
 

 

                                         Florida 
Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
PROCEDURE 

 

 

TL-35 

SUBJECT: 

 

UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLES OR MOBILE HOMES DECLARED TOTAL LOSS, 

MOTOR VEHICLES JUNKED BY OWNERS AND DERELICT MOTOR VEHICLES. 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX COLLECTOR 

EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENTS AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND 

MOTOR VEHICLES WITH IMPLEMENTING REQUIREMENTS FOR UNINSURED MOTOR 

VEHICLES OR MOBILE HOMES THAT ARE DECLARED TOTAL LOSS JUNKED OR DERELICT. 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 319.241, Florida Statutes, provides that the department may remove the lien from a derelict 

motor vehicle record if it does not receive a written protest from the lienholder 10 days after receiving 

an application for and notifying the lienholder of a derelict motor vehicle certificate. 
 

Section 319.30(1)(c) Florida Statutes, defines “Certificate of title” as a record that serves as evidence 

of ownership of a vehicle, whether such record is a paper certificate authorized by the department or by 

a motor vehicle department authorized to issue titles in another state or a certificate consisting of 

information stored in electronic form in the department’s database. 
 

Section 319.30(1)(e)1 and 319.30(1)(e)2, Florida Statutes, defines “Derelict Motor Vehicle” as any 

motor vehicle or mobile home, which is valued under $1,000, is at least 10 model years old, beginning 

with the model year of the vehicle as year one, and is in such condition that its highest or primary value 

is for sale, transport or delivery to a licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or registered secondary 

metals recycler for dismantling its component parts or conversion to scrap metal; or any trailer as 

defined in s. 320.01(1), with or without all parts, major parts or major component parts, which is valued 

under $5,000, is at least 10 model years old, beginning with the model year of the vehicle as year one, 

and is in such condition that its highest or primary value is for sale, transport or delivery to a license 

salvage motor vehicle dealer or registered secondary metals recycler for conversion to scrap metal. 

Revision(s) to this Procedure: Statutory review. Added links to statutes and forms. Added  Historical Revisions 

section. Deleted number 8, outdated question and answer on Exhibit A. Added “The 24 hours starts with the 

last date on the Derelict Motor Vehicle Application (82137) Section 3. Should this date exceed a 24- hour 

period, with the exception of holidays, weekends and executive orders, the application must be rejected, and 

the secondary metals recycler would have to provide a court order” under Note section on page 3 and on 

page 9 under D1(a)(3). 
EFFECTIVE DATE 

 

Immediately 

REVISION DATE 
 

03/13/19 

PAGE # 
 

TL-35-01 



STATE OF FLORIDA 

Division of Motorist Services 

 

 

PROCEDURE 

 

TL-35 

SUBJECT: 

UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLES OR MOBILE HOMES DECLARED TOTAL LOSS, 

MOTOR VEHICLES JUNKED BY OWNERS AND DERELICT MOTOR VEHICLES. 

 

Section 319.30(1)(f), Florida Statutes, defines “Derelict Motor Vehicle Certificate” as a certificate 

issued by the department which serves as evidence that a derelict motor vehicle will be dismantled or 

converted to scrap metal.  This certificate may be obtained by completing a derelict motor vehicle 

certificate application authorized by the department. 

Section 319.30(1)(o) Florida Statutes, defines "National Motor Vehicle Title Information System" as 

the national mandated vehicle history database maintained by the United States Department of Justice 

to link the states' motor vehicle title records, including Florida's Department of Highway Safety and 

Motor Vehicles' title records, and ensure that states, law enforcement agencies and consumers have 

access to vehicle titling, branding and other information that enables them to verify the accuracy and 

legality of a motor vehicle title before purchase or title transfer of the vehicle occurs. 
 

Section 319.30(1)(u) Florida Statutes, defines “Salvage certificate of title” as a salvage certificate of 

title issued by the department or by another motor vehicle department authorized to issue titles in 

another state 

Section 319.30(1)(x), Florida Statutes, defines “Seller” as the owner of record or a person who has 

physical possession and responsibility for a derelict motor vehicle and attests that possession of the 

vehicle was obtained through lawful means along with all ownership rights.  A seller does not include 

a towing company, repair shop or landlord unless the towing company, repair shop or landlord has 

obtained title, salvage title or a certificate of destruction in the name of the towing company, repair 

shop or landlord. 

Section 319.30(2)(a), Florida Statutes, requires each person mentioned as owner in the last issued 

certificate of title to surrender the certificate of title to the department when the motor vehicle or 

mobile home is dismantled, destroyed or changed in such a manner that it is no longer the motor 

vehicle or mobile home described in the certificate of title. 
 

Section 319.30(2)(b)1, Florida Statutes, provides that when a motor vehicle, recreational vehicle or 

mobile home is sold, transported, delivered to or received by a salvage motor vehicle dealer, the purchaser 

shall make the required notification to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System. 
 

Section 319.30(2)(c)1, Florida Statutes, provides that when a derelict motor vehicle is sold, 

transported or delivered to a licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer, the purchaser shall make the 

required notification of the derelict motor vehicle to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information 

System and record the date of purchase and the seller’s name, address and valid Florida driver license 

or identification card number, or a valid driver license or identification card number issued by another 

state. 
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Section 319.30(2)(c)2 and Section 319.30(7)(a)(4)b, Florida Statutes, provides that if a valid 

certificate of title, salvage certificate of title, certificate of destruction or derelict motor vehicle 

certificate is not available, the derelict motor vehicle certificate application shall be completed and 

used by the seller or owner of the motor vehicle or mobile home, the seller’s or owner’s authorized 

transporter and the licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer, or registered secondary metals recycler to 

obtain a derelict motor vehicle certificate from the department.  The application must be accompanied 

by a legible copy of the seller’s or owner’s valid Florida driver license or identification card, or a valid 

driver license or identification card issued by another state.  If the seller is not the owner of record of 

the vehicle being sold, the dealer shall, at the time of sale, ensure that a smudge-free right thumbprint, 

or other digit if the seller has no right thumb, of the seller is imprinted on the application and that a 

legible copy of the seller’s driver license or identification card is affixed to application and sent to the 

department. The licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or registered secondary metals recycler shall 

make the required notification of the derelict motor vehicle to the National Motor Vehicle Title 

Information System and secure the motor vehicle for 3 full business days, excluding weekends and 

holidays, if there is no active lien or a lien of 3 years or more on the department’s records before 

destroying or dismantling the derelict motor vehicle and shall follow department procedures including 

electronic notification or delivery of original derelict certificate application to the department within 

24 hours after receiving the derelict motor vehicle.  If there is an active lien of less than 3 years, the 

licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or registered secondary metals recycler shall secure the derelict 

vehicle for 10 days.  The department will notify the lienholder that a derelict motor vehicle certificate 

was issued and of the department’s intent to remove the lien.  If the department does not receive a 

written protest from the lienholder within 10 days (calendar) after receiving the derelict motor vehicle 

certificate, the department may remove the lien.  If the department, as well as the licensed salvage 

motor vehicle dealer or registered secondary metals recycler, receives a written statement from the 

lienholder within the 10-day period that the lien is outstanding, the department will not remove the 

lien.  Instead, the department shall place a 30-day administrative stop on the record to allow the 

lienholder to apply for title.  The licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or registered secondary metals 

recycler must secure the derelict vehicle until the department removes the administrative stop or the 

lienholder submits a lien satisfaction or takes possession of the vehicle. 

Although Florida law requires a salvage dealer and recycler to make notification to the National Motor 

Vehicle Title Information System, NEITHER the dealer or recycler IS REQUIRED to submit proof of 

this notification with their documentation. The 24 hours starts with the last date on the Derelict  

Motor Vehicle Application (82137) Section 3. Should this date exceed a 24-hour period, with the 

exception of  weekends , holidays and executive orders, the application must be rejected, and the 

secondary  metals recycler would have to provide a court order.  

 

Section 319.30(3)(a)1, b, Florida Statutes, provides a statutory definition for a total loss on an 

uninsured motor vehicle or mobile home. An uninsured motor vehicle or mobile home that is wrecked 

or damaged is defined as a total loss when the cost, at the time of loss, of repairing or rebuilding the 

motor vehicle is 80 percent or more of the cost of replacing the wrecked or damaged motor vehicle 

with one of like kind and quality.  See Procedure TL-36, Exhibit C, page 2, for further 
clarification. 

PAGE # 

TL-35-03 

http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/1%20Title%20%26%20Lien%20Procedures/TL-36%20Total%20Loss%20Settlements%20Involving%20Insurance%20Companies.pdf


STATE OF FLORIDA 

Division of Motorist Services 

 

PROCEDURE 

 

TL-35 

SUBJECT: 

UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLES OR MOBILE HOMES DECLARED TOTAL LOSS, 

MOTOR VEHICLES JUNKED BY OWNERS AND DERELICT MOTOR VEHICLES. 

Section 319.30(3)(b) and (c), Florida Statutes, requires the owner of an uninsured or self-insured 

motor vehicle or mobile home that is wrecked or damaged and defined as a total loss to forward the 

certificate of title to the department for processing within 72 hours after the motor vehicle or mobile 

home becomes salvage.  Application for salvage title or certificate of destruction must be made by the 

owner/self-insured.  However, application for salvage title is not required for any mobile home that is 

worth less than $1,500 retail in an undamaged condition, as listed in the official used mobile home 

guide or when the estimated costs of repairing the mobile home is LESS than 80% of the current retail 

cost of the mobile home. See Procedure TL-36, Exhibit C, page 2, for further clarification. 

 

Section 319.30(8)(f), Florida Statutes, provides that any person who is engaged in the recovering, 

towing or storing vehicles pursuant to s. 713.78, and who is claiming a lien for performing labor or 

services on a motor vehicle or mobile home pursuant to s. 713.58, or is claiming that a motor vehicle 

or mobile home has remained on any premises after tenancy has terminated pursuant to s. 715.104, is 

not authorized to use a derelict motor vehicle certificate application for the purpose of transporting, 

selling, disposing or delivering a motor vehicle to a salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals 

recycler without obtaining the title or certificate of destruction required under s. 713.58, s. 713.78, or 

s. 715.104 

Section 319.30(8)(g), Florida Statutes, provides that the department shall accept all properly endorsed 

and completed derelict motor vehicle certificate applications and shall issue a derelict motor vehicle 

certificate having an effective date that authorizes when a derelict motor vehicle is eligible for 

dismantling or destruction.  The electronic information obtained from the derelict motor vehicle 

certificate application shall be stored electronically and shall be made available to authorized persons 

after issuance of the derelict motor vehicle certificate in the FRVIS. 

 

Section 319.30(8)(j), Florida Statutes, provides that the licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or 

registered secondary metals recycler shall make all payments for the purchase of any derelict motor 

vehicle that is sold by a seller who is not the owner of record on file with the department by check or 

money order made payable to the seller and may not make payment to the authorized transporter. 

 

II. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 

 

The owner(s) of an uninsured motor vehicle or mobile home, declared a total loss as a result of being 

wrecked or damaged, may not dispose of the motor vehicle or mobile home for parts or scrap until a 

salvage rebuildable certificate of title, rebuildable flood certificate of title, or certificate of destruction 

has been obtained in the owner's name. 

 

A certificate of destruction is required to be obtained for uninsured mobile homes if the cost of repairing 

or rebuilding the mobile home is 80 percent or more of the cost to the owner of replacing the mobile 

home with one of like kind and quality.  However, mobile homes worth less than $1,500.00 retail in an 

undamaged condition are exempt from the salvage law. 

 

See Procedure TL-36, Exhibit C, page 2, for further clarification of uninsured motor vehicles and 

mobile homes. 
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Once a certificate of destruction is issued, the certificate may only be used to sell a motor vehicle or 

mobile home for parts or scrap. 

 

Even though not required by law, if requested, a salvage rebuildable or salvage rebuildable flood 

certificate of title for an uninsured motor vehicle or mobile home may be issued if the cost of repairing 

or rebuilding the vehicle is less than 80 percent. 

 
A. The following documentation must be submitted to the tax collector's office or license plate 

agency when applying for a salvage certificate of title or certificate of destruction: 

 

If an individual/company other than the titled owner is submitting a request for a certificate of 

destruction for the owner (on a mobile home), proof that the mobile home has been/will be destroyed 

should be requested.  This may be an affidavit from the owner stating that fact or proof of a county 

permit for the destruction of the mobile home. 

1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is 

available, the following is required: 

 

a. The Florida Certificate of Title in the owner's name. 

b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction, 

accurately completed by the owner in “Salvage by Owner” section, including the 

odometer declaration section, if applicable. 

c. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of this or 

any other state, if applicable. 

d. Title fees. 

A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of destruction 

will be issued in the owner’s name, as indicated on the form HSMV 82363 

 
2. When the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is 

not available, a duplicate certificate of title must be obtained in the owner's name. See  

Procedure TL-05. 

When the duplicate certificate of title is received, follow instructions in section II.A.1. of 

this procedure. 

3. When a motor vehicle or mobile home is declared a total loss and the vehicle is not titled 

in Florida, the following must be submitted: 

a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin or the out-of-state proof of ownership. 

b. Form HSMV 82363, accurately completed by the owner, including the odometer 

declaration section, if applicable. 
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c. Form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification, 

accurately completed by the retail purchaser(s) with the motor vehicle 

identification number verified by one of the four officials shown on the lower 

portion of the form. 

Form HSMV 82363 may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 

or, 

An affidavit from the seller(s) and the purchaser(s) verifying that the vehicle 

identification number shown on the affidavit is identical to the vehicle 

identification number shown on the motor vehicle. 

Verification is not required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or out-of- 

state licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or semitrailer 

with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds or any travel trailer, camping trailer, 

truck camper or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 

d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any outstanding liens, as shown on the motor vehicle 

records of this or any other state, if applicable. 

e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV   

82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration or form 

HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or 

Registration. 

f. Title fees. 

A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of destruction 

will be issued in the owner’s name, as indicated on the form HSMV 82363 

 

B. When a motor vehicle or mobile home is declared “Junk” by the owner/insurance company because it 

has been dismantled, destroyed or changed in such a manner that it is not the same motor vehicle, the 

certificate of title must be surrendered to the tax collector’s office or license plate agency for 

processing. 

1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is available, 

submit the following documentation to the tax collector's office or license plate agency: 

 
a. The Florida Certificate of Title with the notation “JUNKED” and the signature(s) 

of the owner(s)/insurance company must be shown on the face of the certificate of 

title. 

b. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of this or 

any other state, if applicable. 

c. No title fee is required. 

PAGE # 

TL-35-06 

https://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/BTR/82042.pdf
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/btr/82363.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82040.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82040.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82040.pdf
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/forms/btr/82363.pdf


STATE OF FLORIDA 

Division of Motorist Services 

 

PROCEDURE 

 

TL-35 

SUBJECT: 

UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLES OR MOBILE HOMES DECLARED TOTAL LOSS, 

MOTOR VEHICLES JUNKED BY OWNERS AND DERELICT MOTOR VEHICLES. 

 

A “cancelled (Junked)” transaction now generates a form HSMV 82041. The form HSMV 82041, 

along with the title (which has the word “Junked” stamped or handwritten across the face) should be 

placed with the rest of the day's work in the Transaction Summary Report. 

 

 

2. When the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title is not 

available: 

A form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit/Reassignment for a Motor 

Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate, accurately completed by the owner.  See  

Procedure TL-05.  When the duplicate certificate of title is received, follow instructions under 

section II.B.1., of this procedure. 

3. When the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled out of state and the out-of-state title is 

available: 

The certificate of title should be submitted back to the titling/issuing state to be junked. The 

owner/insurance company should keep a photocopy of the reassigned title for their records. 

 

C. When a motor vehicle or mobile home is sold, transported or delivered to a licensed salvage motor 

vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler and the certificate of title, salvage certificate of title or 

certificate of destruction is available, the certificate of title, salvage certificate of title or certificate of 

destruction must be provided to the licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals 

recycler.  The licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler must return to the 

department, on a monthly basis, all certificates of title required by this section to be obtained. Submit 

the following to the tax collector's office or license plate agency for processing: 

 

1.         The certificate of title or salvage certificate of title must be assigned in the “Transfer of Title by 

Seller” section by the owner(s)/insurance company transferring interest to the licensed salvage 

motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler. 

 

If the certificate of title or salvage certificate of title is properly endorsed over to the seller, the 

seller does not have to take title in his/her name prior to signing over to the licensed salvage 

motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler. 

 

Example: If Owner 1 has signed the certificate of title or salvage certificate of title over to 

Owner 2, Owner 2 is not required to take title in his/her name prior to selling to a licensed 

salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler. 

 

The certificate of title must have the notation “JUNKED” and the signature of the authorized 

agent of the licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler written on the 

certificate of title. 
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2. Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens as shown on the motor vehicle records of this or any other state, 

if applicable. 

 

3. No title fee is required. 

 

A “cancelled (Junked)” transaction now generates a form HSMV 82041. The form HSMV 

82041, along with the title (which has the word “Junked” stamped or handwritten across the 

face) should be placed with the rest of the day's work in the Transaction Summary Report. 

 

When a certificate of title or salvage certificate of title has been turned in to the department to be 

junked and the motor vehicle or mobile home has not been recycled, the licensed salvage motor 

vehicle dealer must make a copy of the certificate of title or salvage certificate of title and 

maintain that along with a copy of the form HSMV 82041 in their files. When the motor vehicle 

or mobile home is transferred to the secondary metals recycler, a copy of these documents should 

be provided to the secondary metals recycler as proof of ownership. 

 

D. When a derelict motor vehicle or mobile home valued under $1000 or any trailer (which is required to 

be titled) valued under $5,000 and at least 10 model years old (count model year as year one) is sold, 

transported or delivered to a licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler, and 

the certificate of title, salvage certificate of title or certificate of destruction is NOT available, the 

following is required: 

 

1. When the derelict motor vehicle, mobile home or trailer is titled in Florida, the following is 

required to be submitted to the tax collector or license plate agency by the licensed salvage motor 

vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler within 24 hours of receiving the motor vehicle, 

mobile home or trailer: 

a. Form HSMV 82137, Application for an Original/Duplicate Derelict Motor Vehicle 

Certificate and Request to Cancel Title, accurately completed as follows: 

(1) Section 1 by the seller or owner of the motor vehicle or mobile home. 

A legible copy of the owner/seller’s driver license or identification card from 

Florida or another state MUST be submitted. 

If the seller is not the owner of record, the salvage dealer or metals recycler must 

obtain a smudge-free right thumbprint (or other digit if the seller has no right 

thumb) on form HSMV 82137. 

PAGE # 

TL-35-08 

https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82137.pdf


STATE OF FLORIDA 

Division of Motorist Services 

 

PROCEDURE 

 

TL-35 

SUBJECT: 

UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLES OR MOBILE HOMES DECLARED TOTAL LOSS, 

MOTOR VEHICLES JUNKED BY OWNERS AND DERELICT MOTOR VEHICLES. 

 

(2) Section 2 must be accurately completed by the transporter who is hired to 

transport the motor vehicle, mobile home or trailer to the licensed salvage motor 

vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler, if applicable.  However, if the owner 

or the salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler transports the 

motor vehicle, mobile home or trailer in lieu of a transporter, section 2 may be left 

blank. 

 

(3) Section 3 must be accurately completed by the licensed salvage motor vehicle 

dealer or secondary metals recycler.  The 24 hours starts with the last date on  

the Derelict Motor Vehicle Application (82137) Section 3. Should this date  

exceed a 24-hour period, with the exception of weekends,  holidays, and 

executive orders,  the application must be rejected, and the secondary metals 

recycler would  have to provide a court order.  

 

b. Lien satisfaction(s): 

 

(1) When the lien is 3 years old or more, the following applies: 

• FRVIS will systematically delete the lien when the derelict certificate is 

processed. 

• The Derelict Vehicle Certificate will print the destruction date, which will be 

three full business days (not including weekends or holidays) from the date of 

the transaction. The salvage dealer or metals recycler must hold the vehicle 

until that date. 

• A field, Authorized Destruction Date, has been added to Title Inquiry and Title 

History Inquiry displaying the earliest day that the metals recycler or salvage 

dealer who obtained a Derelict Vehicle Certificate is authorized to destroy the 

vehicle. 

(2) When the lien is less than three years old, the following applies: 

 

When the derelict certificate is processed, FRVIS will systematically place a 

vehicle stop (“DV” for Derelict Vehicle) against the vehicle for 10 calendar days. 

See Exhibit B. The derelict certificate will still print, although it will display the 

destruction date as “PENDING.” 

 

The department will send a letter (via regular mail and email when available) to 

notify the lienholder of the application and issuance of the Derelict Vehicle 

Certificate. See Exhibit C. The department will also notify the salvage dealer or 

metals recycler (via email) that it may not destroy the vehicle until the MV Check 

screen displays an authorized destruction date. See Exhibit D. 
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a. If the department receives no response from the lienholder within 10 calendar 

days, the stop will be removed and the Motor Vehicle (MV) Check screen on 

the department’s website will be updated with an authorized destruction date. 

The dealer/recycler may go to the website to verify the official destruction 

date.  They must print a copy of the MV Check screen (which verifies the 

destruction information) and maintain this information for their records along 

with the Derelict Vehicle Certificate. 

 
b. If the department receives a response from the lienholder within 10 calendar 

days satisfying the lien or declaring they have no interest in the vehicle, the 

lien will be removed and the MV Check screen will be updated with an 

authorized destruction date. 

 

c. If the department receives a letter of protest from the lienholder within 10 

calendar days: 

 

A vehicle stop (“DA” for Derelict Vehicle Administrative) will be manually 

placed against the vehicle for 30 calendar days. See Exhibit B. 

 

If the lienholder doesn’t satisfy the lien or take possession of the vehicle 

within the 30 days, the MV Check screen will be updated with an authorized 

destruction date. 

 

The dealer/recycler may verify the official destruction date at the following 

link: https://services.flhsmv.gov/MVCheckWeb/ 

 

They should print a copy of the MV Check screen (which verifies the 

destruction information) and maintain this information for their records along 

with the Derelict Vehicle Certificate. 

d. Derelict title fees. 

 

When the derelict motor vehicle, mobile home or trailer is NOT titled in Florida, the previous 

state is known/not known, and the title is NOT available, the following is required, including 

submission of any documentation to the tax collector or license plate agency by the licensed 

salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler within 24 hours of receiving the motor 

vehicle, mobile home or trailer: 

 

• When FRVIS shows a NMVTIS record from another state, the county must contact the Field 

Support Center to request verification from that state via law enforcement teletype to check 

for lien information. 

• When FRVIS does NOT show a NMVTIS record, the county must contact the Field Support 

Center to request a nationwide teletype via law enforcement to check for lien information. 
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a. Form HSMV 82137, accurately completed as follows: 

(1) Section 1 by the seller or owner of the motor vehicle or mobile home. A legible copy 

of the owner/seller’s driver’s license or identification card number from Florida or 

another state must be submitted. 

A legible copy of the owner/seller’s driver license or identification card from Florida or another state 

MUST be submitted. 

If the seller is not the owner of record, the salvage dealer or metals recycler must obtain a smudge-free 

right thumbprint (or other digit if the seller has no right thumb) on form HSMV 82137. 

(2) Section 2 must be accurately completed by the transporter who is hired to transport 

the motor vehicle, mobile home or trailer to the licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer 

or secondary metals recycler, if applicable. However, if the owner or the salvage 

motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler transports the motor vehicle, 

mobile home or trailer in lieu of a transporter, section 2 may be left blank. 

(3) Section 3 must be accurately completed by the licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer 

or secondary metals recycler. 

When the Derelict Certificate is processed in FRVIS, the name of the salvage motor vehicle dealer or 

secondary metals recycler should be entered as the owner since the vehicle was previously titled in 

another state. 

b. Form HSMV 82042, completed by the purchaser(s) with the VIN verified by one of the 

four officials shown on the lower portion of the form. 

Verification is not required on any mobile home, trailer or semitrailer with a net weight 

of less than 2,000 pounds, or any travel trailer, camping trailer, truck camper or fifth- 

wheel recreation trailer. 

 

c. Lien satisfaction(s), 

(1) When the lien (out of state) is less than 3 years old, the following applies: 

a. When a Teletype Record is Found: 

• If the teletype verification specifies lienholder information, the 

Department will send a notification letter to any out-of-state 

lienholder and record an administrative stop for 30 days. 

If the Department receives no response from the out-of-state 

lienholder after 30 days, the Department will remove the stop, so the 

derelict certificate can be processed. 

• If the teletype verification does not specify lienholder information, 

continue with the derelict process in FRVIS. 
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The Derelict Vehicle Certificate will print the destruction date, 

which will be three full business days (not including weekends or 

holidays) from the date of the transaction. The salvage dealer or 

metals recycler must hold the vehicle until that date. 

b. When a Teletype Record is NOT Found: 

Continue with the derelict process in FRVIS. 

The Derelict Vehicle Certificate will print the destruction date, which will 

be three full business days (not including weekends or holidays) from the 

date of the transaction. The salvage dealer or metals recycler must hold the 

vehicle until that date. 

(2) When the lien (out of state) is 3 years old or more, the 

following applies: 

Continue with the derelict process in FRVIS. 

The Derelict Vehicle Certificate will print the destruction date, which will be 

three full business days (not including weekends or holidays) from the date of the 

transaction. The salvage dealer or metals recycler must hold the vehicle until that 

date. 

d. Derelict title fees. 

 

(1) Additional Information for Salvage Dealers/Recyclers: 

a. When an out of state title IS available and the motor vehicle, mobile home 

or trailer does qualify as a derelict vehicle/trailer, the reassigned out of 

state certificate of title should be submitted back to the titling/issuing state 

to be junked. The salvage dealer/recycler must keep a photocopy of the 

reassigned title for their records.  They may also want to send it by 

certified mail as proof of compliance and keep a physical receipt for their 

records. 

b. When an out of state title IS available and a motor vehicle, mobile home 

or trailer does NOT qualify as a derelict vehicle/trailer, the reassigned out 

of state certificate of title must be submitted back to the titling/issuing 

state to be junked.  The salvage dealer/recycler must keep a photocopy of 

the reassigned title for their records. They may also want to send it by 

certified mail as proof of compliance and keep a physical receipt for their 

records. 
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c. Licensed salvage motor vehicle dealers or secondary metals recyclers shall 

keep all originals or copies in the event the original was returned to the 

department, of all certificates of titles, salvage certificates of title, 

certificates of destruction, and derelict certificate applications on file in 

chronological order at their offices for a period of three years from the 

date of purchase. 

d. Salvage dealers that receive a vehicle with a clear title and wish to sell the 

vehicle (in lieu of junking the vehicle) must follow instructions in  

Procedure TL-11, Transfer of Florida Certificate of Title. 

e. Licensed salvage motor vehicle dealers that receive a motor vehicle with a 

clear title and wish to junk, dismantle or crush the motor vehicle, must 

comply with section II, C, of this procedure. 

Secondary metals recyclers that receive a motor vehicle with a clear title 

MUST comply with section II, C, of this procedure. 

f. The licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or registered secondary metals 

recycler will be issued a derelict certificate on plain white paper with one 

reassignment.  A Derelict Certificate may only be reassigned once by a 

licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer to another licensed salvage motor 

vehicle dealer or a registered secondary metals recycler. 

g. Since the Derelict Certificate is given to licensed salvage motor vehicle 

dealers or secondary metals recycler, no other certificate of title will be 

issued by the department.  If the Derelict Certificate is lost, form HSMV 

82137, may be used to apply for a duplicate. 

E. The tax collector's office or license plate agency may declare a mobile home title record (without 

the title) as “Junk” (to have it removed from the delinquent personal property tax roll), if one of 

the following apply: 

• The mobile home no longer exists or cannot be located. 

• The mobile home has been destroyed or changed in such a manner that it is no longer the 

mobile home described on the title record. 

After processing the transaction, the following must be submitted to the department in the 

Transaction Summary Report: 

1. The generated form HSMV 82041. 

2. A statement on letterhead from the agency or property appraiser's office listing what steps 

were taken to justify the cancellation of the title record. 

3. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of this or any 

other state, if applicable. 

4. No title fee is required. 
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III. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 

A. When the Florida Certificate of Title is issued in the name of an insurance company and is 

completed in the “Transfer of the Title by Seller” section of the certificate of title to a parts 

dealer or salvage company, it should be handled as a junk by owner. 

B. When “For-Hire,” “Taxicab” or “Police Car” is shown on the Florida Certificate of Title that is 

received with the salvage title application, this must be shown on the salvage title application. 

C. If the certificate of title was submitted and junked in error, submit an affidavit signed by the 

registered owner stating that fact along with form HSMV 82101. Duplicate title fees would 

apply. 

D. When a salvage yard or a secondary metals recycler applies for a derelict certificate of title in 

error, in order for the derelict certificate of title to be cancelled and the previous record 

reinstated, the salvage yard or metals recycler must submit the original derelict certificate (or an 

affidavit stating that it has been lost or stolen), an affidavit stating the error that was made, and a 

letter of VIN verification on law enforcement letterhead or form HSMV 82042 completed by 

law enforcement and mail to the following address: 

 

Division of Motorist Services 

ATTN: Title and Registration Issuance 

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS #72 

Tallahassee, Fl. 32399 

E. A lien may NOT be recorded on a derelict certificate.  If the derelict certificate was issued in 

error, see III, E, of this procedure for further instructions. 

 
F. Anyone who recovers, tows or stores vehicles and who claims a lien for performing labor or 

services on a motor vehicle or mobile home, or claims that a motor vehicle or mobile home has 

remained on any premises after tenancy has terminated, must obtain the title or certificate of 

destruction as required by law in order to transport, sell, dispose of or deliver a motor vehicle to 

a salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler; a derelict motor vehicle certificate 

application is not acceptable. 

 

G. Although Florida law requires a salvage dealer and recycler to make notification to the National 

Motor Vehicle Title Information System, NEITHER the dealer or recycler IS REQUIRED to 

submit proof of this notification with their documentation. 

 

H. If the seller of a derelict motor vehicle is not the owner of record on file with the department, the 

licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or registered secondary metals recycler must pay for the 

purchase of the derelict motor vehicle by check or money order made payable to the seller not 

the authorized transporter. 
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I. A list of Frequently Asked Questions is shown as Exhibit A. 

 

J. Exhibit B displays a printout of a sample DV Stop (Derelict Vehicle 10-day) and a DA Stop 

(Derelict Vehicle Administrative 30-day). 

 

K. Exhibit C displays a sample letter of notification to lienholder of application and issuance of 

Derelict Vehicle Certificate. 

 

L. Exhibit D displays a sample letter of notification to the salvage dealer or metals recycler about 

destroying the vehicle. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Historical Revisions:  

 

12/18/14 Added instructions to pages 3 &4. Added information concerning derelicts to page 13 and Exhibit A, #13. 
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EXHIBIT A 

 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 

1. Q. If a motor vehicle has been sold from individual to individual or individual to dealer and the title 

shows the transfer of ownership, is the purchaser required to take title in their name prior to 

selling the motor vehicle to a licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals 

recycler? 

 
A. No, section 319.30 (2)(b), Florida Statutes allows for a valid certificate of title, salvage 

certificate of title or certificate of destruction issued in the name of the seller or properly 

endorsed over to the seller be submitted to the licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or 

secondary metals recycler. 

2. Q. Do all persons/businesses buying, selling or dealing in salvage vehicles have to be licensed? 

 
A. Yes.  A salvage motor vehicle dealer is any person who engages in the business of acquiring 

salvaged or wrecked motor vehicles for the purpose of reselling them and their parts. 

3. Q. What does a licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or secondary metals recycler use for proof of 

ownership when the certificate of title or salvage certificate of title has been turned in to the 

department? 

 
A. Proof of ownership will be the form HSMV 82041 issued from FRVIS when the certificate of 

title or salvage certificate of title has been cancelled.  Licensed salvage motor vehicle dealers or 

secondary metals recyclers shall keep all originals or copies in the event the original was 

returned to the department, of all certificates of titles, salvage certificates of title, certificates of 

destruction and derelict motor vehicle certificates on file in chronological order at their offices 

for a period of three years from the date of purchase.   

4. Q. When a certificate of title is signed by a power of attorney for the owner, is the POA required to 

be submitted? 

 
A. Yes.  An original or certified copy of the power-of-attorney (form HSMV 82053, general or 

durable) must be viewed by the clerk at the time of the transaction. However, a copy of the 

viewed original or certified copy of the power of attorney may be submitted in lieu of the 

original. 

5. Q. If the titled owners are joined by “and”, are both owners required to sign the certificate of title? 

 
A. Yes. 

6. Q. What process is used when the customer (salvage dealer/recycler) submits an out of state title to 

be junked? 

 
A. The customer must submit the title back to the titling/issuing state to be junked. They should 

keep a photocopy of the reassigned title for their records.  They may also want to send it by 

certified mail as proof of compliance and to have a physical receipt for their records. 
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EXHIBIT A cont. 
 

7. Q. When a certificate of title is submitted to the licensed salvage dealer and the transfer of title by 

seller section is not complete, can a bill of sale be accepted? 

 
A. No, the certificate of title must be completed when available. 

8. Q. What process is used when the customer (salvage dealer/recycler) wants to junk a vehicle 

(titled in another state) and does not have the out of state title? 

 
A. The department does not junk out of state title records; however, if the vehicle qualifies as a 

derelict vehicle, refer to II, D, 2, of this procedure. 
 

 (Derelict Questions) 
 

9. Q. Does the owner shown on form HSMV 82137 have to match what is shown on the Division of 

Motorist Services (DMS) database? 

 
A. No. The form may be signed by the owner of record or a person who has physical possession 

and responsibility for the derelict motor vehicle. 

10. Q. When a customer has been left a vehicle in a will and does not have a certificate of title endorsed 

over to them, can a licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer comply with the derelict certificate 

laws? 

 
A. Yes, if the vehicle in question qualifies as a derelict motor vehicle. The seller (person who has 

physical possession and responsibility for the derelict motor vehicle) must complete section one 

on the form HSMV 82137. 

11. Q. If a derelict motor vehicle has been purchased by a licensed salvage motor vehicle dealer or 

secondary metals recycler and it has been burnt or the vehicle identification number is missing, 

how can a Derelict Motor Vehicle Certificate be obtained? 

 
A. A letter on letterhead stationery verifying the confidential VIN must be submitted by any law 

enforcement officer trained on auto theft, along with form HSMV 82137 accurately completed 

by the owner. 

12. Q. If a derelict certificate has been issued in FRVIS and the physical Florida title is later received 

for the vehicle with a notice of lien, can a lien add be processed? 

 
A. NO.  However, if the prior derelict certificate was issued in error, see III, E, of this procedure for 

further instructions about how to cancel a derelict certificate. Once the prior derelict certificate 

has been cancelled (and the previous title record has been reinstated), the lien add may be 

processed. 
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EXHIBIT B 
 

SAMPLE 

 

Derelict Vehicle Stop (DV) and Derelict Vehicle Administrative Stop (DA) 
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EXHIBIT C 
 

Notification to lienholder of application and issuance of Derelict Vehicle Certificate 

(Sent to lienholder via regular mail and email when available) 

 

    
 

February 19, 2019 
 
 
 
 

Loan Max Title Loans 
1805 N. Ashley Street 
Valdosta, Ga. 31602-3024 

 
 

Dear Lienholder: 
 

The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles issued a derelict motor vehicle certificate for a 
vehicle on which you are listed as the lienholder. The motor vehicle number 234567890 123451 is owned 
by Willie Wonka. 

 

You are hereby notified that the dealer or recycler will be authorized to destroy the vehicle if there is no 
response from the lienholder. 

 
As the lienholder, you must file a written statement to the Department, on or before, March 21, 2019, if you 
wish to prevent the motor vehicle from being destroyed.  To expedite the process, we suggest you email your 
written statement to derelict @flhsmv.gov or fax your written statement to (850) 617-3946.  Upon receipt of 
your written statement, we will place an administrative hold on the record for 30 days. 

 
During this 30-day period, the lienholder must satisfy the lien or contact the dealer/recycler and/or owner, 
obtain the vehicle, and apply for the title or a repossession certificate. The derelict motor vehicle certificate was 
issued to: 

 
 

Glendale Towing & Salvage 
6666 Old Towing Way 
Tallahassee, Fl 32301 
(850)555-5555 

 
 

If after this 30-day period there is no transfer of title or issuance of a repossession certificate, the licensed 
dealer or metal recycler will be authorized to destroy the vehicle. 
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Page Two 
 
 

 
A derelict motor vehicle is any motor vehicle or mobile home which is valued under $1,000, is at least 10 model 
years old, and is in such condition that its highest primary value is for sale, transport, or delivery to a licensed 
salvage motor vehicle dealer ("dealer") or registered secondary metals recycler ("recycler") for dismantling its 
component parts or conversion to scrap metal. Trailers are also covered by the above; however, they must 
have a value of less than $5,000. 

 
The derelict motor vehicle certificate allows the dealer or the recycler to dismantle or convert the motor vehicle 
to scrap metal. Previously, the dealer or recycler had to satisfy the lien before the department issued a derelict 
motor vehicle certificate. However, new laws section 319.30, Florida Statutes authorize the dealer or recycler 
to destroy derelict motor vehicles with active liens of less than three years upon receipt of the derelict motor 
vehicle certificate and after holding the vehicle for 10 days, during which time the lienholder is properly notified 
that the lien will be removed unless there is a response from the lienholder. 

 
If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Service Center at (850) 617-2000. 

Email: derelict@flhsmv.gov 

 
 

 

MOTOR VEHICLE STOP SECTION 
2900 Apalachee Parkway 
MS98 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0500 
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EXHIBIT D 
 

 

Notification to licensed salvage dealer or secondary metals recycler regarding destruction of vehicle 

(Sent via email to a licensed salvage dealer or secondary metals recycler) 

 

 

 

Date   02/19/2019 
 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT DESTROYING VEHICLE 
 
 
On 02/19/2019 you received a derelict motor vehicle certificate for VIN 234567890 123451. 
This vehicle has a lien less than 3 years old and the lienholder has been notified that you have received a 
derelict motor vehicle certificate as required by s.319.30, Florida Statutes. THE CERTIFICATE ISSUED TO 
YOU DOES NOT HAVE AN AUTHORIZED DESTRUCTION DATE AND YOU MAY NOT DESTROY THE 
VEHICLE UNTIL ONE IS ASSIGNED. 

 
Once the vehicle is eligible for destruction, this date will be posted on the Department' s Motor Vehicle Check.  
If the authorized destruction date is shown as "PENDING," an administrative hold placed on the record is still in 
effect and YOU MAY NOT DESTROY THE VEHICLE. When the administrative hold is removed, this site will 
show an "AUTHORIZED DESTRUCTION DATE". You MUST print a copy of this screen and include it with the 
derelict motor vehicle certificate PRIOR to destroying the motor vehicle. These two documents must be kept 
together as proof of authorization to destroy the vehicle. 

 
Please contact the Department at (850) 617-2000 if you need further assistance. 

 
Our Mission: Providing Highway Safety and Security through Excellence in Service, Education and 
Enforcement. 
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