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TL-26 
 

SUBJECT: 

TRANSFER OF CERTIFICATE OF TITLE UPON SALE FOR TOWING AND 

STORAGE LIEN OR APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION BY 

TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY 
DESCRIPTION AND USE:  

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 

COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 

OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES IN ESTABLISHING REQUIREMENTS FOR 

TRANSFER OF CERTIFICATE OF TITLE UPON SALE FOR TOWING AND STORAGE LIEN OR IN 

MAKING APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION. 
 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 713.78, Florida Statutes, provides for the sale of motor vehicles and vessels for unpaid 

towing and storage charges when removal of the motor vehicle or vessel is authorized by the 

motor vehicle or vessel owner, the owner or lessor of the property or a person authorized by the 

owner or lessor of the property on which such motor vehicle or vessel is wrongfully parked, or a 

law enforcement agency.  A person regularly engaged in the business of transporting motor 

vehicles or vessels by wrecker, tow truck or car carrier, or the owner or operator of the storage 

space may sell such motor vehicle or vessel at a public sale if the motor vehicle or vessel 

remains unclaimed or for which the charges for recovery, towing and storage services remains 

unpaid, after 35 days if the motor vehicle or vessel is more than 3 years of age or after 50 days 

if the motor vehicle or vessel is 3 years of age or less.  The 35 or 50 days does not include the 

date of the towing or the date of sale.  Notice by certified mail must be sent within seven 

business days after the date of storage of the motor vehicle or vessel to the registered owner and 

to all persons of record claiming a lien against the motor vehicle or vessel.   
 

NOTE:  The calendar year must be used when determining the age of the motor vehicle. 
 

Example:    Motor vehicles 3 years of age or less would include the last three years 

. 

                                            Motor vehicles more than 3 years of age would include the 4th prior year and older. 
 

Section 713.78(1)(a), Florida Statutes, defines “vehicle” to mean any mobile item whether 

motorized or not, which is mounted on wheels.  This would include off-highway vehicles. 
 

Section 713.78(1)(b), Florida Statutes, defines “vessel” to mean every description of watercraft, 

barge, and air boat used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on water, other 

than a seaplane or a “documented vessel” as defined in section 327.02(8). 
 

 

 

Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Updated mailing address for Law Enforcement Blocks, see page 23. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

Immediately 

REVISION DATE 
 

11/28/17 
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Section 713.78(1)(d), Florida Statutes, defines "National Motor Vehicle Title Information 

System" to mean the federally authorized electronic National Motor Vehicle Title Information 

System. 
 

Section 713.78(1)(e), Florida Statutes, defines "Equivalent commercially available system" to 

mean a service that charges a fee to provide vehicle information and that at a minimum maintains 

records from those states participating in data sharing with the National Motor Vehicle Title 

Information System.  (See section V, AA, of this procedure for a list of authorized data providers.) 
 

Section 713.78(4)(b), Florida Statutes, provides that when any law enforcement agency 

authorizes the removal of a motor vehicle or vessel or when any towing service notifies the law 

enforcement agency of possession of a motor vehicle or vessel pursuant to  

section 715.07(2)(a) 2, the law enforcement agency of the jurisdiction where the motor vehicle 

or vessel is stored shall contact the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles or the 

appropriate agency of the state of registration, if known, within 24 hours through electronic 

communications giving the full description of the motor vehicle or vessel.  Upon receipt of the 

description, the department shall search its files to determine the owner’s name, the name of the 

insurance company insuring the vehicle and whether any person filed a lien upon the motor 

vehicle or vessel as provided in section 319.27(2) and (3) and notify the law enforcement 

agency within 72 hours.  The person in charge of the towing service shall obtain such 

information from the applicable law enforcement agency within 5 days from the date of storage 

and shall give notice.  The department may release the insurance company information to the 

requestor notwithstanding the provisions of section 627.736. 
 

Section 713.78(4)(d), Florida Statutes, provides the meaning of “good faith effort.” 
 

Section 713.78(10), Florida Statutes, specifies who may retrieve the owner’s personal property 

not affixed to the vehicle or vessel, which includes their license plate. 
 

Section 713.78(11)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that any person regularly engaged in the 

business of recovering, towing, or storing vehicles or vessels who comes into possession of a 

vehicle or vessel pursuant to subsection (2) and who has complied with the provisions of 

subsections (3) and (6), when such vehicle or vessel is to be sold for purposes of being 

dismantled, destroyed, or changed in such manner that it is not the motor vehicle or vessel 

described in the certificate of title, shall report the vehicle to the National Motor Vehicle Title 

Information System and apply to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

county tax collector for a certificate of destruction (CD).  The application for CD must 

include proof of reporting to NMVTIS.  See section V, BB, of this procedure for a list of 

approved authorized data consolidators (for reporting). 
 

Section 713.785, Florida Statutes, provides for the sale of a mobile home by a mobile home 

transport company for unpaid recovery, towing and storage charges. 
 

Section 713.785(1)(a), Florida Statutes, defines “mobile home transport company” as a person 

regularly engaged in the business of transporting mobile homes. 
 

Section 50.011, Florida Statutes, provides that a newspaper which is printed and published 

periodically once a week (or more often) is considered to be in general circulation. 
 

Section 50.031, Florida Statutes, provides that a newspaper of “general circulation” is a 

newspaper (business) that (at the time of publication) has been in existence for at least one (1) 

year. 
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II. GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 

A. If a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel is NOT sold at the public sale, the towing or 

transport company must apply for a certificate of title or certificate of destruction in the 

name of the towing or transport company.  A certificate of destruction is required when 

a towing or transport company intends to sell a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel for 

purposes of having it dismantled, destroyed or changed in such a manner that it is not 

the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel described in the certificate of title. 
 

B. If the application for certificate of title or certificate of destruction is not made within 30 

days of the date of the public sale, a penalty fee is due. 
 

C. For information on adding, discharging or disputing a “Wrecker Operator’s Lien,” refer 

to DMV Procedure RS-50.  This procedure would apply to any law enforcement tow 

from public property.  A code enforcement or private tow would NOT be applicable. 
 

D. Any time law enforcement authorizes a tow from private property, it is considered a 

“private tow.”  A person's property or a business address (Wal-Mart, Sears, etc.) is 

considered private property.  A vehicle/vessel sitting beside the highway is public.  A 

certificate of destruction may be issued for a private or a public tow, however, if the 

vehicle was towed from private property, a wrecker operator’s lien may not be placed 

against the owner. 
 

E. If a visible VIN cannot be located for the vehicle, contact a DMV Regional Office or a 

law enforcement agency that deals in auto theft.  They should be able to locate the 

confidential VIN number for the vehicle to identify the current owner.  A replacement 

VIN decal must be affixed to the motor vehicle before it can be sold.  However, if the 

motor vehicle will be issued a certificate of destruction, a replacement decal is NOT 

required.  Also see, page 26, X, of this procedure. 
 

III. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

A. After the provisions of section 713.78, Florida Statutes, (for a motor vehicle or vessel) 

or 713.785, Florida Statutes, (for a mobile home) have been met, the following 

documentation should be submitted to the tax collector’s office or license plate agency 

to apply for a Florida Certificate of Title or a Certificate of Destruction: 
 

1. A copy of the Notice of Claim of Lien, (Exhibit B), which was mailed certified 

to the owner (when the registered owner is different than the titled owner, both must be 

notified), lienholder (a lien satisfaction for the lien is acceptable, from the lienholder, in 

lieu of a certified letter to the lienholder) and the insurance company (insuring the 

vehicle), at the mailing address(es) shown on the motor vehicle records of this or any 

other state in which the vehicle is identified through a records check of the National 

Motor Vehicle Title Information System or an equivalent commercially available system 

as being titled or registered, within seven business days, EXCLUDING Saturdays, 

Sundays, and all legal holidays observed by the postal service, after the date of the tow.  

The seven business days do not include the date of the tow.  If the owner and lienholder 

are the same on the DMV database (including the same address), only one notice must 

be sent.  When the mailing and residential addresses are different, you are only 

required to send notice to the mailing address on file.  However, you may want to 

mail to both addresses to prevent future issues. 
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NOTE:  If motor vehicle records indicate co-owners, whether joined by “and” or “or” and both 

owners have a different address, each owner must be notified at the appropriate 

mailing address.   
 

If motor vehicle records indicate a lienholder has more than one address, notification 

must be sent to both addresses. 
 

NOTICE TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD NOT BE REQUIRED 

WHEN: 
 

• A vessel or mobile home has been towed. 

• The owner requested the tow company to tow and store their motor 

vehicle. 

• A tow was ordered by code enforcement from a house or from a business 

in violation of the zoning. 

• The insurance information is not on file with the department or another 

titling state’s law will not allow that state to give out the information (see 

Exhibit F for a list of the states that disclose insurance information). 
 

NOTE:  If the DMV database shows the insurance information has been CANCELLED and the 

date of tow was AFTER the cancellation date, the insurance company would NOT 

have to be notified. 
 

 

NOTE:  IF THE NOTICE IS NOT MAILED WITHIN THE FIRST SEVEN BUSINESS 

DAYS AFTER THE DATE OF TOW, STORAGE FEES CANNOT BE CHARGED. 
 

2. One of the following must be submitted showing the certified mail was sent 

within the seven business days from the date of tow: 
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder, and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

NOTE:  Tax Collector personnel are responsible for opening the returned unclaimed certified 

envelope and submitting it and all contents with the application.  Please place your 

initials and the date you opened the letter on the outside envelope.  Letters marked 

“Forwarding Order Expired” are acceptable, unless a forwarding address is shown.  If 

a forwarding address is shown, the Notice of Claim of Lien must be immediately 

mailed certified to the forwarding address. 
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The notice must state the following: 
 

a. That the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel is in the possession of the 

towing or transport company; 
 

b. That a lien is claimed; 
 

c. That charges have accumulated (and will continue to accumulate) and the 

total amount owed for towing and storage (should be itemized showing 

the total number of days stored, from the date of the tow until the date of 

the notice, charges per day and towing fees); 
 

NOTE:  Most administrative fees are less than $100.  The administrative fees must not exceed 

the amount set forth in the city, county or municipality ordinance, contract or set 

rotation rate for recovery, towing, storage and administrative fees, if one exists. 
 

d. That the lien is subject to enforcement on a motor vehicle or vessel, in 

accordance with section 713.78, Florida Statutes, or on a mobile home in 

accordance with 713.785, Florida Statutes; 
 

e. That the owner(s), lienholder and insurance company (insuring the motor 

vehicle), if any, has the right to a hearing; 
 

f. That any motor vehicle or vessel which remains unclaimed, or for which 

the charges for recovery, towing or storage services remain unpaid, may 

be sold free of all prior liens after 35 days if the motor vehicle or vessel is 

more than 3 years of age or after 50 days if the motor vehicle or vessel is 

3 years of age or less.   
 

If the mobile home which remains unclaimed or for which charges 

remain unpaid, may be sold free of all prior liens after 35 days following 

the eviction proceeding that resulted in the issuance of the writ of 

possession, provided that any lienholder entitled to notice pursuant to 

section 723.084 has received such notice and has failed to act pursuant to  

section 723.084 to pay storage charges, take possession of the home or 

take legal action to foreclose its interest prior to issuance of the writ of 

possession. 
 

g. The year, make and identification number of the motor vehicle, mobile 

home or vessel; 
 

h. Date of the Notice of Claim of Lien; 
 

i. The date of tow; 
 

j The tow or transport company’s (or their agent’s) complete name, 

address and telephone number; 
 

k. The signature of an authorized agent for the towing or transport 

company. 
 

NOTE:  Do not reject the application if the notice was not signed by an agent for the towing or 

transport company. 
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l. Name of person or entity that authorized the tow for the motor vehicle or 

vessel (if applicable).  The following is a list of the persons or entities 

allowed by law to authorize the tow: 
 

NOTE:  This information may be shown on the trip sheet or tow ticket in lieu of being listed on 

the Notice of Claim of Lien. 
 

1. The owner(s) of the motor vehicle or vessel.  This may also 

include the owner’s insurance company, members of the owner’s 

immediate family or any other person that the owner has 

authorized to operate the motor vehicle or vessel. 
 

2. Any law enforcement agency. 
 

3. The landlord or a person authorized by the landlord, when such 

motor vehicle or vessel remained on the premises after the 

tenancy terminated and the removal is done in compliance with s. 

715.104, Florida Statutes. 
 

4. The owner(s) or lessor(s) of the property or the person authorized 

by the owner(s) or lessor(s) of the property on which the motor 

vehicle or vessel was wrongfully parked and a statement that the 

removal was conducted in compliance with section 715.07, 

Florida Statutes. 
 

OR, 
 

Name of the person or entity that authorized the tow for the 

mobile home (if applicable).  The following is a list of the persons 

or entities allowed by law to authorize the tow: 
 

NOTE:  This information may be shown on the trip sheet or tow ticket in lieu of being listed on 

the Notice of Claim of Lien. 
 

a. The owner(s) of the mobile home. 
 

b. Any law enforcement agency. 
 

c. A mobile home park owner who has a current Writ of 

Possession for a mobile home lot. 
 

NOTE:  When a motor vehicle or vessel has been abandoned on private property, the property 

owner should call a towing company to remove the motor vehicle or vessel.  The 

motor vehicle or vessel is to be towed to the storage facility of the towing company.  If 

the registered owner(s), lienholder or insurance company (insuring the motor vehicle), 

after having been notified by the towing company, does not claim the motor vehicle or 

vessel and pay towing and storage charges, the motor vehicle or vessel may be sold at 

public sale by the towing company to satisfy the towing and storage charges.  If the 

motor vehicle or vessel is sold at public sale, any amount over the amount of the lien 

must be deposited with the Clerk of the Court. 
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NOTE:  When the towing or transport company has to request ownership and lienholder 

information from an out-of-state motor vehicle division, they must do so by certified 

mail, within the seven day period as outlined in section 713.78 (4)(c), Florida Statutes, 

(for a motor vehicle or vessel) or 713.785(3)(a), Florida Statutes, (for a mobile home).  

When the information is received from the out-of-state motor vehicle division, the 

towing or transport company must then send the notification to the owner(s), 

lienholder and insurance company immediately. 
 

NOTICE TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD NOT BE REQUIRED WHEN: 
 

• A vessel or mobile home has been towed. 
 

• The owner requested the tow company to tow and store their motor vehicle. 
 

• A tow was ordered by code enforcement from a house or from a business in 

violation of the zoning. 
 

• The insurance information is not on file with the department or another titling 

state’s law will not allow that state to give out the information (see EXHIBIT F for 

a list of the states that disclose insurance information.) 
 

If the out-of-state motor vehicle division does not respond to the towing or 

transport company’s request for information prior to the scheduled date of sale 

(after the 35 or 50 days from the date of storage), the towing or transport 

company may still continue with their public sale.  The towing or transport 

company must submit an affidavit stating the out-of-state motor vehicle division 

did not respond to their request for information prior to the sale, along with the 

other required documentation in order for the tax collector’s office or license 

plate agency to process their paperwork.  If the towing or transport company is 

applying for title in their name, they may specify this fact in the “Non-Use and 

Other Certifications” area on the form HSMV 82040, in lieu of the affidavit.  

The department will accept one of the following documents addressed to the out-

of-state motor vehicle division as proof that they tried to comply with provisions 

outlined in section 713.78, Florida Statutes, (for a motor vehicle or vessel) or 

713.785, Florida Statutes, (for a mobile home). 
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder, and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 
 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book for Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
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3. When a Florida record is NOT found for the vehicle, the towing company IS 

required to perform a good faith effort check in an attempt to locate the owner, 

lienholder and insurance information, prior to sending a good faith letter to law 

enforcement.  The good faith effort check list is attached as Exhibit K, of this 

procedure. 
 

If the NMVTIS record check discloses a state of title, the towing company must 

contact that state to obtain the owner(s), lienholder and insurance information.  A 

copy of the proof verifying the record check of the National Motor Vehicle Title 

Information System must be submitted with the other required documentation. 
 

✓ Refer to section V, AA, of this procedure for a list of approved 

 NMVTIS data providers. 

✓ This required NMVTIS check is not applicable to any vehicle which 

 is not motor driven (such as mobile homes, etc.). 
 

✓ See Exhibit K of this procedure for a list of the good faith effort 

 checks. 
 

 

NOTE:  Once the good faith effort has been completed (i.e., NO NMVTIS record, etc.) and all 

attempts to locate the owner(s), lienholder and insurance company prove unsuccessful, 

the towing or transport company shall, immediately following the seven business days, 

excluding Saturdays and Sundays, from the date of the initial tow or storage, notify a 

local law enforcement agency that the towing or transport company has been unable to 

locate the owner(s), lienholder or insurance company, a physical search of the motor 

vehicle, mobile home or vessel disclosed no ownership information, and a “good faith 

effort” to locate the owner(s), lienholder or insurance company has been made, 

including records checks of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

and the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System or an equivalent 

commercially available system database. 
 

 

The good faith letter/notice (see Exhibit G) must be signed by the person verifying 

that the good faith effort has been performed.  Do not reject the applicant’s application 

if this letter/notice is mailed or delivered to the local law enforcement agency within 

the first seven business days after the tow, rather than immediately following the 

seven business days. 
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Proof of notification (see Exhibit G) to the local law enforcement agency must 

be submitted with the certificate of title application along with the following 

documents: 
 

• A copy of the proof verifying a record check of the National Motor 

Vehicle Title Information System or an equivalent commercially 

available system was performed and a state of title was not identified.  A 

copy of the letter;  
 

 AND 
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

OR 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder, and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 
 

OR 
 

 

 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

 OR 
 

• A copy of the letter with an acknowledgment of hand delivery, signed by 

an official of the law enforcement agency. 
 

NOTE:  If the law enforcement agency does not respond to the towing or transport company’s 

request for information, prior to the scheduled date of sale (after the 35 or 50 days 

from the date of storage), the towing or transport company may still continue with 

their public sale.  The towing or transport company must submit an affidavit stating 

the law enforcement agency did not respond to their request for information prior to 

the sale, along with the other required documentation in order for the tax collector’s 

office or license plate agency to process their paperwork.  If the towing or transport 

company is applying for title in their name, they may specify this fact in the “Non-Use 

and Other Certifications” area on the form HSMV 82040, in lieu of the affidavit. 
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4. A copy of the Notice of Sale (may be included in the Notice of Claim of Lien, 

Exhibit B), which was mailed certified to the owner(s), lienholder and insurance 

company, (insuring the motor vehicle), at the address shown on the motor 

vehicle records of this or any other state in which the vehicle is identified through 

a records check of the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System or an 

equivalent commercially available system as being titled or registered, 
 

The following must be submitted showing the notice was mailed no less than 15 

calendar days prior to the date of sale: 
 

NOTE:  When the Notice of Sale is sent separate from the Notice of Claim of Lien, the 15 

calendar days do not include the date the notice is mailed or the date of sale. 
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder, and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 
 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

 

NOTICE TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD NOT BE REQUIRED 

WHEN: 
 

• A vessel or mobile home has been towed. 

• The owner requested the tow company to tow and store their motor 

vehicle. 

• A tow was ordered by code enforcement from a house or from a business 

in violation of the zoning. 

• The insurance information is not on file with the department or another 

titling state’s law will not allow that state to give out the information (see 

Exhibit F for a list of the states that disclose insurance information). 
 

NOTE:  If the DMV database shows the insurance information has been 

CANCELLED and the date of tow was AFTER the cancellation date, the 

insurance company would NOT have to be notified. 
 

The notice must include the following: 
 

a. the date, time and location of sale; 
 

b. the location of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel; 
 

c. a complete description of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel 

including the year, make and identification number; 
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d. the date of towing: 
 

e. the tow or transport company’s (or their agent’s) complete name, address 

and telephone number; 

f. the accumulated charges owed for towing and storage (must be itemized 

showing the total number of days stored, charges per day and towing 

fees); 
 

g. the signature or printed name of an authorized agent for the towing or 

transport company. 
 

NOTE:  The Notice of Sale may be included in the Notice of Claim of Lien. 
 

5. A copy of the newspaper advertisement showing the name of the newspaper and 

the date the advertisement was published.  The advertisement must include the 

exact year, make and identification number of the motor vehicle, mobile home or 

vessel and the date, time, and location of the sale. 
 

NOTE:  The date, time and location of the sale and the description of the motor vehicle, mobile 

home or vessel listed in the newspaper advertisement and the Notice of Sale must be 

the same. 
 

The advertisement must be published at least 10 calendar days prior to the date 

of sale, in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the sale is to 

be held.  The 10 calendar days do not include the date of the advertisement or the 

date of the sale. 
 

NOTE:  Publication must specify the name of the county in which the newspaper was 

circulated. 
 

NOTE:  Any newspaper company that has been in the publishing business for one (1) year and 

prints their newspaper at least once a week, qualifies as a newspaper of general 

circulation. 
 

6. When a towing company is applying for a Certificate of Destruction in lieu of a 

certificate of Title, they must: 
 

 Submit a copy of the proof of REPORTING the vehicle to the National Motor 

Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS).  Refer to section V, AA, of this 

procedure for a list of approved NMVTIS data consolidators. 
 

NOTE:  Reporting to NMVTIS does not apply to any vehicle which is not motor driven (such 

as mobile homes, etc.). 

 

7. FORMS (FLORIDA RECORD): 
 

If the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel was previously titled in Florida, the 

following form(s), accurately completed, are required: 
 

Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 

and/or Registration or form HSMV 82012, Application for Towing and Storage 

Certificate of Destruction. 
 

NOTE:  Item 7 (law enforcement check) on form HSMV 82012 (Rev. 03/06 or later) is not 

required to be completed when there is a current Florida title record. 
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8. FORMS (NO FLORIDA RECORD): 
 

If the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel was previously titled in another 

state, the following forms, accurately completed, are required: 
 

a. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of 

Title and/or Registration or form HSMV 82012, Application for Towing 

and Storage Certificate of Destruction. 
 

NOTE:  If applying for a Certificate of Destruction, section # 7 (law 

enforcement check) on form HSMV 82012 (Rev. 03/06 or later) IS 

required to be completed when there is not a current Florida title record.  

This section serves as a VIN verification area (for a motor vehicle) and a 

stolen status area (for a motor vehicle/vessel/mobile home), which is 

required pursuant to sections 319.23(3)(a)2, 713.78(11)(a) and 

713.785(7)(a), Florida Statutes.  The lower portion of the form HSMV 

82042 may be used for verification of the VIN (for a motor vehicle only) 

in lieu of this section; however, it must be completed by a Florida law 

enforcement officer ONLY.   
 

b. A form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 

Verification Affidavit, accurately completed by the applicant(s) with the 

VIN verified by one of the four officials shown on the lower portion of 

the form. 
 

NOTE:  If applying for a Certificate of Destruction (for a motor vehicle) and using the lower 

portion of this form in lieu of section #7 on the form HSMV 82012, it must be 

completed by a Florida law enforcement officer ONLY. 
 

Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, or HSMV 82012, Application for Towing and Storage 

Certificate of Destruction (section 7, Rev. 03/06 or later), may be used in 

lieu of the above listed form. 
 

or, 
 

An affidavit from the seller(s) and the purchaser(s) verifying that the 

identification number shown on the affidavit is identical to the 

identification number shown on the motor vehicle. 
2 

Verification of the identification number is NOT required on any vessel; 

mobile home; any trailer or semi-trailer with a net weight of less than 

2,000 pounds; or any travel trailer, camping trailer, truck camper, or 

fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 
 

c. Verification of ownership, lien status and insurance information from the 

motor vehicle division of the state of previous registration.  Verification 

may be one of the following: 
 

(1) A computer generated printout from an out-of-state motor vehicle 

division or an authorized provider. 

(2) A letter on original letterhead stationery from an out-of-state 

motor vehicle division. 

(3) A photocopy of the current out-of-state certificate of title. 
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NOTE:  When the towing or transport company has to request owner(s), lienholder and 

insurance information from an out-of-state motor vehicle division, they must do so by 

certified mail, within the seven day period as outlined in sections 713.78 (4)(c), 

Florida Statutes, (for a motor vehicle or vessel) or 713.785(3)(a), Florida Statutes, (for 

a mobile home).  When the information is received from the out-of-state motor vehicle 

division, the towing or transport company must then send the notification to the 

owner(s), lienholder and insurance company immediately. 
 

NOTICE TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD NOT BE REQUIRED WHEN: 
 

• A vessel or mobile home has been towed. 

• The owner requested the tow company to tow and store their motor vehicle. 

• A tow was ordered by code enforcement from a house or from a business in 

violation of the zoning. 

• The insurance company is not on file with the department or another titling 

state’s law will not allow that state to give out the information (see Exhibit F for 

a list of the states that disclose insurance information). 
 

If the out-of-state motor vehicle division does not respond to the towing or transport 

company’s request for information, prior to the scheduled date of sale (after the 35 or 

50 days from the date of storage), the towing or transport company may still continue 

with their public sale.  The towing or transport company must submit an affidavit 

stating the out-of-state motor vehicle division did not respond to their request for 

information prior to the sale, along with the other required documentation in order for 

the tax collector’s office or license plate agency to process their paperwork.  If the 

towing or transport company is applying for title in their name, they may specify this 

fact in the “Non-Use and Other Certifications” area on the form HSMV 82040, in lieu 

of the affidavit.  The department will accept the certified mail receipt addressed to the 

out-of-state motor vehicle division as proof that they tried to comply with provisions 

outlined in sections 713.78, Florida Statutes, (for a motor vehicle or vessel) or 

713.785, Florida Statutes, (for a mobile home). 
 

or, 
 

(4) A copy of the dated teletype printout or a statement which shows 

the owner(s), lienholder, insurance information and the name of 

the law enforcement agency who provided the verification 

information. 
 

NOTE:  The teletype or statement must be dated to verify the information was received within 

the seven day period.  The towing or transport company must then send the 

notification to the owner(s), lienholder and insurance company immediately. 
 

d. When the state in which the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel was 

previously registered is UNKNOWN, and the tow was authorized by law 

enforcement, a copy of the police report authorizing the tow must be 

submitted.  The department will accept a copy of the impound storage 

receipt in lieu of the police report, if the license plate information block is 

completed.  Any owner(s), lienholder, or insurance company shown on 

the police report or impound storage receipt must be notified by the 

towing or transport company. 
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NOTE:  If the tow ticket or trip sheet indicates a license plate number, the state in which the 

license plate was issued must be notified to obtain owner(s), lienholder, and insurance 

information.  A “good faith” effort should not be performed if the license plate number 

is provided on the tow ticket or trip sheet. 
 

When the state in which the motor vehicle or vessel was previously 

registered is UNKNOWN, and it is a private tow, submit a copy of the 

trip sheet or tow ticket completed by the tow truck operator on the day of 

tow.  Any owner(s), lienholder or insurance company shown on the trip 

sheet or tow ticket must be notified by the towing company. 
 

A “good faith effort” as defined in section 713.78(4)(d), Florida Statutes, 

(for a motor vehicle or vessel) or 713.785(5)(3), Florida Statutes, (for a 

mobile home) MUST be made to determine the state in which the motor 

vehicle is registered. 
 

9. “DATE OF TOW” as shown on the Notice of Claim of Lien is required to be 

entered in FRVIS when issuing a certificate of destruction. 
 

10. BILL OF SALE:  (If Applicable): 
 

The original bill of sale from the towing or transport company to the purchaser 

showing a complete description of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel, if 

the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel is sold.  If the motor vehicle, mobile 

home or vessel is not sold at the public sale, the towing or transport company 

MUST apply for a certificate of title or certificate of destruction in their name. 
 

NOTE:  If the application for certificate of title or certificate of destruction is not made within 

30 days of the date of the public sale; a penalty is due. 
 

11. SALES TAX: 
 

Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on an accurately 

completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of 

Title and/or Registration.  If the towing or transport company is applying for a 

certificate of title, specify on form 82040 or 82041 the following:  “OBTAINED 

PER FLORIDA STATUTES, SECTION 713.78 or 713.785, FOR TOWING 

AND STORAGE CHARGES ONLY.”  If the towing or transport company is 

applying for a certificate of destruction, the form HSMV 82012, Application for 

Towing and Storage Certificate of Destruction, contains the appropriate wording 

for the exemption of sales tax. 
 

12. LICENSE PLATE: 
 

The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased for or 

the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A non-use 

affidavit is not acceptable for mobile homes. 
 

or, 
 

FLORIDA REGISTRATION NUMBER: 
 

The Florida registration number transferred to or purchased for the vessel, or a 

non-use affidavit. 
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13. FEES: 
 

Certificate of Title or Certificate of Destruction fees ONLY. 
 

NOTE:  Duplicate fees would NOT be applicable to any application being processed pursuant 

to section 713.78, Florida Statutes. 
 

IV. CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

A. After following the requirements identified above in Section III, of this procedure, and 

an application has been submitted for a Certificate of Destruction, the county tax 

collector’s office or license plate agency will issue a Certificate of Destruction at the 

time of transaction validation.  A Certificate of Destruction cannot be issued for a motor 

vehicle, mobile home or vessel under the following circumstances, until these issues are 

resolved and the DMV database is changed or updated: 
 

1. Any Cancelled or Voided Florida record. 
 

2. FCIC Stolen Stop. 
 

3. Administrative Stop. 
 

1. Correspondence Letter Issued. 

 

5. Pending Certificate of Title. 
 

B. When a Certificate of Destruction has been issued, the department’s records will be 

updated to reflect it.  When the towing or transport company sells the motor vehicle, 

mobile home or vessel for parts or scrap, each subsequent owner must be recorded on 

the Certificate of Destruction.  The owner who finally dismantles or crushes the motor 

vehicle, mobile home or vessel must retain the original (page one) Certificate of 

Destruction for three years.  The copy of the Certificate of Destruction must be kept for 

three years by the towing or transport company, after being completed for transfer to a 

purchaser. 
 

C. Once the Certificate of Destruction is issued, no certificate of title will be issued by the 

department.  If the Certificate of Destruction is lost, a form HSMV 82012, Application 

for Towing and Storage Certificate of Destruction, may be used to apply for a duplicate. 
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D. If an application for Certificate of Destruction is submitted for a motor vehicle, mobile 

home or vessel that has an administrative stop, correspondence letter or a pending 

certificate of title, it cannot be processed until the application has been reviewed by the 

department and the database changed.  This review will be conducted on a case by case 

basis.  Tax collector’s and license plate agents may call their Help Desk Representative 

concerning Certificate of Destruction applications that involve one of these issues.  In 

some cases, if the paperwork is in order, an administrative stop may be removed by the 

tax collector’s office or license plate agency and the Certificate of Destruction issued.  

In other cases, the information must be forwarded to the department for resolution. 
 

If the DMV database shows a stolen stop, the towing or transport company must be 

advised so they can coordinate the removal of the stop with the law enforcement agency 

that placed it. 
 

E. If a towing or transport company has complied with the procedure for towing and 

storage and submits an application for a Certificate of Destruction on a motor vehicle, 

mobile home or vessel where a Certificate of Destruction has already been issued, the 

application should be accepted and processed. 
 

V. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 
 

A. All liens will be removed from the certificate of title issued under sections 713.78, 

Florida Statutes, (for a motor vehicle or vessel) or 713.785, Florida Statutes, (for a 

mobile home) unless otherwise provided by court order. 
 

B. When a licensed Florida motor vehicle dealer or an individual purchases a motor 

vehicle, mobile home or vessel from a towing or transport company through operation 

of law, a certificate of title must be issued in the dealer’s or individual’s name before the 

motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel can be sold to another person. 
 

C. All license plate agencies or tax collector offices are authorized to disclose insurance 

information to any towing company requesting this information for any insured motor 

vehicle which has been towed in compliance with section 713.78, Florida Statutes. 
 

D. If the notification is not mailed within the first seven business days after the date of tow, 

storage fees cannot be charged.  The application must be rejected requesting the notice 

of sale to be resent 15 calendar days prior to the date of sale and to be re-advertised in 

the newspaper 10 calendar days prior to the date of sale, excluding the storage fees. 

 

NOTE:  Proof of notification to local law enforcement, immediately following the seven 

business days, stating the “good faith effort” has been made, would also satisfy the 

notification requirements. 
 

E. Towing and storage charges may apply to off-highway vehicles (OHV) that are towed 

pursuant to section 713.78, Florida Statutes.  See DMS Procedure TL-44 for 

clarification of off-highway vehicles. 
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F. If any of the documents required by section 713.78, Florida Statutes, (for a motor 

vehicle or vessel) or 713.785, Florida Statutes, (for a mobile home) are incomplete or 

incorrect, the application must be rejected.  This may mean the Notice of Claim of Lien, 

newspaper advertisement, notification to law enforcement and Notice of Sale must be 

reprocessed, re-advertised and resubmitted.  The need for reprocessing, re-advertising 

and re-filing will depend on where in the process the error(s) or omission(s) exists.  For 

example: 
 

1. Notice of Sale: 
 

If the Notice of Sale was incorrect, it must be reprocessed at least 15 calendar 

days before the date of the sale.  The newspaper advertisement must also be 

republished.  The Notice of Sale must include: 
 

The date, time and location of the sale, the location of the motor vehicle, mobile 

home, or vessel, a complete description of the motor vehicle, mobile home or 

vessel, including the year, make and identification number, the tow or transport 

company’s complete name, address and telephone number, and the signature or 

printed name of an authorized agent for the towing or transport company.  

Storage charges would still be allowed (even though the notice of sale has to be 

resent), as long as the towing or transport company submits the original certified 

letter which proves the original notice was sent within the first seven business 

days. 
 

NOTE:  When the Notice of Sale is sent separate from the Notice of Claim of Lien, the 15 

calendar days do not include the date the notice is mailed or the date of sale. 
 

2. Newspaper Advertisement: 
 

If any information in the newspaper advertisement is incorrect, it must be 

republished one time at least 10 calendar days before the date of sale.  The 

Notice of Sale must be re-mailed, by certified mail, no less than 15 calendar days 

prior to the date of sale unless the newspaper advertisement can be corrected and 

republished prior to the 10 calendar day period and would not affect the date of 

sale as stated in the original Notice of Sale.  Storage charges would still be 

allowed (even though the advertisement had to be republished), as long as the 

towing or transport company submits the original certified letter which proves 

the original notice was sent within the first seven business days. 
 

NOTE:  The 10 calendar days do not include the date of the advertisement or the 

date of the sale. 
 

G. If the certificate of title is issued with an incorrect motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel 

identification number and is returned for correction, a correspondence letter will be 

written stating the certificate of title is cancelled and the previous record (if applicable) 

is being reinstated on the DMV database.  Since the notifications and all other 

documentation had an incorrect VIN or HIN, the correction letter will also state that the 

owner and lienholder of record must be notified and the newspaper advertisement 

republished.  A letter on law enforcement letterhead stationery stating the confidential 

identification number of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel must be submitted. 
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H. If an application for a certificate of title is submitted following the sale of a motor 

vehicle to satisfy a towing and storage lien and the department’s database now shows 

that a rebuildable salvage certificate of title has been issued, (or is pending to an 

insurance company), the following step is necessary:  A letter will be written by the 

department advising the individual or insurance company that they have 15 business 

days to show cause why the certificate of title should not be issued to the towing 

company or to the person who purchased the motor vehicle at the public sale. 
 

If the insurance company fails to show cause why the certificate of title should not be 

issued to the towing company or the person who purchased the motor vehicle at the 

public sale, the applicant for the certificate of title must follow the requirements for a 

rebuilt vehicle as contained in section 319.14(1)(b), Florida Statutes, and DMV 

Procedure TL-37.  A certificate of title branded “Rebuilt” will be issued as long as all 

requirements, under TL-26 & TL-37 have been met. 
 

NOTE:  A show cause letter would not be necessary if the towing company has already sent a 

certified letter to the individual or insurance company (at least 15 calendar days prior 

to the date of sale) as shown on the current DMV database record.  This letter would 

be in addition to the certified letter that was sent within the first seven business days to 

the owner of record at that time.  The towing company must submit one of the 

following, along with the other required documentation.  The paperwork should be 

accepted and processed by the tax collector’s office or license plate agency. 
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder, and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 
 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

NOTE:  A form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction, may 

be completed by the towing company or the person who purchased the motor vehicle 

at the public sale, showing “Salvage by Owner.  The estimation of fees in sections 5 or 

6 would not be applicable, however, the “rebuildable” or “rebuildable flood” block in 

one of these sections must be checked in lieu of rebuilding the motor vehicle at this 

time.  A Salvage Rebuildable Certificate of Title will be issued, if the form HSMV 

82363 is completed and all requirements under TL-26 have been met. 
 

NOTE:  The department does not issue a branded certificate of title for a vessel. 
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I. If an application for a certificate of title is submitted to the department and a salvage 

unrebuildable certificate of title (issued prior to 10/01/00) has been issued, the 

application must be rejected.  The department is prohibited from issuing another 

certificate of title for a motor vehicle branded Salvage “Unrebuildable.”  However, if a 

towing company has complied with the procedure for towing and storage and submits an 

application for a Certificate of Destruction on a motor vehicle where a salvage 

unrebuildable certificate of title (issued prior to 10/01/00) has been issued, the 

application should be accepted and processed. 

 

J. If an application for a certificate of title is submitted following the sale of a motor 

vehicle, mobile home or vessel to satisfy a towing and storage lien and a certificate of 

title has been issued or is pending to another individual or company, a 15 day show 

cause letter must be written to that individual or company advising them that they have 

15 business days to show cause as to why a certificate of title should not be issued to the 

customer making application for title under the towing and storage law.  If the 

individual or company fails to show cause why the certificate of title should not be 

issued to the towing or transport company or the person who purchased the motor 

vehicle, mobile home or vessel at the public sale, a certificate of title will be issued. 

 

NOTE:  A show cause letter would not be necessary if the towing or transport company has 

already sent a certified letter to the individual or company (at least 15 calendar days 

prior to the date of sale) as shown on the current DMV database record.  This letter 

would be in addition to the certified letter that was sent within the first seven business 

days to the owner of record at that time.  The towing or transport company must 

submit one of the following, along with their other required documentation.  The 

paperwork should be accepted and processed by the tax collector’s office. 
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
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K. Form HSMV 82012 (Rev. 03/06 or later), Application for Towing and Storage 

Certificate of Destruction (section #7), also serves as a vehicle identification number 

(VIN) verification form (for a motor vehicle) and a stolen status form (for a motor 

vehicle/vessel/mobile home), when there is not a current Florida title record.  The law 

enforcement officer makes an inquiry with the (NCIC) National Crime Information 

Center and (FCIC) Florida Crime Information Center, to insure the motor vehicle, vessel 

or mobile home has not been reported stolen, pursuant to sections 713.78(11)(a) and 

713.785(7)(a), Florida Statutes, prior to signing the form HSMV 82012. 

 

L. When an application for a certificate of title or certificate of destruction is made on a 

motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel that has a stolen stop (FCIC) on the DMV 

database all paperwork must be returned to the towing or transport company.  The 

towing or transport company must contact the law enforcement agency that reported the 

motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel stolen.  The law enforcement agency will 

determine if the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel should be seized or the stolen 

stop removed.  If the stop is removed the application for the certificate of title or 

certificate of destruction may be resubmitted to the county tax collector’s office for 

processing. 

 

M. The license plate attached to the motor vehicle at the time of the tow is the property of 

the registered owner and should be given to them along with their personal belongings.  

Section 713.78, Florida Statutes, does not give the towing company authority to keep the 

license plate.  The registered owner may authorize another person to retrieve their 

personal property from the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel by giving the person a 

notarized/perjury clause affidavit stating that fact. 

 

N. When an application for a certificate of destruction is submitted to the tax collector’s 

office for a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel that has an administrative stop, copies 

of the complete application should be faxed to the Field Support Center, requesting the 

stop to be removed. 

 

 

Attn: Field Support Center 

Fax Number:  850-617-5136 

 

After the copies of the application for a certificate of destruction have been reviewed, 

and found to be in order, the department will: (a) remove the administrative stop, or (b) 

a letter will be written to the person having an interest in the motor vehicle, mobile 

home or vessel stating they have 15 business days from the date of the letter to show 

cause as to why a certificate of destruction should not be issued to the towing or 

transport company.  The application will be processed after the stop has been removed. 
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O. When the towing or transport company makes application for a certificate of title or 

certificate of destruction and the owner or lienholder’s address changes or the ownership 

of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel changes from the time the towing or 

transport company sends the Notice of Claim of Lien to the registered owner(s), or 

lienholder and the application is submitted to the tax collector’s office or license plate 

agency, copies of the complete application should be mailed or faxed to the division 

(Refer to V, N, for the division’s address and fax number). 
 

After the copies of the application have been reviewed, and found to be in order, a 15 

day show cause letter will be written to the new owner and lienholder (if any) of record, 

stating they have 15 business days to show cause as to why a certificate of title or 

certificate of destruction should not be issued to the towing or transport company. 
 

NOTE:  A show cause letter would not be necessary if the towing or transport company has 

already sent a certified letter to the owner(s) or lienholder as shown on the current 

DMV database record at least 15 calendar days prior to the date of sale.  This letter 

would be in addition to the certified letter that was sent within the first seven business 

days to the owner and lienholder of record at that time.  The towing or transport 

company must submit one of the following, along with the other required 

documentation.  The paperwork should be accepted and processed by the tax 

collector’s office or license plate agency. 
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 
 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

P. If an application for a certificate of title is submitted following the sale of a motor 

vehicle to satisfy a towing and storage lien and the information from the third party 

provider does not show insurance information, however, the license plate agency has 

insurance information on file, a 15 day show cause letter must be written to that 

insurance company, advising them that they have 15 business days to show cause as to 

why a certificate of title should not be issued to the customer making application for title 

under the towing and storage law.  If the insurance company on file fails to show cause 

why the certificate of title should not be issued to the towing company, or to the person 

who purchased the motor vehicle at the public sale, a certificate of title will be issued. 
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NOTE:  A show cause letter would not be necessary if the tax collector’s office or license plate 

agency gives the towing company the insurance information and the towing company 

sends a certified letter to the insurance company at least 15 calendar days prior to the 

date of sale.  The towing company must submit one of the following, along with the 

other required documentation.  The paperwork should be accepted and processed by 

the tax collector’s office. 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 

 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

Q. When the towing company makes application for a certificate of title or certificate of 

destruction and an out of state NMVTIS record is found by the tax collector’s office or 

license plate agency, copies of the complete application should be mailed or faxed to the 

division (Refer to V, N, for the division’s address and fax number). 

 

NOTE:  When a towing company initially requests owner(s), lienholder and insurance 

information from a tax collector’s office or license plate agency, the agency should 

always do a NMVTIS check of the record in addition to a regular inquiry on the 

vehicle.  If there is no Florida record, but there is an out of state NMVTIS record, this 

information should be given to the towing company at that time.  They should then 

contact that state of record for owner and lienholder information.  This would prevent 

the department from having to send a show cause letter at a later date. 

 

After the copies of the application have been reviewed and found to be in order, a 15 

day show cause letter will be written to the owner and lienholder (if applicable) stating 

they have 15 business days to show cause as to why a certificate of title or certificate of 

destruction should not be issued to the applicant or towing company. 
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NOTE:  The towing company may be given the information to contact the state of record to 

obtain ownership information, if they choose.  A show cause letter would not be 

necessary if the towing company has already sent a certified letter to the applicable 

state and the owner(s) or lienholder as shown on the out of state verification.  This 

letter would be in addition to the certified letter that was sent within the first seven 

business days to the owner(s) and lienholder of record at that time (if applicable).  The 

towing company must submit one of the following, along with the other required 

documentation.  The paperwork should be accepted and processed by the tax 

collector’s office or license plate agency. 
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 
 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

R. When an application for a certificate of title is submitted to the tax collector’s office or 

license plate agency for a motor vehicle or vessel which shows “Junked” on the DMV 

database, after the date the motor vehicle or vessel was towed, the title clerk must mail 

or fax copies of the complete application to the division, requesting “Junked” be 

removed.  Refer to V, N, for the divisions address and fax number.  After the copies of 

the application for a certificate of title have been reviewed, and found to be in order, the 

department will remove the “Junked” notation. 
 

NOTE:  However, if the motor vehicle or vessel record is noted “Junked” prior to the date of 

tow, a certificate of destruction must be issued in lieu of a certificate of title. 
 

S. When the DMV database shows a “Law Enforcement Block” for a motor vehicle, 

mobile home or vessel which has been towed, the tow or transport company must 

submit a completed copy of the Notice of Claim of Lien and Notice of Sale, which 

would exclude the owner’s address, by certified mail, to: 
 

Division of Motor Vehicles 

ATTN: Law Enforcement Block 

2900Apalachee Parkway, MS #57-B239 

Tallahassee, Fl. 32399 
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The department would then forward the Notice of Claim of Lien and Notice of Sale to 

the owner(s).  If the owner(s) does not respond or make arrangements with the tow or 

transport company to retrieve the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel prior to the date 

of the sale, the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel may be sold pursuant to section 

713.78, Florida Statutes, (for a motor vehicle or vessel) or 713.785, Florida Statutes, (for 

a mobile home).  The towing company must submit one of the following, which was 

sent to the department, within the first seven business days, along with a copy of the 

Notice of Claim of Lien and Notice of Sale and the other required documentation.   
 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 
 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

If one of the above is not dated within the seven business days, storage fees may not be 

charged.   
 

T. When the DMV database shows a “Privacy Act” Block for a motor vehicle, mobile 

home or vessel which has been towed in compliance with section 713.78, Florida 

Statutes, (for a motor vehicle or vessel) or 713.785, Florida Statutes, (for a mobile 

home) the towing or transport company would be authorized to receive the information 

from any tax collector’s office or license plate agency. 
 

U. If an owner of a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel signs their title over to a towing 

or transport company (for towing and storage charges) and the towing or transport 

company wishes to apply for a certificate of destruction, the following would be 

required to identify the process as a towing and storage transaction in lieu of a regular 

transfer: 
 

1. The Florida or out of state certificate of title properly completed for transfer to 

the towing or transport company (“towing & storage” should be shown in the 

“selling price” section). 
 

2. A copy of the trip sheet or tow ticket. 
 

3. A form HSMV 82012 (Rev. 03/06 or later), accurately completed by the towing 

or transport company.  If the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel has an out of 

state title, section 7 of the form HSMV 82012 must also be completed. 
 

4. Certificate of Destruction fees. 
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NOTE:  This process would permanently relinquish the towing or transport company’s ability 

to place a wrecker operator’s lien against the owner(s) of the motor vehicle, mobile 

home or vessel. 
 

V. If an owner of a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel signs their title over to a towing 

or transport company (for towing and storage charges) and the towing or transport 

company wishes to apply for a regular certificate of title, the following would be 

required in order for the towing or transport company to prove their exemption from 

sales tax: 
 

1. The Florida or out of state certificate of title properly completed for transfer to 

the towing or transport company (“towing & storage” should be shown in the 

“selling price” section). 
 

NOTE:  If the title is an out of state title, submit a form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification 

Number and Odometer Verification Affidavit, accurately completed by the towing 

company with the vehicle identification number verified by one of the four officials 

shown on the lower portion of the form.  Form HSMV 82040, Application for 

Certificate of Title with/without Registration, may be used in lieu of the HSMV 

82042. 
 

2. A copy of the Notice of Claim of Lien, which was mailed certified to the owner 

along with one of the following:   

 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 
 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 
 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 
 

3. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, or HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 

and/or Registration, accurately completed by the towing or transport company. 
 

NOTE:  Specify on form HSMV 82040 or 82041 the following:  “Obtained per Florida 

Statutes, section 713.78 or 713.785, for towing and storage charges only.” 

 

4. Title fees. 
 

W. All “show cause” letters (if applicable) are written by the department. 
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X. If a motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel has been towed and the identification number 

is unidentifiable, the confidential VIN or HIN must be physically located and identified 

by a law enforcement officer.  Sometimes it may be several weeks before the law 

enforcement agency has the opportunity to identify the motor vehicle, mobile home or 

vessel.  Therefore, in order to comply with the seven day time frame, the towing or 

transport company should send a certified letter to the law enforcement agency 

requesting a check of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel.  This is proof that the 

towing or transport company attempted to retrieve the information within the first seven 

business days after the date of tow.  A copy of the letter along with one of the following 

must be submitted with all other required documents.  If one of the following does not 

indicate notification was within the first seven business day, storage fees cannot be 

collected. 

 

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter 

was submitted to the post office for mailing. 

 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be 

an electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 

 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to 

verify that the listed information is accurate. 

 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 

 

Y. When an application for a certificate of title is submitted to the tax collector’s office or 

license plate agency for a motor vehicle which shows “salvage theft” on the DMV 

database, the towing company must obtain an affidavit from the law enforcement officer 

who authorized the tow.  The affidavit must state that the vehicle appeared to be 

substantially intact when it was towed.  The affidavit will allow the clerk to remove the 

salvage theft status when processing the application for title. 

 

Z. For information on adding, discharging or disputing a “Wrecker Operator’s Lien,” refer 

to DMV Procedure RS-50. 
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AA. A list of the various approved NMVTIS Data providers (inquiry) are located on the 

website of The National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) at: 

 

http://www.vehiclehistory.gov/nmvtis_vehiclehistory.html 

 

BB. A list of the various approved NMVTIS Data consolidators (reporting) are located on 

the website of The National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) at: 

 

http://www.vehiclehistory.gov/nmvtis_vehiclehistory.html 

 

CC. A documentation checklist for certificate of destruction (when owner(s) is transferring 

title to the towing or transport company for towing and storage charges) is included in 

this procedure as Exhibit A. 

 

DD. A copy of a “Notice of Claim of Lien and Proposed Sale of Motor Vehicle” (suggested 

form) is attached as Exhibit B. 

EE. A documentation check list covering towing and storage is included in this procedure as 

Exhibit C. 

 

FF. A documentation check list covering certificate of destruction is included in this 

procedure as Exhibit D. 

 

GG. A timeline is attached to this procedure as Exhibit E. 

 

HH. The “States That Disclose Insurance Information” list is attached to this procedure as 

Exhibit F. 

 

II. A “Good Faith Notice” is attached to this procedure as Exhibit G. 

 

JJ. A documentation check list for Certificate of Title (when owner(s) is transferring title to 

the towing or transport company for towing and storage charges) is included in this 

procedure as Exhibit H. 

 

KK. An “Example of Proof of Inquiry Through an Authorized Data Provider” is attached as 

Exhibit I. 

 

LL. An “Example of Proof of Reporting to NMVTIS Through an Authorized Data 

Consolidator” is attached as Exhibit J. 

 

MM. A Good Faith Effort Check List is attached to this procedure as Exhibit K. 
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NN. The towing and storage procedure does not apply to documented vessels registered with 

the U.S. Coast Guard, unless the towing company has first obtained a “Release From 

Documentation.”  The contact telephone number for the U. S. Coast Guard is  

800-799-8362. 

 

 

OO. When law enforcement authorizes a tow from private property, this is considered a 

“private tow” and it would not be eligible for a Wrecker Operator’s Lien.  Private 

property may be, but is not limited to an individual’s property, an apartment complex or 

any public shopping center.  If the motor vehicle is abandoned on the side of the road it 

would be considered a “public tow.” 

 

VI. SPECIAL NOTE: 

 

A. When processing an application for towing and storage, make sure the form HSMV 

82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration, or HSMV 82041, 

Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration, is accurately 

completed. 

 

NOTE:   All titles default to electronic unless the customer explicitly chooses to have the title printed. 

 

B. The following forms included in this procedure are suggested forms.  They are not 

prescribed HSMV forms; however, the information contained in the forms is required.  

A copy of these forms may be given to any towing company or transport company to 

use at their request.  These forms are: 

 

1. “Notice of Claim of Lien” (Exhibit B). 

 

2. “Notice of Sale” (may be combined with Notice of Claim of Lien, Exhibit B). 

 

C. When a certificate of destruction has been issued in error, the certificate must be mailed 

to the following address, along with an affidavit of explanation, in order for it to be 

cancelled and the previous record reinstated: 

 

Division of Motor Vehicles 

ATTN:  Title and Registration Issuance 

2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS #72 

Tallahassee, Fl. 32399 
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EXHIBIT A 

   

CHECK LIST FOR CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION (WHEN OWNER IS TRANSFERRING 

TITLE TO THE TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY FOR  

TOWING & STORAGE CHARGES) 

 

 

FORMS 

   

FLORIDA TITLE   OUT-OF-STATE TITLE 

   

________ Florida Title     ________ Out of State Title 

 

_______ HSMV 82012   _______ HSMV 82012 (including section 7) 

 

 

 

 

_______ A copy of the trip sheet or tow ticket. 

 

_______ Submit a copy of the proof of REPORTING the vehicle to the National Motor Vehicle Title 

Information System (NMVTIS).  Refer to section V, BB, of this procedure for a list of approved 

NMVTIS data consolidators. 

 

NOTE:  Reporting to NMVTIS does not apply to any vehicle which is not motor driven (such as 

mobile homes, etc.). 

 

_______ Certificate of Destruction Fees. 

 

 

NOTE:  This process would permanently relinquish the towing or transport company’s 

ability to place a wrecker operator’s lien against the owner of the motor vehicle, 

mobile home or vessel. 
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EXHIBIT B 
TOWING AND STORAGE 

NOTICE OF CLAIM OF LIEN AND PROPOSED SALE OF A MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL 
 

DATE______________________________________ 
 

TO: REGISTERED OWNER       LIENHOLDER 
 

NAME________________________________________________________  NAME_____________________________________________________________ 
 

ADDRESS_____________________________________________________  ADDRESS__________________________________________________________ 
 

CITY, STATE, ZIP_____________________________________________  CITY, STATE, ZIP__________________________________________________ 
 

NAMES AND ADDRESSES OF ANY OTHER PERSONS, INCLUDING ANY OTHER LIENHOLDERS OR INSURANCE COMPANY, CLAIMING AN 
INTEREST IN THE MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL. 
 

NAME________________________________________________________  NAME_____________________________________________________________ 
 

ADDRESS_____________________________________________________  ADDRESS__________________________________________________________ 
 

CITY, STATE, ZIP____________________________________  CITY, STATE, ZIP__________________________________________________ 
 

 

LIENOR (TOWING AND STORAGE COMPANY)   DESCRIPTION OF MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL 
 

NAME_______________________________________________________  YEAR_______MAKE____________VIN/HIN_____________________________ 
 

ADDRESS____________________________________________________  LOCATION OF MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL 
 

CITY, STATE, ZIP_____________________________________________  ___________________________________________________________________ 
 

TELEPHONE _________________________________________________  ___________________________________________________________________ 
 

EACH OF YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED THAT THE ABOVE DESCRIBED MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL WAS TOWED AT THE REQUEST OF  
 

  ON _____________________AND THE ABOVE NAMED TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY IS IN  
 (PERSON WHO AUTHORIZED TOW)   (DATE) 

POSSESSION OF AND CLAIMS A LIEN ON THE ABOVE DESCRIBED MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL FOR RECOVERY, TOWING, AND 

STORAGE CHARGES ACCUMULATED IN THE AMOUNT OF: (TOTAL)$_________________________. 
 

ITEMIZED CHARGES:  (TOWING CHARGES) $___________, (TOTAL STORAGE CHARGES) $__________, FOR _____ DAYS, AT $________ PER DAY,  
 

(RECOVERY CHARGES, IF APPLICABLE)  $______________, AND (ADMINISTRATIVE FEES) ___________.  THE STORAGE CHARGES WILL  
 

CONTINUE TO ACCUMULATE AT THE RATE OF $___________ PER DAY. 
 

THE LIEN CLAIMED BY THE ABOVE NAMED TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY IS SUBJECT TO ENFORCEMENT PURSUANT TO S. 713.78 OR 713.785, F.S., 

AND UNLESS SAID MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL IS REDEEMED FROM SAID TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY BY PAYMENT AS 
ALLOWED BY LAW, THE ABOVE DESCRIBED MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL MAY BE SOLD TO SATISFY THE LIEN.  IF THE MOTOR 

VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL IS NOT REDEEMED AND THAT MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL REMAINS UNCLAIMED, OR FOR 

WHICH THE CHARGES FOR RECOVERY, TOWING, OR STORAGE SERVICES REMAIN UNPAID, MAY BE SOLD FREE OF ALL PRIOR LIENS AFTER 35 DAYS IF 

THE VEHICLE OR VESSEL IS MORE THAN 3 YEARS OF AGE AND AFTER 50 DAYS IF THE VEHICLE OR VESSEL IS 3 YEARS OF AGE OR LESS.  THE 

MOBILE HOME MAY BE SOLD AFTER 35 DAYS.  THE OWNER, LIENHOLDER, OR INSURANCE COMPANY, IF ANY, HAS THE RIGHT TO A HEARING AS SET 

FORTH IN SUBSECTION (5).  THE ABOVE DESIGNATED TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY PROPOSES TO SELL THE MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR 
VESSEL AS FOLLOWS: 
 

PUBLIC SALE TO BE HELD AT ________________________________________________________________________________ COMMENCING AT 
 

_________________ AM/PM ON THE ______________________ DAY OF _____________________________________________, 20_______________. 
 

STATEMENT OF OWNERS RIGHTS 
 

NOTICE THAT THE OWNER, LIENHOLDER OR INSURANCE COMPANY WITHIN 10 DAYS AFTER THE TIME THEY HAVE KNOWLEDGE OF THE LOCATION 

OF THE MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL, MAY FILE A COMPLAINT IN THE COUNTY COURT IN WHICH THE MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME 
OR VESSEL IS STORED TO DETERMINE IF THEIR PROPERTY WAS WRONGFULLY TAKEN OR WITHHELD FROM THEM. 
 

NOTICE THAT UPON FILING A COMPLAINT, AN OWNER, LIENHOLDER, OR INSURANCE COMPANY MAY HAVE THEIR MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME 

OR VESSEL RELEASED UPON POSTING WITH THE COURT A CASH OR SURETY BOND OR OTHER ADEQUATE SECURITY EQUAL TO THE AMOUNT OF THE 

CHARGES FOR TOWING AND STORAGE TO ENSURE THE PAYMENT OF SUCH CHARGES IN THE EVENT THEY DO NOT PREVAIL. 
 

NOTICE THAT ANY PROCEEDS FROM THE SALE OF THE MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL REMAINING AFTER PAYMENT OF THE AMOUNT 

CLAIMED TO BE DUE AND OWING TO THE TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY WILL BE DEPOSITED WITH THE CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR 
DISPOSITION UPON COURT ORDER PURSUANT TO SUBSECTION (5) OF S. 713.78, F.S., (FOR A MOTOR VEHICLE OR VESSEL) OR 713.785,F.S., (FOR A MOBILE 

HOME). 
 

NOTE:  THE 35 OR 50 DAY TIME FRAME THAT THE MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL MUST BE HELD SHOULD NOT INCLUDE THE DAY 

OF TOWING AND STORAGE, OR THE DATE OF THE SALE.  WHEN A SEPARATE NOTICE IS SENT 15 DAYS PRIOR TO THE SALE DATE, THE DATE 

THE NOTICE WAS MAILED OR THE DATE OF SALE SHOULD NOT BE INCLUDED IN THE 15 DAYS.  THE NEWSPAPER AD MUST BE PLACED 10 DAYS 

PRIOR TO THE SCHEDULED DATE OF SALE, BUT THE 10 DAYS SHOULD NOT INCLUDE THE DATE THE NOTICE WAS PLACED IN THE NEWSPAPER 

OR THE DATE OF THE SALE. 
 

DATED THIS _______________________DAY OF ______________________, 20 __________. 
 

 TOWING COMPANY OR TRANSPORT COMPANY _____________________________________________________ 
                                                                                                                                                                                        (SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED AGENT) 

 

TL-26                              NOTE:  This is a suggested form.  This is not a prescribed form; however, it does contain all the information required. 

 



EXHIBIT C 

TOWING AND STORAGE CHECK LIST FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 
 

FLORIDA RECORD   OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
 

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041   _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
 

   _______ HSMV 82042, or the VIN  

     verification section on form  

     HSMV 82040 
 

   _______ Verification as to title/lien status or affidavit 

   stating previous state “UNKNOWN” and a  

   good faith effort has been made. 
 

 

_______ Copy of the Notice of Claim of Lien along with one of the following indicating notification within seven 

 business days:   

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter was 

submitted to the post office for mailing. 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance company, 

when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be an electronic record 

from the postal service, which verifies proof of the certified mail along with the 

address and the date of mailing. 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable Mail).  

The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete address and the 

article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and date of receipt must be 

stamped on the form by the postal service, to verify that the listed information is 

accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic version 

will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a postmark date. 
 

_______ Copy of the Notice of Sale along with one of the bulleted items above indicating notified no less than 

 15 days prior to the date of sale:   
 

NOTE:  The Notice of Sale may be included in the Notice of Claim of Lien. 
 

______ Good faith effort (including NMVTIS check by data provider) by towing company.  If no record: 

 

______ Proof of notification (if applicable), to law enforcement stating that a “Good Faith Effort” has 

been made and the tow or transport company has been unable to locate the owner or lienholder 

along with the  following: 
 

  ______ A copy of the letter, signed by an official of the law enforcement agency, along  

    with one of the bulleted items above, 
 

     OR, 
 

   ______ A copy of the letter with an acknowledgment of hand delivery, signed by an  

     official of the law enforcement agency. 
 

    AND,  
 

 

 ______ A copy of the proof verifying a record check of the National Motor Vehicle Title 

Information System or an equivalent commercially available system was 

performed.  Refer to section V, AA, of this procedure for a list of approved 

NMVTIS data providers. 

 

NOTE:  This required NMVTIS check is not applicable to any vehicle which is not motor driven 

(such as mobile homes, etc.). 
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EXHIBIT C (page 2, cont.)  

 

TOWING AND STORAGE CHECK LIST FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 

 
 
 

_______ Copy of newspaper advertisement (must be published at least 10 calendar days prior to the date of sale.  

The 10 calendar days do not include the date of the advertisement or the date of the sale. 

 
 

_______ Copy of police report, impound storage receipt, or a copy of the trip sheet or tow ticket (for private tow), if 

previous state where motor vehicle or vessel was registered is “UNKNOWN. 

 
 

_______ Bill of sale, if the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel was sold. 

 
 

_______ Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV 82040 or form HSMV 82041.  

If the towing or transport company is applying for title, specify on form HSMV 82040 or form HSMV 

82041, “OBTAINED PER FLORIDA STATUTES, SECTION 713.78 or 713.785, FOR TOWING AND 

STORAGE CHARGES ONLY.” 

 
 

_______ License plate number for a motor vehicle or FL registration number purchased for a vessel or non-use 

affidavit.  (Not required for the towing or transport company, if they are applying for title in their name.) 

 
 

_______ Title fees. 
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EXHIBIT D 

TOWING AND STORAGE CHECK LIST FOR CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION 
 

FLORIDA RECORD   OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   
_______ HSMV 82012   _______ HSMV 82012 
 

    _______ HSMV 82042, or form HSMV 82012  

      (section 7) 
   
   _______ Verification of title/lien status or affidavit  

   stating previous state “UNKNOWN” and a  

   good faith effort has been made. 
 

_______ Copy of the Notice of Claim of Lien along with one of the following indicating notification within seven 

 business days:   

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter was 

submitted to the post office for mailing. 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance company, 

when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be an electronic record 

from the postal service, which verifies proof of the certified mail along with the 

address and the date of mailing. 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable Mail).  

The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete address and the 

article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and date of receipt must be 

stamped on the form by the postal service, to verify that the listed information is 

accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic version 

will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a postmark date. 
 

_______ Copy of the Notice of Sale along with one of the bulleted items above indicating notified no less than 

 15 days prior to the date of sale:   
 

NOTE:  The Notice of Sale may be included in the Notice of Claim of Lien. 
 

______ Good faith effort (including NMVTIS check by data provider) by towing company.  If no record: 

 

______ Proof of notification (if applicable), to law enforcement stating that a “Good Faith Effort” has 

been made and the tow or transport company has been unable to locate the owner or lienholder 

along with the  following: 
 

  ______ A copy of the letter, signed by an official of the law enforcement agency, along  

    with one of the bulleted items above, 
 

     OR, 
 

   ______ A copy of the letter with an acknowledgment of hand delivery, signed by an  

     official of the law enforcement agency. 
 

    AND,  
 

 

 ______ A copy of the proof verifying a record check of the National Motor Vehicle Title 

Information System or an equivalent commercially available system was 

performed.  Refer to section V, AA, of this procedure for a list of approved 

NMVTIS data providers. 
 

NOTE:  This required NMVTIS check is not applicable to any vehicle which is not motor driven 

(such as mobile homes, etc.). 
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EXHIBIT D (page 2, cont.)  

 

TOWING AND STORAGE CHECK LIST FOR CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION 

 

_______ Copy of newspaper advertisement (must be published at least 10 calendar days prior to the date of sale).  

The 10 calendar days do not include the date of the advertisement or the date of the sale. 

 
 

_______ Copy of police report, impound storage receipt, or a copy of the trip sheet or tow ticket (for private tow), if 

previous state where motor vehicle or vessel was registered is “UNKNOWN.”   

 

_______ Submit a copy of the proof of REPORTING the vehicle to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information 

System (NMVTIS).  Refer to section V, BB, of this procedure for a list of approved NMVTIS data 

consolidators. 

 

NOTE:  Reporting to NMVTIS does not apply to any vehicle which is not motor driven (such as 

mobile homes, etc.). 

 

_______ Certificate of Destruction fee. 
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EXHIBIT E 
 

TOWING & STORAGE TIMELINE 
 

     Day 0  Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Towed and/or  

       Stored.  
 

       Storage Charges can begin accumulating. 

        1st Calendar Day           
 

       Good faith effort.  If good faith effort is not successful: 
 

        7th Business Day  Notice of Claim of Lien sent within    

       7 business days AFTER the day of the    

       tow, excluding Saturday and    

       Sunday and the day of the tow. 
 

        IF THE NOTIFICATION IS NOT MAILED WITHIN  

        THE FIRST SEVEN BUSINESS DAYS AFTER THE  

        DATE OF TOW, STORAGE FEES CANNOT BE  

        CHARGED. 
        

       Proof of notification to law enforcement, immediately  

       following the seven business days, stating the “good  

       faith effort” has been made, would also satisfy 

       the notification requirements. 
 

Motor Vehicle,  15 Calendar Days  Notice of Sale (may be included in the  

Mobile Home BEFORE Sale  Notice of Claim of Lien) must be sent by 

or Vessel      certified mail no less than 15 days 

remains       before the sale, to all persons of record 

unclaimed       claiming a lien against the 

during this      motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel.* 

period of time.       

      10 Calendar Days  Newspaper Advertisement, 

      BEFORE Sale  including a complete description 

       of the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel  

       with correct information and show the date,   

       time and location of the sale.** 
 

           35 or 50 Calendar Days 
 

       36th or 51st Calendar Day Motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel may be sold 

       on this day at Public Sale.*** 
 

*    The notice must include the time and location of the sale, the location of the motor vehicle, mobile 

home or vessel, the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel description, the tow or transport company’s 

complete name, address and telephone number, and the signature/printed name of an authorized 

agent for the towing or transport company (may be included in the Notice of Claim of Lien). 
 

**  The 10 days must not include the date of the advertisement or the date of the sale. 
 

*** May be sold after 35 days if the motor vehicle or vessel is more than 3 years of age or after 50 days if 

the motor vehicle or vessel is 3 years of age or less.  A mobile home may be sold after 35 days. 
 

This time line assumes the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel is sold on the 36th or 51st day.  The motor 

vehicle, mobile home or vessel may be sold at a later date.  The Notice of Sale and the newspaper 

advertisement time frames must be adhered to. 
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EXHIBIT F 

 

STATES THAT DISCLOSE INSURANCE INFORMATION 

 

                                                                                   

STATE 

TELEPHONE # AND 

WEBSITE 

HOW TO REQUEST 

INSURANCE 

INFORMATION 

INSURANCE 

INFORMATION 

  General Public Law 

Enforce-

ment 

 

Arizona 602/255-0072 

800/284-7748 

www.dot.state.az.us 

 NCIC and 

Written 

Request 

Available for Law 

Enforcement only 

Colorado 303/205-5608 

www.mv.state.co.us/titl

ereg.html 

 

 NCIC and 

written 

request 

Available for Law 

Enforcement only 

Connecticut 860/263-5710 

http://dmvct.org 

 NCIC and 

fax request 

Available for Law 

Enforcement only 

Florida   

www.flhsmv.gov 

Third party 

provider  

NCIC, fax 

and written 

request 

Available for Law 

Enforcement or 

Towing Companies 

only 

Georgia 404/362-6500 

www2.state.ga.us 

 NCIC Available for Law 

Enforcement only 

Idaho 208/334-8735 

208/334-8736 

www.accessidaho.org 

 NCIC or 

written 

request 

Available for Law 

Enforcement only 

Kansas 785/296-3621 

www.ink.org/public/kd

or/dmv 

 NCIC and 

written 

request 

Available for Law 

Enforcement only 

 

 

 

NOTE:  This Exhibit identifies the states that disclose insurance information for motor 

vehicles currently titled in their state.  The list specifies who may obtain the 

information and how.  Therefore, if a motor vehicle is titled in one of the states 

shown on this list, verification of insurance information IS required.  If a motor 

vehicle is titled in a state NOT shown on this list, verification of insurance 

information IS NOT required. 
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EXHIBIT F (continued) 

STATES THAT DISCLOSE INSURANCE INFORMATION 

 

STATE TELEPHONE # AND 

WEBSITE 

HOW TO REQUEST 

INSURANCE 

INFORMATION  

INSURANCE 

INFORMATION 

  General Public Law 

Enforce-

ment 

 

Louisiana 877/368-5463 (toll 

free) 

www.dps.state.la.us 

 NCIC and 

written 

request 

Available for Law 

Enforcement only 

Maryland 410/787-2978 

www.mva.state.md.us 

 NCIC and 

written 

request 

Available to Law 

Enforcement only. 

Massachusetts 617/351-4500 

www.state.ma.us 

 NCIC and 

written 

request 

Available to Law 

Enforcement only. 

Minnesota 651/296-6911 

www.dps.state.mn.us 

 NCIC and 

written 

request 

Available to Law 

Enforcement only. 

New 

Mexico 

888/683-4636 

www.state.nm.us 

 NCIC and 

written 

request 

Available to Law 

Enforcement by 

written request 

North 

Carolina 

919/715-7000 

www.dmv.dot.state.nc.

us 

 NCIC and 

written 

request 

Available to Law 

Enforcement 

through NCIC or 

written request on 

their letterhead 

Pennsylvania 717/391-6190 

www.dmv.state.pa.us 

 NCIC, fax 

and written 

request. 

Available to Law 

Enforcement only. 
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EXHIBIT G 
 

GOOD FAITH NOTICE 
 

(This Notice must be sent by certified mail or must be hand delivered.) 

 

 DATE _______________________________ 

 

TO: LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 
 

AGENCY’S NAME _______________________________________________________________ 
 

ADDRESS  ______________________________________________________________________ 
 

CITY, STATE, ZIP _______________________________________________________________ 

 

FROM:  LIENOR (TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY) 
 

NAME OF LIENOR ______________________________________________________________ 
 

ADDRESS  ______________________________________________________________________ 
 

CITY, STATE, ZIP _______________________________________________________________ 
 

TELEPHONE # (if applicable)  _____________________________________________________ 
 

FAX# (if applicable)  ______________________________________________________________ 

 
DESCRIPTION OF MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL 

 
YEAR __________  MAKE _______________  VIN/HIN _______________________________ 

 

THE ABOVE NAMED LIENOR CLAIMS A LIEN PURSUANT TO SECTION 713.78, FLORIDA 

STATUTES, (FOR A MOTOR VEHICLE OR VESSEL) OR 713.785, FLORIDA STATUTES, (FOR A 

MOBILE HOME) ON THE ABOVE DESCRIBED MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL 

FOR TOWING AND STORAGE CHARGES. 
 

A "GOOD FAITH EFFORT" HAS BEEN MADE BY THE LIENOR TO INCLUDE:  A PHYSICAL 

SEARCH OF THE VEHICLE OR VESSEL, A CHECK OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY 

SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES DATABASE AND OF THE NATIONAL MOTOR VEHICLE 

TITLE INFORMATION SYSTEM (NMVTIS).  THE LIENOR HAS BEEN UNABLE TO LOCATE 

ANY OWNER, LIENHOLDER AND INSURANCE COMPANY INFORMATION FOR THE MOTOR 

VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME OR VESSEL. 
 

IF ANY INFORMATION IS LOCATED FOR THE OWNER, LIENHOLDER AND INSURANCE 

COMPANY BY THE LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY, PLEASE FORWARD THAT INFORMATION 

TO THE ABOVE LISTED LIENOR. 

 
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing (document) and that the facts stated in 

it are true and correct. 

 
  ____________________________________________ 

        (Signature of Lienor) 
 

NOTE:  This is a suggested form.  It is not a prescribed form; however it does contain all the information required. 
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EXHIBIT H 

 

 

CHECK LIST FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE (WHEN OWNER IS TRANSFERRING TITLE TO 

THE TOWING OR TRANSPORT COMPANY FOR TOWING & STORAGE CHARGES) 

 

 

FORMS 

   

FLORIDA TITLE   OUT-OF-STATE TITLE 

   

_______  Florida Title     _______  Out of State Title 

 

_______ HSMV 82040 or HSMV 82041  _______  HSMV 82042, or the VIN  

     verification section on form  

     HSMV 82040 

 

 

_______ Copy of the Notice of Claim of Lien along with one of the following:   

• A copy of the certified mail postal paid receipt showing when the letter was 

submitted to the post office for mailing. 

• Proof of the certified mailing to the owner, lienholder and insurance 

company, when applicable, from the postal service.  This proof may be an 

electronic record from the postal service, which verifies proof of the 

certified mail along with the address and the date of mailing. 

• A certified copy of the form 3877 (Firm Mailing Book For Accountable 

Mail).  The form must list the name of the addressee, their complete 

address and the article number for the certified mail.  The postmark and 

date of receipt must be stamped on the form by the postal service, to verify 

that the listed information is accurate. 
 

NOTE:  A copy of the electronic version of the form 3877 is also acceptable.  The electronic 

version will have an electronic signature of a postal service employee and show a 

postmark date. 

 

_______ Title Fees. 

 

 

NOTE:  Specify on form 82040 or 82041 the following:  “OBTAINED PER FLORIDA 

STATUTES, SECTION 713.78 OR 713.785, FOR TOWING AND STORAGE 

CHARGES ONLY.” 
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EXHIBIT I 

 

EXAMPLE OF PROOF OF INQUIRY  

THROUGH AN AUTHORIZED DATA PROVIDER 

 

 
TL-26 

Shows state of title. 
 

The term “unknown” 

refers to the odometer. 

 



EXHIBIT J 

 

EXAMPLE OF PROOF OF REPORTING TO NMVTIS  

THROUGH AN AUTHORIZED DATA CONSOLIDATOR 
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Shows the vehicle reported 



 

 

EXHIBIT K 

 

 

“GOOD FAITH EFFORT” CHECK LIST 

 

 

A "good faith effort" means the following checks have been performed by the towing company to 

establish prior state of registration and for title:  

 

 

• Check of the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles database for the owner and any 

lienholder.  

 

• Check of the electronic National Motor Vehicle Title Information System or an equivalent commercially 

available system to determine the state of registration when there is not a current registration record for 

the vehicle on file with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 

 

• Check of vehicle or vessel for any type of tag, tag record, temporary tag, or regular tag.  

 

• Check of law enforcement report for tag number or other information identifying the vehicle or vessel, if 

the vehicle or vessel was towed at the request of a law enforcement officer. 

 

• Check of trip sheet or tow ticket of tow truck operator to see if a tag was on vehicle or vessel at 

beginning of tow, if private tow. 

 

• If there is no address of the owner on the impound report, check of law enforcement report to see if an 

out-of- state address is indicated from driver license information.  

 

• Check of vehicle or vessel for inspection sticker or other stickers and decals that may indicate a state of 

possible registration.  

 

• Check of the interior of the vehicle or vessel for any papers that may be in the glove box, trunk, or other 

areas for a state of registration. 

 

• Check of vehicle for vehicle identification number. 

 

• Check of vessel for vessel registration number.  

 

• Check of vessel hull for a hull identification number which should be carved, burned, stamped, 

embossed, or otherwise permanently affixed to the outboard side of the transom or, if there is no transom, 

to the outmost seaboard side at the end of the hull that bears the rudder or other steering mechanism. 
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