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 VESSEL TITLING EXEMPTIONS 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX COLLECTOR 
EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENTS AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES FOR VESSEL TITLING EXEMPTIONS. 

 

 
I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 

Section 328.03(1), Florida Statutes, provides that each vessel that is operated, used or stored on the 
waters of this state must be titled by this state unless it is exempt. 

 
Section 328.03(2), Florida Statutes, provides that a person shall not operate, use or store a vessel for 
which a certificate of title is required unless the owner has received from the Department of Highway 
Safety and Motor Vehicles a valid certificate of title for such vessel.  However, such vessel may be 
operated, used or stored for a period of up to 180 days after the date of application for a certificate of title 
while the application is pending. 

 
II. TITLING EXEMPTIONS: 

A. A vessel operated, used or stored exclusively on private lakes and ponds. 
B. A vessel owned by the United States Government. 
C. A non-motor-powered vessel less than 16 feet in length. 
D. A federally documented vessel. 
E. A vessel already covered by a registration number in full force and effect which was awarded 

to it pursuant to a federally approved numbering system of another state or by the United 
States Coast Guard in a state without a federally approved numbering system, if the vessel is 
not located in this state for more than 90 consecutive days. 

F. A vessel from a country other than the United States temporarily used, operated or stored on 
the waters of this state for a period that is not more than 90 days. 

G. An amphibious vessel for which a vehicle title is issued by the Department of Highway Safety 
and Motor Vehicles. 

H. A vessel used solely for demonstration, testing or sales promotional purposes by the 
manufacturer or dealer. 

I. A vessel owned and operated by the state or a political subdivision thereof. 
 

Historical Revisions  
04/14/14 - Added Exhibit A 
1/12/2010 – Updated adding applicable statute including the terms “used, operated, and or stored” in sections I and II. 
2/27/2001 – Updated section II, H. 
 

Revision(s) to this procedure: Statutory review. Added links to statutes and Historical Revisions Section.     
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.03&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.03.html
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EXHIBIT A 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 
 
Question:   

 

Is a floating structure or houseboat required to be titled and registered?  

Houseboats or floating structures are not normally required to be titled or registered. According to section 
327.02, Florida Statutes, the definitions for both preclude the use of the vessel as a means of transportation. 
However, if a houseboat is ever used as a means of transportation on the waters; it must be titled and registered. 
A floating structure is allowed incidental movement on the water, but must also be titled and registered if the 
structure is ever used as a means of transportation on the waters or is used to move things (such as dirt, etc.) 
from place to place. 

The definitions for a houseboat and floating structure are in:  

Section 327.02(14), Florida Statutes, defines floating structure as a floating entity, with or without 
accommodations built thereon, which is not primarily used as a means of transportation on water, but which 
serves purposes or provides services typically associated with a structure or other improvement to real property. 
The term "floating structure" includes, but is not limited to, each entity used as a residence, place of business or 
office with public access, hotel or motel, restaurant or lounge, clubhouse, meeting facility, storage or parking 
facility, mining platform, dredge, dragline or similar facility or entity represented as such. Floating structures 
are expressly excluded from the definition of the term "vessel" provided in this section. Incidental movement 
upon water or resting partially or entirely on the bottom shall not, in and of itself, preclude an entity from 
classification as a floating structure.   

Section 327.02(17), Florida Statutes, Houseboat means any vessel which is used primarily as a residence for a 
minimum of 21 days during any 30-day period, in a county of this state, and this residential use of the vessel is 
to the preclusion of the use of the vessel as a means of transportation on water. 
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