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and Motor Vehicles 

Division of Motorist Services 
 PROCEDURE 
 

RS-07 

SUBJECT: 
 

NON-RESIDENT U.S. ARMED FORCES EXEMPTION 
DESCRIPTION AND USE: 

THIS PROCEDURE IS PROVIDED TO ASSIST TAX COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE 
PLATE AGENTS AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES 
IN PROVIDING INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE NONRESIDENT U.S. ARMED 
FORCES EXEMPTION. 

 
I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 

 
Section 320.10, Florida Statutes, provides an exemption from the registration tax imposed by section 
320.08, Florida Statutes, for any motor vehicle or mobile home owned by, and operated exclusively for 
the personal use of, any member of the U.S. Armed Forces who is not a resident of this state and who is 
stationed in the state while in compliance with military or naval orders. 
 
The U.S. Armed Forces member exemption in s.320.10, F.S., does not include motor vehicles or 
mobile homes owned exclusively by the spouse and/or dependent child. 

 
Section 320.072, Florida Statutes, provides an exemption from the Initial Registration fee for any 
nonresident U.S. Armed Forces member, their spouse or dependent child, who is not a resident of 
Florida. (see RS-30 for additional information). 
 

II. GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 

A. A nonresident U.S Armed Forces member may place children in the public schools of this 
state.  The spouse or any member of immediate family of a nonresident U.S. Armed Forces 
member may become employed. These actions do not make their motor vehicles subject to 
Florida registration.  Under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, the service member may 
display a current license plate from their home state, or from the state he or she is stationed in. 

B. When a nonresident U.S. Armed Forces member, whose motor vehicles currently are registered 
in his or her home state, is stationed in Florida and is shipped overseas from Florida and the 
member's immediate family remains in Florida, it is not necessary that the spouse register his/her 
motor vehicle(s) in Florida even though the spouse may be employed or place children in the 
public schools.  However, if the U.S. Armed Forces member returns from overseas to a state 
other than Florida, the motor vehicles must be registered in Florida if they are operated in this 
state. 

 
For the purposes of these procedures, the term "immediate family" means the spouse of any U.S. 
Armed Forces member and any natural, adoptive or step child of the member. 
 

C. Vehicles used for business purposes by a nonresident U.S. Armed Forces member stationed in 
Florida are not eligible for the exemption. 

 
 
 

Revision(s) to this procedure:  Changed military references to U.S. Armed Forces to match Florida Statute. 
EFFECTIVE DATE 

Immediately 
REVISION DATE 

1/7/19 
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http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.10.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.072.html
http://www3.flhsmv.gov/DMV/Proc/RS/RS-30.pdf
https://www.justice.gov/servicemembers/servicemembers-civil-relief-act-scra
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/8%20Technical%20Advisories/2019/RSTL19-001%20Changed%20Military%20to%20U.S.%20Armed%20Forces.pdf
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III. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS: 

 
The following must be submitted to the county tax collector or license plate agency: 

 
A. EXEMPTION ELIGIBILITY: 

 
A copy of the U.S. Armed Forces member's military orders (which shows their 
assignment to a Florida military duty station) and their out-of-state driver license.  

 
B. PROOF OF OWNERSHIP: 

 

The five branches that compose the U.S. Armed Forces include:   
1. Air Force 
2. Army 
3. Coast Guard 
4. Marines 
5. Navy 

 
Florida Statute only refers to the U.S. Armed Forces, therefore this procedure and 
its constraints and benefits do not apply to other uniformed services. 

 
The Federal Soldiers and Sailors Act allows a non-resident member of the U.S. Armed 
Forces to choose one of the following: 

 
1. Follow Procedures RS-04 for issuing a license plate on a registration only basis;  

 

or; 
 

2. Apply for a Florida title pursuant to provisions of Chapter 319, Florida Statutes. 
 

If a non-resident U.S. Armed Forces member purchases a motor vehicle out of the 
country and brings it to Florida with the out of country proof, (requesting a Florida 
"registration only"), they must first obtain a title for the motor vehicle in their home 
state.  However, the out-of-country proof would be acceptable, if the member is 
applying for a Florida Certificate of Title. 

 
C. FORM: 

 
Form HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/18 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit, 
accurately completed and signed by the service member. 

 
D. PROOF OF INSURANCE: 

 
Proof of Florida insurance is required.  Refer to Procedure RS-36 for additional insurance 
requirements. 
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http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/8%20Technical%20Advisories/2019/RSTL19-001%20Changed%20Military%20to%20U.S.%20Armed%20Forces.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-04%20Registration%20Only%20Registrations.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82002.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-36%20Insurance%20Verification.pdf
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IV. ISSUANCE OF LICENSE PLATES: 

 
A regular series license plate will be issued whether the nonresident member applies for a title or 
registers the vehicle on a registration only basis.  A specialty license plate may be issued at the 
applicant's request.  Mobile homes must be issued a regular mobile home validation sticker using 
class code 50. 

 
V. RENEWALS AND TRANSFERS OF NONRESIDENT MILITARY EXEMPTION PLATES: 
 

If an out-of-state lien exists, the “renewal notice” will be printed with the following 
message:  R/O NONRESIDENT MILITARY 

 
Renewals and transfers may be processed by the county license plate agency. 

 
The following is required: 

 
A. A copy of the current military orders verifying the applicant is assigned to a Florida 

military duty station. 
 

B. A copy of the applicant’s out-of-state driver license. 
 

VI. REPLACEMENT LICENSE PLATES: 
 

Applications for replacement license plates may be processed by the county license plate agency. 
 

The following is required: 
 

A. Form HSMV 83146, Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal or 
Parking Permit, accurately completed. 

 
B. A copy of the vehicle registration certificate. 

 
Refer to Procedure RS-06 for additional information and fees. 

 
 
Historical Revisions: 
 
4/30/18 - Reviewed statutes and added links 
2/1/08 - Removed fees and referred to fee chart on page 3. 
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https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83146.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-06%20Replacement%20Registration%20Plate%20or%20Validation%20Decal.pdf
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