
  
 

      
             Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
 PROCEDURE: 
 

VSTL-12 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

VESSELS JUNKED BY OWNERS 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE:   
 

THIS PROCEDURE IS PROVIDED TO ASSIST EMPLOYEES OF TAX COLLECTORS, LICENSE PLATE 
AGENTS AND THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES 
(FLHSMV) WITH REQUIREMENTS WHEN A VESSEL IS JUNKED. 
 

 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 328.03(4), Florida Statutes, provides that a certificate of title is prima facie evidence of 
the ownership of the vessel. A certificate of title is good for the life of the vessel so long as the 
certificate is owned or held by the legal holder. If a titled vessel is destroyed or abandoned, the 
owner, with the consent of any recorded lienholders, shall, within 30 days after the destruction or 
abandonment, surrender to the department for cancellation any and all title documents.  If a 
titled vessel is insured and the insurer has paid the owner for the total loss of the vessel, the 
insurer shall obtain the title to the vessel, and within 30 days after receiving the title, 
forward the title to FLHSMV for cancellation. The insurer may retain the certificate of 
title when payment for the loss was made because of the theft of the vessel. 

 
 II. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 

When a vessel is declared "Junk" by the owner because it has been destroyed, abandoned, or 
the insurance company has paid the owner for a total loss, the certificate of title must be 
surrendered to the tax collector's office or license plate agent for cancellation. 

 
A cancelled, or “junked”, transaction generates form HSMV 82041.  Form HSMV 82041, along 
with the title "junked" stamped or handwritten across the face, should be placed with the rest of 
the day's work in the Transaction Summary Report. 

 
1. When a vessel is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is available, submit the 

following documentation to the tax collector's office or license plate agent: 
 

    a. Florida Certificate of Title with the notation "junked", with the   
     signature(s) of the owner(s) shown on the face of the certificate of title. 
 b. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records 

of this or any other state, if applicable. 
c.         No title fee is required. 
 
 

Revision(s) to this procedure:  Statutory Review.  Added links to statute and forms. Updated Direct Mail 
address, Sections I and II (3)-(4). Added Historical Revisions section. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.03&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.03.html
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 2. When the vessel is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is not available, 

submit the following documentation to the tax collector's office or license plate 
agent: 

 
                                                a.         Form  HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost in 

Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title 
Certificate, must be accurately completed by the owner. See Division of 
Motorist Services Procedure TL-05. 

 
 When the duplicate certificate of title is received, follow instructions under 

section II (1), of this procedure. 
 
 3.        When the insurer pays a total loss claim on the vessel, they must take the title 

in their name prior to the title being cancelled. 
 
              4.        When a Florida certificate of title has been re-assigned, the re-assignment to 

the new owner must be processed prior to the title being cancelled. 
 
 III. Title Cancelled Junk in Error: 
 
 If the certificate of title was submitted and junked in error,  an affidavit signed by the registered 

owner stating that fact along with form HSMV 82101, must be submitted to: 
 

                                     Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
                                     Division of Motorist Services 
                                     ATTN:  Direct Mail, MS#72 
                                     2900 Apalachee Parkway 
                                     Tallahassee, FL 32399 

                                              
                         Duplicate title fees are required. 
 
  
 
 
 
Historical Revisions:  
10/17/05:  Updated information on page 1. 
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http://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82101.pdf
http://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82101.pdf
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