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SUBJECT: 
 

TEMPORARILY EMPLOYED 90-DAY LICENSE PLATES 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
 

 THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENTS AND THE DEPARTMENT OF 
HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES FOR ISSUING TEMPORARILY EMPLOYED 90-
DAY REGISTRATIONS AND LICENSE PLATES. 

 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

  Section 320.1325, Florida Statutes, provides for a temporary registration license plate and 
registration certificate valid for 90 days to a customer who is temporarily employed in this state 
but not a resident.  The temporarily employed license plate may be renewed by the individual 
for one additional 90-day period.  A maximum of two 90-day temporarily employed license 
plates may be issued to the same individual within a 12-month period. This 12-month period 
begins the date the first plate is issued. At the end of the 180-day period of temporary 
registration, the customer shall apply for a permanent registration if there is a further need 
to remain in this state. 

 

 II. GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 

  A. Temporarily employed 90-day license plates may be issued by the Division of Motorist 
Services or any county license plate agency. 

 

  B. The license plate range of TE00000 - ZZ99999 is used for temporarily employed 90-day 
license plates. These plates are assigned to each agency and must be entered in the license 
plate inventory of FRVIS. 

 

  C. A second or one additional temporarily employed license plate can be issued for an 
additional 90 days during a 12-month period.  The same application requirements apply 
for a second plate.  FRVIS will confirm the original issue date and the number of plates 
issued to the customer to ensure that no more than two plates are issued within the same 
12-month period. 

 

D.  Temporarily employed 90-day license plates must be conspicuously displayed in the rear 
license plate bracket.  For vehicles requiring front display, temporary license plates must 
be displayed on the front of the vehicle in the location where the metal license plate 
would normally be displayed. 

 

 No other license plate should be displayed on a motor vehicle that is displaying a 
temporarily employed 90-day license plate. 
 

 

 Revision(s) to this procedure:  Statutory review. Added links to statutes and forms. Added Historical 
Revisions section. Updated Section III, letters C & D. 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.1325&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.1325.html
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E. A temporarily employed 90-day license plate may be issued on any motor vehicle except 
            commercial truck tractors and heavy trucks with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 

pounds or more, which are not owned or operated by a government entity. 
 

 III. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS:  
 

  The customer who is temporarily employed in Florida must submit the following: 
 

  A. A copy of the out-of-state registration. 
 

  B. One of the items below verifying temporary employment. 
 

   1. A letter of verification from the place of employment stating the customer is 
temporarily employed. 

 

   2. An affidavit from the customer, which specifies temporary employment in the 
state of Florida and the location of employment. 

 

   3. Form HSMV 83080, Motor Vehicle Registration Eligibility Affidavit/Application, 
completed by the customer.  

 

  C. Fees:  The fee for the 90-day temporary registration plate shall be $40 plus the 
applicable service charge required by s. 320.04. Temporarily Employed License Plate 
fee, Air Pollution Control fee, FRVIS fee, Emergency Medical Services fee, 
Transportation Disadvantaged fee (if a private automobile or any truck with a net weight 
of 5,000 pounds or less), and Service fee 

                                    (add branch fee if applying through a county branch agency).                                       

Refer to the Motor Vehicle/Mobile Home Class Code/Fee Chart below.  
 

   http://www3.flhsmv.gov/dmv/Proc/Fees/Fees-03.PDF 
 
 

  D.  PROOF OF INSURANCE: 
 

   Proof of insurance is required on this license plate. Out-of-state insurance is  
                                    acceptable.  

Refer to RS-36 for additional information. 
 

 IV. REPLACEMENT LICENSE PLATE:    

  If the temporarily employed 90-day license plate is lost, stolen or defaced, see RS-06, which 
outlines the replacement process. 

 

 V. LOST-IN-TRANSIT LICENSE PLATES: 
 

  A temporarily employed 90-day license plate, which is lost in transit may be replaced upon 
receipt of form HSMV 83146.  No fee is required.  The replacement plate will be issued with the 
expiration date that was issued to the plate initially. 

 

 VI. CORRECTIONS: 
 

  A corrected registration may be processed.  No fee is required.  The expiration date will be 
carried forward. 
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https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83080.pdf
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.1325&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.04.html
http://www3.flhsmv.gov/dmv/Proc/Fees/Fees-03.PDF
http://www3.flhsmv.gov/DMV/Proc/RS/RS-36.pdf
http://www3.flhsmv.gov/DMV/Proc/RS/RS-06.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83146.pdf
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VII. DUPLICATE REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE: 
 

  A duplicate registration certificate may be issued upon payment of the required service fee. 
 
 
Historical revisions:  
 
12/09/09 Updated the “Description and Use” section and revised item D on page 1 for consistency; removed fee amounts in 
item III, C, added website link to motor vehicle/mobile home class code and fee chart, and removed service fee in item VII on 
page 2. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PAGE # 
RS-41-03 

   


