
 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE 
 

RS-31 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATES 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENTS, DEALERS AND THE DEPARTMENT OF 
HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES WITH THE ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY LICENSE 
PLATES. 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 320.131, Florida Statutes, authorizes the issuance of a temporary license plate, which 
may be issued for a period of 10, 30, or 90 days according to the purpose for which the license 
plate is issued. 

 

Section 320.131(3), Florida Statutes, provides that any person or corporation who unlawfully 
issues or uses a temporary license plate or violates this section or any rule adopted by the 
department to implement this section, commits a noncriminal infraction, punishable as a moving 
violation as provided in chapter 318 in addition to other administrative action by the department. 
Using a temporary license plate that has been expired for a period of 7 days or less is a 
noncriminal infraction, and is a nonmoving violation punishable as provided for in chapter 318, 
Florida Statutes. 
 

Section 320.131(5), Florida Statutes, any person who knowingly and willfully abuses or 
misuses temporary tag issuance to avoid registering a vehicle requiring registration 
commits a misdemeanor of the first degree 
 
Section 320.131(6), Florida Statutes, any person who knowingly and willfully issues a 
temporary tag or causes another to issue a temporary tag to a fictitious person or entity to 
avoid disclosure of the true owner of a vehicle commits a felony of the third degree 
 
Section 320.131(9)(a), Florida Statutes, authorizes a secure print-on-demand electronic 
temporary license plate registration, record retention, and issue system for use by every 
department-authorized issuer of temporary license plates.   
 

Section 320.131(9) (b), Florida Statutes, allows for the issuance of a backup manual issuance 
method during an outage. 
 

II. ISSUANCE OF A TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATE FOR USE ON A MOTOR VEHICLE, 
MOTORCYCLE, OR RECREATIONAL VEHICLE: 

  

When issuing a temporary license plate, the issuing authority must ensure the accuracy and 
accountability of the license plate.  A temporary license plate may only be issued and displayed 
on one vehicle.  Re-issuance of the same temporary license plate is not lawful.   

 
The Division of Motorist Services Regional office or Tax Collector office have the discretionary 
authority to issue more than two temporary license plates.   
 

Revision(s) to this procedure: Added Statutes 320.131(5) & 320.131(6), FRVIS instructions for Out-of-State 
Insurance, section VII, bullet E on page 7, added Historical Revision section and minor edits. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

Immediately 
 

REVISION DATE 
 

03/29/18 
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A. ISSUANCE OF A TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATE TO AN APPLICANT: 
 

1. The Electronic Temporary Registration (ETR) System is a method to electronically 
submit information regarding the issuance of a temporary license plate.   

 

a. All temporary license plates must be issued as print-on-demand except in the case 
of an ETR system outage or a trailer with a net weight of less than 2,000 lbs.  See 
procedure RS-05, Section II, C, for exemptions to print-on-demand. 

 

b. A dealer is authorized to issue only two temporary license plates for a specific 
motor vehicle, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle per customer.  For example, 
Jane Doe buys a car and needs a temporary permit, and later needs a second.  
After the second issuance, no more temporary license plates may be issued for 
Jane Doe for that vehicle. 

 

c. A dealer can issue a maximum of four temporary license plates per motor vehicle, 
motorcycle, or recreational vehicle when dealing with multiple customers.  For 
example, John Smith buys the same car that Jane Doe did—the dealership can 
issue two temporary permits for him for the same vehicle. 

 

d. When use of a dealer license plate is valid, a temporary license plate may not be 
issued. 

 

e. An exception is when the dealer is complying with section 320.131(1) (l), Florida 
Statutes.  (See here for clarification, page 5 of this procedure, item (i).) 

 

2. If the dealer chooses not to issue temporary license plates through an ETR vendor, the 
dealer must submit all applications to a county tax collector or license plate agent for 
processing.  The following documentation is required: 

 

a. Form HSMV 83091, Application for Temporary License Plate, accurately completed 
(including the purpose for issuance) and signed by an authorized representative for the 
issuing agency/dealership (if applicable) and the customer. A copy of the title or 
MCO must be submitted to verify the VIN is correct. 

 
HSMV 83091, is distributed as follows:   

i. The customer retains the original copy, which must be in the 
operator’s possession at all times while the motor vehicle, 
motorcycle or recreational vehicle is being operated with the 
temporary license plate (until expiration).   

 

ii. The issuing agency (tax collector or license plate agent) retains the 
duplicate copy for at least12 months.   

 

b. Proof of identity as required by DMS Procedure TL-01, Signature Requirements, and 
Identity Affidavits. Proof of identity cannot be an expired driver’s license, 
identification card, or passport, all document must be current and valid. If the 
company is a business, it must provide an FEID number if applicable, verification that 
the business is authorized to conduct business in Florida, or a Florida city/county 
business license or number. As indicated in TL-01, do not create a new customer 
record when the customer already exists in FRVIS  
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c. Proof of insurance except for motorcycles, trailers, and federally owned vehicles.  

Refer to DMS Procedure RS-36 for additional insurance requirements.   
 

3. Vehicle to be Registered in Another State: 
If the temporary license plate is being issued for a vehicle that will be registered in 
another state, proof of insurance from that state, or a Florida binder, is acceptable.   
 

For out-of-state Insurance: 
a. Enter code “S” for the insurance type and “outofstate” in the “Policy 

Number” field.  The out-of-state insurance company name, policy number, 
effective date and insurance company’s phone number must be entered in 
the FRVIS comments field. 

 

Example: State Farm, 00123456, 02/01/18, 1-800-111-1111 
 

4. A fee of $2 must be collected for each temporary license plate issued. A Service Fee (and 
Branch Fee, if applicable) may be collected if a county tax collector, license plate 
agency, Division of Motorist Services Regional Office, or Direct Mail and Corrections 
Section issues the temporary license plate.   

 

5. No Temporary License Plate for transactions Using a Non-use Affidavit 
A temporary license plate shall not be issued for a specific motor vehicle, if the 
owner of that vehicle has filed or intends to file a non-use affidavit as part of an 
application for certificate of title.   

 

6. Temporary License Plate Issued by Dealer Through ETR 
If the temporary license plate is issued by a dealer through ETR, the dealer must remit 
the $2 temporary license plate fee to the department through the dealer’s ETR provider.  
A dealer may disclose the $2 temporary license plate fee as a state mandated fee; 
however, any fee collected above that amount may not be identified as a state-assessed 
fee and must be disclosed in a clear and conspicuous manner in the sales agreement.   

 
B. USE OF A TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATE:  

 
1. The county tax collector or license plate agent may issue a temporary license plate for a 

period of 10, 30, or 90 days including the date of issue, based on the use of the 
temporary license plate.  Dealers may only issue temporary license plates for a 30-day 
period.  After the 30-day period expires, dealers may issue one additional 30-day 
temporary license plate.   
Pre-printed temporary license plates may only be issued to trailers under 2,000 pounds 
or in case of an ETR outage.  See Section II.C. 

a.     Ten (10) day temporary license plates may be issued under the following 
circumstances: 

 

i. When a motor vehicle is required to be weighed for registration purposes. 
ii. When a motor vehicle/motorcycle is required to have the vehicle 

identification number verified or the motor vehicle/motorcycle must be 
inspected to apply for a Florida Certificate of Title or for registration 
purposes. 
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2. Thirty (30) day temporary license plates may be issued under the following 
circumstances: 

 
a. A "casual or private sale" means any sale other than that made by a 

licensed dealer, such as: 
 

1) For demonstration purposes by the seller.  A temporary license plate 
cannot be issued for demonstration purposes if the current vehicle owner 
has not previously registered the vehicle.  A temporary license plate 
cannot be issued in lieu of renewal of the license plate currently assigned 
to the vehicle.2. When the purchaser of a motor vehicle/motorcycle 
is waiting for the Florida certificate of title to be released by the previous 
owner's lienholder.  The following must be presented to the tax collector 
or license plate agent for them to "mark the title as sold" and issue a 
temporary license plate, since the lien is not being satisfied now: 

 

i. A letter of verification (signed by the previous owner's 
lienholder) stating the loan has been paid and it will be 
several weeks before the title (with the lien satisfaction) is 
mailed to the customer. 

 

or, 
 

A letter of verification (signed by the purchaser's 
lienholder) stating they have paid off the loan (against the 
previous owner) and it will be several weeks before the 
previous owner's lienholder releases the title (with the lien 
satisfaction) to them for their customer. 

 

and, 
 

ii. An accurately completed form HSMV 82050, Notice of 
Sale or Transfer of Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-
Highway Vehicle or Vessel. 

 
b. For certified common carriers or drive-away companies who transport 

motor vehicles, motorcycles, mobile homes, or recreational vehicles from 
one place to another for persons other than themselves. 

 
c. For banks, credit unions, and other financial institutions which are not 

required to be licensed under the provisions of section 320.27, 320.77, or 
320.771, Florida Statutes, but need temporary license plates to 
demonstrate repossessions for sale. 

 
d. When a motor vehicle, motorcycle or recreational vehicle is sold in this 

state to a resident of another state for registration in their home state and is 
not required to be registered under the provisions of section 320.38, 
Florida Statutes.  Refer to TL-08 for required sales tax information. 

 
 
 

PAGE # 
RS-31-04 

 



STATE OF FLORIDA 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE # 
 

RS-31 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATES 
 

 
 

e. When an out-of-state resident, subject to registration in this state, must 
secure ownership documentation from their home state.   

 

Example:  An individual from another state is moving to Florida and needs 
to get their title documentation from the other state to register and title 
their vehicle in Florida. 
 

f. For a rental car company, which possesses a motor vehicle dealer license 
and uses temporary license plates on vehicles offered for lease by such 
company.  However, the original issuance date of a temporary license 
plate shall be the date that determines the applicable license plate fee. (The 
date the license plate is issued is the date used to determine fees due). 

 

g. For a marine boat trailer dealer to issue upon the sale of a marine boat 
trailer. 

 

h. For use to transport a motor vehicle motorcycle or recreational vehicle in 
the dealer’s inventory to and from the dealer’s licensed location to an off-
premises sales location and back. 

 

i. For use on a commercial vehicle (heavy truck), even carrying a load, if the 
vehicle remains in Florida.  Proof of HVUT is required, unless purchased 
in the first 60 days.  If the commercial vehicle is traveling out of state, a 
trip permit for IRP and IFTA is required.   

 
3. A ninety (90) day temporary license plate may be issued to a customer upon 

application for a personalized or special license plate, while the license plate is 
being manufactured (see RS-27). 

 

 
C. SYSTEM OUTAGE INFORMATION FOR ETR PARTICIPANTS (DEALERS):  
 

1. An ETR dealer may issue a pre-printed temporary license plate only in the case of an 
ETR outage. 

 

In addition to Section II, A, the following requirements must be met when a pre-printed 
temporary license plate is issued due to an ETR System outage: 

 

a. Complete form HSMV 82082, Off-Line Issuance of a Pre-Printed Temporary License 
Plate, in full and retain in the dealer records for a period of 5 years. 

 

b. The issuance information must be reported to the department within one business day 
(excluding weekends and holidays) of the issuance of the temporary license plate. 

 

c. Refer to DMS Procedure RS-05 for more information about electronic temporary 
transfers and system outages. 
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D. ENTITIES ISSUING PRE-PRINTED TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATES FOR 
TRAILERS WEIGHING LESS THAN 2,000 POUNDS: 

 
1. When an issuing entity issues a temporary license plate to its customer, the entity must 

submit the following to the tax collector or license plate agency for processing: 
 

2. An accurately completed HSMV 82082. 
 

3. A copy of the form 82082 should be retained by the issuing entity for its records. 
 
III. ORDERING PRE-PRINTED TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATES: 

 

A. Tax collector or license plate agencies are required to supply pre-printed temporary 
license plates to dealers for use when there is an ETR outage or for anyone issuing 
temporary license plates to trailers weighing less than 2,000 pounds.   

 

B. FRVIS has a limitation of issuing a maximum of 25 pre-printed temporary license plates 
per transaction.  This limitation was only so that FRVIS could calculate the appropriate 
mail fees.  This is not a limitation on the number of pre-printed temporary license plates 
that can be issued to a dealer.   

 
1. Form HSMV 83090, Application by Florida Motor Vehicle, Motorcycle, Mobile 

Home or Recreational Vehicle Dealer for Temporary License Plates must be 
accurately completed and submitted by the dealer to a county tax collector, 
license plate agency, or a Division of Motorist Services Regional Office.  When 
HSMV 83090 is submitted by a dealer to a county tax collector office or license 
plate agency, a copy of the completed form must be mailed or scanned and 
electronically transmitted within two (2) business days to the Division of Motorist 
Services Regional Office that serves the issuing county.  This will ensure that 
dealers have the required ETR/EFS vendor and enable regional offices to ensure 
that temporary plates are being used appropriately.  The regional office will retain 
the copy locally for 12 months in the dealer file for that office.   
 

2. A fee of $2 is required for each temporary license plate issued. A Service Fee 
(and Branch Fee, if applicable) may be collected if a county tax collector, license 
plate agenct, Division of Motorist Services Regional Office, or Direct Mail and 
Corrections Section issues the temporary license plate.  Refer to the Registration 
Fees and Flat Tax Distribution Chart for applicable fees.   

 

http://www3.flhsmv.gov/DMV/Proc/Fees/Fees-02.PDF 
 

3. If applying for pre-printed temporary license plates by mail, the following mail 
fees are required for these increments: 

 

Number of Temporary License Plates 
 Mail Fee 

5 $ 3.25 
10 $ 3.75 
25 $ 5.60 
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IV. DISPLAY: 
 

All temporary license plates must be conspicuously displayed in the rear license plate bracket.  
On vehicles requiring front display of license plates, temporary license plates must be displayed 
on the front of the vehicle in the location where the metal license plate would normally be 
displayed. 

 
V. SALES TAX REQUIREMENTS: 

 
When a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle is sold in this state to a resident of 
another state for registration therein, issuance of Florida temporary license plate requires 
payment of sales tax to Florida as follows: 

 
A. When the motor vehicle, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle is purchased from a Florida 

licensed motor vehicle dealer or in a “casual sale,” sales tax is required equal to but not 
more than the rate of sales tax levied by the purchaser’s state of residence. 

 
B. The county discretionary surtax is not applicable to out-of-state residents. 

 
See DMS Procedure TL-08 for further clarification. 

 
VI. MISCELLANEOUS: 

 
A. When the title record indicates “EFS Pending,” no ETR transactions should be allowed.  

The dealer that has the pending Electronic Filing System (EFS) transaction should 
complete or void the EFS registration and title transactions.  At no time should an EFS 
dealer issue an ETR (to the same purchaser) after the EFS transaction has been 
completed.  At no time should a dealer issue a temporary license plate once the 
department has issued a registration.  
 

B. Motorcycle sized temporary license plates should be issued to motorcycles and 
motorcycle trailers.  These plates may also be issued to any trailer under 2,000 pounds. 

 
C. Most occurrences of multiple records with the same VIN may now be processed through 

the ETR System by the vendor and are not required to be submitted to a county tax 
collector’s office or license plate agent for processing. 

 
D. The dealer must issue a temporary print-on-demand license plate or visit the tax 

collector’s or license plate agent’s office to purchase the metal plate if the customer 
does not have a metal license plate to transfer. 

E. The use of a temporary license plate in no way constitutes payment of registration 
tax.  When the motor vehicle is registered in the State of Florida, tax is due from the 
date of sale or transfer. 
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VII. LINKS TO FORMS 
 

HSMV 83091    APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATE 
 
HSMV 82050  Notice of Sale and/or Bill of Sale for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-
Highway Vehicle or Vessel 
 
HSMV 82082 OFF-LINE ISSUANCE OF A PRE-PRINTED TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATE 
 
HSMV 83090  APPLICATION BY FLORIDA MOTOR VEHICLE, MOTORCYCLE, 
MOBILE HOME OR RECREATIONAL VEHICLE DEALER FOR TEMPORARY LICENSE 
PLATES 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Historical Revisions: 
1/24/18 - Changed mail fee for temporary license plates 
10/06/14 – Added #7 & #8 to Exhibit A. 
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EXHIBIT A 
 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 
 

1. Q. Can a temporary license plate be issued to a Florida resident who has just purchased a 
vehicle in Florida and needs to drive the vehicle to a port to be shipped out of the 
country? 

 
A. Yes, if the customer is making application for a transfer of title into their name and is 

paying the applicable sales tax.  However, only ONE ten (10) day temporary license plate 
may be issued for this purpose. 

 
2. Q. Does question #1 also apply to a vehicle purchased from a dealer? 

 
A. Yes.  However, the dealer must go to a license plate agency for them to process the 

temporary license plate for the customer, since a dealer cannot issue a 10 day temporary 
license plate. 

 
3. Q. Can a temporary license plate be issued to an out of state resident who has just purchased 

a vehicle in Florida and needs to drive the vehicle to a port to be shipped out of the 
country? 

 
A. Yes, if the customer is paying the applicable sales tax.  However, only ONE ten (10) day 

temporary license plate may be issued for this purpose. 
 

4. Q. Does the license plate agency need any type of proof that a vehicle is being shipped out 
of the country (see question #1 and #2)? 

 
A. No.  However, only ONE ten (10) day temporary license plate may be issued for this 

purpose.  When completing the form HSMV 83091, the “other purposes” box must be 
marked and the explanation of “the vehicle is being shipped out of the country” must be 
stated. 

 
5. Q. Can a 10-day temporary license plate be issued if the customer previously applied for a 

title only transfer using a non-use affidavit and now wants to get a temporary license 
plate to drive the vehicle to a port for shipping out of the country? 

 
A. No.  The temporary license plate may only be issued at the time of the title transfer.  

Therefore, the customer would have to purchase a regular license plate to drive the 
vehicle to the port. 

 
6. Q. Can a 10-day temporary license plate be issued if the customer previously applied for a 

title, purchased a license plate which has now expired, and wants to get a temporary 
license plate to drive the vehicle to a port for shipping out of the country? 

 
A. No.  The temporary license plate may only be issued at the time of the title transfer.  

Therefore, the customer would have to renew their expired registration to drive the 
vehicle to the port. 
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EXHIBIT A (page 2, cont.) 
 

 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 

 
7. Q. Can a temporary license plate be issued to an out of state resident who purchases a 

vehicle in Florida from an individual (casual sale) with an OUT OF STATE title and 
wants to drive the vehicle back to their state of residence? 

 
A. No.  The customer must consider other means to get the vehicle back to their state of 

residence (i.e., get a temporary plate from their state of residence, trailer the vehicle back 
to their state, etc.). 

 
8. Q. Can a temporary license plate be issued to an out of state resident who purchases a 

vehicle in Florida from an individual (casual sale) with a FLORIDA title and wants to 
drive the vehicle back to their state of residence? 

 
A. Yes, if the customer is paying the applicable sales tax. 

 
9. Q. RS-31-02 states that if a dealer chooses not to issue a temporary license plate through an 

ETR vendor, the dealer must submit all applications to a county tax collector or license 
plate agent for processing.  Is the license plate agency supposed to issue one of the 
dealer’s temporary tags through the Registration-Original- Dealer ETR transaction so the 
system will show the dealer info, or is it to process an original registration, issue one of 
our print on demand or regular temporary license plates, and put the dealer’s name in the 
comment field? 

 
A. There are two scenarios:  
 

For dealerships without a vendor, the agency must use only the Registration-Original-
Dealer ETR transaction.  Since the dealership does not have a vendor, it should not have 
any pre-printed temporary license plates in its possession. Also, a 
Registration/Original/Regular must never be used.  
 
For dealerships with a vendor, the agency may issue either a print on demand or a pre-
printed temporary license plate from the dealership’s inventory. 
 
The only time you may use a Registration/Original/Regular for a dealership with a 
vendor is when a third temporary plate has been approved and is required. You would 
then enter the reason for the third temporary license plate and the dealer license number. 
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