
      Florida 

Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
 PROCEDURE 

 

TL-09 

SUBJECT: 

 

ODOMETER DISCLOSURE AND DECLARATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 

         THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 

COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENTS AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY 

SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES FOR OBTAINING PROPER ODOMETER DISCLOSURES FOR 

ALL CERTIFICATE OF TITLE APPLICATIONS IN ACCORDANCE WITH FEDERAL AND STATE 

REGULATIONS. 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 319.21(3), Florida Statutes, provides that motor vehicle dealers may, in lieu of taking 

title in their name, reassign existing certificates of title except as provided in section 319.225, 

Florida Statutes. 
 

Section 319.225(1), Florida Statutes, provides that certificates of title shall contain warning 

statements about federal and state law regarding odometer disclosures. 
 

Section 319.225(2), Florida Statutes, provides that certificates of title shall contain forms for 

the transfer of certificates of title and forms for odometer disclosure statements that conform to 

federal rule. 
 

Section 319.225(3), Florida Statutes, states: "Each certificate of title issued by the department 

must contain on its reverse side as many forms as space allows for reassignment of title by a 

licensed dealer as permitted by s. 319.21(3), which form or forms shall contain an odometer 

disclosure statement in the form required by 49 C.F.R. s. 580.5.  When all dealer reassignment 

forms provided on the back of the title certificate have been filled in, a dealer may reassign the 

title certificate by using a separate dealer reassignment form issued by the department in 

compliance with 49 C.F.R. ss. 580.4 and 580.5, which form shall contain an original that shall be 

submitted to the department by the dealer and a copy that shall be retained by the dealer in his or 

her records for 5 years.  The provisions of this subsection shall also apply to vehicles not 

previously titled in this state and vehicles whose title certificates do not contain the forms 

required by this section." 
 

Section 319.225(4), Florida Statutes, provides that upon transfer or reassignment of a 

certificate of title, the transferor shall complete the odometer disclosure statement and the 

transferee shall acknowledge the disclosure by signing and printing their names in the spaces 

provided.  The subsection provides an exemption for motor vehicles which are 10 years old or 

older, motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds and motor 

vehicles which are not self-propelled. 

 
 

Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Statutory Review, added links to Statutes. Added Historical Revisions section, 

Questions 18-20 to Exhibit E, links to forms.  
 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

 

Immediately 
 

REVISION DATE 

 

08/14/18 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.21&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.21.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.225&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.225.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.225&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.225.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.225&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.225.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.225&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.225.html
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Section 319.225(5), Florida Statutes, prohibits a person from signing a disclosure statement as 

both transferor and transferee, unless done in compliance with 319.225(6), Florida Statutes. 
 

  However, in the case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, there is no one else available 

to sign.  Therefore, the disclosure would have to be made by the same person. 
 

Sections 319.225(6)(a) and (b), Florida Statutes, provide that if the certificate of title is 

physically held by a lienholder or has been lost or destroyed, a transferor may give a power of 

attorney to his or her transferee for purposes of odometer disclosure and provide for the content 

and use of such powers of attorney.  The department shall not require the signature of the 

transferor to be notarized on the form; however, in lieu of notarization, the form shall include an 

affidavit with the following wording: Under penalty of perjury, I declare that I have read the 

forgoing document and that the facts stated in it are true. 
 

Section 319.225(7), Florida Statutes, provides that if a title is held electronically and the 

transferee agrees to maintain the title electronically, the transferor and transferee shall complete a 

secure reassignment document that discloses the odometer reading and is signed by both the 

transferor and transferee at the tax collector office or license plate agency.  It further states the 

department must provide space on the certificate of title for separate dealer disclosure statements 

and for motor vehicle auctions to make notations. 
 

Section 319.225(8), Florida Statutes, requires that auctions make certain notations on 

certificates of title and on separate dealer odometer disclosure statements. 
 

Section 319.23(3), Florida Statutes, requires that an application for a certificate of title to a 

motor vehicle previously titled in another state be accompanied by a sworn affidavit by the 

owner that the odometer reading on the motor vehicle is identical to that in the affidavit. 
 

II. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

A. Federal regulations regarding odometer disclosure require that disclosures be made on all 

transfers of ownership on documents by a secure printing process or by other secure 

means.  Federal rule specifies that transferors (sellers) are to make odometer disclosures 

by signing and printing their name and transferees (buyers) are to acknowledge 

disclosures by signing and printing their name.  The rule specifies that odometer 

disclosure statements are to contain the following information: 
 

1. The current odometer reading. 
 

2. The date the odometer was read. 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.225&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.225.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.225&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.225.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.225&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.225.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.225&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.225.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.23&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.23.html
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3. The transferor's certification that the mileage is: 
 

(a) Actual  
 

or, 
 

(b) In excess of the mechanical limits of the odometer 
 

or, 
 

(c) Not actual and should not be relied on. 
 

Please ensure that ONE of the above three odometer statements (II, A, 3, a-c) is 

properly recorded.  Any alteration to these statements and/or the use of "true mileage 

unknown (TMU)" or "exceeds true mileage (ETM)" are in violation of state and federal 

laws and must be rejected. 
 

An odometer reading of 100,000 miles or more may not necessarily be incorrect if the 

vehicle has a six-digit odometer.  A six-digit odometer does not require the box "In 

Excess of Its Mechanical Limits" to be checked. 
 

4. The transferor's name and current address. 
 

5. The transferee's name and current address. 
 

6.  The signature and printed name of the transferor and the transferee. 
 

Do NOT reject the documentation if the "printed name" is not hand written (Example: 

typed, stamped, etc.).  However, the documentation must be rejected if the "printed 

name" is left blank. 
 

7. The motor vehicle description to include make, model, year, body type and 

vehicle identification number. 
 

The box, "Odometer Reading is Not Actual Mileage, Warning Odometer Discrepancy" 

should be checked if the mileage is incorrect or if there is definite knowledge that the 

odometer reading is not the actual mileage.  The actual mileage appearing on an 

odometer only exceeds its mechanical limits if the odometer is in working order and has 

rolled over maximum reading capability. 
 

ODOMETER READING CAPABILITY 
 

TYPE  MAXIMUM READING 

Five Digits    99,999.9 

Six Digits  999,999.9 
 

Do not write in the tenths block. 
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A business that sells salvage vehicles is NOT able to obtain an odometer reading for an 

inoperable vehicle, the person making the odometer declaration on the required 

documentation should enter "9s" in all the odometer spaces along with "Not Actual 

Miles."  This would indicate there was a problem obtaining the reading.  An affidavit 

must be submitted with the required documentation stating why the odometer reading 

could not be obtained (due to no keys, no battery, burned vehicle, etc.). 
 

B. Transactions Requiring Odometer Disclosure or Declaration and Exemption: 
 

1. State law regarding odometer disclosure provides that the reading shall be 

recorded at the time of any title activity.  Federal odometer disclosure statements 

or odometer declarations are required on the following transactions: 
 

a. New car original. 
 

b. Used car original. 
 

c. Transfer. 
 

d. Duplicate. 
 

e. Original salvage certificate of title. 
 

f. Duplicate with transfer. 
 

g. Title reinstatement. 
 

NON-EXEMPT VEHICLES - If no reading is shown in the odometer 

disclosure/declaration area on the title and/or the application for title, the 

paperwork must be rejected.  Refer to TL-09, II, J, 1, for the additional 

documentation required. 

 

2. The following motor vehicles are EXEMPT from all odometer disclosure 

statements or odometer declarations: 
 

a. Any motor vehicle that is 10 calendar years old or older as of January 1 of 

the current year. 
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EXEMPT VEHICLES - A vehicle should not be automatically exempted if an 

odometer reading is available.  If current mileage, date read and odometer status 

(actual, exceeds or not actual) are shown in the odometer disclosure/declaration area on 

the title ("Transfer of Title by Seller" section) and/or the application for title, this 

information should be entered when processing the application, unless the previous 

motor vehicle record was shown as exempt.  If there is an odometer error on the title 

and accompanying paperwork, and the customer requests that the vehicle be marked as 

exempt, rather than obtaining corrected odometer disclosures/affidavits, this request 

should be noted in the "Comment Desc." field and the transaction processed as exempt.  

If the customer chooses to place the wording "exempt" for the odometer reading in lieu 

of the mileage, date read and odometer status, or leaves the odometer reading blank, do 

not reject their paperwork, since the odometer reading is not required on an exempt 

vehicle.   
 

b. Any motor vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more 

than 16,000 pounds. GVWR means the value specified by the 

MANUFACTURER as the loaded (maximum permissible) weight of a 

single vehicle. 
 

c. Any motor vehicle that is not self-propelled. 
 

d. Any new motor vehicle, covered by an MCO, transferred between dealers 

(dealer swaps). 
 

Some exceptions to the above exemption that would require an odometer declaration, 

not a disclosure, are: 
 

• When an MCO is assigned to a dealership and the dealership chooses to 

take title in its name.  
 

• When a dealership transfers a new motor vehicle to another dealership and 

that dealership chooses to take title in its name. 
 

e. Low speed electric vehicles. 
 

f. Off-Highway vehicles.   
 

  When a motor vehicle is exempt and the exemption is reflected on the motor vehicle 

database, the reading will not subsequently reflect actual mileage.  If a power of 

attorney is needed for a motor vehicle that is exempt from odometer disclosure, use 

form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney.  The form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle 

Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, should not be used. 
 

C. Conforming and Nonconforming Certificates of Title: 
 

1. All certificates of title with a title revision date of 1/90 issued by the state of 

Florida conform to federal law and rules.  The Division of Motorist Services 

began using these titles on April 29, 1990.  They conform by having the full 

odometer disclosure statement elements outlined in Section II, A, of this 

procedure and are referred to as "conforming" certificates of title. 
 

2. All certificates of title issued by the state of Florida with a revision date prior to 

1/90 are "nonconforming" certificates of title. 
 

1 
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D. Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment (HSMV 82993):  Form 

HSMV 82993, in conjunction with Code of Federal Regulations, 49 C.F.R, ss. 580.04 and 

580.13, was designed to be used when a person buys, sells, trades or gives a motor 

vehicle, not exempt from the odometer law, to an individual or company.  Two original 

forms HSMV 82993, must be completed and exchanged between the transferor (seller) 

and transferee (purchaser). 
 

This form may also be used by a dealership in the same capacity as any separate 

odometer disclosure statement as required by federal law.  The dealership would be 

required by federal law to retain a copy of this executed document in their files for five 

years. 
 

E. Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement (HSMV 82994): 
 

1. Form HSMV 82994, is a secure form which is filed as follows: 
 

a. The ORIGINAL form is required to be attached to the certificate of title or 

the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) being surrendered with 

the application for title. 

b. The COPY of the form is for the dealer's record and must be retained by 

the dealer for a period of five years. 
 

If the dealer sells the vehicle to an out-of-state resident or an out-of-state dealer (and 

the form is applicable to the transaction), they must photocopy the completed original 

of the form and mail directly to Division of Motorist Services (DMS) within 5 business 

days after the title and form are delivered by the dealer to its purchaser. 
 

It is used to reassign a certificate of title and make odometer disclosures between 

licensed dealers or between dealers and their retail buyers. 
 

2. Form 82994, can only be used by a licensed motor vehicle dealer to reassign a 

certificate of title or other form of proof of ownership issued by another state or 

foreign country, to another dealer or retail purchaser. 
 

3. Form HSMV 82994, must be used by dealers: 
 

a. With conforming Florida Certificates of Title to make additional dealer 

reassignments and odometer disclosures when all reassignment and 

odometer disclosure spaces on the reverse side of the certificate of title 

have been used. 

b. With nonconforming Florida Certificates of Title to make reassignments 

and odometer disclosures. 
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c. With a conforming MCO, when the MCO is not available at the time of 

sale. 

d. With all out-of-state nonconforming certificates of title to make dealer 

reassignments and odometer disclosures. 
 

When a motor vehicle is traded or assigned to a dealer and a conforming certificate of 

title is provided as proof of ownership, all dealer reassignments on the conforming 

Florida Certificate of Title must be completed before a form HSMV 82994 can be used.  

Florida law and federal regulations do not permit a dealer to jump off the original 

certificate of title, even in situations when the certificate of title is with a floor planner.  

If a dealer jumps from the conforming certificate of title to the form HSMV 82994 and 

all reassignments on the actual certificate of title have not been completed, the 

application for certificate of title must be rejected. 
 

Dealers involved in the transaction chain must complete the Florida Certificate of Title 

reassignments with all required information, including addresses.  However, auctions 

are only required to show their name and license number, located on its reverse side.  

When all reassignments are completed, the subsequent dealers may then complete the 

form HSMV 82994 up through an assignment to a retail customer. 
 

If a Florida dealer jumps from the conforming certificate of title to the form HSMV 

82994 and a subsequent dealer jumps back to the conforming certificate of title, in the 

same chain, the Florida dealer that jumped off the conforming certificate of title must 

first apply for a certificate of title in their name.   
 

EXCEPTION:  The department does not have the authority to regulate out-of-state dealers 

involving non-compliance of this requirement.  Therefore, in situations where 

this occurs involving an out-of-state dealer, do not reject the customer's 

paperwork. 
 

Once the title is issued in the Florida dealership’s name, that dealership must reassign 

the title to the next Florida dealer in sequence and continue with the dealer 

reassignments on the title to each subsequent Florida dealer.  After all dealer 

reassignments have been used on the certificate of title, form HSMV 82994 or form 

HSMV 82091, Reassignment Supplement To A Certificate Of Title, must be used to 

continue the chain of any additional reassignments.  Form HSMV 82091 may only be 

used on non-conforming certificates of title.   
 

Florida dealer to Florida dealer reassignments must be completed on conforming out-

of-state certificates of title, even if that state’s title reassignment specifies 

"Reassignment By (example: Oklahoma) Dealer," in lieu of using form HSMV 

82994This requirement is pursuant to section 319.225(3), Florida Statutes.  However, if 

the reassignment by a licensed dealer is on a non-conforming certificate of title, the 

form HSMV 82994 must be completed and submitted with the application for a 

certificate of title. 
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If certain alterations/discrepancies (see list below) are made on the form HSMV 

82994, a letterhead affidavit from the dealership/business explaining the error(s) 

would be acceptable. 
 

• Incorrect make, model or body description. 
 

• Incorrect address for the seller, purchaser or dealership/business. 
 

F. Form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure: 
 

1. Form HSMV 82995, is a secure form which is filed as follows: 
 

a. The ORIGINAL form must be attached to the certificate of title when it is 

obtained and is to remain with the title until the application for title is 

made for the purchaser.  The full name of the appointed Power of Attorney 

is required on form HSMV 82995. 
 

b. The COPY of the form is for the dealer's record and must be retained by 

the dealer for a period of five years. 

If the dealer sells the vehicle to an out-of-state resident or an out-of-state dealer (and 

the form is applicable to the transaction), the dealer must photocopy the completed 

original of the form and mail directly to DMS within 5 business days after the 

certificate of title and dealer reassignment form are delivered by the dealer to its 

purchaser. 
 

2. Federal and state law prohibits an individual who has been appointed as an 

attorney-in-fact from acting as both transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer) for 

purposes of completing odometer disclosure statements in conjunction with the 

transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle, unless a secure power of attorney form 

is used. 
 

EXCEPTION:  In the case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, the disclosure would be 

made by the same person.  Therefore, the secure power of attorney would not be 

needed. 
 

3. This secure power of attorney form is only to be used when an individual 

appointed as the attorney-in-fact is acting as both transferor and transferee for 

purposes of completing the odometer disclosure statement in conjunction with the 

transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle.  This form may be used when: 
 

a. The certificate of title is physically being held by the lienholder, and is not 

available for endorsement by the transferor (seller) to transfer ownership 

of the motor vehicle and complete the odometer disclosure. 
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When a title transaction is processed electronically (ELT), a physical title does not print 

until the lienholder requests a paper title, therefore, if a certificate of title is submitted 

for transfer using a secure power of attorney and the previous title transaction was 

electronic (ELT), the secure power of attorney would be acceptable. 
 

b. The certificate of title is lost, and is therefore not available for 

endorsement by the transferor (seller) for transferring ownership of the 

motor vehicle and odometer disclosure. 
 

  There are instances when a company is shown as owner and lienholder on the front of 

the title.  An authorized agent of the company will sign on the face of the certificate of 

title and then send the title to another department for the lien to be satisfied.  This may 

take a few days to a few weeks.  This may look like the title was not available at the 

time of sale; however, it was available and is being endorsed by an authorized agent of 

the company (the owner).  This situation would not require a secure power of attorney. 
 

Form HSMV 82995, does not authorize the attorney-in-fact to assign or designate an 

alternate agent to act as the attorney-in-fact.  The full name of the appointee is required 

on form.  
 

If certain alterations/discrepancies (see list below) are made on the form HSMV 82995, 

a letterhead affidavit from the dealership/business explaining the error(s) would be 

acceptable. 
 

• Incorrect make, model or body description. 
 

• Incorrect address for the seller, purchaser or dealership/business. 
 

• Incorrect date in section C. 
 

G. Persons authorized to use form 82995, , when certificate of title is lost or being held by 

the lienholder: 
 

  Only the ORIGINAL form HSMV 82995, , will be accepted. 
 

1. Transferors (sellers) must complete "Part A" of the form HSMV 82995 when 

transferring their ownership interest in a motor vehicle to a transferee 

(dealership/business) and the certificate of title is not available for odometer 

disclosure.  The transferee (dealership/business) will use this secure power of 

attorney to make the required odometer disclosure on behalf of the transferor, 

when the title is received. 
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2. Transferee (dealership/business) who is obtaining ownership of the motor vehicle 

described on this form from the transferor (seller).  The transferee 

(dealership/business) will use this secure power of attorney to make the required 

odometer disclosure on behalf of the transferor (seller), once the title is received.  

The transferor AND transferee must complete "Part A" of the form.  When the 

odometer information is transferred to the certificate of title, "Part C" must be 

completed by the dealership/business.  The person for the dealership/business 

transferring the odometer information to the certificate of title must be the same 

person signing in Part C. 
 

The transferor (seller) should appoint "dealership/business" as their attorney-in-

fact in Part A and not an individuals' name with the dealership/business.  This 

would allow any agent with the dealership to sign in Part A and Part C of the 

form.  The agent signing in Part A and Part C would not have to be the same 

person. 
 

3. A new purchaser(s) who is obtaining ownership of the motor vehicle from the 

dealership/business, prior to the title being received by the dealership/business.  

The dealership/business will use this secure power of attorney to make the 

required odometer disclosure on behalf of the new purchaser, once the title is 

received.  The new purchaser and the dealership/business must complete part B of 

the form.  When the odometer information is transferred to the certificate of title, 

"Part C" must be completed by the dealership.  The date in "Part C" should not be 

prior to the title issue date or prior to the date of the lien satisfaction on the title, 

otherwise, a letterhead affidavit of explanation would be required from the 

dealership. 
 

Parts B and C of this form MAY NOT be used without using Part A.  Conditions 

for use of Part A, as previously stated, must be met before Parts B and C may be 

used.  Any HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer 

Disclosure, submitted without Part A completed, voids the document. 

 

H. Non-Secure Power of Attorney (Limited): 
 

1. Form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney: 
 

a. This form may be used by an individual appointed as attorney-in-fact 

when completing an odometer disclosure statement as transferor (seller) 

only or transferee (purchaser) only.  It is also recommended to use this 

form for any motor vehicle that is exempt from state and federal odometer 

disclosure requirements. 
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b. The seller (transferor) or buyer (transferee) cannot lawfully use form 

HSMV 82053, to appoint a licensed Florida motor vehicle dealer, an 

insurance company, an employee of a licensed Florida motor vehicle 

dealer or insurance company as attorney-in-fact to execute a conforming 

certificate of title.   
 

The individual appointed must be an independent third party who is not 

associated with the dealership or insurance company in any capacity.  The 

transferor (seller) cannot lawfully appoint an insurance company, a dealer, 

or any employee of such dealer, as attorney-in-fact using a non-secure 

power of attorney to sign a copy of an odometer disclosure statement for 

completing odometer disclosure for both the transferor (seller) and 

transferee (buyer).  A licensed motor vehicle dealer or an insurance 

company, including all employees, is considered one legal entity.  

Appointments defined above are permitted with the use of the secure 

power of attorney, form HSMV 82995,.  (see Section G, 1.) 
 

Original or a certified copy of form HSMV 82053must accompany title documents 

submitted with application for Florida Certificate of Title showing the full name of the 

appointee. 
 

Disclosure - when signing for either transferor or 

transferee, not both 

HSMV 82053 

Declaration - can be used anytime 
 

Disclosure - when signing for either transferor or 

transferor and transferee.  Must be used when title is 

being held by the lienholder or, if the title is lost or 

destroyed. 

HSMV 82995 

Declaration - not to be used. 
 

NOTE:  If the transaction is between individuals, the seller cannot appoint the buyer, 

nor the buyer appoint the seller power of attorney to sign an odometer disclosure. 
 

I. Form HSMV 82996, Motor Vehicle Dealer/Auto Auction or Customer Odometer 

Affidavit: 
 

This form may be used by a customer (may be an individual or company), auction, or 

dealer (as supporting documentation) to verify that a specific motor vehicle has either a 

five (5) or six (6) digit odometer. 
 

 

 

 
 

PAGE # 

TL-09-11 
 

 

https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82996.pdf


STATE OF FLORIDA 

Division of Motorist Services 
PROCEDURE # 

 

TL-09 

SUBJECT: 

 

ODOMETER DISCLOSURE AND DECLARATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

 

Example: A title reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as 124,000 

Actual Miles.  However, because the vehicle has only a five (5) digit odometer, the 

reading is not correct.  Therefore, the reading should be 24,000 Exceeds Mechanical 

limits.  The form HSMV 82996, would help to correct this issue. 
 

J. Odometer Disclosure and Declaration Review Process: 
 

Certificate of title applications and other related documents containing odometer 

disclosure or declaration forms or spaces which are filed with the department, tax 

collector or license plate agent shall be reviewed and examined for omissions, alterations 

and discrepancies. 
 

For purposes of reviewing and examining odometer disclosures and declarations on 

certificate of title application documentation, the following definitions and procedures 

should be used: 
 

1. Omission: 
 

An omission is defined as omitting all or part of a required odometer reading on 

any odometer disclosure document where such information is required on the 

form, e.g., the date of reading, status certification, the signature, the printed name 

and address. 
 

When there is an omission of odometer data on a conforming Florida or out-of-

state certificate of title, the application must be rejected for correction of the 

omission. 
 

The applicant must correct the omission by submitting an original (or a copy) of 

an accurately completed form HSMV 82993,  

or,  
 

If a dealer is involved, an accurately completed form HSMV 82994, (if 

applicable), a copy of an accurately completed odometer disclosure statement or a 

copy of an accurately completed form HSMV 82993. 
 

2. Alterations: 
 

An alteration is defined as a strike over, erasure, ink-over, white-out or any other 

method of change made to an odometer disclosure statement required to be filed 

as part of a certificate of title application.  See Discrepancies for corrective action 

to allow the application to be processed. 
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3. Discrepancies: 
 

a. A discrepancy is defined as: 
 

1) An odometer reading which appears on a certificate of title or other 

documents submitted with application for a certificate of title 

which is lower than the previously recorded mileage (either on the 

face of the certificate of title or the motor vehicle data base);  
 

or, 
 

 

2) An odometer date which appears on a certificate of title or other 

documents submitted with the application for a certificate of title 

which proceeds (is before) a previously recorded date (either on 

the face of the certificate of title or the motor vehicle database). 
 

  The following may also be considered as discrepancies: 
 

• A title reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as 124,000 

Actual Miles.  However, because the vehicle has only a five (5) digit odometer, the 

reading is not correct.  Therefore, the reading should be 24,000 Exceeds Mechanical 

limits. 
 

• A title reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as 124,000 

Exceeds Mechanical Limits.  However, because the vehicle has a six (6) digit 

odometer, the reading is not correct.  Therefore, the reading should be 124,000 

Actual Miles. 
 
 

• The reading changes from a 5 digit to a six digit (or vice versa) in the paperwork. 
 

A completed form HSMV 82996, would help to correct these issues, as it verifies that a 

specific motor vehicle has either a five (5) or six (6) digit odometer. 
 

b. Whenever there is an alteration or discrepancy in the odometer disclosure 

on any documentation submitted with the application for a certificate of 

title, the application must be accompanied by the following, to correct the 

alteration or discrepancy: 
 

1) An original (or a copy) of an accurately completed form HSMV 

82993,  

or 

If a dealer is involved, an accurately completed form HSMV 

82994 (if applicable), a copy of an accurately completed odometer 

disclosure statement or a copy of an accurately completed form 

HSMV 82993. 
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2) A notarized or perjury clause affidavit signed by the transferor 

(individual/non-dealer or dealer) explaining the reason for the 

alteration or discrepancy.  If the affidavit is from a dealer, it should 

be on the dealership's letterhead stationery. 
 

c. Applications submitted with alterations or discrepancies are subject to 

review by the Odometer Fraud Unit of the Department. 
 

  Any odometer brand from an out-of-state certificate of title shall be carried forward 

onto the Florida Certificate of Title.  If an out-of-state certificate of title is submitted 

branded "Uncertified," the Florida Certificate of Title will be issued showing the 

odometer reading and status indicated on the form HSMV 82040, Application for 

Certificate of Title with/without Vehicle Registration.  If the reading on form HSMV 

82040 is lower than that on the out-of-state certificate of title, it is considered a 

discrepancy and is subject to review by the Odometer Fraud Unit of the Department. 
 

K. Correction of An Odometer Reading Stated on Florida Certificate of Title: 
 

1. When the certificate of title was issued correctly according to the documents 

submitted to the department, submit the following to the local tax collector's 

office. 
 

a. An original (or a copy) of an accurately completed form HSMV 82993, 

Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment, for casual 

sales.  If a dealer is involved, an accurately completed form HSMV 82994, 

Motor Vehicle Title Reassignment Supplement, a copy of an accurately 

completed odometer disclosure statement or a copy of an accurately 

completed form HSMV 82993, Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement 

and Acknowledgment.  
 

b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit from the transferor stating the 

correct odometer reading at time of sale, the date of the reading and an 

explanation of the error.  If the affidavit is from a dealer, it should be on 

the dealership's letterhead stationery. 
 

c. The actual Florida Certificate of Title that needs correction. 
 

d. Microfilm or photocopy of the previously submitted form HSMV 82042, 

Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification, or other 

documents showing the odometer reading at the time of the transaction. 
 

e. Title fees, if applicable.   
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Dealers can reassign the certificate of title to other dealers with the affidavits attached.  

When the motor vehicle is actually sold, all paperwork should be submitted to the 

license plate agency for processing. 
 

CORRECTIONS (Omissions, Alterations, and Discrepancies) 
 

       HSMV 82994, copy of an accurately completed odometer 

 Dealer to Dealer    disclosure statement or a copy of an accurately completed 

 Or     form HSMV 82993 

 Dealer to Retail Buyer  

      AND 
 

 Letterhead affidavit signed by the dealer, explaining the error 

(required for alteration or discrepancy). 
 

      An original or a copy of an accurately completed form HSMV 

       82993 

 Individual to 

 Individual/Non-Dealer   AND 
 

      Affidavit signed by transferor explaining the error (required for 

alteration or discrepancy). 
 

2. When the certificate of title was issued showing an incorrect odometer reading 

because of a Division of Motorist Services (including tax collector offices) error, 

submit the following to the local tax collector's office: 
 

a. The actual Florida Certificate of Title that needs correction. 
 

b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit from the registered owner stating 

the odometer reading needs to be corrected. 
 

The license plate agency must obtain microfilm or imaged documents to verify the 

error.  Title fees are not required for correction of errors, if the error was made by an 

agent of the department.  However, fees must be charged if the error was not made by 

any agent of the department. 
 

L. Kilometer Odometers: 
 

1. Replacing a Kilometer Odometer with A Mileage Odometer: 
 

There are instances when a motor vehicle's odometer is measured in kilometers.  

This usually occurs in motor vehicles that are titled or registered in another 

country.  If an owner of a motor vehicle wishes to replace the odometer that reads 

in kilometers with an odometer that reads in mileage, the following documents 

must be submitted: 
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a. The certificate of title. 

b. A letterhead affidavit from an authorized agent of the garage or repair 

shop licensed to replace kilometer odometer with mileage odometer.   

The affidavit must state that the kilometer odometer was replaced with a 

mileage odometer and that the mileage reflects the accurate conversion of 

kilometers to mileage.  

c. Title fees.   
 

2. Converting a Kilometer Odometer to a Mileage Odometer: 

Some motor vehicles are equipped with a switch that allows the owner to read the 

odometer in kilometers or mileage.  If the owner of a motor vehicle wishes to 

convert the odometer reading from kilometers to mileage, the following 

documents must be submitted: 
 

a. The certificate of title. 

b. An affidavit from the person who converted the kilometer odometer to a 

mileage odometer.  The affidavit must state that the kilometer odometer 

was converted to a mileage odometer and that the mileage odometer 

reflects the accurate conversion of kilometers to mileage. 

c. Title fees. 
 

A certificate of title may be issued showing either a mileage or kilometer reading; 

however, once the unit of measurement for the odometer reading is chosen it must 

remain as such.  The reading should not be converted back and forth from kilometers to 

mileage or mileage to kilometers.   
 

  The measurement used to convert kilometers to mileage is:  Kilometers X .6214.  The 

measurement used to convert mileage to kilometers is:  Mileage X 1.609 
 

III. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 
 

A. Computer generated, laser printed or facsimile (stamped) signatures of the owner or co-

owner are acceptable on applications for title, affidavits, etc., however, they are not 

acceptable when an odometer disclosure is required.  The Code of Federal Regulations, 

49 CFR s. 580.5(c), requires that a transferor of a motor vehicle provide an odometer 

disclosure statement which must be "signed by the transferor, including the printed 

name."  Similarly, 49 CFR s. 580.5(f), requires that the transferee must "sign the 

disclosure statement and print their name."  In accordance with these provisions, buyers 

and sellers must actually sign and print their names when completing odometer disclosure 

statements. 
 

EXCEPTION:  Any Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (new vehicle) submitted with 

electronic signatures in the odometer disclosure area, is acceptable. 
 

  Do NOT reject the documentation if the "printed name" is not hand written (Example: 

typed, stamped, etc.).  However, the documentation must be rejected if the "printed 

name" is left blank. 
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B. 1. A current odometer reading is required on a duplicate or lost in transit application 

when applied for by the owner: 
 

• If the vehicle is less than 10 calendar years old and the mileage, date read and 

odometer status are missing, the application must be rejected. 
 

• If the vehicle is 10 calendar years or older, it is exempt from all odometer 

requirements.  However, the vehicle should not be automatically exempted if 

an odometer reading is available.  If current mileage, date read and odometer 

status (actual, exceeds or not actual) are shown in the odometer disclosure 

area on the duplicate application, this information should be entered when 

processing the application, unless the previous motor vehicle record was 

shown as exempt.  If the customer chooses to place the wording "exempt" 

(exempt vehicle only) for the odometer reading in lieu of the mileage, date 

read and odometer status, do not reject their paperwork.   
 

2. If a lienholder or lessor is applying for the duplicate or lost in transit, it is 

understood that the odometer reading may not be available.  Therefore, if the 

mileage, date read and odometer status are not shown on the application, the 

odometer reading and date shown on the DMS database should be brought 

forward.  If the DMS database does not show a date read, the last title issue date 

shall be used. 
 

C. When an application for a "Lien Add" transaction is submitted to a county tax collector's 

office for a motor vehicle without an odometer reading, the odometer reading and date 

read on face of the Florida Certificate of Title must be brought forward. 
 

D. Form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, can be 

used by individuals and is not limited to dealers or insurance companies.  This form 

should never be signed by the transferee (buyer) without the form being completed in 

full. 
 

E. If a motor vehicle odometer is broken, the seller must disclose this information to the 

purchaser and the certificate of title must be issued reflecting the odometer status as 

"NOT ACTUAL." 
 

F. If a motor vehicle odometer is replaced, the certificate of title must reflect the odometer 

status as "NOT ACTUAL." 
 

G. When a Florida Certificate of Title has been issued showing the odometer status as 

"EXEMPT," it can be corrected to show the “actual mileage” reading if a reading was 

placed on the certificate of title at the time of each sale and the chain of odometer 

readings was not broken. 
 

H. Low speed electric vehicles are exempt from the odometer disclosure laws.  However, 

full size electric vehicles require an odometer disclosure. 
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I. Form HSMV 82091, Reassignment Supplement to a Certificate of Title, can only be used 

for motor vehicles that are exempt from the federal and state odometer disclosure laws. 

 
 

J. If a vehicle is 10 calendar years or older, it is exempt from all odometer requirements.  

However, a vehicle should not be automatically exempted if an odometer reading is 

available.  If current mileage, date read, and odometer status (actual, exceeds or not 

actual) are shown in the odometer disclosure/declaration area on the title ("Transfer of 

Title by Seller" section) and/or the application for title, this information should be entered 

when processing the application, unless the previous motor vehicle record was shown as 

exempt.  If there is an odometer error on the title and accompanying paperwork and the 

customer requests that the vehicle be marked as exempt, rather than obtaining corrected 

odometer disclosures/affidavits, this request should be noted in the "Comment Desc." 

field and the transaction processed as exempt.  If the customer chooses to place the 

wording "exempt" for the odometer reading in lieu of the mileage, date read, and 

odometer status, or leaves the odometer reading blank, do not reject their paperwork 

since the odometer reading is not required on an exempt vehicle. 
 

  
 

 

K. Motorcycles with No Odometer (Rebuilt/reconstructed): 
 

 1. If a non-exempt (less than 10 years old) motorcycle does not have an odometer, 

show 999,999 "Not Actual Mileage" for the odometer reading. 
 

2. If an exempt (10 years or older) motorcycle does not have an odometer, show 

"exempt" for the odometer reading. 

 
 

L. When an application is received and the current record indicates 999,999 Not Actual, and 

the record needs to be corrected to indicate actual mileage, the following must be 

submitted: 
 

1. An affidavit from seller stating why the odometer reading showed 999,999 not 

actual. 
 

2. An affidavit from the purchaser stating what action was taken to show current 

odometer reading. 
 

3. Form HSMV 82993 or 82994 to show current reading. 
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M. Any entity selling mopeds OR selling motorcycles with a motor displacement of 50 CC's 

or less is NOT required to obtain a dealer's license.  Therefore, since the entity is not a 

licensed dealer, it would be exempt from the requirements of having the customer 

complete an odometer disclosure statement at the time of sale.  However, the odometer 

disclosure on the MCO must be completed.  It is also suggested that a form HSMV 82993 

be completed by both the seller and the buyer. 

 

N. If an out-of-state title has been issued showing an incorrect odometer reading on the face 

of the title, the error must be corrected in that state prior to being submitted to Florida. 

   

O. If an out-of-state title (for an exempt vehicle) has been issued showing no odometer 

reading on the face of the title, the Florida title must be issued as exempt.  However, the 

customer has the option to return the title back to the previous state for correction. 

   

P. If an out-of-state title (for a non-exempt vehicle) has been issued showing no odometer 

reading or status on the face of the title, the error must be corrected in that state prior to 

being submitted to Florida. 

 

Q. If a customer has moved to Florida from out of state and applies for a Florida title, using 

the out of state title (non-exempt vehicle) previously issued in their name, they must 

provide a current odometer reading on the form HSMV 82040 or HSMV 82042, in lieu of 

using the old reading shown on the out of state title. 

 

R. Flowcharts are attached to this procedure as Exhibits A, B, and C. 

 

S. A "Definitions" page is attached as Exhibit D. 

 

T. "Frequently Asked Questions with Answers" is attached as Exhibit E. 

 

Historical Revisions: 

 

5/4/15 Added a scenario on page 17, letter H 
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EXHIBIT A 

 

NEW MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

 

        Conforming MCO Completed MCO* 

 

    To Dealer   Non-Conforming MCO 82994 

 

Florida 

Dealer 

        Conforming MCO  Completed MCO** or 

            MCO and completed  

            82994, and 82040 

    To Retail Purchaser            or 82041 

 

        Non-Conforming MCO Completed MCO,  

            82040 or 82041 

            and 82994 

 

 

 

Conforming MCO Completed MCO, or 

MCO and a copy of the 

odometer disclosure 

statement from the out 

of state dealer and 

82040 or 82041 

              

Individual with 

vehicle from 

out-of-state 

Dealer  

Non-Conforming MCO Completed MCO,  

         82040 or 82041 and a 

copy of the 

 odometer disclosure 

 statement from 

 the out-of- State 

 dealer 
 

 

 

* For dealer to dealer reassignments, 82091 or 82994 may be used to supplement MCO when 

 reassignment space is not available on MCO. 
 

** For dealer to retail purchaser reassignment, 82994 may be used to supplement MCO when reassignment 

 space is not available on MCO or the MCO is not available. 
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USED MOTOR VEHICLES 

FLORIDA TITLE 
 

      Conforming  Reassignment section of certificate of title  

         completed  
 

    Florida Dealer 

          to Dealer 

      Non-Conforming Reassignment section completed and a copy 

         of the odometer disclosure statement or  

         82993 or 82994  

 

      Conforming  Reassignment section of title completed  

         and 82040 or 82041    

               

    Florida Dealer 

       to Retail 

      Purchaser   Non-Conforming Reassignment section completed and a copy 

         of the odometer disclosure statement or 

 82993 

         or 

         82994 and 82040, 82041 or "Application for 

         Title by Purchaser" section, completed on  

         the Florida title 

 

Florida Title 

 

      Conforming  "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title  

         completed and 82040 or 82041  

               

              

     Individual 

     Casual Sale    

      

      Non-Conforming "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title  

         completed, and 82040 or 82041 (82993  

         exchanged between parties) 

 

       

      Conforming  "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title  

         completed and 82363 

 

    Insurance 

    Company 

      Non-Conforming "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title  

         completed, and 82363 (82993 exchanged  

         between parties) 

 

    Salvage 
 

    Self Insured    82363  
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USED MOTOR VEHICLES 

OUT-OF-STATE TITLE 

 

       Conforming  Reassignment section of title   

          completed 

 

   Florida Dealer 

      to Dealer 

       Non-Conforming 82994 completed 

  

        

 

        

       Conforming  Reassignment section of title   

          completed and 82040 

   Florida Dealer 

      to Retail 

     Purchaser  

       Non-Conforming 82040 or 82041, 82042 and 82994 

 

 

   Individual from Out-of-State Dealer   82040 or 82041, 82042 and a  

          copy of the odometer disclosure  

          statement from the out-of- 

          state dealer 

 

Out-of-State 

     Title  Individual, No Transfer    82040 or 82041 and 82042 

 

 

   Individual Casual Sale    82040 or 82041, 82042 and   

          82993 exchanged between   

          parties 

 

 

       Conforming  82040 or 82041, 82042 and   

          82363 

 

     Insurance 

     Company 

       Non-Conforming 82040 or 82041, 82042, 82363  

          and 82993 exchanged between  

          parties 

   Salvage Title 

      

     Self-Insured    82040 or 82041, 82042 and 82363 
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DEFINITIONS 

 

 

 

ALTERATION: A strike over, erasure, ink over, white out or any other method of change to an 

odometer disclosure statement or odometer declaration. 

 

CONFORMING:  A document containing an odometer disclosure statement as required by federal 

law. 

 

DECLARATION:  An odometer verification statement signed by the owner of the motor vehicle. 

 

DISCLOSURE:  An odometer verification statement requiring the transferor to state the odometer 

information and the transferee to acknowledge the statement. 

 

DISCREPANCY: Any error involving a current or prior odometer reading. 

 

NON-CONFORMING: A document that does not contain all the elements of a federal odometer 

disclosure statement. 

 

OMISSION:   Any part of a required statement that has been left out. 

 

TRANSFEREE:  Buyer. 

 

TRANSFEROR:  Seller. 

 

UNCERTIFIED:  Some states brand the title "Uncertified" because a sale did not take place and an 

odometer disclosure did not have to be made.  Some examples are: vehicle 

coming into their state with no ownership change, repossession, and when 

following deceased instructions. 
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EXHIBIT E 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS WITH ANSWERS 

 

Question #1 

What is the difference between an odometer disclosure and odometer declaration? 
 

Answer: 

Odometer Disclosure: An odometer verification statement requiring the transferor to state the odometer 

information and the transferee to acknowledge the statement. 
 

    Example:  An odometer disclosure is on the conforming MCO, conforming title,  

            form HSMV 82994, and form HSMV 82995. 

Odometer Declaration: An odometer verification statement signed by the owner of the motor vehicle. 
 

    Example:  An odometer declaration is on the form HSMV 82040 and form  

            HSMV 82041. 
 

Question #2 

When is a motor vehicle transaction exempt from odometer disclosure requirements? 
 

Answer: 

1. Any motor vehicle that is ten calendar years or older as of January 1 of the current year. 

2. Any motor vehicle that is not self propelled. 

3. Any motor vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 16,000 pounds. 

4. Any new motor vehicle, covered by an MCO, transferred between dealers (dealer swaps). 
 

Question #3 

When may a form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, be used for a non-

exempt motor vehicle transaction? 
 

Answer: 

Federal and state law prohibits an individual who has been appointed as attorney in fact from acting as both 

transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer) for completing odometer disclosure statements in conjunction with the 

transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle unless a secure power of attorney form is used. 
 

The department adopted form HSMV 82995 (secure power of attorney) to be used only when an individual 

appointed as the attorney in fact is acting as both transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer) for the purposes of 

completing the odometer disclosure in conjunction with the transfer of a motor vehicle in specified situations.  

They are: 
 

1. When the certificate of title is physically held by the lienholder and is not available for endorsement by 

 the seller for transferring ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer disclosure. 

2. When the certificate of title has been lost or destroyed and is not available for endorsement by the seller 

 for transferring ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer disclosure. 
 

Question #4 

When may a form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel be used for a 

non-exempt motor vehicle transaction? 
 

Answer: 

The form may be used by an individual appointed as attorney in fact when completing an odometer disclosure 

statement as transferor (seller) only or transferee (buyer) only. 
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Question #5 

May the seller or buyer use the form HSMV 82053 to appoint a licensed motor vehicle dealer or his employees 

as attorney in fact for a non-exempt motor vehicle transaction? 
 

Answer: 

No.  The seller or buyer cannot lawfully use the form HSMV 82053 to appoint a licensed motor vehicle dealer 

or his employee as attorney in fact to execute an odometer disclosure in their behalf.  The individual appointed 

must be an independent third party who is not associated with the dealership in any capacity.  A licensed motor 

vehicle dealer, including his employees, is considered one legal entity. 
 

Scenario:  John Smith owns five different franchises, each with separate dealer licenses.  The title work for all 

five franchises is completed in one location.  When a "third party" is needed to sign as power of attorney, John 

Smith Honda would let the title clerk for John Smith Toyota sign as power of attorney.  The title clerk for John 

Smith Toyota does not work for John Smith Honda. 
 

Question #6 

Because John Smith is the owner of all five franchises, does this mean the title clerk from John Smith's 

franchises cannot sign as a third party on a form HSMV 82053 in this manner? 
 

Answer: 

The title clerk can not sign as the third party because they work for John Smith who owns all five franchises. 
 

Scenario:  John Smith only has one dealer license with DBA's (doing business as) and the third party works for, 

and is paid by, one of the DBA companies under the same dealer's license. 
 

Question #7 

Could the title clerk sign as a legitimate "third party"? 
 

Answer: 

No.  The individual appointed as an independent third party must not be associated with the dealership in any 

capacity. 
 

Question #8 

When a dealer sells a vehicle to a lease company, can the lessee sign for the lease company without a power of 

attorney? 
 

Answer: 

No.  If the lessee is signing for the lease company, a general power of attorney or a form prescribed by the 

department must be submitted showing the name of the lessee and clearly specifying the lessee's authority. 
 

Scenario:  A dealer sells a vehicle to a lease company and the conforming MCO is not available at the time of 

sale. 
 

Question #9 

Can a person from the dealership sign the form HSMV 82994 as seller and another person from the dealership 

sign as purchaser for the lease company using a general power of attorney or form HSMV 82053? 
 

Answer: 

No.  The individual appointed as an independent third party must not be associated with the dealership in any 

capacity. 
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Question #10  

Can a leasing company give the lessee a general power of attorney to sign the odometer disclosure statement 

and the dealer a general power of attorney to sign the odometer declaration?  

 

Answer:  

Yes.  The general power of attorney must show the name of the appointee and clearly specify the appointee’s 

authority.   

 

Question #11 

Is it reasonable for a Tax Collector's office to accept the same third-party name continuously as the appointee on 

form HSMV 82053 from the same dealership? 
 

Answer: 

Yes.  If the third party is not associated with the dealership.  No.  If the third party is associated with the 

dealership in any way.  If you are suspicious about a transaction, notify your local Division of Motorist Services 

Regional office.  They will contact the dealership to verify the information in question. 
 

Question #12 

When a dealership is named as power of attorney in Part A on the form HSMV 82995, does the person signing 

for the dealership in Part A also have to sign in Part C? 
 

Answer: 
 

No.  Since the dealership was named and not an individual with the dealership, the person signing for the 

dealership in Part C may be different than the person who signed for the dealership in Part A. 
 

The person in Part C would be the individual to transfer the information to the actual certificate of title after it is 

received. 
 

Question #13 

If a customer is the sole owner of a dealership/company and is selling the vehicle to himself/herself, what is the 

procedure he/she would follow for the odometer disclosure? 
 

Answer: 
 

Federal and state law cites that no person may sign a disclosure statement as the buyer and seller in the same 

transaction.  However, in the case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, there is no one else available to 

sign.  Therefore, the disclosure would have to be made by the same person. 
 

Question #14 

Can a vehicle 10 years or older with no odometer reading or status on the out of state title be issued a Florida 

title with the reading shown on the odometer declaration or disclosure or must it be issued as exempt?  
 

Answer: 

The odometer reading must be shown as exempt, as there would be no unbroken chain of odometer readings. 
 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

TL-09 



EXHIBIT E (page 4, cont.) 

 

Question #15 

Which odometer reading should be shown when you have more than one reading? 

Scenario:  Title comes in from New York (non-exempt); the seller and buyer complete the odometer disclosure 

on the title showing the mileage as 54,000 actual miles.  The buyer goes into the tax collector's office or license 

plate agency and has a form HSMV 82042 completed, verifying the VIN and showing the mileage as 55,000 

actual miles. 

 

Answer: 

The most current odometer reading should always be entered when processing the transaction. 

 

Question #16 

When applicable, can a form HSMV 82993 be used by a dealer in lieu of an odometer disclosure statement 

which is required by federal law? 

 

Answer: 

Yes.  The form HSMV 82993 has all of the elements required in an odometer disclosure statement. 

 

Question #17 

When a vehicle is titled in two names joined by “OR” and one owner wants to drop the co-owner and the 

vehicle is less than 10 years old (non-exempt), can the same person sign as seller and purchaser?  

 

Answer:  

Yes, the same person can sign as buyer and seller because they are disclosing the odometer information to 

themselves.   

 

Question #18  

If a Florida Certificate of Title has been issued showing the odometer status as "EXEMPT," and the new 

purchaser wants their title issued with a current reading.  Is this acceptable? 

 

Answer:    

Yes.  As long as the title is being issued with the odometer status as “NOT ACTUAL MILEAGE.” 

 

Question #19 

Vehicle is traded in to a dealership.  The title is with the lienholder due to a recorded lien on the title.  A 

form HSMV 82995 is completed by the customer and the dealership at the time of sale, showing the 

current odometer reading.  When the title is received, the clerk transfers the odometer information to the 

title; however, he/she enters an incorrect reading, which does not match the reading on the HSMV 82995.  

What is needed to correct this error? 

 

Answer:   

The title, form HSMV 82995 showing the correct information, and a letterhead affidavit from the 

dealership explaining the error. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



EXHIBIT E (page 5, cont.) 

 

 

Question #20  

Vehicle is traded in to a dealership.  Customer has a title signed over to him, which was never transferred 

in his name.  He submits the title to the dealership and completes a form HSMV 82995 at the dealership.  

Can the dealership use the form HSMV 82995 to transfer the information to the title when it is received? 

 

Answer:   

No.  The form HSMV 82995 would not be acceptable in this situation.  This 

situation does not meet the criteria of "title not available for endorsement," as the title should be in the 

customer's name prior to trading it in. 
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