
 

    
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
 PROCEDURE: 
 

RS-33 
 

SUBJECT: 
 
COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE 

 
DESCRIPTION AND USE: 

 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST EMPLOYEES OF 
THE TAX COLLECTOR, LICENSE PLATE AGENT AND THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY 
SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES WITH THE COLLECTION OF COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE 
INSURANCE. 

 

 
 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 
 Section 320.02(5)(e), Florida Statutes, provides that upon the expiration date noted in the 

cancellation notice that the department receives from the insurer, the department shall suspend 
the registration, issued under this chapter or section 207.004(1), Florida Statutes, of a motor 
carrier who operates a commercial motor vehicle or who permits it to be operated in this state 
during the registration period without having in full force liability insurance, a surety bond, or a 
valid self-insurance certificate that complies with this section. The insurer shall provide notice to 
the department at the same time the cancellation notice is provided to the insured pursuant to s. 
627.7281. The department may adopt rules regarding the electronic submission of the 
cancellation notice. 

 
 II. DEFINITIONS: 
 

"Commercial motor vehicle" is defined by section 320.01(25), Florida 
Statutes, as any vehicle which is not owned or operated by a governmental entity, 
which uses special fuel or motor fuel on the public highways, and which has a 
gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, or has three or more axles 
regardless of weight, or is used in combination when the weight of such 
combination exceeds 26,001 pounds gross vehicle weight. 
 
Combined Single Limit ensures that the full limit of the policy will be payable 
for damages or injuries, whether there is only one damage or injury or multiple 
damages and injuries where the at-fault driver is liable. 
 
Split Level Policy identifies the maximum limit for injury and damage. For 
example, a policy with split limits might pay $100,000 per person per incident 
for bodily injury, with a maximum of $300,000 per incident. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Revision(s) to this procedure: Statutory review, added links to forms and statutes. Removed “notes” and added Historical Revisions 
section. Changed applicant to customer.   Under III. A (6) added “all nonpublic sector buses subject to regulations of the USDOT for all  for-hire 
interstate carriers of passengers, the minimum is $1,500,000 for vehicles with a seating capacity of 15 passengers or less, and $5,000,000 for 
vehicles with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or more”.  Under IV. B. added when Department must be listed as certificate holder. Under  IV 
C. added email address SelfInsurance@flhsmv.gov. Added new Exhibits B-D.  
 

EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

Immediately 

REVISION DATE 
 

12/12/19 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.02.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.02.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0200-0299/0207/Sections/0207.004.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0200-0299/0207/Sections/0207.004.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.7281.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.7281.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.7281.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.7281.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.01&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.01.html
mailto:SelfInsurance@flhsmv.gov
mailto:SelfInsurance@flhsmv.gov
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COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE 
 

 
III. MINIMUM COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS: 

 
A. The minimum required amounts of coverage for the combined bodily liability insurance 

and property damage liability insurance, as provided in section 627.7415, Florida 
Statutes. 

 
1. $50,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 

26,000 pounds or more, but less than 35,000 pounds. 
 

2. $100,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight 
of 35,000 pounds or more, but less than 44,000 pounds. 

 
3. $300,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight 

of 44,000 pounds or more. 
 

4. All commercial motor vehicles subject to regulations of the United States Department 
of Transportation, Title 49 C.F.R. part 387, subpart A, for all for-hire interstate 
carriers or all carriers transporting hazardous materials with vehicles having a gross 
vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or more, the minimum level is $750,000 CSL. 

 
5. A split limit policy is acceptable in lieu of the combined single limit policy only if 

each of the split limits meets or exceeds the amount of the required combined limits 
coverage. 

 
6.    Notwithstanding s. 627.7415, F.S., and s. 627.742, F.S., all nonpublic sector buses 

subject to regulations of the United States Department of Transportation, 49 
C.F.R. part 387, subpart B, for all  for-hire interstate carriers of passengers, the 
minimum is $1,500,000 for vehicles with a seating capacity of 15 passengers or 
less, and $5,000,000 for vehicles with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or 
more.  Seating capacity includes the driver.   

 
B.     Proof of insurance must specify Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage in the amount of 

$10,000.  PIP is required in addition to any other insurance requirements and regardless of 
the gross vehicle weight of the covered vehicle(s).   

 

A standard Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) insurance policy must indicate that it 
includes Personal Injury Protection (PIP), Property Damage Liability (PDL) and Bodily 
Injury Liability (BIL) coverage. 

  
Many commercial vehicles are privately owned and operated under a lease agreement with 
motor carrier companies.  Lessors (owner/operators) operate under the insurance coverage 
of lessees (carrier companies).  When a lessor files an application for registration for a 
commercial vehicle and provides acceptable proof of purchase of the required insurance 
coverage and the named insured on the proof of purchase is a lessee carrier, the customer 
must also provide evidence of insurance, under a lease arrangement, with the insured 
lessee. 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=627.7415&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.7415.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=627.7415&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.7415.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=627.7415&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.7415.html
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=627.742&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.742.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=627.742&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.742.html


Division of Motorist Services 
PROCEDURE: 
 

RS-33 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE 
 

 
IV. ACCEPTABLE PROOF OF INSURANCE: 
 
  Unless the policy or binder is marked as “Scheduled Autos”, proof of insurance is not required to 

list the specific VIN number(s) for the vehicle(s) covered.  “Scheduled Auto” means specific 
vehicles are insured by the policy.  Therefore, if “Scheduled Auto” appears on the policy or 
binder and the VIN number(s) for the vehicle(s) is not listed, the insurance document is NOT 
valid. 
 
The following are acceptable types of proof of insurance:  
 
A. Certificate of Liability Insurance also referred to as a COI.  This form must show the 

policy number and levels of insurance coverage including Personal Injury Protection 
(PIP).   
 

B. The ACORD form, which is a type of Certificate of Liability Insurance form.  PIP 
coverage should be shown on the ACORD form.     
 
The ACORD form is pre-printed with a standard clause in the “Cancellation” box at the 
bottom right of the form.   
 
A sample of the ACORD form is attached as Exhibit A. 
 
Customers presenting proof of insurance on an ACORD form for vehicles with 
apportioned registration under the International Registration Plan must list the 
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles as the certificate holder. 
The department address is listed as follows: 

FLHSMV-BCVDS 
2900 Apalachee Parkway, Mail Stop 62 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0626 

 
C.        Certificate of self-insurance issued by the Bureau of Motorist Compliance.    
 

• Exhibit B COMPANY/CORPORATION – Complying by Financial Statement. 
• Exhibit C COMPANY OR CORPORATION – Complying by Filing a Certificate 

of Deposit. 
• Exhibit D INDIVIDUAL, COMPANY OR CORPORATION – Complying by 

Financial Statement to insure commercial vehicles for combined limits of liability 
insurance required under s. 627.7415, Florida Statutes, based on gross vehicle 
weight (GVW) of vehicles. 

 
Customers requiring additional information may email: 

SelfInsurance@flhsmv.gov  
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D. Form E, Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability. 

See Exhibit E.  Form E is NOT a departmental form.  The form is determined by the 
National Association of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners and promulgated pursuant to 
the provisions of section 202(b)(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act (49 U.S.C., Sec. 302 
(b)(2).  When the carrier is based in Florida, the Name of Commission is the Florida 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 

 
E. Proof of self-insurance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. 
 
F. Policy which provides the required coverage. 

 
G.        Insurance policy binder. 

 
H.        Certificate of insurance issued on insurance form only.  This must reflect policy number 

and levels of insurance.  
 

I.         Depositing a surety bond with the department issued by a surety company authorized to 
do business in Florida or a combination of a surety bond and insurance policy which 
satisfies the requirements of section 320.02(5)(e), Florida Statutes. 

J.        An insurance affidavit (form HSMV 83330) is not acceptable proof of commercial  vehicle 
insurance. 
 

V.       MISCELLANEOUS: 
 
If an individual's residence is in Florida and he has a commercial vehicle titled and registered in 

 Florida in his name, but he leases the vehicle to a company out of state, the owner must have 
 Florida commercial insurance. 

 
 
 
 
 
Historical Revisions: 
 
02/15/2016 - Updated Exhibit B with new bureau chief name. 
 

12/14/2012 - Updated statute language on page 1, removed the endorsement language from Section IV, and updated Exhibit B. 
 

07/16/2010 – Revised Section IV on pg. 3 to list all acceptable types of certificate of liability insurance, which include the ACORD 
form, re-lettered items on pgs. 3 and 4, and updated Exhibit A with latest version of the ACORD form. 
 

03/15/2010 – Added information About PIP coverage on pg. 2 under E, revised section IV on pg. 3 and re-lettered accordingly, added 
a note to pg. 3 C about Form E, and added new Exhibits A, B, and C, updating the old forms. 
 

07/28/2006 – Added definitions of Combined and Single limit insurance to page one. “Note” added to page 2 that split limit policy is 
acceptable. 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.02.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.02.html


 
EXHIBIT A 
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EXHIBIT B 

 
COMPANY/CORPORATION – Complying by Financial Statement 

 
 

Florida 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

Bureau of Motorist Compliance 
 

Certificate of Self-Insurance 
 
 
 
THIS IS TO CERTIFY  «CompanyCertificateName»  
has furnished satisfactory evidence, pursuant to Chapter 324.171, Florida Statutes, of possessing a net 
unencumbered capital and will respond to the requirements of the Florida Financial Responsibility Law.  This 
certificate provides limits of liability insurance, $10,000/20,000/10,000, Chapter 324.021(7) and personal injury 
protection coverage, Chapter 627.733(3)(b), Florida Statutes, covering «ofVehicles» motor vehicles. 
 
This certificate is valid «IssueDate»through «ExpirationDate»  
and may, upon notice, be cancelled by the Department. 
 
 
 

Certificate Number  

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

No.  «CompanyCertificate»             William R. Graves, Chief of Motorist Compliance 
                                           Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
HSMV 74754 (02/2016) 
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EXHIBIT C 
 

COMPANY OR CORPORATION – Complying by Filing a 
Certificate of Deposit  

 
 

Florida 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

Bureau of Motorist Compliance 
 

Financial Responsibility Certificate 
 
 
 
 
THIS IS TO CERTIFY  CertificateName»  
has on file with the Department a «CollateralType» to comply with the Financial Responsibility Law, Section 
324.031, Florida Statutes.  This certificate provides limits of liability insurance in the amount of 
$10,000/20,000/10,000 Chapter 324.021(7), and personal injury protection coverage, Chapter 627.733(3)(b), Florida 
Statutes. 
 
Effective  «IssueDate» through «ExpirationDate».  
 

 

Certificate Number  

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

No.  «FRCertificate»                           William R. Graves, Chief of Motorist Compliance 
                                                                    Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
HSMV 74071 (02/2016) 
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EXHIBIT D 
 

INDIVIDUAL, COMPANY OR CORPORATION – Complying by Financial Statement to insure 
commercial vehicles for combined limits of liability insurance required under s. 627.7415, Florida 

Statutes, based on gross vehicle weight (GVW) of vehicles. 
 
 

Florida 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 

Bureau of Motorist Compliance 
 

Certificate of Self-Insurance 
 
 
 
 
THIS IS TO CERTIFY  «CompanyCertificateName»  
has furnished satisfactory evidence, pursuant to Chapter 324.171, Florida Statutes, of possessing an 
unencumbered capital for a commercial motor vehicle and will respond to the requirements of the Florida 
Financial Responsibility Law.  This certificate provides combined limits of liability insurance of 
«CoverageLimits» for vehicles with a gross weight of «VehicleWeight» pounds or more as specified in Chapter 
627.7415, and personal injury protection coverage, Chapter 627.733(3)(b), Florida Statutes, covering 
«ofHeavyVehicles» motor vehicles. 
 
This certificate is valid  «IssueDate» through «ExpirationDate»  
and may, upon notice, be canceled by the Department. 
 
 
 

Certificate Number  

 ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

No.  «CommCertificate» William R. Graves, Chief of Motorist Compliance 
 Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
74072S (02/2016) 
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EXHIBIT E 
 
 

UNIFORM MOTOR CARRIER BODILY INJURY AND PROPERTY 
DAMAGE LIABILITY CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 

 
(Execute in Triplicate) 

 
Filed with _________________________________________ (hereinafter called Commission) 

(Name of Commission) 
 

This is to certify, that the ______________________________________________________________ 
(Name of Company) 

 
(hereinafter called Company) of ____________________________________________________________ 

(Home Office Address of Company) 
 

has issued to ______________________________________________________________________________ 
(Name of Motor Carrier) 

 
Of _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

(Address of Motor Carrier) 
 
 

A policy or policies of insurance effective from ________________________________12:01 A.M. standard time at the address of the 
insured stated in said policy or policies and continuing until cancelled as provided herein, which, by attachment of the Uniform Motor 
Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Insurance Endorsement, has or have been amended to provide automobile bodily 
injury and property damage liability insurance covering the obligations imposed upon such motor carrier by the provisions of the motor 
carrier law of the State in which the Commission has jurisdiction or regulations promulgated in accordance therewith.  
 
 
Whenever requested, the Company agrees to furnish the Commission a duplicate original of said policy or policies and all 
endorsements thereon.  
 
 
This certificate and the endorsement described herein may not be cancelled without cancellation of the policy to which it is attached. 
Such cancellation may be affected by the Company or the insured giving thirty (30) days’ notice in writing to the State Commission, 
such thirty (30) days’ notice to commence to run from the date notice is received in the office of the Commission.  
 
 
Countersigned at ______________________________________________________________________________  

(Street Address) (City) (State) (Zip Code) 
 
This ________ day of_____________, _______.  

____________________________________  
Authorized Company Representative  

Insurance Company File No. _________________  
(Policy Number)  
 
 
 
This form determined by the National Association of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners and Promulgated pursuant to the provisions of Section 202(b)(2) of the 
Interstate Commerce Act (49 U.S.C., Sec. 302[b][2]). 
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