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RS-28
SUBJECT: 

CUSTOM VEHICLE AND STREET ROD LICENSE PLATES 
DESCRIPTION AND USE: 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENT EMPLOYEES AND THE DEPARTMENT OF 
HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES WITH THE ISSUANCE OF CUSTOM VEHICLE AND 
STREET ROD LICENSE PLATES. 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW:

Section 319.14(1)(c)11a and b, Florida Statutes, defines a “custom vehicle” as a motor vehicle that is 
25 years old or older and of a model year after 1948 or was manufactured to resemble a vehicle that is 
25 years old or older and of a model year after 1948; and has been altered from the manufacturer's 
original design or has a body constructed from non-original materials.

Section 319.14(1)(c)12a and b, Florida Statutes, defines a “street rod” as a motor vehicle that is of a 
model year of 1948 or older or was manufactured after 1948 to resemble a vehicle of a model year of 
1948 or older; and has been altered from the manufacturer's original design or has a body constructed 
from non-original materials.

Section 320.0863, Florida Statutes, provides for registration of custom vehicles and street rods.

II. GENERAL INFORMATION FOR CUSTOM VEHICLES:

A. The model year and year of manufacture that the body of a custom vehicle resembles is the 
model year and year of manufacture listed on the certificate of title, regardless of when the 
vehicle was actually manufactured.

B. Custom vehicle license plates may only be issued for motor vehicles that are 25 years of age or 
older and of a model year after 1948 and has been altered from the manufacturer’s original 
design or has a body constructed from non-original materials.
Or,
Was manufactured to resemble a vehicle that is 25 years of age or older and of a model year after 
1948; and has been altered from the manufacturer’s original design or has a body constructed 
from non-original materials.

C. The vehicle title/record must carry a brand of “custom vehicle” prior to applying for a custom  

vehicle license plate.  
Revision(s) to this procedure: Added Historical Revisions, removed Notes, changed applicant to customer, 
and added links to statutes, forms, and procedures. Removed Definitions section. Renumbered sections and 
revised section IV, C to reflect accurate information for stolen license plates. 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.14&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.14.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=319.14&URL=0300-0399/0319/Sections/0319.14.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.0863&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.0863.html
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III. GENERAL INFORMATION FOR STREET RODS: 
 

A. The model year and year of manufacture that the body of a street rod resembles is the model year 
and year of manufacture listed on the certificate of title, regardless of when the vehicle was 
actually manufactured. 

 
B. Street rod license plates may only be issued for motor vehicles with a model year of 1948 or 

older and has been altered from the manufacturer’s original design or has a body constructed 
from non-original materials. 

 

Or, 
 

Was manufactured after 1948 to resemble a vehicle of a model year of 1948 or older and has 
been altered from the manufacturer’s original design or has a body constructed from non-original 
materials. 

 
C. The vehicle title/record must carry a brand of “street rod” prior to applying for a street rod 

license plate.   
 

IV. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR STREET RODS AND CUSTOM VEHICLES:   
 

 A. The vehicle title/record must carry a brand of “custom vehicle” or “street rod” prior to applying 
for a custom vehicle or street rod license plate.  Once branded, an accurately completed form 
HSMV 83045, Application for Registration of a Street Rod, Custom Vehicle, Horseless 
Carriage or Antique (Permanent), is required for the issuance of a custom vehicle or street rod 
license plate. 

 
 B. Proof of Florida insurance is required.  Refer to DMS Procedure RS-36 for additional insurance 

requirements. 
 

 C. Fees:  Submit the regular tax fees shown in the Tax Due and Credit Manual using class code 95, 
trust fund fee from the Class Code/Fee Chart, Processing fee, Original License Plate fee, Decal 
on Demand fee and Service fee (add Branch fee, if applying through a county branch office).  
Refer to Registration Fees and Flat Taxes Distribution Chart for applicable fees. 
 
 

V. RENEWALS AND TRANSFERS OF CUSTOM VEHICLE OR STREET ROD LICENSE PLATES: 
 
Renewals and transfers may be processed through any local Tax Collector’s office or license plate 
agency.  Custom vehicle and street rod license plates can only be transferred to a motor vehicle that 
meets the qualifications of a custom vehicle or street rod. 
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https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83045.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83045.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/1%20Title%20&%20Lien%20Procedures/TL-36%20Total%20Loss%20Settlements%20Involving%20Insurance%20Companies.pdf
http://www3.flhsmv.gov/DMV/Proc/Fees/Fees-02.PDF
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VI. REPLACEMENT LICENSE PLATES: 
 

Applications for replacement license plates may be processed by the local tax collector’s office or 
county license plate agency. 
The following is required: 

 
A. Form HSMV 83146, Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal or 

Parking Permit, accurately completed. 
 

B. A copy of the vehicle registration certificate.  Refer to DMS Procedure RS-06 for additional 
information and fees. 

 
C. When the customer has reported the license plate or validation decal as stolen to a law 

enforcement agency and provides a police report prepared in response to a report of a 
stolen license plate or decal, such plate must be replaced at no charge. A law enforcement 
agency care, containing the case number for the stolen report of the license plate or decal, 
may be accepted in lieu of the report. Comments must be reflected in the FRVIS comment 
area to include the law enforcement agency name and the stolen report case number.  
 
If a license plate or decal is replaced using code “SP,” Stolen with a Police Report, a copy of 
the police report or law enforcement agency card containing the case number for the stolen 
report, must be attached to the required form HSMV 83146. 
 
If the customer does not provide the police report or law enforcement agency card 
containing the case number for the stolen report, fees are required along with HSMV 
83146.  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Historical Revisions: 
 
12/14/2012 - Added statutes and updated the definitions of custom vehicles and street rods. 
02/01/2008– Added branding information on page 1. Removed all fees and referred to fee chart on page 2. 
11/02/2007 – Revised insurance information on page 2. 
07/12/2007 – Revised Section 320.0863, Florida Statutes. Added section II, Definition on page 1. Modified section III to show 
general requirements of street rods. Added section IV to show general requirements of custom vehicles. Corrected the name of 
the form 83045. Added section V to show requirements of the Custom Vehicles. 
04/14/2003 – Updated fees and class code. 
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https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83146.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83146.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-06%20Replacement%20Registration%20Plate%20or%20Validation%20Decal.pdf

	RS-28
	STATE OF FLORIDA
	STATE OF FLORIDA



