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SUBJECT:

REPLACEMENT VESSEL DECAL

DESCRIPTION AND USE:

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE
ISSUANCE OF A REPLACEMENT VESSEL DECAL.

PROVISIONS OF LAW:

Section 328.48(6), Florida Statutes, provides that when a vessel decal has been stolen, the

owner of the vessel for which the decal was issued shall make application for a
replacement. The application shall contain the decal number being replaced and a
statement that the item was stolen. If the application includes a copy of the police report
prepared in response to a report of a stolen decal, such decal shall be replaced at no charge.

Section 328.48(7), Florida Statutes states that any decal lost in the mail may be replaced at

no charge. The service charge shall not be applied to this replacement; however, the
application for a replacement shall contain a statement of such fact, the decal number and

the date issued.

Section 328.72(5), Florida Statutes, provides that a decal may be issued to replace a lost or

misplaced decal by submitting $2.25 with a request from (by the registered owner or an
appointed representative) for such replacement decal to a county tax collector’s office.

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS:

Applications for replacement decals can be processed at any tax collector’s office or license
plate agency. The customer must submit the following:

A

Form HSMV 87015, Application for Duplicate Registration, Replacement Decal and
Change of Classification, must be completed and signed. If the registration is in joint
ownership, only one owner must sign the application.

If the decal was stolen, a copy of the police report must be submitted for the decal
to be replaced at no charge. If the decal was not stolen, then a service fee of $2.25
must be submitted with the request.

Revision(s) to this procedure: Statutory Review. Updated Statute 328.72 (5). Added “If decal is not stolen,
then $2.25 must be submitted with request”. Added Historical Revisions section and links to statutes and

forms.
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.48&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.48.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.48&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.48.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.72&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.72.html
https://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/87015.pdf
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MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION:

A. The completed application should be retained by the tax collector’s office or license

plate agency for a period of 12 months.

B. When issuing a replacement decal, process the transaction as a registration

replacement decal. The vessel owner should either turn in the old registration
certificate or check the appropriate block on the HSMV 87015 indicating why the
original certificate of registration is not available.

Historical Revisions:

11/10/03 Added Sections 328.48(6) and 328.48(7), F.S., to clarify how the license plate agencies need to process a replacement

decal when it has been reported stolen. Added information on page 1 and created second page for miscellaneous information.
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https://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/87015.pdf

