
 

       
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
 PROCEDURE: 
 

TL-36 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENTS INVOLVING INSURANCE COMPANIES 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE:   
THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST EMPLOYEES OF 
THE TAX COLLECTOR, LICENSE PLATE AGENT AND THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY 
SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES (FLHSMV) IN PROCESSING TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENTS 
INVOLVING INSURANCE COMPANIES. 

 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 319.30(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides the meaning of the term "Certificate of 
Destruction" as the certificate issued pursuant to s. 713.78(11) or s. 713.785(7)(a). 
  
Section 319.30(1)(g), Florida Statutes, provides the meaning of the term "Independent Entity" as 
a business or entity that may temporarily store damaged or dismantled motor vehicles pursuant to 
an agreement with an insurance company and is engaged in the sale or resale of damaged or 
dismantled motor vehicles. 
  
Section 319.30(1)(i), Florida Statutes, provides the meaning of the term “late model vehicle” as a 
motor vehicle that has a manufacturer’s model year of 7 years or newer. 
  
319.30(1)(o) Florida Statutes, defines "National Motor Vehicle Title Information System" 
(NMVTIS) means the national mandated vehicle history database maintained by the United 
States Department of Justice to link the states' motor vehicle title records, including Florida's 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles' title records, and ensure that states, law 
enforcement agencies, and consumers have access to vehicle titling, branding, and other 
information that enables them to verify the accuracy and legality of a motor vehicle title before 
purchase or title transfer of the vehicle occurs. 

  
Section 319.30(3)(a)1.a., Florida Statutes, states that a motor vehicle or mobile home is a "total 
loss" when an insurance company pays the motor vehicle owner to replace the wrecked or 
damaged motor vehicle with one of like kind and quality or when an insurance company pays the 
owner upon the theft of the motor vehicle or motor home.  This includes all motor vehicles and 
mobile homes regardless of the year or make.  
Section 319.30(3)(a)1.b., Florida Statutes, states that a motor vehicle or mobile home is a "total 
loss" when an UNINSURED motor vehicle or mobile home is wrecked or damaged and the cost, 
at the time of loss, of repairing or rebuilding the vehicle is 80 percent or more of the cost to the 
owner of replacing the wrecked or damaged motor vehicle or mobile home with one of like kind 
and quality.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Implemented 2019 Legislative revisions to s. 319.30(3)(b) 1-3, effective 
January 1, 2020 

EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 

Immediately 
 

REVISION DATE: 
 

03/06/20 
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Section 319.30(3)(a)(2), Florida Statutes, states, "A motor vehicle or mobile home shall not be 
considered a "total loss" if the insurance company and owner of a motor vehicle or mobile home 
agree to repair, rather than to replace, the motor vehicle or mobile home.  However, if the actual 
cost to repair the motor vehicle or mobile home to the insurance company exceeds 100 percent of 
the cost of replacing the wrecked or damaged motor vehicle or mobile home with one of like kind 
and quality, the owner shall forward to the department, within 72 hours after the agreement, a 
request to brand the certificate of title with the words "Total Loss Vehicle."  Such a brand shall 
become part of the vehicle's title history (see IV, H, of this procedure). 
 
Section 319.30(3)(b), Florida Statutes, requires an insurance company which pays money as 
compensation for total loss of a motor vehicle or mobile home to obtain the certificate of title for 
the motor vehicle or mobile home, make the required notification to the National Motor Vehicle 
Title Information System, and, within 72 hours after receiving such certificate of title forward it 
to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for processing.  Application for a 
salvage certificate of title or certificate of destruction must be made by the insurance company.  

 
1.    Thirty days after payment of a claim for compensation, the insurance company 

may receive a salvage certificate of title or certificate of destruction from 
FLHSMV if the  insurance company is unable to obtain a properly assigned 
certificate of title from the owner or lienholder of the motor vehicle or mobile 
home. In the event the motor vehicle or mobile home does not carry an electronic 
lien on the title, the insurance company must show proof of the following: 

 
a.  obtained the release of all liens on the motor vehicle or mobile home; 

b.  provide proof of payment of the total loss claim; and 

c.  provide an affidavit on letterhead signed by the insurance company, or its 
authorize agent, stating the attempts that have been made to obtain the title 
from the owner or lienholder, and all attempts are to no avail; The affidavit 
must include a request that the salvage certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction be issued in the insurance company’s name due to payment of a 
total loss claim to the owner or lienholder. The attempts to contact the owner 
may be by written request, delivered in person or by first-class mail with a 
certificate of mailing to the owner’s or lienholder’s last known address. 

 
2. If the owner or lienholder is notified of the request for title in person, the 

insurance company must provide an affidavit attesting to the in-person request 
for a certificate of title. 

 
3.    The request to the owner or lienholder for the certificate of title must include a 

complete description of the motor vehicle or mobile home and the statement that a 
total loss claim has been paid on the motor vehicle or mobile home. 
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Section 319.30(3)(c) Florida Statutes, requires that if the estimated costs of repairing the physical 
and mechanical damage to the MOBILE HOME are equal to 80 percent or more of the current 
retail cost of the mobile home, as established in any official used mobile home guide, FLHSMV 
shall declare the mobile home un-rebuildable and print a certificate of destruction, which 
authorizes the dismantling or destruction of the mobile home.  This does not apply to mobile 
homes worth less than $1500 retail just prior to sustaining the damage that resulted in the total 
loss. 
 

For a late model vehicle (seven years old or newer) with a retail value of at least $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service, and when the estimated costs to 
repair the physical and mechanical damage to the vehicle are equal to 90 percent or more of the 
current retail value, FLHSMV shall declare the vehicle un-rebuildable and print a certificate of 
destruction, which authorizes the dismantling or destruction of the motor vehicle. 
 

However, if the damaged motor vehicle (van) is equipped with custom-lowered floors for 
wheelchair access or a wheelchair lift, the insurance company may, upon determining that the 
vehicle is repairable to a condition that is safe for operation on public roads, submit the certificate 
of title to FLHSMV for reissuance as a salvage rebuildable title and the addition of a title brand 
of “insurance declared total loss.” 
 
 

If a total loss vehicle has a current retail value of less than $7,500, as established in any official 
used motor vehicle guide or valuation service, or the vehicle is not a late model vehicle, and the 
vehicle is damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent that the only residual value of the motor 
vehicle is a source of parts or scrap metal or if the vehicle comes into the state under a title or 
other ownership document that indicates the vehicle is not repairable, is junked or is for parts or 
dismantling only, the owner or insurance company shall obtain a certificate of destruction. 
 

Although, Florida law requires insurance companies to make the required notification to 
NMVTIS for salvage motor vehicles, proof of that notification is not required to be submitted at 
the time of application for a salvage title or certificate of destruction.  Proof of notification is still 
required from and MUST be submitted by an independent entity.  See IV, J of this procedure for 
instructions for independent entities. 

 
Section 319.30(9)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that an insurance company may notify an 
independent entity that obtains possession of a damaged or dismantled motor vehicle to release 
the vehicle to the owner.  The insurance company shall provide the independent entity a release 
statement on a form prescribed by FLHSMV authorizing the independent entity to release the 
vehicle to the owner or lienholder.  The form must, at a minimum, contain the following: 
 

    1.   The policy and claim number.  

    2.   The name and address of the insured. 
    3.   The vehicle identification number. 
    4.   The signature of an authorized representative of the insurance company. 
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Section 319.30(9)(b), Florida Statutes, provides that the independent entity in possession of a 
motor vehicle must send a notice to the owner that the vehicle is available for pickup when it 
receives a release statement from the insurance company.  The notice shall be sent by certified 
mail or by another commercially available delivery service that provides proof of delivery to the 
owner (at the owner's address) contained in FLHSMV's records.  The notice must state that the 
owner has 30 days after delivery of the notice to the owner to pick up the vehicle from the 
independent entity.  If the motor vehicle is not claimed within 30 days after the delivery or 
attempted delivery of the notice, the independent entity may apply for a certificate of destruction 
or a certificate of title. For a complete definition of attempted delivery, see Miscellaneous 
Information X. 
 
Section 319.30(9)(c), Florida Statutes, provides that if FLHSMV’s records do not contain the 
owner’s address, the independent entity must do all of the following:  

1. Send a notice that meets the requirements of 319.30(9)(b) to the owner’s address that 
is provided by the insurance company in the release statement.  

2. Identify the latest titling jurisdiction of the vehicle through use of the NMVTIS or an 
equivalent commercially available system and attempt to obtain the owner’s address 
from that jurisdiction. If the jurisdiction returns an address that is different from the 
owner’s address provided by the insurance company, the independent entity must send 
a notice that meets the requirements of 319.30(9)(b) to both addresses. 

 

Section 319.30(9)(d), Florida Statutes, provides that the independent entity shall maintain for a 
minimum of 3 years the records related to the 30-day notice sent to the owner, the results of the 
searches of the NMVTIS or an equivalent commercially available system, and the notification to 
the NMVTIS made pursuant to 319.30(9)(e). 
 

Section 319.30(9)(e), Florida Statutes, provides that the independent entity shall make the 
required notification to the NMVTIS before releasing any damaged or dismantled motor vehicle 
to the owner or before applying for a certificate of destruction or salvage certificate of title. 
 

Section 319.30(9)(f), Florida Statutes, provides that upon applying for a certificate of destruction 
or certificate of title, the independent entity shall provide a copy of the release statement from the 
insurance company to the independent entity, proof of providing the 30-day notice to the owner, 
proof of notification to NMVTIS, proof of all liens satisfactions or proof of a release of all liens 
on the motor vehicle, and applicable fees. If the independent entity is unable to obtain a lien 
satisfaction or a release of all liens on the motor vehicle, the independent entity must provide an 
affidavit stating that notice was sent to all lienholders that the motor vehicle is available for 
pickup, 30 days have passed since the notice was delivered or attempted to be delivered pursuant 
to this section, attempts have been made to obtain a release from all lienholders, and all such 
attempts have been to no avail. The notice to lienholders and attempts to obtain a release from 
lienholders may be by written request delivered in person or by certified mail or another 
commercially available delivery service that provides proof of delivery to the lienholder at the 
lienholder’s address as provided on the certificate of title and to the address designated with the 
Department of State pursuant to s. 655.0201(2) if such address is different. 
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Section 319.30(9)(g), Florida Statutes, provides that the independent entity may not charge an 
owner of the vehicle storage fees or apply for a title under s. 713.585 or s. 713.78. 

 
II. GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 

A. Refer to Exhibit C of this procedure for information on when to apply for a salvage 
rebuildable title and when to apply for a certificate of destruction. 

 

B. When an insurance company pays (total loss) to replace a motor vehicle or mobile home 
with one of like kind and quality, it may not dispose of the motor vehicle or mobile home 
until a certificate of destruction or salvage certificate of title (branded either Rebuildable 
or Rebuildable Flood) has been issued in its name. 

 

C. An owner of an UNINSURED/SELF-INSURED total loss mobile home must apply for a 
certificate of destruction when the estimated costs of repairing the physical damage is 80 
percent or more of the current retail cost, as established in any official used mobile home 
guide.  (Use section 5 of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate 
of Destruction.) 

 
A total loss is not applicable to “uninsured/self-insured” when the estimated costs of 
repairing the mobile home is LESS than 80% of the current retail cost or when the mobile 
home is worth LESS than $1,500 retail just prior to sustaining the damage. 

 
D. An “insurance company” of a total loss mobile home must apply for a certificate of 

destruction when the estimated costs of repairing the physical damage is 80 percent or 
more of the current retail cost, as established in any official used mobile home guide.  
(Use section 5 of the form HSMV 82363. 

 

 When the estimated costs of repairing the (insurance total loss) mobile home is LESS than 
80% of the current retail cost, a rebuildable title would apply.  However, the salvage law 
is not applicable when the mobile home is worth LESS than $1,500 retail just prior to 
sustaining the damage. 

 
E. An insurance company or an owner (including self-insured) must apply for a certificate of 

destruction when: 
 

A motor vehicle is seven (7) years or newer** with a retail value of at least $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service, and the estimated costs to 
repair the physical and mechanical damage to the motor vehicle are 90 percent or more of 
the current retail value.  (Use section 6, of the form HSMV 82363). 
 

(**To calculate the model years included, take the current year and subtract 6.  This will 
give you the range of model years that would apply.) 
 

            Example: Current year: 2019 – 6 = 2013 (This would include 2013 model year vehicles 
and newer.) 
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• A motor vehicle with a retail value of less than $7,500, as established in any official 
used car guide or valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model vehicle (more 
than seven model years old) and is damaged, wrecked or burned to the extent that the 
only residual value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts or scrap metal.  (Use 
section 7, a, of the form HSMV 82363). 

 

• A motor vehicle with a retail value of less than $7,500, as established in any official 
used car guide or valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model vehicle (more 
than seven model years old) comes into Florida under a title or other ownership 
document that indicates the vehicle is not repairable, is junked or is for parts or 
dismantling only.  (Use section 8, of the form HSMV 82363). 

 

• The estimated costs of repairing the physical and mechanical damage to a MOBILE 
HOME (with a retail value of $1,500 or more) are 80 percent or more of the current 
retail cost of the mobile home, as established in any official used mobile home guide.  
(Use section 5 of the form HSMV 82363). 

 

• The insurance company or owner/self-insured MAY CHOOSE to request a certificate 
of destruction regardless of the age or value of the motor vehicle or mobile home if it 
deems necessary (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363).  

F. An insurance company of a total loss motor vehicle may apply for a rebuildable certificate 
of title when: 
 

The motor vehicle being replaced has a retail value of less than $7,500, as established in 
any official used car guide or valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model vehicle 
(more than seven model years old) and HAS NOT been damaged, wrecked or burned to 
the extent that the only residual value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts or scrap 
metal.  (Use section 7, b, of the form HSMV 82363). 
 
 

The insurance company may choose to request a certificate of destruction in lieu of a 
rebuildable title, if the motor vehicle is worth less than $7,500 or is not a late model 
vehicle (more than 7 model years old) and HAS BEEN damaged, wrecked, or burned to 
the extent that the only residual value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts or scrap 
metal (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363). 

 
G. An owner or self-insured total loss motor vehicle may apply for a rebuildable certificate 

of title when: 
 

A motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or newer with a retail value of at least $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service, and the estimated costs of 
repairing the motor vehicle is 80 – 89% of the current retail cost of the motor vehicle, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service.  (Use section 6, c, 3, of the 
form HSMV 82363). 
 
 

The owner/self-insured may choose to request a certificate of destruction in lieu of a 
rebuildable title, regardless of the value or model year of the motor vehicle. (Use section 
9, of the form HSMV 82363). 
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H. The insurance company also has the option to request an "insurance-declared total loss" 
(which will be a salvage rebuildable title) in lieu of a certificate of destruction if the 
damaged vehicle (van) is equipped with custom-lowered floors for wheelchair access or a 
wheelchair lift and the insurance company deems that the vehicle is repairable to a 
condition that is safe for operation on public roads (see IV, I, of this procedure).  (Use 
section 11 of the form HSMV 82363). 

 

I. The application and supporting documentation must be submitted to a tax collector's 
office within seventy-two (72) hours after receiving the certificate of title from the owner. 

 

J. The “Date of Loss” (self-insured) or the “Date Declared Total Loss and Compensation 
Paid” (insurance company) determines whether a salvage application must be processed 
under the old salvage law (prior to July 1, 2014) or the current law (effective July 1, 
2014). 

 

EXAMPLE:   
 

Date of loss/total loss paid: May 21, 2014 (Prior to July 1)             Old Law 
  July 1, 2014     Current Law 
 

• For information and instructions concerning the prior salvage law (total loss prior 
to July 1, 2014) go to Procedure TL-36. 
 

 

• When applicable, the form HSMV 82363 (total loss prior to July 1, 2014) 
 

K. A certificate of destruction issued prior to July 1, 2014 CANNOT be cancelled/reversed 
and reprocessed as a rebuildable under the current salvage law (effective July 1, 2014), as 
the date of loss was prior to July 1, 2014. 

 
III. E-SIGNATURE (ELECTRONIC) PROCESS FOR TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENT 

VEHICLES (CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION) ONLY AND WHEN THE TITLE IS 
LOST/NOT AVAILABLE: 

 

If not using a form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney, with an electronic signature, follow the 
appropriate instructions in section IV of this procedure. 
 
A.         An insurance company authorized and licensed to do business in Florida will email 

form HSMV 82053 (Power of Attorney – non-secure) to the owner/insured. 
 

 

  B. The owner/insured will electronically sign (e-sign) form HSMV 82053 and send it back 
to the insurance company, authorizing the insurance company to act on behalf of the 
owner/insured as the owner/insured’s attorney in fact. 

 
C. The insurance company will complete: 

 
Form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit/Reassignment for a 
Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate, in the applicable sections to 
apply for a certificate of title on behalf of the owner, 
 
Form HSMV 82363, and Form HSMV 82052, Electronic Signature Agreement. 
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D. The insurance company will take documents and lien satisfaction (when applicable) to a 

tax collector office. 
 

The tax collector office will process a certificate of destruction. 
 
IV. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 

 

To apply for a Florida salvage certificate of title or a certificate of destruction, the following 
documentation must be submitted: 

 

A. All Insured Motor Vehicles or Mobile Homes Declared a Total Loss as a Result of Being 
Wrecked or Damaged. 

 

When the insurance company pays to replace the motor vehicle or mobile home, an 
application for a Florida salvage certificate of title or a certificate of destruction must be 
made by the insurance company.  Under the following circumstances, the documents 
listed should be submitted: 

 

1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is 
available for transfer to the insurance company: 

 

a. The certificate of title must be assigned in the "Transfer of Title by Seller" 
section by the owner(s) transferring interest to the insurance company.  
The insurance company's name must appear as the purchaser. 

 

All required odometer information must be entered in this section.  See 
Procedure TL-09.  It is necessary that the selling price (settlement amount 
or purchase price) of the motor vehicle or mobile home be shown in the 
"Transfer of Title by Seller" section of the Florida certificate of title. 

b. Form HSMV 82363 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 

c. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

d. Title fees. 
 

A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the 
form HSMV 82363. 

 
2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is 

unavailable for transfer to the insurance company: 
 

A form HSMV 82101 completed in the applicable section, by owner.   
 
a. The verification portion of form HSMV 82101 must be completed.  Refer 

to the verification process in Procedure TL-05. 
 

b. A form HSMV 82101 completed in the applicable sections, by an 
authorized agent for the insurance company, as applicant for the certificate 
of title. 
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c. Form HSMV 82363 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 

company. 
 

d. Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state. 

 

e. Title fees.  Collect duplicate title fee from the owner and transfer of title 
fee from the insurance company.  FRVIS will charge title and service fees 
for both owner and insurance company. 
 

 

A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the 
form HSMV 82363. 

 
 

3. If the motor vehicle or mobile home has never been titled in Florida, the dealer 
was in possession of the vehicle at the time of the total loss, the salvage is to 
remain in Florida and the insurance company has paid a total loss claim to the 
dealer: 
 

a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) or the out-of-state 
certificate of title must be assigned by the dealer transferring interest to the 
insurance company.  The insurance company's name must appear as the 
purchaser. 
 

b. Form HSMV 82363 completed by an authorized agent for the insurance 
company. 
 

c. Form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 
Verification, completed by the purchaser(s) with the motor vehicle 
identification number verified by one of the four officials shown on the 
lower portion of the form. 
 

If the application is for a certificate of destruction and the proof of ownership is an 
out of state title, the vehicle identification number must be verified by a Florida 
law enforcement officer ONLY. 

 
 

Form HSMV 82363, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 
 

or, 
 

An affidavit from the seller(s) and the purchaser(s) verifying that the 
vehicle identification number shown on the affidavit is identical to the 
vehicle identification number shown on the motor vehicle. 

 

d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

e. Title fees. 
 

A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the 
form HSMV 82363. 
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4. For new or used motor vehicles or mobile homes that have never been titled in the 

State of Florida, purchased by an individual or company, the salvage is to remain 
in Florida and a title is needed for transfer to the insurance company:   

a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) or out-of-state certificate 
of title must be assigned by the dealer transferring interest to the retail 
purchaser(s). 

 

b. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration completed by the retail purchaser(s). 

 

 c. Form HSMV 82042, completed by the retail purchaser(s) with the motor 
vehicle identification number verified by one of the four officials shown 
on the lower portion of the form. 

 

Form HSMV 82040, may be used in lieu of the above listed form HSMV 
82042. 
 

 

or, 
   

 

An affidavit from the seller(s) and the purchaser(s) verifying that the 
vehicle identification number shown on the affidavit is identical to the 
vehicle identification number shown on the motor vehicle. 
 

d. Lien satisfactions, for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 
HSMV 82040. 

 

f. The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 
vehicle or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for mobile homes. 

 

g. Title fees. 
 
 

When the certificate of title has been issued in the name of the retail purchaser(s), 
it must be completed for transfer to the insurance company. (Refer to IV, A, 1). 

 

 
5. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the insurance 

 company is unable to obtain the certificate of title for transfer to the insurance 
 company, the following is required: 
 
a. An affidavit from an authorized agent of the insurance company, stating 

why the title is unavailable.  
 

b. Proof of payment made to the current owner and/or the lienholder of the 
total loss claim including but not limited to: 
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•The front and back of a cancelled check. 
 
•Wire transfer or electronic payment transfer. 
 
•Printout from the insurance company's official records evidencing 
payment. 

 

c. Form HSMV 82363 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 

d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable, or proof that the total loss claim was 
paid directly to the lienholder.   

 

e. Title fees. 
 

A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the 
form HSMV 82363. 

 

6. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida with an electronic status; 
the insurance company paid a total loss claim directly to the lienholder and the 
title record needs to be transferred to the insurance company the following is 
required: 

 
a. Form HSMV 82994, Motor Vehicle Title Reassignment completed by the 

owner of the motor vehicle or mobile home, transferring their interest over 
to the insurance company.   

 

b. Form HSMV 82363 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company.  

 

c. Title fees.   
 
7. If the Florida certificate of title branded "REBUILDABLE" or "REBUILDABLE 

FLOOD" in the name of the insurance company has been transferred to an 
individual who is NOT rebuilding the motor vehicle: 

 
a. The Florida certificate of title completed for transfer to the purchaser. 

 
b. Form HSMV 82363 completed as salvage by owner.  The estimation of 

fees in sections 5 or 6 would not be applicable, however, the “rebuildable” 
or “rebuildable flood” block in one of these sections must be checked. 

 
c. Florida sales tax or check the box in section 6 on the form HSMV 82363, 

which states the vehicle is exempt from Florida sales tax due to a 
settlement of an insurance claim. 
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d. Title fees. 
 

The purchaser who rebuilds the motor vehicle must follow rebuilt instructions as 
provided in Procedure TL-37. 

 
B. All Insured Motor Vehicles or Mobile Homes Declared a Total Loss as a Result of Being 

an Unrecovered Theft. 
 

Salvage certificate of titles issued for motor vehicles or mobile homes in the name of an 
insurance company under the following circumstances will be branded "SALVAGE 
THEFT".  This does not include motor vehicles and mobile homes worth less than $1,500 
retail value. 

 
1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is 

available for transfer to the insurance company: 
 
a. The certificate of title must be assigned in the "Transfer of Title by Seller" 

section by the owner(s) transferring interest to the insurance company.  
The insurance company's name must appear as the purchaser. 

 
b. Form HSMV 82363 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 

company. 
 

The customer must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted 
with the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be 
obtained because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 
c. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 

this or any other state, if applicable. 
  

d. Title fees. 
 
2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is 

unavailable for transfer to the insurance company: 
a. A form HSMV 82101 completed in the applicable section, by owner.   

 

1. The verification portion of the form HSMV 82101 must be 
completed.  Refer to the verification process as outlined in 
Procedure TL-05. 

 

2. A form HSMV 82101 completed in the applicable sections, by an 
authorized agent for the insurance company, as applicant for the 
certificate of title. 
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b. Form HSMV 82363 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 

 
The customer must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted 
with the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be 
obtained because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 
 

c. Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

d. Title fees.  Collect duplicate title fee from the owner and transfer fee from 
the insurance company.  FRVIS will charge title and service fees for both 
owner and insurance company. 

 

 
A salvage theft certificate of title will be issued in the name of the insurance 
company, as shown on the form HSMV 82363. 

 
 

3. If a used motor vehicle or mobile home titled in Florida was stolen from a retail 
purchaser (before the purchaser had a title issued in their name) and a title is 
needed for transfer to their insurance company, the following is required: 

 

a. The Florida certificate of title completed for transfer in the "Transfer of 
Title by Seller" section to the retail purchaser(s). 

 

b.         Form HSMV 82040 completed by the retail purchaser(s). 
 

The customer must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted 
with the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be 
obtained because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   
 
c. A copy of the police theft report showing the owner of the motor vehicle or 

mobile home as the victim. 
 
d. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040. 
 

e. The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 
vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 

 
f. Title fees. 
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When certificate of title has been issued in the name of the retail purchaser, it must 
be completed for transfer to the insurance company. (Refer to section IV. B. l). 

 
 
4. If the motor vehicle or mobile home has never been titled and has been stolen 

from a Florida dealer, and the insurance company has paid a total loss claim: 
 

a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) or out-of-state certificate 
of title must be assigned by the dealer transferring interest to the insurance 
company.  The insurance company's name must appear as the purchaser. 

 

b. Form HSMV 82363, completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 

The customer must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted 
with the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be 
obtained because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 

c. Form HSMV 82042 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company with the motor vehicle identification number verified by one of 
the officials shown on the lower portion of the form.  Verification is not 
required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or out-of-state 
licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or semi-trailer 
with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel trailer, camping 
trailer, truck camper or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 

 

or, 
 

An affidavit from the Florida dealer and an authorized agent of the 
insurance company verifying that the vehicle identification number shown 
on the affidavit is identical to the vehicle identification number shown on 
the motor vehicle. 

 
d. Title fees. 
 

5. For a new motor vehicle or mobile home that has never been titled and has been 
stolen from a retail purchaser who purchased the motor vehicle from a Florida or 
out-of-state dealer: 

 
a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) must be assigned by the 

dealer transferring interest to the retail purchaser(s). 
 

b. Form HSMV 82040 completed by the purchaser(s). 
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The customer must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted 
with the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be 
obtained because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 
c. A copy of the police theft report showing the owner of the motor vehicle or 

mobile home as the victim. 
 

d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 
e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040. 
 

f. Title fees. 
 
When the certificate of title has been issued in the name of the retail purchaser, it 
must be completed for transfer to the insurance company.  (Refer to section IV. B. 
l. of this procedure.) 

 
 

6. For a used motor vehicle or used mobile home that has never been titled in 
Florida, has been stolen from a retail purchaser who purchased the motor vehicle 
or mobile home from a Florida or out-of-state dealer, and a title is needed for 
transfer to the insurance company: 

 
a. The out-of-state certificate of title assigned by the owner(s) transferring 

interest to the Florida or out-of-state dealer.  The dealer must reassign 
interest to the retail purchaser(s). 

 
b. Form HSMV 82040 completed by the retail purchaser(s). 
 
The customer must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted 
with the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be 
obtained because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   
 
c. Form HSMV 82042 completed by the retail purchaser(s) with the motor 

vehicle identification number verified by one of the four officials shown 
on the lower portion of the form. 

 
Form HSMV 82040, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 

 
or 
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An affidavit from the Florida dealer and the purchaser(s) verifying that the 
vehicle identification number shown on the affidavit is identical to the 
vehicle identification number shown on the motor vehicle. 

 
Verification is not required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or 
out-of-state licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or 
semi-trailer with net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel trailer, 
camping trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 

 
If the vehicle identification number was not verified prior to the vehicle being 
stolen, the customer will not be able to process the application until the vehicle 
has been recovered. 

 
 

d. A copy of the police theft report showing the owner of the motor vehicle or 
mobile home as the victim. 

 
e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040. 
 
f. The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 
 

g. Title fees. 
 

When certificate of title has been issued in the name of the retail purchaser, it must 
be completed for transfer to the insurance company.  
(Refer to section IV. B. l.) 

 
C. When the insurance company has the Florida certificate of title branded "Salvage Theft" 

and the motor vehicle or mobile home is recovered in substantially intact condition and is 
readily resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of the frame or engine and 
the insurance company wants a certificate of title without a "salvage brand," the following 
documentation is required: 

 
1. The Florida Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is available: 

 

a. The Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT." 
 

b. An affidavit on insurance company letterhead stating the description of the 
motor vehicle or mobile home and stating that the motor vehicle or mobile 
home was recovered in substantially intact condition and is resalable 
without extensive repair to or replacement of frame or engine. 
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2. When the Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is not 
available: 

 

Form HSMV 82101 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance company. 
 
When the duplicate certificate of title, in the name of the insurance company is 
received, follow instructions in IV. C. 1. 

 
D. When the insurance company has the Florida certificate of title branded "Salvage Theft" 

and the motor vehicle or mobile home is recovered in substantially intact condition and is 
readily resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of, the frame or engine and 
the insurance company has sold the motor vehicle or mobile home to a retail purchaser: 

 
1. When the motor vehicle or mobile home is sold, and the Salvage certificate of title 

branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is available: 
 
a. The Salvage certificate of title must be signed in the "Transfer of Title by 

Seller" section by the insurance company transferring interest to the 
purchaser(s).  The selling price and all required odometer information 
must be entered in labeled places. 

 
If the odometer reading shown in the “Transfer of Title by Seller” section 
of the Florida certificate of title is lower than the odometer reading shown 
on the Division of Motorist Services (DMS) database, the insurance 
company must submit a notarized affidavit which provides a description of 
the vehicle, explaining the “discrepancy/alteration” that is shown in the 
“Transfer of Title by Seller” section of the Florida title. 
 

b. An affidavit on insurance company letterhead describing the motor vehicle 
or mobile home and stating that the motor vehicle or mobile home was 
recovered in substantially intact condition. 

 
c. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 

this or any other state, if applicable. 
 
d. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040. 
 
e. The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 

 
f. Title fees. 
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2. If the Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is not available: 
 

Form HSMV 82101 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance company. 
 

When the duplicate Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is 
received, follow instructions in IV. D. 1. 

 
E. When the insurance company has the Florida certificate of title branded "Salvage Theft" 

and the motor vehicle or mobile home is recovered, but NOT in substantially intact 
condition, the insurance company must apply for a Salvage certificate of title (rebuildable 
or rebuildable flood) or a certificate of destruction. 

 
1. If the Florida Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is 

available, the following items must be submitted: 
   

a. The Salvage certificate of title in the name of the insurance company. 
 

b. Form HSMV 82363 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 
c. Title fees. 
 
A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the 
form HSMV 82363. 

 
2. If the Florida Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is not 

available: 
 

Form HSMV 82101 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance company. 
 
When the duplicate Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is 
received, follow instructions in IV. E. 1. 
 

F. If a motor vehicle or mobile home that was declared a TOTAL LOSS prior to January 1, 
1990, as a result of theft is recovered in substantially intact condition and is readily 
resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of, the frame or engine and 
FLHSMV is holding the proof of ownership and form DHSMV-V-363A, Report of Total 
Loss Settlement, as previously required by Florida law, submit the following 
documentation to apply for a certificate of title in the name of the insurance company: 

 
1. When FLHSMV is holding a Florida certificate of title and form DHSMV-V-

363A, Report of Total Loss Settlement, submit the following: 
 

a. Form HSMV 82040 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company.  An indication that the vehicle was recovered in substantially 
intact condition must be made by the insurance company.   
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This can be shown in the “OTHER” space provided on form HSMV 82040 in the 
“Non-Use and Other Certifications” section, or on a letterhead affidavit. 
 
b. Title fees. 

 
2. If FLHSMV is holding an out-of-state certificate of title or a Manufacturer's 

Certificate of Origin (MCO) and a form DHSMV-V-363A, Report of Total Loss 
Settlement, submit the following: 
 
a. Form HSMV 82040 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 

company.  An indication that the vehicle was recovered in substantially 
intact condition must be made by the insurance company.  This can be 
shown in the “OTHER” space provided on form HSMV 82040 in the 
“Non-Use and Other Certifications” section, or on a letterhead affidavit. 

 
b. Form HSMV 82042 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 

company with the motor vehicle identification number verified by one of 
the four officials shown on the lower portion of the form. 
 
Form HSMV 82040, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 

 
Verification is not required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or 
out-of-state licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or 
semi-trailer with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel 
trailer, camping trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 
 

c. Title fees. 
 
 

Documentation should be mailed by the insurance company directly to the: 
 

Division of Motorist Services, ATTN:  Direct Mail, MS# 72, 2900 
Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32399. 
The certificate of title will be issued in the name of the insurance company 
and may then be transferred to the purchaser. 

 
G.       When a stolen motor vehicle or mobile home is recovered in substantially intact condition 

and is readily resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of, the frame or engine 
BEFORE the certificate of title has been received by the insurance company from the 
owner or the lienholder, the insurance company may apply for a certificate of title that has 
no brand. 

 
             This is in lieu of a Salvage certificate of title branded "Theft".  The appropriate certificate 

of title shall be applied for within 72 hours after receiving the certificate of title or proof 
of ownership from owner: 

 
1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is 

available for transfer to the insurance company: 
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a. The certificate of title must be assigned in the "Transfer of Title by Seller" 

section by the owner(s) transferring interest to the insurance company.  
The insurance company's name must appear as the purchaser.  All required 
odometer information must be entered in this section (see Procedure TL-
09). 

 
b. An affidavit on insurance company letterhead stationery describing the 

motor vehicle or mobile home and stating that the motor vehicle or mobile 
home was recovered in substantially intact condition and is readily 
resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of, the frame or 
engine. 
 

c. Form HSMV 82040 completed by the insurance company. 
 

d. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 
HSMV 82040. 
 

 e.        A Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 
vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 
 

f. Title fees. 
 

2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home has never been titled in Florida and the out-
of-state proof of ownership is available for transfer to the insurance company: 

 
a. The certificate of title must be assigned in the transfer section of the out-

of-state certificate of title by the owner(s) transferring interest to the 
insurance company.  The insurance company's name must appear as the 
purchaser. 

  
b. An affidavit on insurance company letterhead stationery describing the 

motor vehicle or mobile home and stating that the motor vehicle or mobile 
home was recovered in substantially intact condition. 
 

c. Form HSMV 82040 completed by the insurance company. 
 
d. Form HSMV 82042 completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 

company with the motor vehicle identification number verified by one of 
the four officials shown on the lower portion of the form. 

 
Form HSMV 82040, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 
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Verification is not required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or 
out-of-state licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or 
semi-trailer with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel 
trailer, camping trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 

 
e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040. 
 
f. Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.   
A non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 

 
g. Title fees. 

 
 

Form HSMV 82363 is not required in the above listed scenarios. 
 
 
H. When the actual cost to repair the motor vehicle or mobile home to the insurance 

company exceeds 100 percent of the cost of replacing the wrecked or damaged motor 
vehicle or mobile home with one of like kind and quality and the owner is requesting to 
brand the certificate of title with the words "Total Loss:" 
 
This process will "brand" the title as a "Total Loss" and will physically appear on the title 
as such.  An inspection of the motor vehicle or mobile home is NOT required.  The 
branded title is just a regular title with a "brand" which may be transferred to a purchaser 
when sold.  This brand will alert the consumer that an insurance company has previously 
paid for repairs to the vehicle which exceeded 100 percent of the value of the vehicle. 

 
 

1. When the certificate of title is available: 
 

a. The certificate of title. 
 

b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit (from the owner) describing the 
motor vehicle or mobile home; requesting the brand of "Total Loss" to be 
placed on the certificate of title. 

 

c. Title fees. 
 
2. When the certificate of title is NOT available: 

 

a. Form HSMV 82101 completed by the owner.   
 

b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit (from the owner) describing the 
motor vehicle or mobile home; requesting the brand of "Total Loss" to be 
placed on the certificate of title.   

 

c. Title fees. 
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I. When the insurance company is requesting the brand "insurance-declared total loss" 
(which will be a salvage rebuildable title) in lieu of a certificate of destruction, (for a 
damaged vehicle that is equipped with custom-lowered floors for wheelchair access or a 
wheel chair lift) and the insurance company deems that the vehicle is repairable to a 
condition that is safe for operation on public roads: 

 

1. When the certificate of title is available: 
 

a. The certificate of title completed for transfer from the owner to the 
insurance company. 
 

b. A form HSMV 82363 completed by the insurance company.  Item # 11 on 
the HSMV 82363 must be checked. 
 

c. Title fees. 
 

2. When the certificate of title is not available: 
 

a. Form HSMV 82101 completed by the owner.   
 

 
When the duplicate certificate of title has been issued, it must be completed for 
transfer to the insurance company.  (Refer to section IV. I. l. of this procedure.) 

 
J. When an insurance company notifies an independent entity that it may release a vehicle in 

its possession to the vehicle’s owner. 
\ 

An “Independent Entity” is a business that sells or resells damaged or disabled vehicles it 
temporarily stores pursuant to an agreement the entity has with an insurance company. 
 
 

“Independent Entity” does not include a wrecker operator, towing company, or a repair 
facility. 
 
 

1. The insurance company provides the independent entity with a completed form 
HSMV 82089, Insurance Company Motor Vehicle Release Statement to an 
independent entity.  This form authorizes the independent entity to release the 
vehicle to its owner/insured. 
 

2. After receiving a release statement, the independent entity must notify the owner 
that the vehicle is available for pick up as follows: 

 

a. Notification must be sent via certified mail, return receipt requested, or 
another commercially available delivery service which can provide proof 
the form was delivered to the owner at the address reflected in department 
records, if FLHSMV’s record does not contain the owners address, the 
independent entity must:  

i. Send the notice to the owner’s address provided by the insurance 
company in the release letter 

ii. Verify the owner’s address where the motor vehicle is currently 
titled as verified in the NMVTIS. The notice must be mailed to 
both addresses if the address is different from Department records. 

AND 
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b. Notification must inform the owner/insured that he/she has 30 days after 
receiving the notice (use date on return receipt requested/green card) to 
retrieve the vehicle from the independent entity.  A suggested form “Notice 
of Vehicle Availability” is attached as Exhibit B. 
 

The independent entity must maintain all records related to the 30-day 
notice mailed to the owner for a minimum of three (3) years. 

 

3. If the owner/insured does not claim the vehicle within 30 days of receipt of 
notification (use date on return receipt requested/green card to determine receipt 
of notification date), or if the certified notification letter is returned as unclaimed 
(use the attempted delivery date of the notice), the independent entity may apply 
for a certificate of title or destruction by submitting the following: 
 
 

a.  A completed form HSMV 82040, in the name of the independent entity, 
 

 OR, 
 

 A completed form HSMV 82363. 
 

      AND 
 

b. A copy of the completed HSMV 82089. 
 

c. One of the proofs of certified mail described below: 
• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the 

letter was submitted to the post office or another commercially 
available delivery service that provides proof of delivery for 
mailing. 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder, and 
insurance company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This 
proof may be an electronic record from the postal service, which 
verifies proof of the certified mail along with the address and the 
date of mailing. 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book for 
Accountable Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, 
their complete address and the article number for the certified mail.  
The postmark and date of receipt must be stamped on the form by 
the postal service, to verify that the listed information is accurate. 

 

• A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also 
acceptable.  The electronic version will have an electronic signature 
of a postal service employee and show a postmark date.  

d. Provide proof of the release notification letter sent to the owner’s address 
provided by the insurance company and/or attempts made to deliver. 

 

e. A copy of the proof of reporting the vehicle to the NMVTIS.  See V.S. of 
this procedure for a list of approved NMVTIS data consolidators.  
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Reporting to NMVTIS does not apply to any vehicle which is not motor 
driven (such as mobile homes, etc.)  

 
f. Provide proof of all lien satisfactions or proof of a release of all liens on 

the motor vehicle.  
 

The independent entity is required to obtain a lien satisfaction. If a lien 
satisfaction cannot be obtained, the independent entity must provide an 
affidavit stating the notice was mailed to all lien holders on record and that 
30 days has passed since the vehicle was ready for pickup.  

 
g.  Applicable fees. 

 
 

The independent entity may not charge a motor vehicle owner storage fees or 
apply for a title under labor or services or towing or storing statutes. 

 
V. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION 

 

A. If a certificate of destruction (or un-rebuildable title issued prior to 10/01/00) has been 
issued or is being issued for a motor vehicle missing the vehicle identification number 
plate, the insurance company is NOT required to get a replacement decal affixed to the 
motor vehicle before it can be sold. 

  
B. If a salvage certificate of title is branded “Unrebuildable” (issued prior to 10/01/00), the 

motor vehicle or mobile home should not be rebuilt and will not be titled in the state of 
Florida.  If the un-rebuildable motor vehicle is subsequently titled in another state and is 
returned to the state of Florida, the motor vehicle cannot be titled. 

  
C. If an un-rebuildable salvage motor vehicle (issued prior to 10/01/00) is dismantled and 

used for parts, the certificate of title branded "Salvage Unrebuildable” should be sent to 
FLHSMV as stated in TL-35, section II. B. 

 

 
D. If an out-of-state certificate of title is branded salvage as a result of a theft loss, the first 

Florida purchaser, whether a licensed motor vehicle dealer or an individual, must obtain 
an affidavit on letterhead stationery from the insurance company stating that the motor 
vehicle was recovered intact and road operable or comply with Procedure TL-37 and 
obtain a rebuilt certificate of title. 

 
E. If a California Certificate of Title is received showing a brand of salvage, it has already 

been rebuilt in that state.  Therefore, process the application for Florida certificate of title 
using the brand of rebuilt.  An inspection is not required. 

 

However, if a California Salvage Certificate (in lieu of a title) is received with the 
notation of salvage, it has not been rebuilt in that state.  Therefore, the customer must 
contact a Florida Bureau of Dealer Services regional office to follow the rebuilt process. 
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F.    If an out-of-state certificate of title branded salvage is submitted as a result of damage, 
the first Florida purchaser, whether a licensed Florida dealer or an individual, must 
submit an affidavit advising FLHSMV if the motor vehicle was rebuilt and road 
operable when they purchased it or they must comply with Procedure TL-37 and obtain a 
rebuilt certificate of title. 

 

G. If a motor vehicle has been branded by the state of Florida as un-rebuildable (issued prior 
to 10/01/00) due to an error in the application by an insurance company, the only 
circumstances under which FLHSMV will accept an application for a corrected salvage 
certificate of title or regular certificate of title are as follows: 

 

1. When an insurance company has paid to repair a motor vehicle rather than replace 
it with one of like kind and quality as originally declared.  The insurance company 
must submit the salvage title and a letterhead affidavit explaining the 
circumstances and stating that the motor vehicle was repaired rather than replaced, 
for the salvage title to be cancelled and the previous record reinstated.  The 
previous owner will need to apply for a duplicate certificate of title and pay all 
title fees. 

 

or, 
 

The insurance company must submit the salvage certificate of title, properly 
completed for transfer to the previous owner (insured), along with a letterhead 
affidavit stating the motor vehicle was repaired rather than replaced and was 
transferred to them in error.  The previous owner must complete an application 
and pay title fees for a clear title to be issued in their name.  

2. When an insurance company has declared a motor vehicle a "total loss," and has 
paid to replace the motor vehicle and then makes an error on the salvage 
application that causes the repair to equal or exceed 90 percent of the motor 
vehicle's value, causing the motor vehicle to be branded as un-rebuildable (issued 
prior to 10/01/00), the insurance company must submit an affidavit on their 
letterhead stating the circumstances along with a correct application. 

 

3. When an insurance company submits the wrong certificate of title with the 
Salvage application and the certificate of title has been issued, the insurance 
company must submit the salvage title and a letterhead affidavit stating the wrong 
title was transferred to them in error, in order for the certificate of title to be 
cancelled and the previous record reinstated.  The previous owner will need to 
apply for a duplicate certificate of title and pay all title fees. 

 

or, 
 

The insurance company must submit the salvage certificate of title, properly 
completed for transfer to the previous owner, along with a letterhead affidavit 
stating the wrong title was transferred to them in error.  The previous owner must 
complete an application and pay title fees for a clear title to be issued in their 
name. 

 

The insurance company must resubmit their application with the correct certificate 
of title. 
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H. A salvage rebuildable or rebuildable flood certificate of title can be reassigned from the 

insurance company to a dealer on the back of the salvage certificate of title and may be 
reassigned from dealer to dealer as many times as necessary.  When the dealer sells the 
motor vehicle to a non-dealer, the dealer is responsible for submitting the customer’s 
application for the salvage rebuildable or rebuildable flood certificate of title to the tax 
collector’s office within 30 days from the date of delivery.  The form HSMV 82363 
should be marked as salvage by owner.  The estimation of fees in sections 5 or 6 would 
not be applicable, however, the “rebuildable” or “rebuildable flood” block in one of these 
sections must be checked. 
If a dealer rebuilds a rebuildable vehicle, they must apply for a rebuilt title in their name 
prior to selling it. 

 

I. If an insurance company transfers a salvage rebuildable or rebuildable flood certificate of 
title back to the previous owner or a non-dealer, the previous owner or non-dealer may 
apply for a salvage rebuildable, rebuildable flood, or a rebuilt certificate of title.  If the 
previous owner or non-dealer applies for a salvage rebuildable or rebuildable flood 
certificate of title, the form HSMV 82363 should be marked as salvage by owner.  The 
estimation of fees in sections 5 or 6 would not be applicable, however, the “rebuildable” 
or “rebuildable flood” block in one of these sections must be checked. 
 

J. When an insurance company pays to replace a motor vehicle which is worth less than 
$7,500 or is more than seven model years old, the insurance company MUST obtain a 
rebuildable certificate of title in its name (UNLESS the vehicle has been damaged, 
wrecked, burned and the only residual value is for parts or scrap metal). 

 

If the motor vehicle has been damaged, wrecked, or burned and the only residual value is 
for parts or scrap metal, the insurance company MUST obtain a certificate of destruction 
for the vehicle. 
 

K. A salvage certificate of title cannot be issued to an insurance company when the owner is 
paid to repair rather than replace a motor vehicle or mobile home. 

 

L. If the brand "Lease", "Taxicab" or "Police Car" is shown on a Florida certificate of title 
that is received with a salvage application, it must be shown on the salvage certificate of 
title application also. 

 

M. Form HSMV 82040, does not need to accompany a salvage application when form 
HSMV 82363, is required. 

 

N. When a total loss is paid and the owner (seller) signs the certificate of title over to the 
insurance company, they should show the date they are signing the title over and not the 
actual date of the loss.  The date the certificate of title is signed over to the insurance 
company would be used to determine the penalty date.  The title is required to be 
transferred within 30 days.  The 30-day period begins the day after the title is completed 
for transfer to the purchaser. 
 

O. When a certificate of destruction has been issued in error, the certificate must be mailed to 
the following address along with an affidavit of explanation (must specify a reason for the 
error) for it to be cancelled and the previous record reinstated: 
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Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 
ATTN:  Direct Mail, MS# 72 
2900 Apalachee Parkway 
Tallahassee, Fl. 32399 

 

P. If FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Administration) has bought a motor vehicle  
 or mobile home because of a natural disaster, it does not have to take title in its name.  
 The title should be reassigned by FEMA using the dealer’s reassignment section. 

 

Q. If the application being submitted is for a certificate of destruction and the proof of 
ownership is an out of state title, the vehicle identification number must be verified by a 
Florida law enforcement officer ONLY. 

 

R. A certificate of destruction is re-assignable a maximum of two times before dismantling 
or destruction of the vehicle or mobile home is required. 

 

S. A list of the various approved NMVTIS Data consolidators (for reporting purposes) are 
located on the website of The National Motor Vehicle Title Information System 
(NMVTIS) at: https://www.vehiclehistory.gov/nmvtis_auto.html 

 
 

 T. Frequently Asked Questions and Answers are attached to this procedure as Exhibit A. 
 

U. A “Notice to Owner that Motor Vehicle is Available for Pick up” is attached as  
 Exhibit B. 
 

V. A chart entitled “When to Apply for a Rebuildable Title and When to Apply for a 
Certificate of Destruction” is attached as Exhibit C.  

 

 W. See Forms Appendix for a sample of the HSMV forms referred to in this procedure.   
X.        Attempted delivery means the postmaster or commercial service attempted to deliver the 

notice but was unable to deliver the notice to the intended recipient. The postmaster or 
commercial service has documented the attempted delivery and provided a status back to 
the sender. Proof of this attempted delivery is the tracking manifest which shows a 
chronological date and timeline with details of the mailing process from start to finish.  
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Historical Revisions: 
07/01/2019 - Implemented 2019 Legislative revisions to s. 319.30(9)(a) through (e) and adding “or lienholder”. 
06/13/2019 - Conducted statutory review, added links to statutes, and removed “Note” headings. Added proof of payment for total loss 

claim options to Page 9(5)(b). Added proof of certified mail options to page 22(J)(3)(c). Revised information for when an 
insurance company can request a COD in lieu of a rebuildable title to Page 5(II)(G). Changed applicant to customer, added 
links to exhibits, forms, and forms appendix. 

10/08/2014 - Added clarification of old law & current law on page 5, (J & K) and added information to letter O on page 24. 
08/18/2014 – Updated information on pages 3-5, & Exhibit C. 
07/17/2014 – Updated information on pages 10, 20, and 23. 
07/02/2014 – Added information on pages 4, 23, Exhibit A. Added Exhibit C. 
06/23/2014 – Added statutes on pages 1 & 2, information to section II, General Information on pages 3 & 4, item J and note to section 

V, Misc. Information on page 23, and updated information in Exhibit A, Questions and Answers. 
06/20/2013 – Added/updated statutes on pages 2 & 3, notification requirements on page 19, and a link on page22 (T). 
10/23/2012 - Added new Section III., describing a new procedure, which allows insurance companies to process transactions with an e-

signature from the owner/insured only when the vehicle is a total loss settlement (certificate of destruction) and title is not 
available. Renumbered following sections accordingly. 

11/18/2011 – Revised the NOTE on pages 8-12 to require the last recorded odometer reading be used. 
08/05/2010 – Added new statutes to pgs. 1 & 2, letter “J” to Section III on pg. 19 regarding independent entity, letter “U” on pg. 22, 

and Exhibit B as a sample of a suggested though not prescribed notification form. 
07/27/2007 – Added information on page 6 regarding a Salvage on an Electronic title. 
04/20/2007 – Updated alternatives to receiving salvage titles/certificate of destructions. 
06/07/2005 – Added Florida Statutes to page 1, added additional information on page 2 and added instruction for “insurance declared 

total loss” on pages 17 &18. 
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 
     
1. Q. What are the exact procedures for total losses involving mobile homes whose value falls below 

$1500 and the owner decides to retain salvage?  May the owner retain the mobile home without 
applying for a certificate of title in Insurers name? 

   
 A.  Yes.  If the owner and insurance company agree for the owner to retain possession and 

ownership of the mobile home, the certificate of title may be retained by the owner since section 
319.30(3)(b), Florida Statutes, states that nothing in this subsection to be applicable when a 
mobile home is worth less than $1500 retail prior to sustaining damage that resulted in the total 
loss.  If the insurance company takes possession of the mobile home, a regular certificate of title 
must be obtained in the name of the insurance company.  The insurance company would then be 
able to sell the mobile home to anyone, including the previous owner. 

 
2. Q. What are the penalties if proper procedure is not followed? 
   
 A. Insurance companies are regulated by the Office of Insurance Regulations.  Penalties for title 

fraud are covered in Florida Statute 319.33. 
   
3. Q. A vehicle is involved in an accident and the insurance company and the owner agree to   
  repair rather than replace the vehicle.  After the vehicle has been repaired, the owner is   
  dissatisfied and demands that the insurance company pay him to replace the vehicle.  The  
  insurance company agrees and pays the owner for the vehicle, and the owner assigns the   
  certificate of title to the insurance company.  Is the insurance company required to obtain a  
  salvage certificate of title to the vehicle? 
 

 A. Yes. 
 
4. Q. If a motor vehicle is totaled due to unavailable parts, must an insurer obtain a rebuildable 

certificate of title if the amount of damage is over 90% with available new parts, e.g. used parts 
would prevent the certificate of title from being branded "Unrebuildable" if they are readily 
available, new parts cause the total amount of damage to the motor vehicle to equal or exceed 
90% damage? 

 

A. When an insurance company pays a "total loss" settlement on a motor vehicle, they must apply 
for a Salvage certificate of title/certificate of destruction.  A certificate of destruction must be 
issued when a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or newer with a retail value of at least 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide or valuation service, and the estimated costs 
to repair the physical and mechanical damage to the motor vehicle are equal to 90 percent or 
more of the current retail value.  The Salvage certificate of title law does not address the use of 
new or used parts in computing the estimates of the cost of repair. 

 
5. Q. What is the proper procedure related to VIN Plate Replacement? 
   
 a. Interacting with local Bureau of Dealer Services and Police Agencies 
 b. Ramifications if compliance is not met 
   

 A. It is against the law for a person or company to have a motor vehicle in their possession that is 
missing the manufacturer's identification number plate.  If all numbers have been removed, 
destroyed, altered, or defaced, the motor vehicle is considered contraband and subject to 
forfeiture.  If the visible VIN is missing the insurance company must have a replacement decal 
affixed to the motor vehicle before it can be sold.  The Bureau of Dealer Services personnel or 
police agencies dealing in auto theft must look for the confidential VIN number on the motor 
vehicle and make an affidavit on letterhead stationery stating what the number is and that a 
replacement decal is needed.  If it is a motor vehicle that will have a certificate of destruction 
issued on it, a replacement decal is NOT required. 
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6. Q. What procedure must be followed if an owner wishes to retain salvage on a mobile home whose 

value exceeds $1500 or a motor vehicle whose value is at least $7500, and the motor vehicle is a 
model year of 7 years or newer? 

   
 1. What is required of the insurer that pays the Actual Cash Value? 
   
   A. Procedure TL-36 is the procedure to follow.  The insurance company is   

  required to apply for a Salvage certificate of title/certificate of destruction, if  
  they pay replacement value for a motor vehicle.  The estimate of the cost to repair 
  the motor vehicle determines whether a certificate of title will be issued,   
  branded “Rebuildable,” or if a certificate of destruction will be issued. 

   
  2. What is required of the motor vehicle owner who retains the salvage? 
   
   A. The motor vehicle owner is required to assign certificate of title to the insurance  

  company making the total loss payoff.  When the insurance company receives the  
  certificate of title issued in their name, they must reassign it to the owner retaining 
  the salvage. 

 
7. Q. Is there still a requirement that motor vehicles be declared a total loss if the repairs exceed 90% 

of the Actual Cash Value? 
 
 A. If the owner and the insurance company agree to repair the motor vehicle rather than replace the 

motor vehicle regardless of whether the repairs are less than or more than 90% percent of the 
value of the motor vehicle in undamaged condition, the motor vehicle is exempt from the 
Salvage certificate of title law.  However, if the actual cost to repair the motor vehicle or mobile 
home to the insurance company exceeds 100 percent of the cost of replacing the wrecked or 
damaged motor vehicle or mobile home with one of like kind and quality, the owner shall 
forward to FLHSMV, within 72 hours after the agreement, a request to brand the certificate of 
title with the words "Total Loss Vehicle."  If the insurance company pays the owner replacement 
value for the motor vehicle, the insurance company must apply for a Salvage certificate of 
title/certificate of destruction.  If the estimate of the cost to repair the motor vehicle is equal to or 
exceeds 90% of the value of the motor vehicle in undamaged condition, a certificate of 
destruction will be issued.  If the estimate is less than 90%, the Salvage certificate of title will be 
branded "Rebuildable". 

 
8. Q. Are self-insured groups excluded from state salvage titling procedures? 
   
 A. No.  Section 319.30, Florida Statutes, states that when a self-insured motor vehicle is   
  wrecked or damaged and the cost of repairing or rebuilding the motor vehicle is 90% or more of  
  the cost to replace the motor vehicle with one of like kind and quality, it is a total loss therefore,  
  they are required to apply for a certificate of destruction. 
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NOTICE TO OWNER THAT MOTOR VEHICLE IS AVAILABLE FOR PICK UP 

 

DATE: ___________________ 
 

This notice is to inform you as the owner or lienholder of record for the vehicle described below that you have 
30 days after delivery of this notice to pick up your vehicle from the business/entity shown on this notice.  You 
may contact this business to make arrangements to claim your vehicle at no charge. 
 

If the motor vehicle is not claimed within 30 days after the delivery or attempted delivery of this notice, the 
business/entity has the authority to apply for either a Certificate of Title or a Certificate of Destruction in their 
name pursuant to s. 319.30(9)(b), Florida Statutes. 
 

As mandated under Florida Statute 319.30(9)(e), before any damaged or dismantled vehicle is released to the 
owner or application for a Certificate of Title or Certificate of Destruction is made by the business/entity it will 
be reported to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System. 
 

Vehicle Description 
Year: 
 

Make: 
 

Title Number: 
 

Vehicle Identification Number: 
 

 

 

Name of the Insurance Company who Authorized  
the Release on form HSMV 82089: Date of the Authorized Release: 

  

 

Name of the Independent Entity/Business Where the Vehicle Is Located 
Name: 

Address: Phone Number: 

City: State: Zip: 

Printed Name of Authorized Agent: 

 

Note:  This is a suggested form.  This is not a prescribed form. 
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Registered Owner 
Name of Owner/Lienholder: 
 

Address: 
 

City: State: Zip: 



EXHIBIT C 
 

 
WHEN TO APPLY FOR A REBUILDABLE TITLE 

AND WHEN TO APPLY FOR A CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION  
 

INSURANCE COMPANY (MOTOR VEHICLES) 

  
CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION    REBUILDABLE 

 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or newer 
with a retail value of at least $7,500, as established in any 
official used car guide or valuation service, and the 
estimated costs to repair the physical and mechanical 
damage to the motor vehicle are equal to 90 percent or 
more of the current retail value.  (Use section 6, of the 
form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or newer 
with a retail value of at least $7,500, as established in any 
official used car guide or valuation service, and the 
estimated costs to repair the physical and mechanical 
damage to the motor vehicle is less than 90 percent of 
the current retail cost. (Use section 6, of the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.)  

When a motor vehicle with a retail value of less than 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide or 
valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model 
vehicle (more than seven model years old) and is damaged, 
wrecked, or burned to the extent that the only residual 
value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts or scrap 
metal (Use section 7, a, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.).   

When a motor vehicle has a retail value of less than 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide or 
valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model 
vehicle (more than seven model years old) and HAS 
NOT been damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent 
that the only residual value of the motor vehicle is a 
source of parts or scrap metal.  (Use section 7, b, of the 
form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

When a motor vehicle with a retail value of less than 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide or 
valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model 
vehicle (more than seven model years old) comes into 
Florida under a title or other ownership document that 
indicates the vehicle is not repairable, is junked or is for 
parts or dismantling only.  (Use section 8, of the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate 
of Destruction.) 

 

Upon request (regardless of the make, value or model 
year).  (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.) 

 

 
INSURANCE COMPANY (MOBILE HOME) 

 

 CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION    REBUILDABLE  
 

The estimated costs of repairing the physical and 
mechanical damage to a MOBILE HOME (with a retail 
value of $1,500 or more) are equal to 80 percent or more of 
the current retail cost of the mobile home, as established in 
any official used mobile home guide. (Use section 5, of the 
form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.)  

The estimated costs of repairing the physical and 
mechanical damage to a MOBILE HOME (with a retail 
value of $1,500 or more) is LESS THAN 80% of the 
current retail cost of the mobile home, as established in 
any official used mobile home guide. (Use section 5, of 
the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

Upon request (regardless of the make, value or model 
year).  (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.) 

 

 

 NOTE:  A total loss is not applicable when the mobile home is worth LESS than $1,500 retail prior to the damage. 
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EXHIBIT C (page 2, continued) 
 

 
WHEN TO APPLY FOR A REBUILDABLE TITLE 

AND WHEN TO APPLY FOR A CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION  
 

SELF INSURED/OWNER (MOTOR VEHICLES) 
 

  
CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION    REBUILDABLE 

 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or newer with a retail 
value of at least $7,500, as established in any official used car guide or 
valuation service, and the estimated costs to repair the physical and 
mechanical damage to the motor vehicle are equal to 90 percent or 
more of the current retail value.  (Use section 6, of the form HSMV 
82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model 
years or newer with a retail value of at least 
$7,500, as established in any official used car 
guide or valuation service, and the estimated 
costs of repairing the motor vehicle is equal to 
80 – 89% of the current retail cost of the 
motor vehicle, as established in any official 
used car guide or valuation service.  (Use 
section 6, c, 3, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.)  

When a motor vehicle with a retail value of less than $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service or if the 
vehicle is not a late model vehicle (more than seven model years old) 
and is damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent that the only 
residual value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts or scrap metal. 
(Use section 7, a, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for 
Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.).   

 

When a motor vehicle with a retail value of less than $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service or if the 
vehicle is not a late model vehicle (more than seven model years old) 
comes into Florida under a title or other ownership document that 
indicates the vehicle is not repairable, is junked or is for parts or 
dismantling only.  (Use section 8, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

 

Upon request (regardless of the make, value or model year).  (Use 
section 9, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

 

NOTE:  A total loss is not applicable when the estimated costs of repairing the motor vehicle is LESS than 80% of the current retail 
cost of the motor vehicle. 

 
SELF INSURED/OWNER (MOBILE HOME) 

 

  
CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION    REBUILDABLE  
 

The estimated costs of repairing the physical and mechanical damage 
to a MOBILE HOME (with a retail value of $1,500 or more) are 
equal to 80 percent or more of the current retail cost of the mobile 
home, as established in any official used mobile home guide. (Use 
section 5, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.)  

Not Applicable. 

Upon request (regardless of the make, value or model year).  (Use 
section 9, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

Upon request (even when the estimated costs 
of repairing the mobile home is less than 80% 
of the current retail cost of the mobile home.  
(Use section 5, f, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.). 

NOTE:  A total loss is not applicable when the estimated costs of repairing the mobile home is LESS than 80% of the current retail 
cost or when it is worth LESS than $1,500 retail prior to the damage. 
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