, person, or 

event outside of the vehicle; 
	 •	 reaching for an object; 
	 •	 interacting with passengers;
	 •	 eating or drinking;
	 •	 unsecured pets;
	 •	 grooming;
	 •	 adjusting radio or climate controls; 
	 •	 lighting a cigarette; and/or
	 •	 daydreaming. 

** It is illegal in Florida to operate a 
motor vehicle while texting. Florida 
law prohibits a person from operating 
a motor vehicle while using a wireless 
communications device in a handheld 
manner in a designated school crossing, 
school zone, or work zone. 

†Florida Law states that a driver must move out of the left lane when being overtaken 
from behind by another vehicle traveling at a higher rate of speed.
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.......................................................................................... PREPARING TO DRIVE: YOU—THE DRIVER

Drinking & Driving
Alcohol reduces all of the important 
skills necessary to drive safely, such 
as judgment, reaction, vision, and 
concentration. Alcohol is absorbed 
into the lining of the stomach and then 
passes directly into the bloodstream and 
reaches your brain within minutes after 
consumption. A person’s judgment is 
the first thing affected after drinking 
an alcoholic beverage. 

Even one drink of alcohol can affect your 
driving. Alcohol slows your reflexes and 
reaction time, reduces your ability to 
see clearly, and makes you less alert. 
You will have trouble judging distance, 
speed, and movement of other vehicles. 
You will also have trouble controlling 
your vehicle. 

If you drink alcohol—even just one 
drink—your chances of being in a crash 
are much greater than if you did not 
drink any alcohol. No one can drink 
alcohol and drive safely, even if you 
have been driving for many years.

Because drinking alcohol and driving 
is so dangerous, the penalties are very 
tough. People who drive after drinking 
risk heavy fines, higher insurance rates, 
loss of driver license, and even jail 
sentences. A DUI (Driving Under the 
Influence) conviction must remain on 
your driving record for 75 years.

Do Not Drink and Drive! 
	 •	 Before drinking, designate a  

sober driver.
	 •	 If you are the designated driver, do 

not drink. One drink is one  
too many.  

	 •	 If you are impaired—and did not 
designate a driver—take a taxi, call a 
sober family member, or use public 
transportation to get home safely.

	 •	 Remember, friends don’t let friends  
		  drive drunk. If you know someone  
		  who is about to drive impaired, take  
		  their keys and help them get a safe  
		  ride home. 

Drugged Driving 
Driving while impaired by drugs is illegal 
and subject to the same penalties as 
driving while impaired by alcohol. 

Besides alcohol, there are many drugs 
that can affect a person’s ability to safely 
operate a vehicle. This is true for many 
prescription drugs, as well as over-the-
counter medications for allergies and 
colds. If a person is taking medication, 
they should be sure to check the label 
for warnings about the medication’s 
effects prior to driving. If they are not 
sure it is safe to take the drug and 
drive, they should ask their doctor or 
pharmacist about any side effects.  

Alcohol and drugs should not be 
consumed at the same time. Mixing 
alcohol and drugs often multiplies the 
effects of the alcohol and any other 
drugs. For example, one drink, when 
you are also taking an allergy or cold 
medication, could have the same effect 
as several drinks.  

Illegal drugs and controlled substances, 
such as marijuana, also affect a person’s 
reflexes, judgment and alertness along 
with their many other dangerous side 
effects. These drugs can give a person 
a false sense of alertness and self-
confidence or make a person drowsy 
and unable to react to simple situations.
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Older Drivers 
As we age, physical changes require 
us to adapt so that we can continue to 
drive safely. Older drivers should:
	 •	 get regular medical and eye exams 

to identify physical and mental 
conditions that may affect driving;

	 •	 ask the doctor or pharmacist how 
medications—especially when 
taken in combination with other 
medications—affect driving;

	 •	 consult with a doctor about an 
exercise program to maintain the 
flexibility and strength needed for 
safe driving;

	 • make vehicle adjustments as 
necessary. If it becomes difficult 
to turn the steering wheel, get a 
steering knob. If you have difficulty 
turning your head to check blind 
spots, get a larger side mirror;

	 •	 avoid wearing sunglasses in dim or 
dark conditions; and

	 •	 avoid risky driving times:
	 ◆	Dusk, dawn, and nighttime.
	 ◆	Bad weather.
	 ◆	Rush-hour traffic.
	 ◆	Fast-paced highways.

The Florida GrandDriver Program 
provides information about various 
steps drivers may take to maintain 
independence as long as possible, as 
well as actions one can take to stay 
mobile in their community when no 
longer driving. To learn more, search for 
“Florida GrandDriver” on the FLHSMV 
website: flhsmv.gov. 

Florida 511 Traffic Info
Always be prepared! The Florida 511 
Traveler Information System is a toll-free 
service by the Florida Department of 
Transportation that provides real-time 
traffic information on crashes, travel 
times, congestion, lane closures, severe 
weather, and construction on Florida’s 
interstates, toll roads, and other major 
metropolitan roadways. 

There are four convenient ways for 
motorists to receive traffic updates:* 
	 •	 Call 511 (English and Spanish). 
	 •	 Visit FL511.com. 
	 •	 Download the free “Florida 511” 

app. 
	 •	 Follow any of the statewide, 

regional, or roadway-specific feeds 
on Twitter.

*Use these resources before driving—or 
when pulled over in a safe place. 
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OCCUPANT PROTECTION

Seat Belts & Child 
Restraints
Seat belts save lives, but only if worn 
correctly every time you are in a motor 
vehicle! You are far more likely to be 
killed in a crash if you are not wearing a 
seat belt. In a crash, your seat belt keeps 
you:
	 •	 from being ejected from the vehicle;
	 •	 from being thrown against other 

passengers, your steering wheel, or 
windshield; and

	 •	 behind the wheel, where you can 
control the vehicle.

Wear both the lap belt and the shoulder 
belt. Wear your lap belt around your 
hips and wear your shoulder belt across 
your chest. Your seat belt will not work if 
it is tucked behind you. Airbags are not a 
substitute for seat belts!

Florida law requires that all drivers, 
all front seat passengers, and all 
passengers under the age of 18 wear 
seat belts.* Children under age 4 must 
be in a safety seat, and children ages 4 
and 5 must be in either a safety seat or 
a booster seat. Drivers will be charged 
with a seat belt/child restraint violation 
if any passenger under the age of 18 is 
not restrained with the proper seat belt 
or child restraint device. Passengers 18 
years old or older will be charged with 
the violation if they fail to wear a seat 
belt when required by law.  

In 2019, more than 204,000 Florida teen 
drivers received citations, of which 5,179 
were for seat belt violations.  
(Source: FLHSMV.)

Each passenger on a school bus 
equipped with safety belts or restraint 
systems shall wear a properly adjusted 
and fastened school safety belt at 
all times while the school bus is in 
operation. 

Florida law exempts the following from 
the seat belt requirements:
	 •	 A person certified by a physician 

as having a medical condition 
that causes seat belt use to be 
inappropriate or dangerous. (Keep 
a copy of certification while driving/
being driven.)

	 •	 Employee of a newspaper home 
delivery service while delivering 
newspapers.

	 •	 School buses purchased new prior 
to December 31, 2000.

	 •	 Buses used for transportation of 
persons for compensation.

	 •	 Farm equipment.
	 •	 Trucks of a net weight of more than 

26,000 pounds.
	 •	 A seat belt (without booster seat) 

may only be used for children 
4–5 years of age when the driver 
is not a member of the child’s 
immediate family and the child is 
being transported as a favor or in an 
emergency.

It is the parent or guardian’s 
responsibility to supply the proper 
child restraint when transporting a 
child in a vehicle for hire (e.g., taxi, bus, 
limousine).

*Some exemptions apply to cars manufactured 
prior to 1968 and trucks prior to 1972. 
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The best child seat is one that fits your child, fits your car, and that you will use 
correctly every time. Read the car seat’s instruction manual and the portion of your 
vehicle’s owner manual on car seat installation. In passenger vehicles, children 
under 13 should be secured in the rear seat; airbags can injure or kill young children 
in the front seat. Never place a rear-facing car seat in front of an airbag.  

Leaving Children Unsupervised in Motor Vehicles
Never leave a child unattended or unsupervised in a motor vehicle; it is extremely 
dangerous and can result in the child’s injury or death! Florida law states that a 
parent, legal guardian, or other person responsible for a child younger than 6 years 
of age must not leave the child unattended or unsupervised for any period of time if 
the motor of the vehicle is running, the health of the child is in danger, or the child 
appears to be in distress. A violation of this law is a second degree misdemeanor; 
a violation that causes great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent 
disfigurement to a child is considered a third degree felony.

BUCKLE UP
AND CHOOSE THE RIGHT SEAT
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TRAFFIC CONTROLS

Pavement Markings
Lines, symbols, and words are painted on roadways to help 
direct drivers and control traffic flow. You must know what the 
different lines, colors, and symbols mean and obey them.

Unless you are turning, exiting a highway, or changing lanes, 
always stay between the lines marking your lane.

Edge Lines
Solid lines along the side of the road mark the right or left 
edge of the roadway. 
	 •	 Single solid white line. Marks the right edge of the 

roadway.
	 •	 Single solid yellow line. Marks the left edge of the 

roadway on divided highways and one-way streets. 

White Lane Lines
White lane lines separate lanes of traffic moving in the same 
direction. 
	 •	 Single broken white line. You may cross this line to 

change lanes when it is safe to do so.
	 •	 Single solid white line. You may travel in the same 

direction on both sides of this line, but do not cross the 
line unless you must do so to avoid a hazard. Also used to 
discourage lane changes near intersections.

	 •	 Double solid white lines. Crossing a double solid line/
changing lanes is not allowed. 
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Yellow Lane Lines
Yellow lane lines separate lanes of traffic moving in opposite 
directions. 
	 •	 Single broken yellow line. Stay to the right of the line. 

You may cross this line to pass a car ahead of you on the 
left only when it is safe to do so. 

	 •	 Double solid yellow lines. Vehicles moving in either 
direction must not pass/cross these lines (unless turning 
left when it is safe to do so).

	 •	 Double yellow lines–solid on right (“your side” of line), 
broken on left. Passing is not allowed in this lane. (May 
turn left when safe to do so.)

	 •	 Double yellow lines–broken on right (“your side” of 
line), solid on left. Passing is permitted in this lane when 
safe to do so.

Turn Lanes
Arrows are often used with white lane lines to show which turn 
may be made from the lane.
	 •	 Lane is marked with a curved arrow and the word “ONLY”: 

you must turn in the direction of the arrow. 
	 •	 Lane is marked with both a curved and straight arrow: you 

may either turn or go straight.
	 •	 Two-way roadway with center lane: drivers from either 

direction may use the center lane for left turns; you must 
not use for passing.

Reversible Lanes
Some highways have reversible traffic lanes to help handle 
rush-hour traffic. The direction of traffic is normally reversed 
at set times each day. These lanes are marked with special 
pavement markings, lane signals, and signs. 

Bicycle Lanes
Some roads have pavement markings that show lanes 
specifically designated for the exclusive use of bicycles or for 
shared use. 
	 •	 Exclusive bike lane. Solid white lines separate these bike 

lanes from motor vehicle travel lanes. Often marked with 
bike lane signs/symbols. 

	 •	 Shared-use lane. Marked with “sharrows.” These 
markings alert motorists that bicyclists may use the entire 
lane, indicate to bicyclists where to ride, and discourage 
bicycling in the wrong direction. 
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White Stop Lines 
Stop lines show where you must stop for a stop sign or red light. 
You must stop your vehicle before any part of it crosses  
the line before the crosswalk.

Crosswalks
Marked with solid white lines and sometimes filled with white 
diagonal or perpendicular lines. Shows where pedestrians should 
cross. Motorists must always yield the right-of-way to pedestrians in a crosswalk.  

Other Markings
	 •	 Curbs are often marked yellow in no parking zones near fire hydrants or 

intersections. 
	 •	 Yellow or white diagonal stripes mark fixed obstructions (medians, no parking 

zones, etc.).
	 •	 It is illegal to park in or drive through areas that have pavement markings 

indicating fire lanes or safety zones.

Traffic Signs

TRAFFIC SIGN COLORS
Red Stop. Do not enter. Wrong way. Yield.

Orange Construction and maintenance warning.

Yellow General warning. Advisory of unexpected 
roadway conditions.

Fluorescent 
Yellow Green

High emphasis warning of school, pedestrian, 
and bicycling activity.

White/Black Regulatory. Control traffic; set limits, or give 
commands.

Green Guide, or directional information.

Blue Driver guidance. It is also used to identify 
parking spaces for disabled drivers.

Brown Areas of public recreation, cultural, and 
historical significance.
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Traffic Sign Shapes

Octagon
Stop

Triangle
Yield

Diamond
Warn of existing or 
possible hazards 

Pennant
No passing zones 

Rectangle 
(Horizontal)

Guide 

Crossbuck
Railroad crossing

Rectangle (Vert) 
Set rules
on Road 

Pentagon
School advance/
school crossing 

Round
Railroad 

advance warning 

Stop sign. You must bring your vehicle to a complete halt at 
the stop line. If there is no stop line, stop before entering the 
crosswalk. If there is no marked crosswalk, stop before entering 
the intersection at a point near the intersecting roadway where 
you have a clear view of approaching traffic.

Four-way stop. Traffic from all four directions must stop. 
Vehicles proceed through the intersection in the order that 
they arrived at the intersection; the first vehicle to reach the 
intersection should move forward first. If vehicles arrive at 
approximately the same time, each driver must yield to the 
drivers on their right.

Yield. You must slow down and give vehicles crossing your path 
the right-of-way. If the way is clear, you may move forward slowly 
without stopping. 

Do Not Enter. On one-way streets and roadways that you 
are not allowed to enter. You may see this sign if you enter an 
expressway ramp in the wrong direction. Turn around!

Wrong Way. You are going the wrong way. Do not drive past 
this sign! Turn around immediately.

No Passing. You are entering a no passing zone.

Regulatory Signs
Regulatory signs control traffic; they set limits or give commands  
and are enforceable by law. 
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Pass with Care. You are allowed to pass, but do so with caution. 

NO symbol. Red circle with red slash. The sign shows what you 
are not allowed to do.

No U-Turn. You must not make a complete turn to go in the 
opposite direction where this sign is displayed. 

No Right Turn. You must not make a right turn at this 
intersection.

Speed Limit. Your speed must not exceed the posted speed in 
this area. 

Speeding Fines Doubled. Posted in active school and  
work zones. Fines will be doubled if you are cited for speeding  
in this area.

Must Turn. You cannot go straight ahead. You must turn either 
to the right or left.  

One Way. You must travel only in the direction of the arrow.

Keep Right. Stay to the right of the divider.

No Turn on Red. You must not turn right or left during the red 
light. You must wait for the green signal.

Left Lane Must Turn. Traffic in the left lane must turn left at 
the intersection ahead (also Right Lane Must Turn).

Turn Lanes. At the intersection ahead, traffic in the left lane 
must turn left and traffic in the adjoining lane may turn left or 
continue straight ahead.



BEGIN
RIGHT TURN LANE

YIELD TO BIKES
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No Turns. You must not turn either to the right or to the left at this 
intersection.

Center Turn Lane. The center lane is shared for left turns in both 
directions of travel.

Begin Right Turn. When entering a right turn lane you may 
encounter bicyclists traveling straight; you must yield to the bicyclists.

Exit Speed. This sign lists the maximum safe speed for an exit ramp 
on an expressway. Slow down to the posted speed.

Slower Traffic Keep Right. Slower driving traffic must stay in the 
right lane unless passing. Slower traffic must move out of the left lane 
when being overtaken by a faster vehicle. 

Restricted Lane Ahead. A diamond-shaped marking shows that a 
lane is reserved for certain purposes or certain vehicles, such as buses 
or carpool vehicles during rush hour traffic. Also used in bike lanes.

Emergency Stopping Only. You must only stop for emergencies.

No Parking on Pavement. If you stop, you must always park off 
the pavement of the roadway.

Parking by Disabled Permit Only. Parking in this space is 
only for vehicles displaying an official disabled parking permit and 
transporting a person with a disability.

Move Over. When approaching stopped emergency or service 
vehicles with flashing lights, you must move over a lane. If you can’t 
move over, reduce speed to 20 MPH below the posted limit. 

Reduction of Lanes.  There will be fewer lanes ahead. The right 
lane ends and traffic must merge left. Drivers in the left lane should 
allow others to merge smoothly. 

Divided Highway Ahead. The highway ahead is divided by a 
median or physical barrier. Keep to the right.

Warning Signs
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Divided Highway Ends. The divided highway on which you are 
traveling ends 350 to 500 feet ahead. You will then be on a roadway with 
two-way traffic. Keep to the right.

Merging Traffic. You are coming to a point where another traffic lane 
joins the one you are on. Watch for other traffic and be ready to yield 
the right-of-way when necessary.

Pavement Ends. The paved surface ahead changes to a gravel or 
earth road.

Low Clearance. Do not enter if your vehicle is taller than the height 
listed on the sign.

Slippery Surface. In wet weather, drive slowly. Do not speed up or 
brake quickly. Make turns at a very slow speed.

Dip. There is a low place in the road. Go slowly and be ready to stop 
and turn around if the dip is filled with water.

Bicycle Crossing. A bike-way crosses the roadway ahead. Watch for 
bicyclists.

Pedestrian Crossing. Watch for people crossing the street. Slow 
down or stop to yield for pedestrians.

Animal Crossing. The animal pictured on the sign is common in this 
area; watch for animals crossing the road particularly during twilight 
and nighttime hours.

Truck Crossing. Watch for trucks entering or crossing the roadway.

Narrow Bridge. The bridge is wide enough to accommodate two 
lanes of traffic, but with very little clearance. Stay in your lane.

One Lane Bridge. The bridge is wide enough for only one vehicle at a 
time. Make sure the bridge is clear of oncoming traffic before you cross.

Soft Shoulder. The ground on the side of the road is soft. Don’t leave 
the pavement except in an emergency.
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Right Curve. The road will curve to the right. Slow your speed and do 
not pass other vehicles. 

Double Curve. The road will curve to the right, then to the left. Slow 
your speed and do not pass other vehicles.

Winding Road. There are several curves ahead. Drive slowly and 
carefully and do not pass other vehicles.

Cross Road. A road crosses the main highway ahead. Look to the left 
and right for other traffic.

Side Road. Another road enters the highway from the direction 
shown. Watch for traffic from that direction.

Sharp Right Turn. The road will make a sharp turn to the right. 
Slow your speed and do not pass other vehicles. 

Hill/Downgrade. The road goes downhill ahead. Slow down and be 
ready to shift to lower gear to control speed.

Advisory Speed Sign. The highest safe speed you should travel 
around the curve ahead is the one posted. Advisory speed signs may be 
used with any warning sign. 

Speed Reduction Sign. Advance notice to upcoming speed limit 
change.

Yield Ahead. Yield sign ahead. Slow down and be prepared to stop at 
a yield sign or adjust speed to traffic.

Traffic Signal Ahead. A traffic signal is at the intersection ahead. 
Slow down; poor visibility is likely.

Stop Sign Ahead. Slow down and be ready to stop at the stop sign.

Two-Way Traffic Ahead.  The one-way street or roadway is about 
to change to two-way traffic; there will be oncoming traffic.

Roundabout Circle. Provides advance notice of a roundabout. 
Prepare to slow down and possibly yield to traffic in the roundabout.
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Informational Signs 
Green Guide Signs give information about directions and 
distances. East-West routes have even numbers and North-South  
have odd numbers. In Florida, mile markers indicate your location  
on an interstate and match with exit numbers.

Blue and White Service Signs direct you to services,  
such as gas, food, motels, and hospitals. 

Brown and White Signs point out scenic areas, parks,  
and areas of cultural/historical significance.

The Florida Department of Transportation’s 511 Traffic 
Information Service provides real-time traffic updates.

Traffic Signals
Traffic signals are placed at intersections to keep traffic moving 
and to help prevent crashes. Drivers, pedestrians, and bicycle 
riders must obey these signals except when an officer is directing 
traffic. If a traffic signal is out of order and law enforcement is 
not present, treat the light/intersection as a four-way stop sign 
(p. 16). 

Steady Signal Lights
Red Light
	 •	 Come to a complete stop at the stop line. Remain stopped 

until the light turns green.
	 •	 Don’t stop too far away from the stop line. Some signals 

change only when their sensors detect vehicles at the stop 
line.

	 •	 After stopping, you may turn right if there is not a NO TURN ON 
RED sign and the way is clear.

	 •	 You may turn left from a one-way street onto a one-way street 
that has traffic moving to the left.

	 •	 Before turning, you must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians 
in the crosswalk and oncoming traffic.

	 • 	 Running (driving through) the red light is against the law 
and is extremely dangerous! 

Yellow Light
	 •	 Warning—the light is changing to red. 
	 •	 Stop if you can safely do so. It is extremely dangerous to be in 

an intersection when the light turns red. 
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Green Light
	 •	 Go, but only if the intersection is clear. 
	 •	 Yield to pedestrians in the crosswalk and vehicles still in the intersection.
	 •	 Approach at a speed that will allow you to slow down if the light changes. 
	 •	 When turning left, you must yield to oncoming traffic and pedestrians.
Red Arrow
	 •	 Do not make the movement shown by the arrow until the green light 

appears. 
	 •	 After stopping, you may turn right if there is not a NO TURN ON RED sign 

and the way is clear.
	 •	 You may turn left from a one-way street onto a one-way street that has 

traffic moving to the left.
	 •	 You must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians in the crosswalk and 

oncoming traffic.
Yellow Arrow (steady)
	 •	 The green arrow is ending or the light is about to turn red.  
	 •	 Stop if you can safely do so.  
Yellow Arrow (flashing)
	 •	 Turns are allowed in the direction of the arrow. 
	 •	 The oncoming traffic has a green light. Yield to oncoming traffic and 

pedestrians. 
Green Arrow
	 •	 You may make a turn in the direction of the arrow. 
	 •	 If the red light is illuminated at the same time, you must be in the proper 

lane for such a turn.
	 •	 You must yield the right-of-way to vehicles and pedestrians in the 

intersection.

Flashing Signal Lights 
Flashing Red Light. Used at dangerous intersections. Treat it like a stop 
sign; stop and proceed when safe. 
Flashing Yellow Light. Used at, or just before, dangerous intersections.  
Also used to alert you to a warning sign such as a school crossing or sharp 
curve. Proceed with caution. 

Lane Signals
Lane signals are used:
	 •	 when the direction of the flow of traffic changes during the day;
	 •	 to show that a toll booth is open or closed; or
	 •	 to show which lanes are opened or closed. 

Red X. Never drive in a lane under the red X.  
Yellow X. The lane signal is about to turn red. 
Green Arrow. You may use this lane and you must also obey all other 
signs and signals.
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Ramp Signals
Ramp signals:
	 •	 control the rate of vehicles entering an expressway; and 
	 •	 alternate between red and green; you must wait for the green 

signal before entering the expressway. 

Pedestrian Signals
Pedestrian signals show words or pictures to indicate when it is 
safe—or not—to use the crosswalk.

WALK or walking person. You may begin to cross the street.

DON’T WALK or raised hand. Never enter the crosswalk or begin 
crossing the street when the raised hand is flashing or solid. If 
you are already in the crosswalk when this signal begins flashing, 
quickly finish crossing the street.

Countdown Signal. The countdown starts at the beginning of the 
DON’T START (flashing hand phase) and ends with a zero and a 
DON’T WALK (solid hand) phase. Once the countdown starts and 
the hand is flashing, it is no longer safe to enter the crosswalk. 

Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacon. Push the button to activate 
the signal. Once the lights begin to flash and the approaching 
traffic stops, use the crosswalk. Motorists must stop and yield to 
pedestrians in the crosswalk. 

High-Intensity Activated Crosswalk (HAWK).  
When approaching a pedestrian signal with NO LIGHT, if the 
intersection is clear, go. 

If there is a YELLOW FLASHING LIGHT, slow down, because this 
light indicates that a pedestrian has activated the push button. 
Approach at a speed that will allow you to stop if the light changes.

If there is a YELLOW STEADY LIGHT, prepare to stop.

If there is a RED STEADY LIGHT, stop for pedestrian in crosswalk.

If there is a RED FLASHING LIGHT, proceed with caution. If no 
pedestrian is present and the intersection is clear, go.
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School Zone Signs & Signals
School Sign. You are near a school. Watch for children at all 
times, not just during school hours.

School Crossing. Slow down and watch for children crossing the 
road. Stop if necessary. Obey signals from any crossing guards.

Begin School Zone. Do not exceed the school zone speed limit 
during indicated times or when light is flashing.

End School Zone. Marks the end of a reduced speed school zone.

Railroad Crossing Signs & Signals
There are several signs, signals, and pavement markings that 
indicate highway-railroad crossings. When you see any of these, 
slow down and be ready to stop. Do not stop on the railroad 
tracks or within 15 feet of the crossing. 

Any driver, bicyclist or pedestrian approaching a railroad-
highway crossing must stop within 50 feet, but not less than 15 
feet, from the nearest rail of the railroad when:
	 • the warning devices are flashing;
	 •	 the crossing gate is lowered;
	 •	 a human flagger is warning of an approaching train; and/or
	 •	 an approaching train is clearly visible.  

Pavement Marking. Markings may be painted on the paved 
approach to a crossing before the stop line. 

Advance Warning Sign. This is usually the first sign you see 
when approaching a highway-railroad crossing. 

Crossbuck Sign. These are yield signs; you must yield the 
right-of-way to trains. A sign below the crossbuck will show the 
number of tracks if there is more than one track.

Flashing Red Light Signals. At many crossings, the crossbuck 
sign has flashing red lights and bells. When the lights begin to 
flash, stop immediately! A train  
is approaching.

Gates. Many crossings have gates with flashing red lights and 
bells. Stop when the lights begin to flash and before the gate 
lowers across your road lane. It is against the law to drive 
around or under a crossing gate—either down or while being 
opened or closed—and it is extremely dangerous. 

Zones of Caution
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Remember:
	 •	 Slow down when approaching railroad crossings.
	 •	 Be prepared to stop especially when following buses or 

trucks; many are required to stop at railroad crossings even 
when gates are up/lights are not flashing.  

	 •	 If there is more than one track, make sure all tracks are clear 
before crossing. 

	 •	 In heavy traffic, make sure there is room for your vehicle on 
the other side of the track before crossing.

	 •	 Trains often appear to be traveling at a slower speed than 
they actually are, and they cannot stop quickly. Don’t try to 
“beat the train;” the train always wins.

Drawbridge Signs & Signals
Drawbridges are mechanical bridges over navigable waters that 
raise or turn to allow marine traffic to go under them.

Flashing Yellow Signal. When the yellow light is flashing, the 
drawbridge is in operation. Slow down and prepare to stop.

Drawbridge Signal
	 •	 Red. Come to a complete stop at the marked stop line. 

The bridge is in operation and the roadway is closed to all 
pedestrian and motor vehicle traffic.

	 •	 Yellow. The light is about to turn red. Stop if you can safely 
do so. The bridge is about to start operation. 

	 •	 Green. Proceed with caution.

Gates. Many drawbridges have gates with flashing red lights 
and bells. Stop when the lights begin to flash and before the 
gate lowers across your road lane. It is against the law to drive 
around or under a crossing gate—either down or while being 
opened or closed—and it is extremely dangerous.
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Construction/Maintenance Signs & Signals
Various traffic control devices are used in road construction 
and maintenance work areas to direct drivers and pedestrians 
safely through the work site. Be prepared to reduce your 
speed and use caution when directed to do so by a sign, 
flagger, or law enforcement officer. Failure to do so is illegal 
and is dangerous to those working in the construction 
zone. (Signs will indicate where speeding fines will be doubled 
when workers are present).

Construction and Maintenance Signs. The signs—usually 
diamond shaped and/or orange in color—notify drivers of 
unusual or potentially dangerous conditions near work areas. 

Channeling Devices include barricades, vertical panels, 
drums and cones. Stripes on barricades and panel devices 
slope downward in the direction traffic must travel. These 
devices alert drivers of unusual or potentially dangerous 
conditions in roadway and work zones. These devices may be 
equipped with warning lights at night time to guide drivers 
safely.

Flashing Arrow Panels. Used both during the day and at 
night to give advance warning and directional information 
when it is necessary to move to another lane.

Flaggers. People who work in roadway construction/
maintenance zones to stop, slow, or guide traffic safely 
through the area. Flaggers wear bright colored/fluorescent 
vests or jackets and use red flags or signs to direct traffic 
through work zones.
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Speed Limits
Obeying speed limits improves safety by reducing the probability and severity of 
crashes. Speed limit signs tell you the maximum safe speed when both weather 
conditions and visibility are favorable. 

Speeding is extremely dangerous. The faster you drive, the greater the impact or 
striking power of your vehicle:
	 • When you double the speed of a car, you increase its force of impact four times.
	 • When you triple the speed of a car, you increase its force of impact  

nine times.

Speeding is against the law. You must obey the speed limit and you are responsible 
for knowing the speed limit when you are driving. (The “speeding buffer” is a 
myth; you are not “allowed” to drive up to 10 MPH over the speed limit.) Observe 
and obey posted speed limit signs. Speeding is the #1 citation written for teens. 
(Source: FLHSMV)

Florida Standard Speed Limits
School Zones 20 MPH

Municipal, Business, or Residential Area 30 MPH*

Streets and Highways 55 MPH*

Limited Access Highways (see definition pg. 34) 70 MPH

* Maximum speed except where otherwise posted.

Speed limits show the fastest speed you may drive under favorable conditions. You 
are responsible for adjusting your driving speed to the weather, roadway, and traffic 
conditions. For example, during a storm, you should drive slower than the posted 
speed limit. The safest speed is the one that allows you to have complete control 
of your vehicle and avoid collisions.

However, driving too slowly is also against Florida law. You must not drive so slowly 
that you block or delay traffic moving at normal, safe speeds. You should drive 
with the flow of traffic, within the speed limit. When driving slower than the flow of 
traffic, keep right so others may safely pass. On highways, when the posted speed 
limit is 70 MPH, the minimum speed limit is 50 MPH.

DRIVING SAFELY
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Braking Distance 
Perception Distance: how far your vehicle travels—in favorable weather 
conditions—from the time your eyes see a hazard until your brain recognizes it. 
Perception distance can be affected by mental and physical conditions, medication, 
as well as visibility and the hazard itself. The average perception time for an alert 
driver is ¾ second to 1 second.

Reaction Distance: how far you will continue to travel after seeing the hazard 
until you physically hit the brakes. The average driver has a reaction time of ¾ 
second to 1 second. At 50 MPH, this accounts for 55 feet traveled.

Braking Distance: how far your vehicle will travel—in favorable weather 
conditions— while you are braking. At 50 MPH, on dry pavement and with good 
brakes, it can take about 158 feet.

High speeds greatly increase stopping distances and severity of crashes. The faster 
you drive, the greater the impact or striking power of your vehicle. 
	 •	 Doubling the speed means the braking distance and impact are 4 times greater. 
	 •	 Tripling the speed means the braking distance and impact are 9 times greater. 

(Stopping distance is equal to a football field.) 
	 •	 Quadrupling the speed means the braking distance and impact are 16 times 

greater. 

Total Stopping Distance: the total minimum distance your vehicle will travel—
including perception distance, reaction distance, and braking distance—until you 
can bring your vehicle to a complete stop. At 50 MPH, you will travel a minimum of 
268 feet...nearly the length of a football field. 

EN
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Smooth Stops
Stopping suddenly is dangerous and is 
usually caused by not paying attention 
to the traffic flow or following others 
too closely. Sudden stops make it 
difficult for drivers behind you to avoid 
a rear-end collision. To ensure you are 
stopping smoothly:
	 •	 Check all mirrors and blind spots for 

traffic to the rear. 
	 •	 Release the accelerator to allow 

the vehicle to slow. Press the brake 
pedal to activate brake lights and 
use a steady pressure. 

Making Turns
	 •	 You must use vehicle directional 

signals or hand signals to show other 
drivers that you are turning.  

	 •	 Turn signals are also required 
by law when changing lanes or 
overtaking a vehicle. 

	 •	 You must give a 
turn signal for 
at least 100 feet 
BEFORE you 
make your turn. 

	 •	 It is against 
the law to use 
your directional 
signals to tell 
drivers behind 
you that they can 
pass.

	 •	 Hand signals 
must be given 
from the left side 
of the vehicle.  

Turning a corner may seem to be a 
simple operation, but many traffic 
crashes are caused by drivers who do 
not turn correctly.
	 1.	 Slow down to a safe turning 

speed.
	 2.	 Move into the correct lane as you 

near the intersection. The correct 
lane for a right turn is the right-most 
lane. 

	 3.	 You must activate your turn signal 
at least 100 feet before making your 
turn. Allow time for drivers around 
you to see your signal before you 
move.

	 4.	 Obey any NO TURN ON RED or  
STOP HERE signs.

	 5.	 Yield to bicyclists when crossing a 
bike lane and to pedestrians who 
may be crossing your path.

	 6.	 Stay in the proper lane during 
your turn. Yield the right-of-way to 
vehicles and bicycles coming from 
the opposite direction. 

	 7.	 Finish your turn in the proper lane. 
Turn right into the right lane of the 
roadway entered. A left turn may 
be completed in any lane lawfully 
available—or safe—for the desired 
direction of travel. 

Never make last minute turns. If you 
reach an intersection where you wish 
to turn and are not in the proper lane, 
drive to the next intersection and then 
make the turn from the proper lane.

*Note: Bicyclists may extend right hand and 
arm horizontally from right side of bicycle for 
right turn.
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Intersections
Many intersections are marked with stop 
lines to show where you must come to 
a complete stop. Always stop behind 
stop lines. After a complete stop, you 
must yield the right-of-way to all other 
traffic already in the intersection and to 
pedestrians. Move forward only when 
the road is clear. 

Vehicles proceed through the 
intersection in the order that they 
arrived at the intersection; the first 
vehicle to reach the intersection should 
move forward first. If vehicles arrive 
at approximately the same time, each 
driver must yield to the drivers on their 
right.

At a two-way stop, the turning vehicle 
yields to the vehicle going straight. 

Open Intersections
An open intersection is one without 
traffic control signs or signals. When you 
enter an open intersection, you must 
yield the right-of-way if:
	 •	 a vehicle is already in the 

intersection;
	 •	 you enter or cross a state highway 

from a secondary road;

Three-Point Turn 
Sometimes you will need to turn around 
in a very small space. Use a three-point 
turn only if the road is too narrow for 
a U-turn and you can’t go around the 
block. 

To make a three-point turn: 
	 1.	 Move as far right as possible, check 

traffic, and signal a left turn. Turn 
the steering wheel sharply to the 
left and move forward slowly. Stop 
at the curb.

	 2.	 Shift to reverse, turn your wheels 
sharply to the right, check traffic, 
and back your vehicle to the right 
curb. 

	 3.	 Shift the vehicle into drive and pull 
forward carefully. 

Never make a three-point turn or a 
U-turn on a curve, a hill, the highway, 
or where there is a sign that prohibits 
U-turns. Right-of-way rules tell you 

who goes first and who must wait 
in different conditions. The law 
says who must yield (give up) 
the right-of-way. Every driver, 
motorcyclist, moped rider, 
bicyclist, and pedestrian must do 
everything possible to avoid  
a crash.
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	 •	 you enter a paved road from an 
unpaved road; or

	 •	 you plan to make a left turn and 
a vehicle is approaching from the 
opposite direction.

Roundabouts
A roundabout is a circular intersection 
with no traffic signal.  
	 •	 Roundabouts travel in a one-way 

counter-clockwise direction. 
	 •	 Drivers entering the roundabout 

must yield to traffic already in the 
roundabout. 

	 •	 If there is no traffic in the 
roundabout, you may enter without 
yielding.

	 •	 Do not change lanes in the 
roundabout. 

	 •	 Do not stop in a roundabout.
	 •	 Signal before exiting the 

roundabout. 

Multi-Lane Roundabouts: 
have the same rules as single-lane 
roundabouts, however you will need to 
choose the proper lane prior to entering 
the roundabout. To go straight or right, 
use the right lane. To go straight or left, 
and to make a U-turn, use the left lane. 

Prior to entering or exiting the 
roundabout, drivers must yield to 
pedestrians in the crosswalks. Bicyclists 
may take the lane in the roundabout or 
use the sidewalk.

Driveways
Drivers entering a road from a driveway, 
alley, or roadside must yield to vehicles 
already on the main road, as well as 
to pedestrians and bicyclists on the 
sidewalk or in bike lanes. 

Traffic Lanes
On a two-lane highway you must 
always drive in the right lane unless 
you are overtaking and passing (where 
permitted). 

If the road has four or more lanes with 
two-way traffic, drive in the right lanes 
except when overtaking and passing. 

The center lane of a three-lane or five-
lane highway is used only for turning 
left.

HOV Lanes. Some highways reserve 
the left lane for vehicles with two or 
more occupants or hybrid/low emission 
vehicles (LEV). LEVs require a decal and 
completion of FLHSMV Form 83027. 
These High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) 
lanes are identified by signs/diamond 
pavement symbols, and are separated 
by a striped buffer zone. Vehicles may 
enter and exit the HOV lane only at 
designated points. 

Bike Lanes. Motorized vehicles are 
not allowed to drive in bike lanes; they 
may cross over them when turning 
at intersections, but only when no 
bicyclists are present in the bike lane.
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Red Reflectors.  
Red reflectors on lane lines always mean 
you are facing traffic the wrong way and 
could have a head-on collision.
	 • If you see red reflectors facing you on 

the lane lines, you are on the wrong 
side of the road. Turn around or get 
into the proper lane immediately!

	 • If you see red reflectors on the edge 
lines of the road, you are going the 
wrong way on an entrance or exit 
ramp. Pull over immediately! Turn 
around when it is safe to do so.  

Safe Following 
Distances
Rear-end collisions are almost always 
caused by drivers following too closely. 
Maintaining a large enough following 
distance (the space between you and 
the vehicle in front of you) greatly helps 
avoid a collision with the vehicle in front 
of you. The more distance between 
your vehicle and others, the more time 
you have to react. Keep a minimum 
following distance of four seconds 
during favorable weather and traffic 
conditions. (Increase following distance 
during unfavorable weather or traffic 
conditions.)

To determine your  
following distance:
	 1.	 Watch when the rear of the vehicle 

ahead passes a stationary marker 
such as a sign or light pole.

	 2.	 Count the seconds it takes you 
to reach the same marker: “One-
thousand-one, one-thousand-two, 
one-thousand-three, one-thousand-
four.”

	 3.	 If you pass the stationary marker 
before counting to one-thousand-
four, you are following too closely.

	 4.	 Reduce speed and then count again 
at another stationary point. Repeat 
until you are following no closer 
than four-seconds.

Increase your following 
distance in these situations:
	 •	 Rain or when roads are wet.
	 •	 Low visibility—dusk, dawn, 

nighttime, fog, etc. 
	 •	 When being passed (more space in 

front of your vehicle so the pass can 
be completed safely).

	 •	 Carrying a heavy load or pulling a 
trailer. (The extra weight makes it 
more difficult to stop quickly/steer 
correctly.) 

	 •	 When stopped behind another 
vehicle on an incline; it may roll 
back before moving forward.

	 •	 When following:
	 ◆	Motorcycles. The chances of a 

motorcyclist falling are greater 
on wet or gravel roads, or metal 
surfaces such as bridges. You will 
need extra stopping/steering 
distance to avoid hitting the 
motorcycle/rider.

	 ◆	Emergency vehicles. It is against 
the law to follow a fire truck 
responding to an emergency 
closer than 500 feet. 

	 ◆	Vehicles required to come to a 
stop at railroad crossings, such 
as city buses, school buses, and 
vehicles carrying hazardous 
materials.

	 ◆	Vehicles with a blocked rear view. 
Drivers of trucks, buses, vans, or 
vehicles pulling trailers may not 
be able to see your vehicle when 
you are directly behind them. 

If your vehicle is being followed too  
closely, slow down and keep to the right.
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Following Distance for Trucks
A truck or any vehicle towing another 
vehicle must not follow within 300 feet 
of another truck or another vehicle 
in tow. This law does not apply to 
overtaking and passing, and it does not 
apply within cities or towns. 

Blind Spots
Blind spots are areas near the left and 
right rear corners of your vehicle that 
you can’t see in your rear-view mirrors 
or with your peripheral vision. 
Before you move to change lanes on 
a highway, pass on any road, or make 
certain turns, turn your head to make 
sure these areas are clear.  

Do not drive in someone else’s blind 
spot. Move forward or drop back so that 
the other driver can see you.The larger 
the vehicle, the larger the blind spots. 
Large trucks and SUVs have blind spots 
close to the rear of the vehicle that 
cannot be seen in rear-view mirrors.  
(See “No Zones” on page 44.) 

Passing
	 1.	 You must activate your signal 

before moving into the left lane to 
let others know that you are about 
to change lanes to pass.  

	 2.	 Stay a safe distance behind the 
vehicle you want to pass—the closer 
you get, the less you can see ahead.

	 3.	 Before you pull out to pass, check 
blind spots and make sure that you 
have plenty of time and room to 
pass.

	 4.	 Tap your horn (day) or flash your 
headlights (night) to let the other 
driver know you are passing.

	 5.	 Do not return to the right side of the 
road until you can see the tires of 
the vehicle you passed in your rear-
view mirror. Signal when you are 
about to return to your lane.

	 6.	 You must return to the right side of 
the road before coming within 200 
feet of any approaching vehicle.

Do not attempt to pass more than one 
vehicle at a time. Passing multiple 
vehicles is dangerous. 

Stay within the speed limit.  
It’s illegal to exceed the speed  
limit while passing.

Passing on the Right
Passing on the right is only legal when 
there are two or more lanes of traffic 
moving in the same direction or the 
vehicle you are passing is making a left 
turn. 
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You Must Not Pass:
	 •	 where there is a single solid line, 

or double-sided solid line dividing 
lanes; 	

	 •	 when the double-sided yellow line 
is solid in your lane; 

	 •	 in Do Not Pass and No Passing 
zones;

	 •	 on hills or curves where you can’t 
see at least 500 feet ahead;

	 •	 within 100 feet of a bridge, viaduct, 
tunnel, railroad crossing, or 
intersection; 

	 •	 when a school bus is stopped and 
has its warning flashers on and stop 
sign extended; and	

	 •	 at crosswalks where a vehicle has 
stopped to allow a pedestrian to 
cross.

Being Passed
You must not increase your speed while 
you are being passed. Move to the right 
side of your lane to give passing drivers 
more room and a better view of the road 
ahead. 

Limited Access Highways
Limited access highways—also called 
expressways, interstate highways, 
turnpikes, toll roads, and freeways—are 
multiple-lane roads with no stop signs, 
traffic lights, or railroad crossings. 
Pedestrians, hitchhikers, bicycles, 
animal-drawn vehicles, and motor-driven 
cycles/motor scooters (with 150 cubic 
centimeter displacement or less) are not 
allowed on limited-access highways.

Entering & Leaving Limited 
Access Highways
All limited access highway entrances 
have three basic parts: an entrance 
ramp, an acceleration lane, and a 
merging area. 

When entering a limited access highway:
	 1.	 On the entrance ramp, begin 

checking for an opening in traffic. 
Signal your intent to merge onto the 
highway.

	 2.	 Increase your speed as the ramp 
straightens into the acceleration 
lane. Adjust your speed so that you 
can safely merge into the traffic 
when you reach the end of the 
acceleration lane.

	 3.	 Merge into traffic when you can do 
so safely. You must yield the right-
of-way to traffic on the highway. Do 
not stop in the acceleration lane 
unless traffic is too heavy and there 
is no space for you to enter safely.

When leaving a limited access highway:
	 1.	 Get into the exit lane. Most exits are 

from the right lane.
	 2.	 Activate your turn signal to show 

your intention to exit.
	 3.	 Slow down in the deceleration lane. 

Check the posted safe speed for the 
exit ramp.

	 4.	 Don’t make last-minute turns into 
an exit. If you pass your exit, you 
must go to the next one.

Stay a safe distance behind the vehicle you want to pass. The closer you get, the less you can see.
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Limited Access Highway Safety Reminders
Plan ahead. Know your exits. In FL, they match the mile markers on the highway.

Drive in the right lane and pass on the left. While in the right lane, watch for cars 
entering the highway. Adjust your speed or move over so they can enter safely.

Never drive across or park on the median.

Never stop on the pavement, shoulder, or connecting ramp except in an 
emergency. If your vehicle breaks down, you must move it completely off the 
pavement . (No more than six hours.)

Don’t follow too closely. Rear-end collisions are the greatest danger on limited 
access highways.

Never back up on an entrance ramp or exit ramp. The ONLY exception to this is if you 
see a WRONG WAY or DO NOT ENTER sign or red reflectors on lane lines. You must 
back up or turn around.

Stop driving when you feel tired. Do not risk falling asleep at the wheel.

Obey the Move Over law (page 44).
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Parking
When parking on a public road, move 
as far away from traffic as possible. 
You must not park more than 12 inches 
away from the curb. If there is a roadside 
shoulder, pull as far onto it as you can. 

Always park on the right side of the 
roadway unless it is a one-way street. 
Park parallel to the curb in the direction 
of traffic movement, with right-hand 
wheels parallel to and within 12 
inches of the right hand curb or side 
of roadway. Set the parking brake and 
shift to Park (automatic transmission) or 
Reverse (manual transmission). Turn off 
the engine and lock the vehicle. Florida 
law requires that you take the keys out 
of your vehicle before leaving it. 

Always check traffic around you before 
getting out of the vehicle so you do 
not open your door into a bicyclist or 
another vehicle. 

Before you drive from any parked 
position, make sure the roadway is clear. 
Give the proper turn signal and yield to 
other traffic before pulling away from 
the curb. 

Parking on Hills
	 1.	 Turn your wheels so that if your car 

starts to move, it will roll away from 
traffic or into the curb.

	 2.	 Set the parking brake. 
	 3.	 Automatic transmission: put gear 

shift in Park. Manual transmission: 
shift to Reverse (downhill) or First 
(uphill).

	 4.	 Turn vehicle off.
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It is against the law to park:
	 •	 On crosswalks
	 •	 On sidewalks
	 •	 In bicycle lanes
	 •	 In intersections
	 •	 On bridges
	 •	 On overpasses 
	 •	 In tunnels
	 •	 In front of driveways
	 •	 By yellow painted curbs
	 •	 In NO PARKING or DISABLED 

PERMIT ONLY zones
	 •	 On the roadway side of another 

parked vehicle (double parking)
	 •	 On highway pavement not marked 

for parking 
	 •	 Anywhere that blocks or creates a 

hazard for other vehicles
	 •	 Or within:
	 ◆	15 feet of a fire hydrant.
	 ◆	20 feet of an intersection.
	 ◆	20 feet of the entrance to a fire, 

ambulance, or rescue station.
	 ◆	30 feet of a rural mail box on a 

state highway (8 am–6 pm).
	 ◆	30 feet of any flashing signal, stop 

sign, or traffic signal.
	 ◆	50 feet of a railroad crossing.

Parking Lights 
It is against the law to drive using only 
parking lights in place of headlights. 

Straight-in Parking
When properly parked, the vehicle 
should be centered inside the space with 
no part of the vehicle extending out into 
the traffic lane.

Backing Up
	 1.	 Check behind your vehicle before 

you get in. Children and small 
objects cannot be seen from the 
driver’s seat. 

	 2.	 Place your right arm on the back 
of the passenger seat and turn 
around so that you can look 
directly through the rear window. 
Do not depend on your rear-view 
or side mirrors as you cannot see 
directly behind your vehicle. Don’t 
completely rely on cameras/alarms; 
they don’t always detect small 
children and animals. 

	 3.	 Back slowly; your vehicle is much 
harder to steer while you are 
backing. 

	 4.	 Whenever possible, use a person 
outside the vehicle to help you back 
up.  
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Sharing the Road with Pedestrians
It is the motorist’s responsibility to do everything possible to avoid colliding with a 
pedestrian (person walking). When in a crosswalk or driveway, bicyclists, skaters, 
and skateboarders are considered pedestrians.

Rules for Motorists
	 1.	 You must stop and remain stopped for pedestrians crossing a street or driveway 

at any marked crossing, driveway, or intersection.
	 2.	 When entering or leaving an alley, driveway, or private road, you must stop for 

pedestrians on the sidewalk.
	 3.	 Never block the crosswalk when stopped at a red light. Do not stop with any 

portion of your vehicle overhanging the crosswalk.
	 4.	 Florida law prohibits you from overtaking and passing a vehicle that is stopped 

at a crosswalk so that a pedestrian can cross the roadway. A driver approaching 
a vehicle from the rear that is stopped at a crosswalk must assume that a 
pedestrian may be crossing, even when none can be seen at that moment.

	 5.	 Always stop before turning right on red and look both ways for pedestrians in 
the crosswalk. 

	 6.	 Come to a complete stop, yield the right-of-way, and use extra caution when 
approaching: 

	 ◆	a visually impaired pedestrian who is carrying a white cane with a red tip or 
guided by a service animal;

	 ◆	mobility-impaired persons (using a walker, a crutch, or an orthopedic cane or 
wheelchair) and pedestrians using a guide dog or service animal; or

 	 ◆	children or any confused or incapacitated pedestrian. 

Rules for Pedestrians
	 1. 	 Pedestrians must not walk on the roadway if a sidewalk is available.
	 2.	 When walking along a roadway without a sidewalk, always walk on the shoulder 

on the left side, facing traffic.
	 3.	 Cross the road at intersections or designated crosswalks. Crosswalks at 

intersections may be marked or unmarked. 
	 4.	 Pedestrians must yield the right-of-way to vehicles if crossing a roadway at any 

point other than within a crosswalk. 
	 5.	 Pedestrians must yield the right-of-way to vehicles in the crosswalk if the 

crosswalk signal is red or displays DON’T WALK. 

SHARING THE ROAD
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Pedestrian Safety Tips
	 •	 Never enter the street from between 

parked cars. Always use a crosswalk.
	 •	 Stop at the curb or the edge of 

the road if there is no curb. Look 
left, then right, then left again for 
moving vehicles before you step 
into the street.

	 •	 Be seen. Wear bright, neon, 
reflective colors. Carry a flashlight 
at night. 

	 •	 Don’t text while walking. 
	 •	 Avoid wearing headphones so that 

you can hear the traffic around you. 

Sharing the Road  
with Bicycles
In Florida, the bicycle is legally defined 
as a vehicle and has all of the privileges, 
rights, and responsibilities on public 
roads (except for limited access 
highways) that a motor vehicle operator 
does. 

Bicyclists may ride out of the bike lane 
into the travel lane for their own safety 
due to narrow roads, to avoid obstacles 
or pavement hazards, or to prepare for 
a left turn. A bicyclist may use the full 
lane even while traveling substantially 
below the speed of traffic if the lane is 
too narrow for both a car and bicycle to 
share.

Unlike motorists, bicyclists may also 
operate on sidewalks, but they must 
yield to pedestrians on sidewalks and  
in crosswalks.

Rules for Motorists
	 1.	 Florida law requires that you give 

bicyclists a minimum of three feet 
of clearance and use caution/slow 
speed when driving alongside or 
passing them.

	 2.	 On a two lane road, pass a bicyclist 
as you would a slow-moving 
vehicle, and only when it is safe to 
do so.

	 3.	 At intersections, always assume 
that bicyclists are traveling straight 
unless they signal otherwise. Yield 
to bicycles just as you would to any 
other vehicle.

	 4.	 When crossing a bike lane to make 
a turn, yield to any bicyclist in 
the bike lane and make your turn 
behind the bicyclist. 

	 5.	 Do not follow a bicyclist too closely. 
	 6.	 At night, avoid using high beam 

headlights when you see a bicyclist 
approaching.

	 7.	 Before opening a car door, check for 
bicyclists who may be approaching 
from behind.

	 8.	 Avoid honking your horn and 
startling a bicyclist.

Right-of-way rules tell you who goes first and who must wait in 
different conditions. The law says who must yield (give up) the right-of-
way. Every driver, motorcyclist, moped rider, bicyclist, and pedestrian 
must do everything possible to avoid a crash.
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Rules for Bicyclists
	 1.	 Bicyclists must obey all traffic 

controls and signals.
	 2.	 If bicyclists are not traveling at the 

speed of other traffic, they must use 
the bike lane, and if no bike lane 
is available, they must stay on the 
right-most side of the road. 

	 3.	 Bicyclists are allowed to use the 
full lane when making a left turn, 
passing, avoiding hazards, or when a 
lane is too narrow for them and a car 
to share it safely.

	 4.	 When operating a bicycle on a one-
way street with two or more traffic 
lanes, bicyclists may ride on the left-
hand side of the road.

	 5.	 Bicyclists must use directional hand 
signals to show other drivers that 
they are about to turn. (See page 
29.)

	 6.	 Bicyclists must never attach 
themselves or their bike to any 
vehicle on the roadway.

	 7.	 If they are riding on a sidewalk or 
crosswalk, bicyclists have all the 
rights and duties a of a pedestrian. 
However, they must yield the right-
of-way to pedestrians and must give 
an audible signal before passing 
pedestrians.

	 8.	 Between sunset and sunrise, 
bicyclists must have a white light 
visible from 500 feet on the front of 
their bicycle and a red reflector and 
a red light visible from 600 feet on 
the rear.

	 9.	 Bicyclists must have brakes which 
can stop their bike within 25 feet 
from a speed of 10 MPH.

	10.	 All bicyclists and passengers 
under age 16 are required to wear 
helmets that meet federal safety 
standards. 	

	11.	 If bicyclists are transporting a child 
under age four, or who weighs 40 
pounds or less, they must use a 
backpack/sling, child seat, or trailer 
designed to carry children.

	12.	 Bicyclists must not leave a child in a 
seat or carrier when they are not in 
immediate control of the bicycle.

	13.	 If bicyclists are riding with others, 
they may not ride more than two 
side-by-side unless it is a path or 
part of a roadway reserved for 
bicycles. They must ride single 
file if they and the other rider are 
impeding traffic.

	14.	 Bicyclists must not wear 
headphones/ear-buds while 
bicycling on the roadway.

	15.	 Bicyclists must not ride a bicycle 
when under the influence of alcohol 
or drugs.

Bicyclist Safety Tips
	 •	 No matter your age, wear a helmet.
	 •	 Keep both hands on the handlebars.
	 •	 On the roadway, check behind you 

before changing lanes or moving 
notably within the lane.

	 •	 Be seen. Wear neon or fluorescent 
colors when riding and wear 
something reflective.

	 •	 Don’t text while biking.
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Motorcycle Awareness
Motorcycle and moped drivers have 
the same rights and duties as drivers of 
motor vehicles. Riders committing traffic 
violations may receive citations. 

Laws for Motorcycle/Moped
	 •	 You must be 16 years of age or older 

to operate a motorcycle or moped 
on a public road.

	 •	 If under 18, you must hold a 
learner’s license for 12 months with 
no moving violation convictions 
prior to the issuance of a Motorcycle 
Only license.

	 •	 Operators of motorcycles must 
complete an approved motorcycle 
safety course and get a motorcycle 
endorsement on their driver license 
or a Motorcycle Only license.

	 •	 Operators of mopeds must have the 
minimum of a Class E driver license. 
No motorcycle endorsement is 
required.

	 •	 Operators of motorcycles must 
wear a helmet unless they are over 
the age of 21 AND carry a medical 
insurance policy providing for at 
least $10,000 in medical benefits for 
injuries.

	 •	 Motorcycles and mopeds: 
	 ◆	must be registered annually and 

have the proper tag; and
	 ◆	must not be operated on bicycle 

paths or foot paths.
	 •	 Operators of Motorcycles and 

mopeds do not have to carry 
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
insurance.

Tips for Motorists
	 •	 You must never attempt to share 

the lane with a motorcycle. The 
motorcyclist is entitled to the entire 
lane.

	 •	 Watch for motorcycles and look 
carefully before pulling into an 
intersection or changing lanes.

	 •	 It is difficult to gauge the speed of 
a motorcycle because they take up 
less field of vision which interferes 
with depth perception. They may 
appear to be much farther away 
than they really are.

	 •	 Do not follow too closely behind 
a motorcycle; remember that 
motorcycles have the ability to stop 
more quickly than other vehicles.

	 •	 Motorcyclists often slow down by 
down-shifting or rolling off the 
throttle, thus not activating the 
brake light.  

	 •	 Never pass a motorcyclist with only 
a few feet of space. The force of the 
wind gust can cause the rider to lose 
control. 

	 •	 When your vehicle is being passed 
by a motorcycle, maintain your 
lane position. Do not increase your 
speed.

	 •	 Maintain more than a four-second 
buffer zone between you and 
a motorcyclist, and increase 
space when encountering these 
conditions: inclement weather, 
gusty winds, wet or icy roads, bad 
road conditions such as potholes, 
gravel roads, and railroad crossings. 
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School Buses
It is against the law for any driver to pass a school bus when the  
school bus displays a stop signal.

On a two-way street or highway, all drivers moving in either direction must stop for 
a stopped school bus that is picking up or dropping off children. You must remain 
stopped until the stop signal is withdrawn and all children are clear of the roadway.

If the highway is divided by a raised barrier or an unpaved median at least five feet 
wide, you do not have to stop if you are moving in the opposite direction of the 
bus. Painted lines or pavement markings are not considered barriers. You must 
always stop if you are moving in the same direction as the bus and you must remain 
stopped until the stop signal is withdrawn.

School Crossings
School area signs advise drivers of school zones and school crossings. School zones 
and school crossings provide students with a safe zone when they cross the road to 
and from school. 

Crossing guards are the first to enter and last to exit a crosswalk to indicate that 
pedestrians, especially children, are about to cross or are crossing. When children 
or school crossing guards are present in a crosswalk, you must yield and stop 
at the stop line and not in the crosswalk.

UN
PAVED

BARRIER
O

R

TWO LANE MULTI-LANE PAVED ACROSS DIVIDED HIGHWAY
Vehicles traveling in

both directions
MUST stop.

Vehicles traveling in both directions
 MUST stop. Vehicles behind bus MUST stop.

Vehicles traveling in the opposite
direction must proceed with caution.

Unpaved space 5 �+/raised median/physical barrier.



44  ©2020 Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Funeral Processions
Motorists, bicyclists, and pedestrians, 
must yield the right-of-way to funeral 
processions. When the funeral lead 
vehicle enters an intersection, the 
remaining vehicles in the funeral 
procession may follow through the 
intersection regardless of any traffic 
control devices. All vehicles in the 
procession should have their headlights 
on (and may also use flashing hazard 
lights) as a signal to other drivers not 
to drive between or interfere with the 
funeral procession. 

Public Transit
All drivers shall yield the right-of-way 
to public transit buses traveling in the 
same direction that have signaled and 
are reentering the traffic flow from a 
specifically designated pullout bay.

Commercial Motor 
Vehicles
Sharing the road with commercial motor 
vehicles (CMVs) such as semi trucks or 
travel buses means abiding by different 
rules and safety strategies.

Rules for Motorists
	 1.	 Stay out of the “No Zone.” CMVs 

have large blind spots in front, 
behind, and on both sides of the 
vehicle. Even though large vehicles 
have several rear-view mirrors, 
other vehicles will be hidden from 
view if within the “No Zone”/blind 
spot.

	 2.	 Don’t tailgate; you’ll be in the rear 
blind spot and may collide with the 
CMV if it stops unexpectedly.

Emergency Vehicles
Motorists, bicyclists, and pedestrians 
must yield the right-of-way to law 
enforcement vehicles, fire engines, and 
other emergency vehicles using sirens 
or flashing lights. Pull over to the closest 
edge of the roadway immediately and 
stop until the emergency vehicle has 
passed. Do not block intersections.

Florida’s Move Over Law
The Move Over Law protects law 
enforcement officers, emergency 
workers, tow truck drivers, sanitation 
workers, and utility workers stopped 
along roadways while performing their 
jobs. 

Move Over Law
On a Multi-Lane Roadway

You must vacate the lane closest to the 
stationary law enforcement, emergency 
vehicle, tow truck, sanitation, or utility 
vehicle. (Signal your intention to 
change lanes.)

If you cannot move over safely, you 
must slow down to a speed of 20 MPH 
below the posted speed limit.

Drivers who are not in the lane closest 
to the stationary vehicle should be 
prepared to allow those who are about 
to move over into their lane.

On a Two-Lane Roadway
You must slow down to a speed of 20 
MPH below the posted speed limit.

If the speed limit is 20 MPH or less, you 
must travel at 5 MPH.
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	 3.	 If you are stopped behind a CMV 
on an upgrade, leave space in case 
the CMV drifts back when it starts 
to move. Also, keep to the left in 
your lane so the driver can see that 
you’re stopped behind the CMV.

	 4.	 Don’t use high beam headlights 
when following a CMV at night. 
Bright lights will blind the driver 
when they reflect off the CMV’s large 
side mirrors.

	 5.	 When a CMV is coming from the 
opposite direction, keep to the right 
to avoid a sideswipe crash. 

	 6.	 CMVs often need to swing wide to 
the left in order to make a right turn. 
Do not drive between the CMV and 
the curb—they will not be able to 
see you.

 	7.	 Never cross behind a CMV that is 
preparing to back up or is in the 
process of doing so. The size of most 
CMVs and trailers completely hide 
objects behind them from view. 

Passing Commercial Vehicles
	 •	 When passing a CMV, first check to 

your front and rear, and move into 
the passing lane only if it is clear 
and safe to pass. You must signal 
that you are changing lanes, and 
let the CMV driver know you are 
passing by blinking your headlights, 
especially at night. 

	 •	 Pass CMVs on the left side for 
maximum visibility. Complete your 
pass as quickly as possible so that 
you do not remain in the CMV’s 
blind spot. 

	 •	 Avoid cutting in too soon when 
passing a CMV. Large CMVs can’t 
stop as quickly as other vehicles. 
Be sure you can see the cab in your 
rear-view mirror before completing 
your pass. (CMV drivers may flash 
headlights to let you know it is OK to 
merge back into the lane.)

	 •	 Avoid passing a CMV on a 
downgrade; the CMV’s weight and 
momentum will cause it to increase 
speed.

	 •	 When a CMV passes you, keep to the 
right side of your lane. Do not speed 
up while the CMV is passing.  

Orange areas show the “No Zone.”
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Golf Carts
You may only drive a golf cart on golf courses or roadways that are designated for 
golf carts. These roads will be marked with appropriate signs.
	 •	 A golf cart must not be driven by anyone under the age of 14 on public  

roads or streets.
	 •	 A golf cart must only be operated 

during the hours between sunrise 
and sunset, unless the local 
government allows them to be 
driven outside of those hours 
(additional equipment is required 
for night driving.)*

	 •	 Golf carts may not be operated  
AT ALL unless allowed by the 
specific county or city.

	 •	 You may cross state roads if the 
posted speed limit is 45 MPH or 
less and only at an intersection 
with a traffic control device.

	 •	 You can drive a golf cart on a 
sidewalk only if it is at least 5 feet 
wide. You must yield to pedestrians.

	 •	 You can drive a golf cart on a two lane county road in a city that  
designates it may be used for golf carts.

	 •	 All local and state traffic laws must be obeyed, including  
yielding the right-of-way.

Low-Speed Vehicles
Low-speed vehicles (LSV) are four-wheeled vehicles with top speeds of 21–25 MPH. 
Golf carts can be converted to low-speed vehicles and vice versa. You must have a 
valid driver license to operate an LSV, and the LSV must:
	 •	 only be operated on streets where the posted speed limit is 35 MPH or less. 
	 •	 be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signals, tail lamps, reflex 

reflectors, parking brakes, rear-view mirrors, a wind shield, seat belts, and a 
vehicle identification number.

	 • be registered and properly insured (see pg.57). 

Required Equipment for Golf Carts
Efficient brakes

Rear-view mirror

Reliable steering

Red warning reflectors on front and rear

Safe tires

*Required for Night Driving
Headlights

Brake lights

Turn signals

Windshield
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High beam headlights can reveal objects up to a distance of at least
450 feet and are most e�ective for speeds faster than 25 MPH.

At night, glare from oncoming cars can reduce your vision.

Night Driving
You will need to drive with extra care at night. You can’t see as far ahead and the 
glare from oncoming cars can reduce your vision even more. Florida law says you 
must:
	 •	 Use headlights between the hours of sunset and sunrise.
	 •	 Not use high beam headlights within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle; use low 

beam headlights. 
	 •	 Not use high beam headlights within 300 feet of the vehicle ahead of you; use 

low beam headlights. 
	 •	 Not drive using only parking lights in place of headlights.
	 •	 Turn on your parking lights at night when you are parked on a roadway or 

shoulder outside of cities and towns.

Follow these guidelines for driving at night:
	 •	 Avoid “over driving” your lights (driving too fast for what you can see). 
	 •	 High beam headlights can reveal objects up to a distance of 450 feet and are 

most effective for speeds faster than 25 MPH. 
	 •	 When leaving a brightly lit area, drive slowly until your eyes adjust to the 

darkness.
	 •	 Don’t look directly at oncoming headlights. Use lane lines as visual guides and 

look quickly to check the other vehicle’s position every few seconds.
	 •	 Drive as far to the right as you can if a vehicle with one light comes toward you; 

it could be a vehicle with a missing headlight.
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Low Visibility
Smoke from wild fires and controlled 
burning, fog, and heavy rain will affect 
your ability to see. When driving in low 
visibility conditions:
	 •	 You must turn on your headlights. 

Parking lights are not a substitute.
	 •	 Drive with lights on low beam. 

High beams will reflect back off 
the fog and impair visibility even 
more.	

	 •	 DO NOT drive using flashing hazard 
lights, which can only be used when 
your car is broken down/stopped on 
the side of the road.  

	 •	 Turn on your headlights whenever 
you turn on your windshield wipers. 

	 •	 Use wipers and defrosters for 
maximum visibility. Sometimes 
it is difficult to determine if poor 
visibility is due to fog or moisture on 
the windshield.

	 •	 Use the right edge of the road or 
edge lines and center lines as visual 
guides.

	 •	 Eliminate all distractions in your 
vehicle. Turn off the radio, cell 
phone, etc. 

	 •	 Watch out for slow-moving and 
parked vehicles. 

	 •	 Keep your windshield and 
headlights clean to reduce glare and 
increase visibility.

Rain
When you turn on your windshield 
wipers, turn on your headlights. Do not 
turn on hazard lights.

Slow down! Roads become slick during 
rainstorms and especially if it has not 
rained in a while (oil build-up on the 
highway). Wet road conditions will 
increase your braking/stopping distance, 
so be sure to increase following distance. 

Hydroplaning happens when your 
vehicle slides on top of a thin layer of 
water between your tires and the road. 
When your tires are not touching the 
road, you can easily lose control and 
skid. Tires with low air pressure or bad 
tread increase the risk of hydroplaning— 
and so does speeding. (See Page 52 for 
safety tips during hydroplaning.)

Brakes often become wet after driving 
in heavy rain. They may pull to one side 
or the other, or they may not hold at all. 
If this happens, slow down and gently 
push on the brake pedal until your 
brakes are working again.

If you come to a roadway that is flooded, 
turn around and find another way to go. 
Do not attempt to drive through the 
water! It is impossible to determine the 
depth or current and your vehicle could 
become submerged or swept away.

Flashing hazard lights must only be used while your 
vehicle is legally stopped or disabled on the highway or 

shoulder. (exception: funeral processions)
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Animals
There may be times when an animal 
suddenly runs in front of your vehicle. 
Do not swerve into oncoming traffic 
or off the roadway to avoid hitting 
the animal. This may result in a more 
serious crash than if your vehicle 
collided with the animal. 

To reduce your chances of colliding with 
an animal:
	 •	 Use caution when driving at dawn 

and dusk; this is when animals are 
most active.

	 •	 Be extra alert when driving on 
roadways marked with animal 
crossing signs and near woods 
and water.

	 •	 Scan the sides of the road and 
watch for the reflection of your 
headlights in the eyes of animals.

	 •	 Deer/vehicle crashes occur most 
frequently from October to 
December.

	 •	 Slow down when approaching 
animals that are standing near 
the roadway, they may bolt out or 
change direction.

	 •	 Flash your headlights to warn other 
drivers when animals are spotted 
on or near the road.

	 •	 If you have time to avoid hitting 
an animal, reduce your speed, tap 
your brakes, and sound your horn. 
Deer tend to fixate on headlights so 
flashing them may cause the animal 
to freeze. If there are no vehicles 
close behind you, brake hard 
without locking your wheels.

	 •	 If collision is inevitable, do not 
swerve to avoid the animal. Keep 
your vehicle under control and on 
the roadway.

	 •	 Report the crash to the law 
enforcement if it involves a large 
animal such as a bear, deer, or farm 
animal. 

Following Law
Enforcement Officer
Instructions
If you are stopped by a law  
enforcement officer:
	 1.	 Safely pull off the roadway 

immediately to the extreme right, 
and clear of traffic.

	 2.	 At night, reduce your headlights 
to parking lights and turn on your 
interior light. 

	 3.	 Stay in the driver’s seat. Do not 
get out of the vehicle unless asked 
to do so. Keep your hands visible. 
Sit calmly and follow the officer’s 
instructions.

	 4.	 Be prepared to show your driver 
license, vehicle registration, and 
proof of insurance when asked.

If a law enforcement officer is 
directing traffic where there is 
a traffic signal, obey the officer 
not the signal.  



flhsmv.gov/teen

Hands on the Wheel. eyes on the road.

MINd on  
driving.
MINd on  
driving.
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Defensive Driving
Defensive driving is using safe driving strategies to prevent crashes. This means that 
you alter your driving to fit the weather conditions, the way you feel, and the actions 
of other motorists, bicyclists, and pedestrians. Follow these steps to avoid crashes:
	 1.	 Look for possible danger. For example, if you see school zone signs, plan what 

you will do if a child runs or rides into the street.
	 2.	 Anticipate what another driver might do and make appropriate adjustments. For 

example, you’ve noticed someone aggressively passing and changing lanes as 
they approach you from the rear. You should anticipate that they will probably 
pass you and cut you off—slow down and be ready to brake, if necessary.

	 3.	 Crashes happen at intersections more than any other place. Use extra caution 
when approaching an intersection. 

	 4.	 If a crash is unavoidable:
	 ◆	It is better to swerve off the road than into oncoming traffic.
	 ◆	It is better to drive off the road than to skid off.
	 ◆	It is better to hit something that is not moving instead of a vehicle moving 

toward you.
	 ◆	Hitting a vehicle moving in the same direction as you is better than hitting a 

vehicle head-on.
	 ◆	Hitting a “soft object” (e.g., a garden hedge) is better than hitting a solid 

object like a tree or post.
Throughout Florida in 2018, more than 47,000 teen drivers were involved in crashes, 
and there were 88 teen driver fatalities. (Source: FLHSMV) 

Avoiding Rear-end Collisions
To avoid striking the vehicle in front of you, keep at least four seconds following 
distance and increase following distance during unfavorable weather or heavy 
traffic. To lower the risk of someone running into the rear of your vehicle:
	 •	 Check your brake lights often to make sure they are clean and working properly.
	 •	 Know what is going on around you. Use the rear-view and side mirrors.
	 •	 Signal well in advance for turns, stops, and lane changes.
	 •	 Avoid sudden stops; slow down gradually and smoothly. 
	 •	 Drive with the flow of traffic (within the speed limit). Driving too slowly can be 

dangerous.

Breakdowns/Disabled Vehicles
	 1.	 You must move the vehicle so all four wheels are out of traffic lanes as soon as 

possible. If you can’t move it, you must have it moved as soon as possible.
	 2. 	 If possible, park where the disabled vehicle can be seen for 200 feet in each 

direction.
	 3.	 Turn on your hazard lights. 
	 4.	 Get all passengers out of the car on the side away from traffic.
	 5.	 Call *FHP (347) or another law enforcement agency for assistance.



52  ©2020 Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Vehicle Approaching  
in Your Lane
	 1.	 Sound horn and flash high beams.
	 2.	 Brake hard.
	 3.	 Steer to the side of the road.

Right Wheels Off
Pavement
	 1.	 Take your foot off the gas pedal.
	 2.	 Hold the wheel firmly and steer in a 

straight line.
	 3.	 Brake lightly.
	 4.	 Wait until the road is clear. Turn 

back on the pavement at a slow 
speed (signal your intention).

Overcorrection
Overcorrection is excessive steering in 
reaction to an event or loss of control 
of a vehicle. It typically occurs when a 
motorist steers too sharply in an effort 
to avoid a collision or driving off of the 
roadway. It can result in a rollover crash 
or steering into oncoming traffic. Avoid 
overcorrecting! If you find yourself 
unintentionally leaving the roadway:
	 1.	 Stay calm.
	 2.	 Hold the wheel firmly.	
	 3.	 Take your foot off the gas and do 

not slam on the brakes. 
	 4.	 Steer the car where desired.
	 5.	 If necessary, steer the car to a safe 

place and stop.

Skidding/Hydroplaning
	 1.	 Take your foot off the gas pedal.
	 2.	 Do not use your brakes, if possible. 
	 3.	 Turn the vehicle’s front tires in the 

direction you want to go (steer in 
the direction of the skid). 

	 4.	 If you are about to hit something, 
see Emergency Braking, below. 

Emergency Braking
To stop in an emergency situation where 
traction is lost, drivers with conventional 
brakes should pump the brakes. Drivers 
with anti-lock brakes (ABS) must 
press down hard on the brake pedal, 
hold it, and steer out of danger. If the 
motorist with ABS removes steady 
pressure from the brake pedal or pumps 
the brakes, the ABS will disengage or 
turn off.

Vehicles can be equipped with two 
different types of ABS:
	 •	 Four-wheel (on passenger cars 

and some light trucks). Brake hard, 
steer, and keep constant pressure 
on the brake pedal.

	 •	 Rear-wheel (only on some light 
trucks). ABS prevents the rear 
wheels from locking up so that the 
back end of the vehicle does not 
skid. The front wheels can still lock 
up and cause the driver to lose 
steering control. If this happens, let 
up on the brake pedal just enough 
to allow the front wheels to start 
rolling again to regain control.

Brake Failure
	 1.	 If you do NOT have ABS, pump the 

brake pedal hard and fast; if you 
have ABS, skip to #2.

	 2.	 Shift to a lower gear.
	 3.	 Apply the parking brake slowly and 

while holding down the release 
lever/button. This will prevent your 
rear wheels from locking and your 
vehicle from skidding.

	 4.	 Rub your tires against the curb to 
slow your vehicle or pull off the road 
into an open space.
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Wet Brakes
	 1.	 Test brakes lightly.
	 2.	 Brakes may pull to one side or may 

not hold at all.
	 3.	 Dry brakes by driving slowly in low 

gear and applying brakes.

Jammed Gas Pedal
	 1.	 Take your foot off the gas pedal.
 2. 	 Press the clutch (manual 

transmission) or shift into neutral 
(automatic transmission).

 3.	 If necessary, press—don’t slam—
brakes to slow the vehicle.*

	 4.	 Carefully steer to a safe place to 
stop.

*Do not shut off engine unless #1 and #2 
do not work to slow the vehicle. If you 
shut off your engine, you will lose the 
ability to steer the car.

Tire Blowout
	 1.	 Take your foot off the gas. Do not 

use brakes.
 	2.	 Concentrate on steering.
	 3.	 Slow down gradually.
	 4.	 Brake softly when the car is under 

control.
	 5.	 Pull completely off the pavement/

roadway. 

Fire
	 1.	 Exit the vehicle. 
	 2.	 Call 911 for assistance.
	 3.	 Attempt to extinguish the fire only 

if you have a portable extinguisher 
and the fire is small. NEVER apply 
water to a gasoline or diesel fire.

	 4.	 If you can’t extinguish the fire 
get away from the vehicle! The 
fumes are toxic and an explosion is 
possible.

Stalled on  
Railroad Tracks
If your car stalls on the railroad tracks, 
get everyone out immediately and get 
away from the car! (If you are stalled 
at a railroad crossing and the warning 
lights begin to flash, 20 seconds is the 
minimal amount of time that it takes 
a train to reach the grade after the 
warning lights begin flashing.) If a train 
is coming, run in a 45 degree angle 
away from the tracks, but in a direction 
toward the train; you will be less likely to 
be hit by your vehicle or debris from the 
collision. Call 911 or *FHP.

Emergency Notification 
System (ENS): There is a blue 
ENS sign installed at every highway-
rail grade crossing. This sign provides 
critical emergency contact information 
to reach the railroad responsible if 
there is a problem at the crossing or if 
something is blocking the tracks. 
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Submerged Vehicle
If you crash into a pond, river, or other 
body of water, your vehicle will only 
float on the surface for 30–60 seconds. 
Get out of the vehicle immediately—
do NOT call 911 until you are completely 
out of the vehicle!
	 1.	 Unbuckle your seat belt.
	 2.	 Roll the window down before the 

car sinks. If you are able to open 
the door, be aware that the car will 
immediately fill with water.

	 3.	 If you are unable to roll the window 
down, try to kick out a side window.

There are many types of “escape tools” 
available that will quickly break a 
window. If you keep one of these in your 
vehicle, be sure it is within reach in case 
of an emergency.

Power Outage 
In circumstances where the power is out 
and traffic signals are not active, treat 
intersections as a four-way stop:
	 •	 Vehicles move through the 

intersection in the order they 
arrived (first to arrive is first to move 
forward). 

	 •	 If multiple vehicles arrive at the 
same time, the driver on the left 
yields to the driver on the right.  

Your Responsibilities 
After a Crash
If you are involved in a crash that results 
in death, injury or property damage, it 
is your duty—required by law—to give 
information and render aid. Always 
remain calm. 	
	 1.	 Stop and call 911,*FHP, or local law 

enforcement. 
	 2.	 Turn on hazard lights.
	 3.	 If anyone is hurt, you must get help 

immediately!
	 4.	 If the crash is minor and your 

vehicle is blocking the flow of 
traffic, you must move it or have 
it moved.

	 5.	 Exchange vehicle, witness, 
and driver information (name, 
address, phone number, license 
plate number, driver license and 
insurance).

	 6.	 Take photos or sketch the scene, 
showing vehicle crash locations.

A law enforcement officer will complete 
a written report if the crash involves a 
charge of DUI or results in death, injury, 
or property damage to the extent a 
vehicle must be towed.   

If the crash results in vehicle or property 
damage and does not require a law 
enforcement report, you must make a 
written report of the crash to FLHSMV 
within 10 days. (This can be done at 
flhsmv.gov.) 

If you are in a crash with an unattended 
vehicle or other property, you must 
make every attempt to locate the owner 
and notify law enforcement. If you 
can’t locate the property owner, you 
must leave a note including your name, 
contact information, and license plate 
(registration) number.  
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Leaving the Scene
It is against the law to leave the scene 
of a crash involving death, injury or 
property damage!

Hit & Run Penalties
Leaving the scene resulting in:
Death 1st degree felony, 

minimum 4 year 
prison term.

Serious bodily 
injury

2nd degree felony.

Injury 3rd degree felony.

All of the above include losing driver 
license for 3 years minimum.

Damage to a 
vehicle or other 
property which 
is driven or 
attended by any 
person.

2nd degree 
misdemeanor.

First Aid
If you come upon a crash, call 911 or 
*FHP (347) and/or send someone for 
help. Don’t assume someone else has 
called; it is better for emergency services 
to get multiple calls rather than none at 
all.

Do not put yourself in danger! Pull as 
far off the road as possible, and turn 
your hazard lights on to alert others. Be 
careful when exiting your vehicle and 
stay out of traffic. 

If someone is injured, apply first aid. 
However, don’t move an injured 
person who may have a neck or spinal 
injury. Don’t attempt to remove the 
helmet of an injured motorcycle or 
bicycle rider.

Treat For Shock 
Persons who have been injured may go 
into shock. When someone is in shock, 
all of the body functions slow down. 
Shock can be very serious and can 
cause death. Treat the injured for shock 
regardless of whether or not they appear 
to be in shock:
	 •	 Keep the injured person calm. 
	 •	 Don’t give them anything to drink.
	 •	 Have the person lie flat and elevate 

their legs.  
	 •	 Cover the person with blankets to 

hold body heat.
	 •	 Maintain an open airway.



Move over a lane for stopped law enforcement, emergency, 
sanitation, utility service vehicles and tow trucks.

If you can’t move over, slow to 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.

If the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less, slow down to 5 mph. 
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YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGE
Driving in Florida is a privilege you earn. In addition to the rules of the road, you 
must also abide by the following laws in order to maintain your driving privilege.

Insurance Laws
Florida law requires drivers and vehicle owners to maintain insurance to cover  
costs in case of a crash. These laws include the No-Fault Law and Financial 
Responsibility Law.

No-Fault Law
Before you register your car in Florida, you must show proof of Personal Injury 
Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage. PIP covers your 
injuries if you’re in a crash, no matter who caused it. PDL coverage pays for damage 
to other people’s property that you caused. 

Every owner or person in charge of operating a motor vehicle on Florida roadways 
must:
	 •	 provide proof of valid PIP and PDL insurance at the time of vehicle registration;
	 •	 have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP AND a minimum of $10,000 in PDL 

coverage;
	 •	 purchase the policy from an insurance agency licensed to do business in Florida; 
	 •	 maintain the insurance continuously throughout the registration period; and
	 •	 always have proof of valid Florida insurance readily available when the vehicle is 

being driven on Florida roadways. 

You must comply if you own a motor vehicle that has been in the state for 90 days 
(consecutive or non-consecutive) during the last 365 days. You must maintain proper 
insurance or your driver license/license plate registration can be suspended.

Your insurance company is required by law to notify the FLHSMV when you renew 
your policy, if you fail to renew it when due, or if the policy is canceled either by 
you or the insurance company. If you don’t renew your coverage or it is canceled, 
FLHSMV will send you a notice that you must provide proof of new coverage. If you 
fail to provide proof of new insurance, your driver license and license plate can be 
suspended for up to three years.

If you don’t maintain insurance coverage throughout the vehicle registration period, 
you must turn in the vehicle license plate to any driver license service center. Turn 
in your plate BEFORE canceling your insurance to prevent the suspension of your 
license and to avoid reinstatement fees.
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Always carry proof of insurance when 
you or someone else is driving your 
vehicle. Your insurance company will 
provide you with a Florida Insurance 
ID Card. You must have the card (or 
electronic proof on a smart phone) 
with you when you’re driving. You may 
receive a citation if you are stopped by 
a law enforcement officer and don’t 
have proof of insurance with you. 
You’ll have to go to court to prove that 
you had insurance coverage at the 
time you were stopped or your driver 
license may be suspended. If you don’t 
have proof and the judge convicts 
you, your driver license and license 
plate will be suspended. In order to lift 
the suspension, you will have to get 
insurance and pay a reinstatement fee 
($150 to $500). 

If your driver license and license plate 
have been under suspension for 30 days 
or more, a law enforcement officer can 
seize your license plate immediately. 
The officer may also take you to jail 
for driving with a suspended license, 
which is a first-degree misdemeanor 
punishable by up to a year in jail and a 
$1,000 fine.

If your driver license or license plate is 
suspended for not having insurance, you 
won’t be able to get a temporary license 
for any reason, not even to go to work. 
Also, if you show a law enforcement 
officer an insurance card when you 
know the insurance has been canceled—
or if you falsify the card—you may be 
arrested and charged with a second-
degree misdemeanor.

FLHSMV will always provide you with an 
opportunity to prove insurance coverage 
or have an administrative hearing. When 
you receive the notice of suspension of 
your license you may request a hearing; 
otherwise, one will not be scheduled  
for you.

Financial Responsibility Law
In addition to the required PIP and PDL 
coverage, if you’re in a crash, you will 
have to prove that you are financially 
responsible for all damages you 
caused. You can prove such financial 
responsibility by having insurance 
in effect from a company licensed to 
do business in Florida, or obtaining a 
Financial Responsibility Certificate from 
FLHSMV. Get more information about 
Financial Responsibility Certificates at 
flhsmv.gov.

Depending on your driving record, 
you may have to obtain additional 
insurance beyond the basic PIP and 
PDL requirements. For example, Florida 
law requires you to have Bodily Injury 
Liability (BIL) insurance—and increased 
PDL coverage—when you are convicted 
of Driving Under the Influence (DUI). The 
coverage required in such a case must 
be at least $100,000 BIL for injuries to 
one person, $300,000 BIL for injuries to 
two or more people, and $50,000 PDL. 
This higher coverage must be in effect 
for three years after your DUI conviction. 
The higher limits will no longer apply 
if you are not convicted of another DUI 
or any felony traffic offense during that 
three-year period.

Other higher coverage limits are 
required by law if: your driver license 
is suspended for accumulation of 
excessive points for infractions; you 
cause a crash and people were injured; 
your driver license was revoked for 
Habitual Traffic Offender status; or 
your driver license was revoked for any 
serious offense. The required coverage 
for these cases are $10,000 BIL for 
injuries to one person, $20,000 BIL for 
injuries to two or more people, $10,000 
PDL; OR $30,000 combined single limits.
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If you do not provide proof of higher 
coverage limits, your driver license and/
or license plates will be suspended for 
up to three years. 

In addition, if you are the driver or the 
owner of a vehicle involved in a crash 
that is your fault, FLHSMV can require 
you to pay for the damages before your 
driving privilege is reinstated.

Vehicle Registration
The vehicle you own must have a Florida 
registration certificate and license plate. 
If a non-resident accepts employment 
or engages in a trade, profession or 
occupation in Florida; or enrolls children 
to be educated in a Florida public 
school, they must obtain the registration 
certificate and license plate within 10 
days after beginning employment or 
enrollment. You also must have a Florida 
Certificate of Title for your vehicle unless 
an out-of-state lien holder/lessor holds 
the title and will not release it to Florida.

To get your registration certificate and 
license plate, you must show proof 
of Florida insurance (in most cases, 
you need a Florida driver license to 
get insurance.) You must also prove 
that you own your vehicle by showing 
your certificate of title. The vehicle 
identification number (VIN) on any 
vehicle previously titled or registered in 
another state must be verified by one of 
several designated officials before the 
vehicle can be titled and registered in 
Florida. VIN verification is not required 
on any new vehicles (regardless of 
whether purchased in Florida or out 
of state), or new/used mobile homes, 
trailer type recreational vehicles (travel 
trailers, camp trailers, truck campers, 
and fifth wheel recreational trailers), or 
trailers and semi-trailers with a weight 
of less than 2,000 pounds.

Applying for Title, License 
Plates & Registration
Apply for title, license plates, and 
registration at any service center in 
Florida. The cost of your license plate 
will depend on the type and weight 
of your vehicle. Your vehicle must 
always have a current license plate and 
you must always have your vehicle’s 
registration when you are driving. If you 
buy a vehicle from a dealer in Florida, 
the dealer must apply for a certificate 
of title, certificate of registration and 
license plate for you. If you buy a vehicle 
from an individual, you must obtain the 
title from the individual and apply for a 
certificate of title in your name. You may 
apply for a certificate of title, certificate 
of registration, and license plate at the 
same time. You cannot get a license 
plate until you have a title to prove that 
you own the vehicle. All first time driver 
license applicants who hold an out-of-
state license should apply for a Florida 
driver license before they register their 
vehicle in Florida (many service centers 
will do both at the same time).

Renewal
Vehicle license plates and registrations 
must be renewed each year or 
biennially, on or before the birthday of 
the first owner listed on the registration 
form. Registrations may be renewed up 
to 90 days prior to the expiration date. 
Each time you renew, you must prove 
that you have the required insurance, 
unless it’s on file and electronically 
updated. Registrations expire at 
midnight on the birthday of the first 
owner listed on the registration form, 
except for:
	 •	 mobile homes renew yearly by 

December 31.
	 •	 semi-trucks and semi-trailers renew 

yearly by December 31.
	 •	 vehicles owned by companies and 

corporations and some CMVs renew 
yearly by June 30.
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Violations of the Driver 
License Law

You can be put in jail or required to pay a 
fine for the following offenses:
	 •	 Altering your license in any way. 
	 •	 Unlawful use of your license.
	 • 	 Allowing your license to be used by 

another person.
	 •	 Making a fraudulent application for 

a driver license or ID card.
	 •	 Having more than one credential 

(US driver license or ID card).
	 •	 Allowing an unlicensed person to 

use your car, or renting a motor 
vehicle to someone without a 
license.

	 •	 Giving false statements to a 
law enforcement officer or in a 
courtroom.

	 •	 Knowingly giving false information 
in crash reports. 

Time Restrictions for 
Minors (Driving Curfews)
	 •	 Minors holding a learner’s license 

must be accompanied by a licensed 
driver who is age 21+, and must 
only drive during daylight hours. 
After holding a learner’s license for 3 
months you may drive until 10 pm.  

	 •	 A 16 year-old licensed driver may 
not drive between 11:00 pm and 6:00 
am unless driving to or from work or 
accompanied by a licensed driver 
who is age 21 or older. 

	 •	 A 17 year-old licensed driver may 
not drive between 1:00 am and 5:00 
am, unless driving to or from work or 
accompanied by a licensed driver 
who is age 21 or older.

Littering
It is a crime to dump litter from a motor 
vehicle in any amount on any highway, 
road, street, etc. If you throw litter up 
to 15 pounds onto roadways, you can 
be fined $100. You can be charged 
with a first-degree misdemeanor, fined 
up to $1,000, and receive 3 points on 
your driving record, if dumping more 
than 15 pounds of litter. The court may 
also require you to pick up litter along 
roadways. 

Use ashtrays for cigarettes and litter 
bags for trash while riding in motor 
vehicles. Cigarettes that are tossed out 
of windows can lead to fires.

Road Damage
It is against the law to damage the roads 
by driving on the rim of a flat tire or by 
any other means.

Driving Under the 
Influence (DUI)
You can be charged with Driving Under 
the Influence (DUI) if you are found to be 
driving or in actual physical control of a 
motor vehicle while under the influence 
of alcoholic beverages, controlled 
substances, prescriptions, or over-the-
counter medications. 

At the time of arrest, your license will be 
administratively suspended if you have 
a breath or blood alcohol level (BAL) 
of .08 or above, or refuse to submit to a 
breath/blood alcohol test.

It’s the law to provide 
your driver license, proof of 

vehicle registration, and proof 
of insurance when stopped by 

a law enforcement officer. 
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Implied Consent Law
You will be asked to take a blood test, 
a urine test, or a breath test if a law 
enforcement officer has reasonable 
cause to believe that you are under 
the influence of alcohol or drugs while 
driving. By law, you have agreed by 
signing your driver license to take 
these tests if asked. 
If you refuse to take the tests when 
asked, your license will automatically 
be suspended for one year. A 
second refusal will result in an 18 
month suspension and a first degree 
misdemeanor.

In DUI cases involving death or serious 
injury, you will be required to take the 
blood test without your consent. The 
blood must be drawn by a doctor, nurse, 
or other health professional. Blood may 
be drawn if you are unconscious. 

Penalties for DUI
First DUI Conviction
	 •	 Fine: $500-$1,000 [BAL .15 or higher 

or minor in the vehicle, not less than 
$1,000 or more than $2,000].

	 •	 Community Service: 50 hours.
	 •	 Probation: Up to 1 year.
	 •	 Imprisonment: Not more than 6 

months [if BAL .15 or higher or 
minor in the vehicle, not more than 
9 months].

	 •	 License Revocation: Minimum 
		  180 days.
	 •	 DUI School: 12 hours.
	 •	 Evaluation conducted to determine 

need for treatment for addiction.
	 •	 Ignition Interlock Device: if court 

ordered [if BAL .15 or higher, or 
minor in the vehicle, at least six 
continuous months].

Second DUI Offense/Conviction
	 •	 Fine: $1,000-$2,000 [BAL .15 or 

higher or minor in the vehicle, 
not less than $2,000 or more than 
$4,000].

	 •	 Imprisonment: Not more than 9 
months.

	 •	 License Revocation: Minimum 
		  180 days.
	 •	 DUI School: 21 hours.
	 •	 Evaluation conducted to determine 

need for treatment for addiction.
	 •	 Ignition Interlock Device: At least 

one continuous year.

Third DUI Offense/Conviction
	 •	 Fine: $2,000-$5,000 [if BAL .15 or 

higher or minor in the vehicle, not 
less than $4,000].

	 •	 Imprisonment: Not more than 12 
months.

	 •	 License Revocation: Minimum 
		  180 days.
	 •	 DUI School: 21 hours.
	 •	 Evaluation conducted to determine 

need for treatment for addiction.
	 •	 Ignition Interlock Device: At least 

two continuous years.

Zero Tolerance
	 •	 Any driver under 21 years of age 

who is stopped by law enforcement 
and has a BAL of .02 or higher will 
automatically have their driving 
privilege suspended for six months. 

	 •	 Any driver under 21 with a BAL of 
.05 or higher is required to attend a 
substance abuse course. 

	 •	 An evaluation will be completed and 
parents or legal guardians will be 
notified of the results for all drivers 
under the age of 19.
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Traffic Crashes
If you are charged in a crash you 
may have to go to court. The law 
enforcement officer who comes to 
the scene of the crash will file charges 
against any driver who violated a traffic 
law. Those charged will have a chance 
to be heard in court. The court will then 
decide the penalty. Others who were 
present at the crash may have to come 
to court as a witness.

If you are found at fault in a crash where 
anyone was injured and transported to 
a medical treatment facility, or it is your 
second collision in a two-year period, 
you will be required by law to attend a 
Traffic Collision Avoidance Course. 

Three Crashes in Three  
Years Law
If you were convicted of, or pleaded 
nolo contendre (no contest) to your 
third traffic offense that caused a crash 
within 36 months, you must complete a 
FLHSMV-approved driver improvement 
course that includes behind-the-wheel 
training and an assessment of your 
driving safety.

You must:
	 •	 complete 12 hours of an approved 

Advanced Driver Improvement 
course (ADI);

	 •	 receive 4 hours of behind-the-wheel 
training from a Florida licensed 
commercial driving school (CDS); 
and

	 •	 pass the extended driving test with 
a driver license examiner.

Failure to complete these requirements 
within 90 days will result in a license 
cancellation.

Florida Law states that if you are 
convicted of possessing, selling, or 
trafficking in drugs, including marijuana, 
your driver license must be revoked. 
Additionally, if drugs are in your vehicle 
because you are using your car to 
transport, sell, or distribute drugs, 
or to assist in committing any other 
felony, then your car may be seized 
and forfeited to the arresting agency as 
contraband.
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Point System
There are a number of infractions that can cause the loss or restriction of your 
driving privileges. You receive points for moving violations. If you accumulate too 
many points in a certain period of time, your license will be suspended and can be 
revoked.

Violation (some examples) Points
Unlawful speed 15 MPH or less over lawful or posted speed	 3

Unlawful speed 16 MPH or more over lawful or posted speed 4

Unlawful speed resulting in a crash 6

Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50 6

Texting while driving 3

Texting occurred in a school zone (points added to the primary offense) +3*

Texting resulted in a crash +6*

Violation of traffic signal/sign/device 4

Passing a stopped school bus	 4

Passing a stopped school bus	 resulting in serious injury or death 6

Reckless driving	 4

Driving during restricted hours 3

Using a handheld device in a school crossing, school zone or work zone 3

*points added to primary offense. 

Length of Suspension:
	 •	 12 points within a 12-month period—30 days
	 •	 18 points within a 18-month period—3 months
	 •	 24 points within a 36-month period—1 year

	 •	 The fine for exceeding the speed limit by more than 50 MPH is $1,000 for the first 
offense and $2,500 for the second.

	 •	 Fines are doubled when speeding infractions occur within a school zone or 
construction zone, with possible civil penalties up to $1,000, and you can be 
required to complete a driving course.

	 •	 The motorist receives the same number of points listed if the conviction occurs 
out-of-state or in a federal court. 

Mandatory Restriction for Minors
Any driver under the age of 18 who accumulates 6 or more points within a 12 month 
period is automatically restricted for one year to driving for Business Purposes Only. 
If additional points are accumulated, the restriction is extended for 90 days for every 
additional point received.
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Losing the Privilege to Drive
Every driver who obtains a license must drive safely to keep it. If you break laws or 
become an unsafe driver, your license can be suspended, revoked, or canceled. The 
following table includes some—but not all—of the reasons one can lose the privilege 
to drive. Resolve your traffic citations in a timely manner so that you do not lose 
your driving privilege. 

Your license will be SUSPENDED (temporary withdrawal of driving privilege) if you:
Make a fraudulent driver license application.

Allow your license to be used for a purpose that is against the law.

Are convicted in a traffic court and the court orders that your license be suspended.

Refuse to take a test to show if you are driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Misuse a restricted license.

Earn a certain number of points for traffic offenses on the point system.

Break a traffic law and fail to pay your fine or appear in court as directed.

Fail to pay child support.

Fail to carry insurance on your vehicle.

Fail to stop for a school bus.

Commit retail theft.

Are non-compliant with education requirements (school dropout).

Your license must be REVOKED (termination of driving privilege) if you are found guilty of 
(or department records show):
Driving while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or other controlled substances.

A felony in which a motor vehicle is used.

Not stopping to give help when the vehicle you are driving is involved in a crash causing death or  
personal injury.

Lying about the ownership or operation of motor vehicles.

Three cases of reckless driving within one year.

An immoral act in which a motor vehicle was used.

Three major offenses or 15 offenses for which you receive points within a 5-year period.

A felony for drug possession.

Your vision is worse than the standard minimum requirements.

Racing on the highway.

Note: Forfeiting bail and not going to court to avoid being convicted of reckless 
driving counts the same as a conviction.

Your license can be CANCELED (void and terminated) if:
Your license was issued in error.

You give false information or identification.

You fail to complete a required school. 
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Penalties for Passing a Stopped School Bus
Penalties for passing a stopped school bus include:
	 •	 Moving violation subject to citation;
	 •	 Must complete a basic driver improvement course;
	 •	 Four points on your driver license; and
	 •	 Minimum fine of $165, if you pass on the side where children enter and exit,  

you will receive a minimum fine of $265.
	 •	 When passing results in the serious injury or the death of another person:
	 •	 Serve 120 community service hours in a trauma center or hospital;
	 •	 Participate in a victim’s impact panel session or driver improvement course;
	 •	 Six points on your driver license;
	 •	 Suspension of license for a minimum of one year; and
	 •	 $1,500 fine.



Administrative Hearings
If your driving privilege is suspended or revoked, you may be eligible to apply for 
a hardship license or reinstatement. For eligibility information, contact the local 
Bureau of Administrative Reviews (BAR) office, driver license service center, or the 
FLHSMV Customer Service Center. To schedule an administrative hearing go to 
MyDMVPortal.flhsmv.gov. *

If you are administratively suspended for a breath or blood alcohol level of .08 
or above, or refuse to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test and wish to appeal 
this suspension, you must apply for a formal or informal review hearing at the 
appropriate BAR office within 10 days of your date of arrest.

A first time DUI offender who has never had prior DUI related offenses, may be 
eligible to request a review of eligibility for a restricted driver license. By accepting 
a restricted driver license, the driver agrees to waive the right to a review of the 
suspension. To elect this option, the driver must appear at a BAR office within 
10 days of the DUI arrest, and request the waiver review option and pay a non-
refundable fee.

Disabled Parking Permit
If you have a mobility impairment, you don’t have to pay parking fees on any public 
street, highway, or metered space and may park in spaces reserved for persons 
with disabilities. However, you must display a disabled parking permit or plate to 
park in these designated spaces and the vehicle must actually be transporting the 
person with the disability who owns the permit or registration. Anyone who obtains 
or uses a permit that does not belong to them can be charged with a second degree 
misdemeanor, punishable by a $500 fine or up to 6 months in jail, and the illegally 
parked vehicle can be towed and the permit confiscated.

* New web portal coming in the Fall of 2020.
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Florida’s NEW Driver License and ID Card

SAFE SECURE
CONVENIENT

Starting in May 2019, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor 
Vehicles will begin issuing a modified Florida driver license and ID card with 
enhanced security features. By the end of August 2019, the modified credential 
will be available at all service centers throughout Florida and online.

Florida’s modified credential incorporates the removal of the magnetic strip on 
the back of the card, the addition of a tactile security feature and changes to the 
data and data layout. 

The enhanced security features ensure Floridians continue to receive the most 
secure over-the-counter driver license and ID card on the market today.

For more information visit flhsmv.gov/newDL
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Make sure you become REAL ID compliant before the deadline!  
The new credentials have a star in the upper right corner of the  
card, as shown in the sample license examples above. Florida  

is a REAL ID compliant state and all Florida licenses should  
be accepted nationwide.

The Department of Homeland Security announced on December 
20, 2013, that enforcement of REAL ID credentials will begin in a 

measured, fair and responsible way. Enforcement at airports across 
the country begins October 1, 2021.

REAL ID
OCTOBER 1, 2021
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GETTING YOUR LICENSE OR ID CARD
Definitions
Resident: A person who has his principal place of domicile in this state for a period 
of more than six consecutive months; has registered to vote; has made a statement 
of domicile pursuant to section 222.17, Florida Statutes; or has filed for homestead 
exemption on property in this state.

Immigrant: A “Permanent Resident Alien” who is admitted to the United States 
(US) as a lawful permanent resident. Immigrants are legally accorded the privilege 
of residing permanently in the US and are issued immigrant visas or adjusted to 
permanent resident status by the United States Citizenship and Immigration  
Service (USCIS).

Non-Immigrant: An alien who seeks temporary entry to the US for a specific 
purpose and who has declared the intention to stay only for a temporary period  
of time.

US Citizen: A person born in the US, its territories, Naturalized, or one who has 
obtained a Certificate of Citizenship from the US Department of State.

Who Needs a Florida License to Drive?
If you are a Florida resident, you must get a Florida driver license to drive a motor 
vehicle on public streets and highways. 

A non-resident (except a migrant or seasonal farm worker) who accepts 
employment or engages in a trade, profession or occupation in this state,  or enrolls 
their child in a Florida public school must get a Florida driver license within 30 days 
in order to operate a motor vehicle. 

Exceptions for the Florida Driver License
You do not have to get a Florida driver license to drive in Florida if you are a non-
resident who is at least 16 years old and have:
	 •	 a valid non-commercial driver license from another state or territory of the US; 

or
 	 •	 an International Driving Permit from your country of residence accompanied by 

a valid driver license from that country.

These people are also exempt (if they hold a valid driver license from their state/
country):
	 •	 US government employee driving a non-commercial US government motor 

vehicle on official business.
	 •	 Any non-resident working for a firm on a contract for the US government and 

driving a non-commercial vehicle. (This exemption is only for 60 days.)
	 •	 Members of the Armed Forces stationed in Florida, their spouses, and 

dependents. 
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	 •	 A licensed driver who lives in 
another state and travels regularly 
between home and work in Florida.

	 •	 Any non-resident attending college 
in Florida.

	 •	 Non-resident migrant farm 
workers—even though they are 
employed or place children in 
public schools—providing they have 
a valid driver license from their 
home state.

	 •	 Those who drive only vehicles like 
farm tractors or road machines 
temporarily on the highway.

Florida Driver License 
Classifications
The Class E is for drivers of non-
commercial vehicles. You must have a 
Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Class 
A, B, or C to operate:
	 •	 any single vehicle with a gross 

vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 
26,001 or more pounds; or

	 •	 a combination vehicle with a gross 
combination weight rating of 26,001 
or more pounds, if the trailer has a 
GVWR of 10,001 or more pounds; or

	 •	 a vehicle designed to transport 16 
or more passengers (including the 
driver); or

	 •	 any size vehicle which requires 
hazardous material placards or is 
carrying material listed as a select 
agent or toxin in 42 CFR part 73. 
Federal regulations through the 
Department of Homeland Security 
require a background check and 
fingerprinting for the Hazardous 
Materials endorsement.

See the Florida CDL Handbook for more 
information. 

Requirements for  
Class E Driver License 
	 1.	 Be at least 16 years old.
	 2.	 Completion of Traffic Law and 

Substance Abuse Education Course. 
	 3.	 Provide required identification.
	 4.	 Pass Vision, Class E Knowledge, and 

Driving Skill exams.
	 5.	 If under age 18:
	 ◆	Must hold a learner’s license 

for 12 months or until the 18th 
birthday, whichever comes first.

	 ◆	Must have NO moving traffic 
violation convictions for 12 
months from learner’s license 
date of issue, or may have ONE 
moving traffic violation (within 12 
months of learner’s license issue) 
if adjudication is withheld.

	 ◆	A parent, legal guardian, or 
responsible adult 21 years old 
or older, must certify that the 
driver has had at least 50 hours 
of driving experience, of which 10 
hours were at night.

	 ◆	Must have parent or guardian sign 
parental consent form.

	 ◆	Must be in compliance with 
school attendance.

Learner’s License
	 1.	 Be at least 15 years old.
	 2.	 Completion of Traffic Law and 

Substance Abuse Education Course.
	 3.	 Pass Vision and Class E Knowledge 

exams.
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Reciprocity
The Class E Knowledge and Driving Skill 
exams are reciprocated (waived) if you 
present a valid driver license from any of 
the following:
	 •	 United States (including Territories/ 

Possessions)
	 •	 United States Military
	 •	 Canada*
	 •	 France
	 •	 Germany (driving skills test only)
	 •	 Republic of China (Taiwan)
	 •	 South Korea

Note: A vision exam is still required. 
*Canadians can reciprocate examination 
requirements by surrendering 
their Canadian driver license; if not 
surrendered, Class E exams will be 
required. Licenses from other states 
or US territories/possessions must be 
surrendered when the Florida driver 
license is issued. 

Traffic Law & Substance Abuse 
Education Course (TLSAE)
You must complete a TLSAE course if 
you have never held— or do not have in 
your possession— a driver license in any 
state, country, or jurisdiction and are 
applying for a learner’s or driver license.  

Parental Consent for Minors
If you are under age 18 and are not 
married, you must have your parent 
or legal guardian sign your license 
application in front of the driver license 
agent or a notary public.** 

The parent or legal guardian who 
signs your application agrees to take 
responsibility for your driving. If the 
signer decides to rescind responsibility, 
your license will be canceled. To cancel 
the license, the signer must write a letter 
to FLHSMV requesting to withdraw their 

consent for the minor driver, and include 
the minor driver’s complete name, date 
of birth, and license number. Send the 
request to:

     Bureau Chief of Motorist Compliance 
     Division of Motorist Services 
     2900 Apalachee Parkway–MS 87 
     Tallahassee, FL 32399-0575

The signer may also go to MyDMVPortal.
flhsmv.gov to cancel the license. *

**Married minors must show certified 
marriage certificate. Emancipated 
minors must show certified court order. 
Physical & Mental 
Requirements
You must list any physical or mental 
issues that might affect your driving 
on your driver license application. 
If you have epilepsy, fainting spells, 
dizziness, blackouts, or any other 
medical condition that could impair 
your driving, you may be asked to 
have your doctor complete a medical 
report form. This form can be requested 
through your local driver license service 
center. The report must be completed by 
your doctor and submitted to FLHSMV 
before a driver license is issued. If you 
are diabetic and use insulin, you may 
request that “Insulin Dependent” is 
indicated on your driver license.

* New web portal coming in the Fall of 
2020.
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Restriction Codes 
If you have a restriction on your license and do not comply with the requirements, 
you could receive a citation and have your license suspended. 

Restriction Codes
A Corrective Lenses. This person must wear corrective lenses (glasses or contacts)at all 

times when driving a vehicle. 

B Outside Rear-view Mirror. The vehicle the person is driving must have an outside rear-view 
mirror (left side) on the car.

C Business Purposes Only. Driving privilege is limited to any driving necessary to maintain 
livelihood, e.g.,to and from work, on-the-job, educational purposes, church, and for 
medical purposes.

D Employment Purposes Only. Driving privilege is limited to driving to and from work and 
on-the-job driving required by an employer or occupation.

E Daylight Driving Only. (Dawn to Dusk)

F Automatic Transmission. This person can only drive a vehicle that has an automatic 
transmission.

G Power Steering. This person can only drive a vehicle that has power steering.

I Directional Signals. This person can only drive a vehicle that has mechanical signals.

J Grip on Steering Wheel. This person can only drive a vehicle that has a knob or grip on the 
steering wheel.

K Hearing Aid. This person must wear a hearing aid at all times while driving.

M Hand Controls or Pedal Extension. This person can only drive a vehicle that has hand 
controls or a pedal extension.

N Left Foot Accelerator. This person can only drive a vehicle that has a left foot accelerator.

P Probation-Interlock Device. This person can only drive a vehicle that has a device that 
locks the ignition.

S Other Restrictions.

X Medical Alert Bracelet.

ID Card Requirements
All applicants for a Florida driver license or ID card must present:
	 •	 [Step 1] Primary identification;
	 •	 [Step 2] Proof of social security number (which can be a military ID); and
	 •	 [Step 3] Two documents that show your Florida residential address.

All documents must be original or certified; photocopies or notarized copies 
will not be accepted. 
If your name has changed since the issuance of the primary identification, you 
will need to present a name change document such as a marriage certificate, 
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court order, or divorce decree to 
link the names between the primary 
identification and the name that will 
be used on the driver license or ID card. 
(See page 79.)

Please visit flhsmv.gov/WhatToBring 
to obtain a personalized list of 
requirements.

Step 1: Primary Identification
US Citizens must provide one of 
the following original or certified 
documents:
	 •	 Certified US birth certificate, 

including territories and the District 
of Columbia. The birth certificate 
must be issued by a government 
agency. Hospital birth certificates 
will not be accepted.

	 •	 Valid US passport or Passport Card.
	 •	 Consular Report of Birth Abroad.
	 •	 Certificate of Naturalization.
	 •	 Certificate of Citizenship.

Immigrants must provide one of 
the following original or certified 
documents:
	 •	 Valid Alien Registration receipt card 

(Green card, Form I-151or I-551, or 
Permanent Resident Card).

	 •	 I-551 stamp in a valid passport 
with a valid US Visa affixed or on an 
approved I-94.

	 •	 Immigration Judge’s Order, with 
the customer’s A-number, granting 
asylum.

	 •	 I-797, with the customer’s 
A-number, stating the customer has 
been granted asylum.

	 •	 I-797, I-94 indicating the customer 
entered as a refugee or another 
form from the Citizenship and 
Immigration Services, with the 
customer’s A-number, stating the 

customer’s application for Refugee 
status is approved.

 

Canadian Citizens must provide one 
of the following original or certified 
documents:
	 •	 Valid Canadian passport.
	 •	 Original or certified Canadian birth 

certificate.
	 •	 Canadian Naturalization Certificate.
	 •	 Canadian Certificate of Citizenship.

Non-Immigrants must provide one of 
the following original documents: 
	 •	 Valid Employment Authorization 

Card issued by the USCIS (Form 
I-688B or I-766).

	 •	 Proof of non-immigrant 
classification provided by USCIS or 
US Customs and Border Protection 
(Form I-94, not expired, with 
required supporting attachments).  
I-94s must be accompanied by a 
valid Passport with a valid US Visa 
affixed. Certain classifications 
require additional documentation. 
Some examples are:

	 ◆	F-1 and M-1 classification must 
also be accompanied by an I-20.

	 ◆	J-1 or J-2 designation must be 
accompanied by a DS-2019.

	 ◆	Refugee, asylee, and parolee 
classifications must be 
accompanied by additional 
documentation (for example, I-94 
with picture affixed).

The following documents will only 
be accepted with a supporting 
document, including but not limited 
to a passport, Florida driver license or 
ID card, driver license from any other 



74  ©2020 Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

state, employment authorization card, 
employer identification from home 
country, identification from school or 
college, social security card or other 
citizenship and immigration services 
document, including:.
	 •	 I-571 Travel Document/Refugee 

Travel Permit.
	 •	 I-512 Parole Letter Accepted.
	 •	 IJO Asylum or Cancellation of 

Removal Immigration Judges Order 
granting Asylum or Cancellation of 
Removal.

Immigrants, Canadian citizens, and 
other non-immigrants applying for a 
Florida driver license may be issued 
a 60-day temporary driving permit 
without a photo. Non-US citizens 
applying for an original ID card will be 
issued a receipt.

FLHSMV will review the identification 
documents provided and electronically 
verify their validity with the Department 
of Homeland Security, Florida 
Department of Law Enforcement, and 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 
If your identity and legal presence is 
verified, you will be issued a driver 
license or ID card at the issuance office.

If proof of identity/legal presence does 
not verify, the transaction will require 
secondary verification. If the secondary 
proof of identity/legal presence 
verifies, the driver license or ID card 
will be mailed to you; if the secondary 
verification does not verify, the driver 
license or ID card issuance will be 
denied.

Immigrants and non-immigrants can 
contact USCIS for more information 
about obtaining identification/legal 
presence documents.

Step 2: Social Security Number 
or Secondary Identification
Florida law requires the collection of 
your social security number. We will 
electronically verify the information 
you provide with the Social Security 
Administration. All applicants for a 
driver license or ID card must present 
one of the following original or certified 
documents:
	 •	 Social Security card.
	 •	 W-2 form.
	 •	 Paycheck containing your complete 

social security number.
	 •	 1099 form (pre-printed by issuer).
	 •	 Military ID. 

The name on your social security 
document must match the name that 
you wish to have on your driver license 
or ID card. If you recently changed 
your name, you must update your 
records with the Social Security 
Administration first. 
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If you have never been issued a social security number and you are a US citizen or 
immigrant, you must provide one of the secondary documents listed below. 
All non-immigrants must provide one of the following secondary documents:

A driver license from the District of Columbia, US Territories, or one of our 50 states.

An ID card from the District of Columbia, US Territories, or one of our 50 states.

United States military or military dependent ID card.

School record stating date of birth that must contain the registrar’s signature.

Transcript of the birth record filed with a public officer charged with the duty of recording 
certificates.

An insurance policy on the customer’s life that has been in force for at least two years and that 
has the month, day, and year of birth.

Florida driver license record or ID card record.

Selective Service Registration (Draft Card).

Receipt copy of your last Florida driver license issuance.

Immigration Form I-571.

Federal Form DD-214 (military record).

Marriage certificate.

Court order, which includes legal name.

A Florida voter registration card, which was issued at least three months previously.

Florida Vehicle Registration certificate obtained from the service center where the customer’s 
vehicle was registered. Florida, or out-of-state registration certificate, if name and date of birth 
are shown.

Parent consent form of minor, signed by the parent or legal guardian.

Government issued out-of-country passport, driver license, or ID card.

Baptism certificate that shows date of birth and the place of baptism.

Family Bible record or birth announcement in a baby book.

Concealed weapons permit.

Step 3: Proof of Residential Address*
All applicants for a driver license or ID card must present two documents with their 
residential address:
	 1.	 Deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet, or 

residential rental/lease agreement.
	 2.	 Florida Voter Registration Card.
	 3.	 Florida Vehicle Registration or Title.
	 4.	 Florida Vessel Registration or Title (if living on a boat/houseboat).
	 5.	 Statements (Contact your local driver license service center for information 

about using statements).
	 6.	 A utility hook-up.
	 7.	 Automobile Payment Booklet.
	 8.	 Selective Service Card.
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	 9.	 Medical or health card with address listed.
	10.	 Current homeowner insurance policy or bill.
	11.	 Current automobile insurance policy or bill.
	12.	 Educational institution transcript forms for the current school year.
	13.	 Unexpired professional license issued by a government agency in the US.
	14.	 W-2 form or 1099 form.
	15.	 Form DS2019, Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) status.
	16.	 A letter from a homeless shelter, transitional service provider, or halfway house 

verifying that the customer resides at the shelter address.
	17.	 Utility bills, mail from financial institutions; including checking, savings, or 

investment account statements.
	18.	 Mail from federal, state, county or city government agencies (including city and 

county agencies).
	19.	 Transients – Sexual Offender/Predator/Career Offender: FDLE Registration Form 

completed by local sheriff ’s department.

* Individuals living with another person must present two documents and a letter from that person.

ID Cards
If you need an ID card, you can apply at any driver license service center. Persons 
holding a driver license who wish to obtain a Florida ID card must surrender their 
driver license. You are prohibited from holding both a driver license and an ID card 
at the same time. To obtain an ID card, you must:
	 1.	 Be 5 years of age or older. (Any person, regardless of age, can be issued an ID 

card if applying for a disabled parking permit.)
	 2.	 Present required identification, proof of your Social Security number, and proof 

of residential address.

ID cards issued to persons 5–14 years of age will be valid for four years; all others will 
be valid for eight years.

ID Cards for Homeless Persons
If you are homeless, you can get an ID card at no cost. You must provide a current 
letter from a local homeless shelter verifying that you are homeless and meet the 
identification documentation requirements.

ID Cards for Persons at or Below Poverty Level
You can get an ID card at no cost, as long as you meet the identification 
documentation requirements and provide one of the following documents:
	 •	 Tax return from last year with gross income that meets 100% federal 
		  poverty level.
	 •	 Proof of enrollment in Access, the Department of Children and Families’ Florida 

benefits program. 
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License Renewal
Class E driver licenses are valid for six to 
eight years. Expiration dates may vary 
for driver license renewals issued to 
non-immigrants.

 Your driver license may not be  
renewed if:
	 •	 You are not eligible to receive a 

driver license.
	 •	 You did not answer a summons 

which involved a traffic violation.
	 •	 Your driver license is suspended, 

revoked, or canceled.
	 •	 You do not present the required 

documentation.

Renewal Issuance 
Requirements
	 1.	 Present your old driver license.
	 2.	 Pass a vision exam.
	 3.	 If you have changed your address, 

you will need to provide two 
approved proof of address 
documents with your new address.

	 4.	 If your name has changed, you 
will need to provide the approved 
documents establishing your new 
name.

Primary identification, proof of social 
security number, and two proofs of 
residential address (pages 73–76) are 
required if you have not been issued a 
Florida driver license or ID card in a field 
office since January 1, 2010. 

Any non-immigrant holding a driver 
license or ID card who needs a renewal 
or replacement driver license or ID card 
must apply in person. 

Renewing Online
If you are a US citizen or immigrant, you 
can renew your driver license online at 
MyDMVPortal.flhsmv.gov. You are not 
eligible for online renewal if:
	 •	 Your previous renewal was by 

phone, mail, or online.
	 •	 You are not a US citizen or 

permanent resident.
	 •	 Your driving privilege is suspended, 

revoked, or canceled and you want 
an ID card.

After your request is processed, you will 
receive a six or eight year license. Florida 
law requires that you destroy your old 
driver license after receiving the new 
driver license. Application for renewal 
received after the license expiration date 
(midnight of your birthday) requires a 
$15 late fee.

Drivers 80 Years Old and Older 
All drivers who are 80 years of age 
or older and who are in the process 
of renewing their driver license are 
required to pass a vision exam. The 
exam may be administered at a driver 
license service center at no additional 
charge or by your Florida licensed 
health care practitioner, such as your 
medical doctor or optometrist. A vision 
examination report must be completed 
and submitted to FLHSMV if your vision 
test is administered by your doctor. See 
Form HSMV 72119. Once it is filed, you 
will then be able to renew online or by 
mail.

Should you elect to have your vision 
exam at a local driver license service 
center, please schedule an appointment 
so that we can serve you more 
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efficiently. Upon passing the vision 
exam, you can complete the renewal 
process. However, if a problem is 
detected, you will be referred to your 
eye doctor for follow-up, prior to being 
able to renew. 

Driver License/ID Card 
Replacement
If your driver license or ID card is lost 
or stolen, apply for a replacement 
immediately. A replacement can be 
obtained at a driver license service 
center or online at MyDMVPortal.flhsmv.
gov. (Coming in the Fall of 2020)

If the card was stolen and you provide a 
copy of the police report (in person), the 
replacement fee is waived as long as you 
are not making any changes to the card, 
otherwise there is a replacement fee.

Replacement Requirements
Primary identification, proof of social 
security number, and two proofs of 
residential address are required if you 
have not been issued a Florida driver 
license or ID card in a field office since 
January 1, 2010.  
	 •	 If you have changed your address, 

you will need to provide two 
approved proof of address 
documents. 

	 •	 If your name has changed, you 
will need to provide the approved 
documents establishing your new 
name.  

Change of Address
You must obtain a new driver license 
within 30 calendar days of any change 
to your mailing or residential address. 
You may change the address on your 
driver license or ID card by:

	 1.	 Visiting MyDMVPortal.flhsmv.gov. 
(Coming in the Fall of 2020)

	 2.	 Visiting your local driver license 
service center or tax collector’s 
office.

After receiving the new driver license, 
destroy your old license as required by 
Florida law. 

If you fail to report a change of address 
you may not receive your motor vehicle 
registration renewal, your driver 
license renewal, or notices of potential 
sanctions.

If you are pulled over by law 
enforcement and the address on your 
driver license is incorrect, you may 
receive a citation.

Name Changes
If your name has changed and you would 
like your name to appear on your driver 
license or ID card differently than it 
appears on your primary identification, 
you will need to:
	 •	 Present an original or certified 

government issued marriage 
certificate, divorce decree, or court 
order as a name change document.

	 •	 Have your name changed on your 
social security card. 

	 •	 Immigrants and Non-Immigrants 
must have your name changed on 
your United States Citizenship and 
Immigration Services documents 
before you can change your name on 
your Florida driver license or ID card.

	 •	 Canadian Citizens must have your 
name changed on your Canadian 
passport before applying for a name 
change on your driver license or ID 
card.

Veterans
Veteran Designation 
on Driver License or ID Card
Any honorably discharged US veteran 
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may have the designation “Veteran” 
placed on their driver license or ID card 
at no charge. The veteran will need to 
provide a copy of their DD214 or other 
approved discharge document at the 
time of issuance.  

Exempt Fees for 100%  
Disabled US Veterans
Any veteran honorably discharged 
from the Armed Forces who was issued 
a valid ID card by the Department 
of Veterans Affairs, or a letter of 
disability determination from the 
Veterans Administration, and has 
been determined by the Veterans 
Administration to have a 100% service-
connected disability, is exempt from 
paying certain driver license fees such as 
initial license fees and renewal fees. All 
ID card fees are exempt.

Selective Service
State law requires any male who is a US 
citizen or immigrant, who is at least 18 
years old but less than 26 years old, to 
comply with Federal Selective Service 
System requirements when applying 
to receive a driver license, a learner’s 
license, a commercial driver’s license, an 
ID card, or a renewal or replacement 
card or license. (www.sss.gov) 

Sexual Offenders & 
Sexual Predators
Within 48 hours after completing the 
required initial registration as a sexual 
predator or sexual offender in Florida, all 
sexual predators and sexual offenders 
who are not incarcerated, including 
those who are under the supervision of 
the Florida Department of Corrections, 
shall register in person at a driver license 

service center or tax collector’s office. 

The sexual predator or sexual offender 
must identify him or herself as such 
and provide their place of permanent 
or temporary residence. Post Office box 
numbers may not be used in place of a 
physical residential address.

Sexual offenders will have “943.0435 
F.S.” printed on the front of their driver 
license or ID card. Sexual predators will 
have “SEXUAL PREDATOR” printed on 
the front of their driver license or ID 
card. 

Sexual predators and offenders must 
report in person to a driver license 
service center every time their license or 
ID card is subject to renewal and within 
48 hours after any change in name or 
address.

Career Offenders
Career offenders are certain persons 
who are designated as habitual 
violent felony offenders, violent career 
criminals, or three-time violent felony 
offenders.

Within two working days after 
completing the required registration as 
a career offender in Florida, all career 
offenders who are not incarcerated, 
including those who are under the 
supervision of the Florida Department 
of Corrections, shall register in person at 
the driver license service center.

Career offenders must report in person 
to the driver license service center 
every time their driver license or ID card 
is subject to renewal and within two 
working days after any change in name 
or address.
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Emergency Contact 
Information
If you have a Florida driver license 
or ID card, register your emergency 
contact information at the FLHSMV 
website flhsmv.gov. This provides law 
enforcement with an immediate contact 
in case you are involved in a crash or 
emergency.  

Florida Organ & Tissue 
Donor Program
Donate Life Florida is the non-profit 
organization that oversees the state’s 
organ, eye, and tissue donor registry. 
The Joshua Abbott Organ & Tissue 
Donor Registry allows Floridians to 
join the state’s organ and tissue donor 
registry when obtaining/renewing their 
license at a local driver license service 
center.

DonateLifeFlorida.org.  
1-877-FL-SHARE 

 

Voluntary 
Contributions 
When you are applying for a driver 
license or ID card you may voluntarily 

contribute to the following special  
trust funds:
Autism Services and Supports
Childhood Cancer Foundation
Children’s Hearing Help Fund
Disabled American Veterans
End Breast Cancer
Family First
Florida Council of the Blind
Health Care Trust Fund
Hearing Research Institute Inc. 
Juvenile Diabetes Foundation Intl 
Prevent Blindness Florida 
Prevent Child Sexual Abuse
Ronald McDonald House
Senior Vision Services
State Homes for Veterans Trust Fund
Stop Heart Disease
Support Our Troops
The ARC of Florida
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Register today with Florida’s Emergency  
Contact Information (ECI) system. It’s free, 
quick and easy!

ECI allows law enforcement to contact  
designated family or friends in an emergency 
situation. The system is securely maintained 
by the Florida Department of Highway Safety 
and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) and can be  
accessed by law enforcement only in the 
event of an emergency. 

Floridians with a valid driver license or ID card 
may enter up to two emergency contacts. 
Residents can register or update their ECI free 
of charge at flhsmv.gov/eci and in local driver 
license offices statewide.

flhsmv.gov/eci
Has your information changed?  
Go online and update your ECI to ensure 
that someone is there for you when you  
need them.

For more information regarding this and  
other services provided by FLHSMV, visit  
www.flhsmv.gov.
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FEES
Fees for Driver License/ID Card
Initial license fee for first Florida license.............................................................................. $48
Learner’s license (original)...................................................................................................... $48
Class E driver license renewal................................................................................................ $48
Learner’s license renewal....................................................................................................... $48
Replacement license............................................................................................................... $25
ID card (original)....................................................................................................................... $25
ID card (replacement or renewal)......................................................................................... $25
Delinquent fee for renewals after expiration date............................................................. $15

Other Fees
Written re-tests (Class E Knowledge Exam)......................................................................... $10
Driving skills re-tests................................................................................................................ $20
Motorcycle endorsement.......................................................................................................... $7
Tax collector service fee (for services provided at a tax collector office)................... $ 6.25

Reinstatement Fees
Administrative fee for insurance fraud...............................................................................$180
Administrative fee alcohol & drug-related offenses........................................................$130
After a license has been revoked........................................................................................... $75
After a license has been suspended..................................................................................... $45
Suspension for failure to pay or appear for a traffic citation........................................... $60 
Suspension for failure to pay  child support (Court Ordered)......................................... $60
Suspension for failure to pay child support (DOR)............................................................ $45 
Suspension for failure to pay court financial obligations................................................. $60
Worthless checks...................................................................................................................... $55

Insurance Reinstatement Fees
Failure to maintain liability insurance.................................................................................. $15
Failure to maintain PIP insurance:
(1st suspension)......................................................................................................................$150
(2nd suspension)....................................................................................................................$250
(3rd suspension).....................................................................................................................$500
(1st suspension — resulting from a DUI conviction).......................................................$150
(2nd suspension — resulting from a DUI conviction)......................................................$250
(3rd suspension — resulting from a DUI conviction).......................................................$500
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2019 Top Citations for Teens Ages 15–19
Violation Citations

1 Unlawful Speed  60,670
2 Careless Driving  18,857 
3 Operating Motor Vehicle—No Proof Of Insurance  10,728 
4 Operating Motor Vehicle Without Driver License  8,002 
5 Failure To Obey A Traffic Signal/Device  7,575 
6 Learner License Violation  7,129
7 Failure To Observe Stop Sign  6,385
8 Operating Motor Vehicle Obscure/Deface/No Tag, Reg  6,207
9 Fail To Display Driver License  5,790

10 Seat Belt Violation  5,180
Source: Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
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Traffic Law Substance 
Abuse Education 
(TLSAE)Course
If you have never held —or do not have in 
your possession— a driver license in any 
state, country, or jurisdiction, you must 
complete a Traffic Law and Substance 
Abuse Education course before applying 
for a driver license in the state of Florida. 
The driver education courses offered 
by some county school boards may 
substitute for this requirement. Please 
contact your local school board for 
further information. If you are under 
21 years old and receive a notice of 
suspension for driving with a BAL of .02 
to .05, you must complete a Traffic Law 
and Substance Abuse Education course 
in order to reinstate your driver license 
on a hardship basis. 

Third Party Driver 
License Exams
Driver license exams (Class E Knowledge 
examination) are now available from 
providers approved by FLHSMV. The 
online exam is available to students 
under 18 years of age (with parent/
guardian certification). Students of all 
ages may take the exams with a private 
exam provider in an in-person setting.

Basic Driver 
Improvement (BDI) 
Course
You must complete a basic driver 
improvement course (Traffic Collision 
Avoidance course)* if you want to retain 
your driver license in the following 
circumstances:
	 •	 You were a driver in a crash and are 

found at fault and someone was 
transported to the hospital.

	 •	 You had two crashes in a two-year 
period, which resulted in property 
damage greater than $500.

	 •	 You were convicted of: 
	 ◆	running a red light.
	 ◆	passing a school bus when it 

displayed a stopped signal.
	 ◆	racing on the highway.
	 ◆	reckless driving.

If you receive a ticket for a non-criminal 
moving violation, and you do not hold 
a CDL, you may elect to attend a basic 
driver improvement course in lieu of 
points on your driving record. (You may 
not elect to attend if you were charged 
with exceeding the speed limit by more 
than 30 MPH.)

An individual who elects to attend a 
basic driver improvement course for a 
non-criminal traffic citation will receive 
an 18 percent reduction toward the civil 
penalty.

*An up-to-date list of APPROVED course providers can  
be found on our website: www.flhsmv.gov
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In some cases, you may choose to 
attend a course to receive insurance 
discounts. This discount is solely at the 
discretion of your insurance company.
If, as a result of a moving violation, you 
elect to attend and complete a basic 
driver improvement course, you will 
receive the following benefits:
	 1.	 Insurance companies cannot 

impose an additional premium or 
refuse to renew a policy for motor 
vehicle insurance solely because the 
insured committed a non-criminal 
traffic infraction, with the following 
exceptions: a second infraction within 
18 months; a third infraction within 36 
months; or exceeding the speed limit 
by more than 15 MPH.

	 2.	 Points may not be added to your 
driver license record if adjudication 
of guilt is withheld. You may 
not make an election under this 
subsection if you have made this 
election in the preceding 12 months. 
A person may make no more than 
five elections in a lifetime. To 
determine if you are eligible to 
make an election to attend traffic 
school, check our website at flhsmv.
gov.

Within 30 days from the date you 
received the traffic citation and prior to 
attending class, you must:
	 1.	 Inform the Clerk of Court in the 

county where you received the 
citation that you want to go to 
traffic school, and

	 2.	 Pay an election fee to the Clerk 
of Court in the county where you 
received the citation. 

A full list of your options for satisfying 
your traffic citation is on the back of the 
citation. You are required to choose one 
of the three options within 30 days of 
receiving the citation. 

Advanced Driver 
Improvement Courses
If your Florida driver license was 
suspended for points, as a habitual 
traffic offender (non-DUI), or by court 
order, you must complete an advanced 
driver improvement course in order to 
reinstate your driving privileges. If you 
hold a Florida driver license and receive 
a citation for a moving violation in 
another state, that state may withhold 
adjudication if you complete a FLHSMV-
approved advanced driver improvement 
course. 

Licensed DUI Programs
You may be required to complete a 
licensed DUI program if your license 
is administratively suspended for: 
unlawful blood or breath alcohol level; 
refusal to submit to a breath, blood, 
or urine test; or conviction of driving 
under the influence or possession of a 
controlled substance. 

Older Driver Courses
A driving course just for older adults 
(65+) can update drivers on traffic laws 
and suggest useful ways to adapt driving 
habits to accommodate aging. Some 
courses even qualify older drivers for a 
reduction in auto insurance costs. 
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DRIVER LICENSE TESTING
The purpose of the driver license 
examination is to determine that you:
	 1.	 Can read and understand road 

signs, traffic signals, and highway 
markings.

	 2.	 Know Florida driving laws.
	 3.	 Meet minimum vision standards.
	 4.	 Have the knowledge, skills, and 

experience to drive safely.
	 5.	 Do not have any physical or mental 

conditions that would affect your 
ability to drive safely.

Testing Options
Driver license exams can be 
administered at state driver license 
service centers, Driver Education 
Licensing Assistance Programs (DELAP), 
and authorized third party testers.

A list of driver license service centers can 
be found at flhsmv.gov.

Driver Education (DELAP)
Many driver education teachers assist 
the FLHSMV in licensing new drivers. 
Students who complete their driver 
license exams through approved DELAP 
courses in public or private schools will 
have the results entered into FLHSMV’s 
test records by their driver education 
teacher.

The exam results will be used for 
issuance of a learner’s driver license 
or driver license. However, the driver 
license service center may test any 
student again on a random basis before 
issuing a driver license.

Third Party Testing
The Class E Knowledge Exam is also 
available through third party providers 
approved by FLHSMV. Students of 
all ages may take the exams with a 
provider that offers them in an in-person 
setting. (Students under 18 may take 
the knowledge exam online.) A list of 
approved third party providers can be 
found at flhsmv.gov.  

License Examinations
Persons applying for an original Florida 
driver license are required to take the 
following exams:
	 •	 Vision & Hearing Screening
	 •	 Class E Knowledge Exam 
	 •	 Driving Skills Test

See page 71 (Reciprocity) for  
exceptions where tests are waived. 

Vision
You must wear corrective lenses when 
you drive if you need to wear contact 
lenses or glasses to pass the vision test. 
(The use of telescopic lenses to meet 
visual standards is not recognized in 
Florida.)

Your driving privilege will be revoked if 
you are unable to meet the minimum 
vision standards. 
	 •	 20/40 or better vision in each eye 

with or without corrective lenses 
meets state requirements without 
referral to an eye specialist.

	 •	 20/50 or worse vision in either eye 
with or without corrective lenses 
are referred to an eye specialist for 
possible improvement.



88  ©2020 Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

	 •	 20/70 vision in either eye, or both 
eyes together may pass after referral 
to an eye specialist, providing the 
vision in the worst eye is better than 
20/200.

	 •	 If one eye is blind or 20/200 or 
worse, the other eye must be 20/40 
or better with or without corrective 
lenses.

	 • The minimum acceptable field of 
vision for an applicant or licensed 
driver is 130 degrees.

Class E Knowledge Exam
The Class E Knowledge Exam consists of 
50 multiple-choice questions about:
	 1.	 Florida traffic laws, 
	 2.	 Safe driving practices, and 
	 3.	 Identifying traffic controls.

You will be expected to know:

Seat Belt Laws Traffic Controls
Vehicle Control Lane Controls

Speed Limits Turns

Yielding the Right-
of-way

Vehicle 
Restrictions

Parking 
Restrictions

Maintaining 
Attention

Headlight Use Signaling

Licensing Insurance

and More!  It’s all in this Handbook!

Driving Skills Test
No other passengers are permitted 
during the exam (unless a language 
interpreter is necessary). You will 
perform the following maneuvers on the 
driving exam:
	 •	 Three Point Turn. Turn car around 

in a 20–40 foot space.
	 •	 Approach of Crossing. Get in 

the proper lane and look in each 
direction.

	 •	 Observe Right-of-Way. Allow 
pedestrians to cross, pull over and 
stop for emergency vehicles, and 
don’t enter an intersection where 
you will interfere with other traffic.

	 •	 Straight-In Parking. When properly 
parked, the vehicle should be 
centered inside the space with no 
part of the vehicle extending out in 
the traffic lane. 

	 •	 Parking on a Grade. Proper parking 
for uphill and downhill, with and 
without a curb.

	 •	 Stop Quickly. Make a quick, safe 
stop when the examiner/agent 
instructs you.

	 •	 Backing. Back for a distance of 50 
feet at a slow speed while looking 
to the rear. Do not use the rear-view 
mirror or rear-view camera monitor. 

	 •	 Obey Stop Signs. Approach in the 
proper lane, come to a complete 
stop before reaching the stop line 
or crosswalk, and remain stopped 
until you can move safely.

	 •	 Obey Traffic Signals. Get into 
the proper lane and approach the 
light at a speed that will allow you 
to stop if the light should change. 
When the light turns green, do not 
move forward until the other traffic 
has cleared the intersection.

	 •	 Signal and Turn. Get into the 
proper lane and signal your turn for 
the last 100 feet. You may use either 
hand signals or mechanical signals.

	 •	 Passing. Always look ahead and 
behind to make sure you can pass 
safely.

	 •	 Stay in Proper Lane. Drive in the 
right lane except on a one-way 
street. Do not change lanes until 
you may do so safely.

	 •	 Follow at a Safe Distance. Do not 
follow too closely behind other cars. 
Keep a minimum following distance 
of three to four seconds.

	 •	 Use Proper Posture. Keep both 
hands on the steering wheel and do 
not rest your elbow in the window.
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......................................................................................................................DRIVER LICENSE TESTING

The examiner will explain any mistakes you may have made after the test is 
completed. If you fail the driving skills test, you will be asked to study or practice 
before returning for retesting.

If you pass the driving skills test, the examiner will collect the fee and issue your 
driver license. 

Vehicle Inspection
You must provide a vehicle (with a valid license plate and insurance) for the driving 
skills test. Your vehicle will be inspected to determine that it is safe for a driving test. 
The driving skills test will not be given if the examiner finds:
	 •	 Horn, rear-view mirror, directional signals, steering wheel, brakes, tires, brake 

lights, or tail lights are defective or inoperable.
	 •	 No windshield wipers on the driver’s side.
	 •	 No operable headlights when visibility is reduced.
	 •	 Cracked or broken glass that hinders visibility.
	 •	 Expired tag.
	 •	 The vehicle doesn’t have doors.
	 •	 Front doors don’t open from the inside and outside.
	 •	 Vehicle does not have stationary seats.
	 •	 Vehicle does not permit the driver to give hand signals when required.
	 •	 Jeep-type vehicles without framed canvas or metal doors held by hinges and 

door latch.
	 •	 Doesn’t meet bumper height requirements. 
	 •	 A low-speed vehicle.



90  ©2020 Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles



The Official Florida Driver License Handbook—rev. 05/22/2020  91  

STUDY GUIDE FOR KNOWLEDGE EXAM
	 1a.	 In your vehicle, what should you adjust before you start your engine?
	 1b.	 What are the equipment requirements for windshields and side 

windows? 
	 1c	 What are bumper height requirements? Are they the same for every 

vehicle?
	 1d.	 What must you do if hauling a load of material which could fall or blow 

onto the roadway? 
	 1e.	 When a projected load extends more than 4 feet from the vehicle, what 

must you use to clearly mark it in the daytime? At night?  

	 2a.	 Why is drowsy driving dangerous?
	 2b.	 What should you do if another driver is threatening you or intentionally 

driving dangerously around you?
	 2c.	 What are the three main categories of distracted driving?
	 2d.	 Why is texting one of the most dangerous distracted driving behaviors?
	 2e.	 Can anyone drink and drive safely?
	 2f.	 Both your judgment and vision are affected after drinking alcohol. Which 

is affected first? 

	 3a.	 What can happen to you if you are in a crash and not wearing a seat belt?
	 3b.	 What age are children required to be in a car seat? In a car seat or booster 

seat?
	 3c.	 If a law enforcement officer stops a vehicle and the front seat passenger 

under 18 years old is not wearing a safety belt, who will be charged with 
the seat belt violation? 

	 4a.	 What does a single broken white line on the highway mean? 
	 4b.	 What does a double solid yellow line in the center of the highway mean? 

A double solid white line? 
	 4c.	 What does a solid yellow line to the right of the center line of the highway 

mean? 
	 4d.	 What do the colors of traffic signs indicate (red, orange, yellow, etc.)?
	 4e.	 When more than one vehicle approaches a four-way stop sign, which one 

moves first? 
	 4f.	 What does a red traffic light mean? What does a flashing red traffic light 

mean? 
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	 4g.	 After a full stop at a red traffic light when may a driver turn right? 
	 4h.	 What does a green arrow showing at the same time as a red traffic light 

mean you can do? 
	 4i.	 What does a flashing yellow light mean?
	 4j.	 If you are approaching a railroad crossing that does not have gates or 

lights and you see a train coming, what should you do? 

	 5a.	 What happens to the force of impact when you double your speed? Triple 
your speed?

	 5b.	 Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit for cars in a residential 
area? 

	 5c.	 What is the maximum speed limit on a limited access highway?  
	 5d.	 Can you be issued a citation for driving too slowly?  
	 5e.	 What are the steps for making a smooth stop?
	 5f.	 What is the arm signal for a left turn? Right turn? Slow or stop? 
	 5g.	 How long (distance) should you signal before making a left or right turn? 
	 5h.	 When can you use a three-point turn? Where should you never make a 

three-point turn?
	 5i.	 What is an open intersection? When must you yield right-of-way?
	 5j.	 When may you drive in the left lane of a road with two lanes? With four 

lanes?
	 5k.	 What does it mean if you see red reflectors on the lane lines facing you? 

What should you do?
	 5l.	 What is the recommended safe following distance? 
	 5m.	When should you increase your following distance?
	 5n.	 What are blind spots?
	 5o.	 How do you check your blind spots when you are preparing to change 

lanes or turn? 
	 5p.	 Where is it unlawful to overtake and pass? 
	 5q.	 Under what circumstances can you stop in the acceleration lane on an 

expressway?
	 5r.	 What should you do if you drive past your exit on a limited access 

highway? 
	 5s.	 Where should you move your vehicle if you break down while driving on 

the highway? 
	 5t.	 What is the farthest away you can park from a curb?
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	 5u.	 If you have a manual transmission, what gear should you put the car 
in when parking downhill? Uphill? What if you have an automatic 
transmission?

	 5v.	 Where is parking prohibited? 
	 5w.	Which way should you turn your wheels when parking uphill along a 

curb? Which way should you turn them where there is not a curb?  Which 
way should you turn them if parking downhill?

	 6a.	 Are motorists required to stop or yield for pedestrians crossing the street? 
	 6b.	 What must you do when you see a pedestrian with a white cane in the 

street ahead of you?
	 6c.	 What is the minimum distance a motorist must give when traveling next 

to a cyclist? 
	 6d.	 As a motorist, what should you do when preparing to turn right on a 

roadway with a bike lane? 
	 6e.	 When on the roadway, do motorcyclists and moped riders have the same 

rights and responsibilities as motor vehicle drivers? 
	 6f.	 If you are driving a motor vehicle, are you allowed to share a lane with a 

motorcyclist? 
	 6g.	 When a school bus is stopped to unload children on a highway divided 

with a raised barrier, are vehicles traveling in the opposite direction 
required to stop? 

	 6h.	 When a school bus stops to unload children, are vehicles traveling in the 
same direction required to stop? 

	 6i.	 What must you do when children or school crossing guards are present in 
a crosswalk? 

	 6j.	 What must you do if an emergency vehicle with activated lights and/or 
sirens is approaching you from behind?

	 6k.	 What does the Move Over Law require you to do?  
	 6l.	 What is a “No Zone”?
	 7a.	 At what times must you use your headlights? 
	 7b.	 At night, within how many feet of approaching a vehicle from the rear 

must you dim your high beam headlights? 
	 7c.	 Within how many feet of an oncoming vehicle should you dim your high 

beam headlights? 
	 7d.	 When driving in the rain, fog, or smoke in the daytime, what lights should 

you use? 
	 7e.	 What should you do when driving on wet roads in the rain? Why?
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	 8a.		 What should you do if your right wheels go off the pavement while 		
	driving?

	 8b.		 What should you do if your tires begin to skid while driving?
	 8c.		 When emergency braking, what is the difference between conventional 	

	brakes and anti-lock brakes (ABS)? 
	 8d.		 What should you do during a tire blow-out?
	 8e.		 What must you do if you are involved in a minor accident and your 	

	vehicle is blocking the flow of traffic?
	 8f.		  If you hit a parked car and are unable to find the owner, what should you 	

	do? 
	 8g.		 What are the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident involving 	

	 injury or death?
	 9a.		 What are the requirements of the No-Fault Law?
	 9b.		  If your license and registration are suspended for being in violation of 	

	the No-Fault Law, what must you do to get them reinstated?
	 9c.		 What are the penalties if you are at fault in a crash and you are not 		

	 insured in compliance with the Financial Responsibility Law? 
	 9d.		 What are the time restrictions for a motorist with a learner’s license?   
	 9e.		 What are the time restrictions for a licensed motorist under age 17? 	

	Under age 18?  
	 9f.		 When can you be charged with driving under the influence (DUI)? 
	 9g.		 What are the penalties for refusing to take a blood test, a urine test, or a 	

	breath test when suspected of driving under the influence? 
	 9h.		 What can happen if you are found guilty of racing on the highway?

	 10a.		 If you have a learner’s license, how many hours of driving experience are            	
	required to earn the Class E driver license?

	 10b.	 	What education course are you required to take if you are applying for a 	
	 learner’s license (or have never held a driver license)? 

	 10c.	 	Are you required to notify FLHSMV of any health problems that may 	
	affect your driving?

	 11.		 Why would one opt to take a Basic Driver Improvement Course? 

	 12.  		What maneuvers are required on a driving exam? 
 
     For the answers to these questions and other resources 	
		  please visit flhsmv.gov/handbooks.



STUDY.
PASS.
DRIVE SAFELY.

Available for download at:

flhsmv.gov/handbooks
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