
 

                      FLORIDA 
Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
 PROCEDURE 

 

RS-57 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

CERTIFIED COPIES FOR U.S. CUSTOMS 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST EMPLOYEES OF 

TAX COLLECTORS, LICENSE PLATE AGENTS, AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY 

AND MOTOR VEHICLES WITH THE ISSUANCE OF CERTIFIED COPIES OF COMPUTER-

GENERATED PRINTOUTS OF MOTOR VEHICLE RECORDS ON MOTOR VEHICLES BEING 

EXPORTED OUT OF THE UNITED STATES. 
 

 

 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 319.23 (12), Florida Statutes, provides that all titles, manufacturers’ statements of origin, 

applications and supporting documents submitted with the application, including, but not limited 

to, odometer statements, vehicle identification number verifications, bills of sale, indicia of 

ownership, dealer reassignments, photographs and any personal identification, affidavits or 

documents required by or submitted to the department, shall be retained by the department for 

not less than 10 years. 
 

Section 320.05(3)(a) and (b), Florida Statutes, provides for issuance of certified computer-

generated printouts of motor vehicle records and for the collection of fees. This procedure 

generally applies to leased vehicles and vehicles where the lienholder physically has the title, or 

in situations where the owner needs to have an indication of ownership until the shipped vehicle 

and title are reunited with the owner. 
 

 II. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS: 

  The customer must submit a request for certified copies in one of the following formats  

  to the following address: 
 

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 

Bureau of Records Mail Stop # 57 

2900 Apalachee Parkway 

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0500 
 

A.  A letter specifying the customer's request.  The request must include the vehicle 

identification number for the motor vehicle. 
 

B. An accurately completed form HSMV 90510, Motor Vehicle, Vessel and Mobile Home 

Records Request. 
 

For information on obtaining an apostille seal, see IV, E of this procedure. 
 

            Revision(s) to this procedure: Statutory review, added links to statutes and form, removed note headers, 

updated mail stop number, and added historical revisions section. 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

Immediately 
 REVISION DATE 

 

05/15/19 

 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.23&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.23.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.05&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.05.html
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/90510.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/90510.pdf


STATE OF FLORIDA 

Division of Motorist Services 
PROCEDURE # 

 

RS-57 
 

SUBJECT: 

 

CERTIFIED COPIES FOR U.S. CUSTOMS 
 

 

 III. FEES REQUIRED: 

 

  A. The fee for a certified copy of the original title is $3.00. 

 

  B. The fee for a certified copy of a computer-generated printout is $ .50 for the printout,  

   plus $3.00 for the certification. 

 

 IV. GENERAL INFORMATION: 

 

  A. If a request is submitted without required fees, a letter will be mailed to the customer  

   indicating the fees required. 

 

  B. Requests received in the wrong office will be forwarded to the correct office for   

   processing; however, the request may be delayed. 

 

  C. Phone calls received in the department will be forwarded to the appropriate office for 

   handling. 

 

  D. A request for a certified computer-generated printout is processed within two weeks 

             of receipt of the request and mailed to the customer. 

 

E. When a customer needs an apostille* on their certified documents, he/she must send their 

request to the Department of State, Division of Notaries.  The fee to have the apostille 

placed on their certified document(s) is $20.00 per page.  The fees (check or money 

order) for the apostille must be made payable to: Department of State.   

 

Go to the following link for complete instructions, which includes their mailing address:  

 

http://notaries.dos.state.fl.us/notproc7.html 

 

*An apostille is a simplified certification issued by the Secretary of State that can be 

attached to public documents that are to be used in any country which has signed the 

1961 Hague convention.  This seal is entitled to recognition in the country of intended 

use with no further authentication or legalization by the embassy or consulate of the 

foreign country where the document is to be used. 

 
Historical Revisions: 

1/28/14 - Changed form number on page one. 

 

03/18/2013 – Added statute, revised address, specified how the customer may request information on page 1, provided process 

for adding an apostille, and added the definition on page 2 

 

12/03/03 – Specified how the customer may request information on page 1 and added the definition of apostille on page 2. 
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