
  

     
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
 PROCEDURE 
 

VSRS-01 
 

SUBJECT: 
 
ANTIQUE VESSEL (30 YEARS OR OLDER) REGISTRATION AND DECAL 

 
DESCRIPTION AND USE: 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST EMPLOYEES  
OF TAX COLLECTORS, LICENSE PLATE AGENTS, AND THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF 
HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES WITH THE ISSUANCE OF ANTIQUE VESSEL (30 
YEARS OR OLDER) REGISTRATIONS AND DECALS. 

 
I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 

 
  Section 328.72(2)(a), Florida Statutes, provides for antique vessel (30 years old or more) and 

antique vessel decals.   
 
  Section 328.72(14), Florida Statutes, exempts antique vessels from an annual registration fee.  If 

the vessel does not have an FL number, a number will be assigned by the system along with a 
state decal.  The only fees charged are the service fees for the registration. 

 
 II. DEFINITION: 
 
  A vessel that meets all the following requirements qualifies to be registered as an antique vessel: 
 

A.  At least 30 years old;  
B. Used for noncommercial (recreational) purposes only;  
C. Powered by the vessel’s original type power plant. 
 

III. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING AN ANTIQUE REGISTRATION: 
 
A. Form HSMV 87243, Certification for an Antique Vessel Registration, completed by the 

owner or a licensed marine surveyor. This document certifies that the vessel meets or 
exceeds the standards established in 328.72(2)(a), Florida Statutes. 

B. Submit form HSMV 87243 to a Tax Collector office or a License Plate Agent.   
C. The county will issue a registration reflecting exempt antique vessel status, and the form 

HSMV 87243 will be returned to the applicant. 
 

IV. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING AN ANTIQUE DECAL: 
 
  After acquiring a vessel registration indicating exempt antique vessel status as described in 

Section III., the applicant may obtain an antique decal to display on the vessel.   
 
 
 

 

 

Revision(s) to this procedure: Statutory Review. Added links to statutes and form. Corrected requirements for 
Change of Ownership under Miscellaneous (C). Added Exhibit A. 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.72&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.72.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.72&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.72.html
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/87243.pdf
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The following must be submitted to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor 
Vehicles (Department):  

 
                        A. A copy of the most current certificate of vessel registration in the customer's name. 
 

B. The same previously completed form HSMV 87243, Certification for an Antique Vessel 
Registration, that was returned to the applicant with his/her new antique vessel 
registration.   

 
C.        Mail these documents to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, 

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS# 72, Tallahassee, Florida 32399. 
 

D. The Department will issue the decal at no charge. For an example of an Antique Decal 
see Exhibit A. 

 
V.  MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 
 

 A.   Antique vessels are exempt from the annual base registration fee. However, a Certificate 
of Registration, numbers, and decal must be issued upon application and payment of 
service fees. When issuing the registration certificate, insure that "EA" which designates 
antique is entered as the "Reg Use" to exempt it from base registration charges. Service 
fees will be charged annually upon each renewal of the state decal and registration.  

 
B. The registration number for an antique vessel shall be permanently attached to each side 

of the forward half of the vessel as provided in ss. 328.48 and 328.54. The antique decal 
shall be placed within three inches of the registration number. 

 
C. If there is a change in ownership, the application shall be accompanied by either a    

Certificate of Title, a bill of sale and a registration, or if no Florida title has been 
previously issued, a bill of sale and an affidavit by the owner defending the title 
from all claims. The bill of sale must contain a complete vessel description to include 
the hull identification number and engine number, if appropriate; the year, make, 
and color of the vessel; the selling price; and the signatures of the seller and 
purchaser.  The Certificate of Title and registration must be transferred into the name of 
the purchaser 

   

D. In the event an antique vessel decal is lost, destroyed, or mutilated, the owner of the 
vessel may apply to the Department for a replacement decal at no charge. 

   

 E. The antique decal will remain current for the life of the vessel provided the vessel   
             continues to conform to the definition of an antique vessel.  The antique decal shall  
  not exempt an antique vessel from other title and registration requirements established by 

    Florida Statutes. 
 
 
Historical Revisions 
04/13/12 Added new Section III, application requirements for obtaining an antique vessel registration and corrected & 
clarified new Section IV for obtaining an antique decal.  
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.72&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.48.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=328.72&URL=0300-0399/0328/Sections/0328.54.html


 

 
 

Exhibit A 
 

Antique Vessel Decal 
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