
      Florida 

Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
 PROCEDURE 

 

VSRS-11 

 

SUBJECT: 

 

EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS 

 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
 

 THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE ISSUANCE OF 

 A VESSEL CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION TO EXEMPTED ORGANIZATIONS. 
 

 

 I.  PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 328.72(14), Florida Statutes, exempts certain vessels owned and operated by Sea 

Explorer or Sea Scout units of the Boy Scouts of America, the Girl Scouts of America, the 

Florida Association of Christian Child Caring Agencies, Inc., Safe Harbor Haven, Inc. or the 

Associated Marine Institutes, Inc. and its affiliates, from paying a vessel registration fee. The 

exempted vessels must be a non-motor-powered sailing vessel that is owned by a nonprofit 

entity and used exclusively for teaching boating safety, boat handling or seamanship skills, 

including the racing of such sailing vessels, or an antique vessel. 
 

 II. DOCUMENTATION AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

A. When a vessel is being registered and is exempt from paying the vessel registration fee, a 

certificate of title and registration must be issued along with a decal and FL number.  

Collect title fees and service fees for the certificate of title and registration and select the 

appropriate registration use code for the database to exempt registration fees. 
 

  B. If the vessel is owned by Associated Marine Institutes, Inc., or one of its affiliates, and is  

   being leased to a third party, they are not exempt from the vessel registration fees.   

   These vessels should be charged the normal registration fees, based on the length of the  

   vessel and indicate the commercial use on registration. 
 

  

III. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 
 

A. If a vessel is directly operated by Sea Explorer or Sea Scout units of the Boy Scouts of 

America, the Girl Scouts of America, the Florida Association of Christian Child Caring 

Agencies, Inc., Safe Harbor Haven, Inc., or the Associated Marine Institutes, Inc. and     

its affiliates, or is an antique vessel, the only fees charged are the title fees and service 

fees. 

 

 

 

Revision(s) to this Procedure: Statutory Review. Added link to F.S 328.72. 
 

 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

IMMEDIATELY 

REVISION DATE 

01/07/19 

PAGE # 

VSRS-11-01 
 

 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.72&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.72.html
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B. If a vessel is leased to a third party by Associated Marine Institutes, Inc. or one of  its 

 affiliates, it is not exempt from the vessel registration fees. 
 

 

C.  Definition of an antique vessel: 

A vessel that is at least 30 years old, used only for non-commercial purposes, and 

powered by the vessel’s original type power plant.  

 
 

 If the vessel is an "Antique Vessel" and the owner desires an "Antique Decal," please 

refer to Division of Motorist Services Procedure VSRS-01 for instructions. 

 
Historical Revisions: 

 

6/23/04 Created original procedure 
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http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/3%20Vessel%20Procedures/Registration/VSRS-01%20Antique%20Vessel%20(30%20years%20or%20older)%20Registration%20and%20Decal.pdf

