
      Florida 
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and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 

 PROCEDURE 
 

RS-02 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

REGISTRATION (RENEWAL) PERIODS 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENTS, AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY 
SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES WITH UNDERSTANDING AND ENFORCING REGISTRATION 
(RENEWAL) PERIODS ASSOCIATED WITH VARIOUS TYPES OF MOTOR VEHICLES AND 
MOBILE HOMES OWNED BY PERSONS OR COMPANIES. 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Sections 320.01(19), 320.01(21) and 320.071, Florida Statutes, provide definitions for the 
"registration period," "renewal period," "advanced renewal period" and “extended registration 
period.” 

 

Sections 320.02(2)(a)2, Florida Statutes, provides that if a vehicle is registered to an active 
duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is a Florida resident, the active duty 
member is exempt from the requirement to provide the street address of a permanent residence.  

 

Section 320.07(1), Florida Statutes, provides for the expiration of the registration and renewal 
period “for a natural person, at midnight on the owner’s birthday.” 

 

Section 320.0601(4), Florida Statutes, states:  "Any registration or renewal as required under s. 
320.02 for an original or transfer of a long-term leased motor vehicle must be in the name and 
address of the lessee." 

 

Section 320.055(1)(a), Florida Statutes, establishes the registration and renewal periods for 
motor vehicles and mobile homes in Florida. 

 

Section 320.055(1)(b), Florida Statutes, allows for an extended registration period as defined in 
s. 320.01(19)(b). 
 

Section 320.055(1)(c), Florida Statutes, provides for a six-month vehicle registration for persons 
reinstating a driver’s license that has been suspended for driving under the influence. 
 

Section 320.95(2), Florida Statutes, authorizes the department to collect electronic mail 
addresses and use electronic mail in lieu of the United States Postal Service for the purpose of 
providing renewal notices. 

 

 

II. DEFINITIONS: 
 

A. "Registration Period" means a period of 12 or 24 months during which a motor vehicle or 
mobile home registration is valid. 

 

1. The registration period for annual registrations shall not exceed 15 months. 
 

2. The registration period for biennial registrations shall not exceed 27 months. 
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B. "Renewal Period" means the period during which renewal of a motor vehicle registration 
or a mobile home registration is required, as provided in s. 320.055, Florida Statutes. 
The renewal period for a natural person ends at midnight on the owner’s birthday. 

 
C. "Advance Renewal Period" means any time during the three months preceding the 

owner/registrant's birth month and extending to midnight on the owner’s birthday or the 
assigned registration period. 

 
D. “Extended registration period” means a period of 24 months during which a motor 

vehicle or mobile home registration is valid. 
 

There will be a 2-year cumulative total of all applicable license tax, service charges, 
surcharges and any additional fees required by law. 

 
E. “Short Term Rental Vehicle” is defined as a motor vehicle leased without a driver and 

under a written agreement to one or more persons for a period of less than twelve months, 
per section 319.14(1)(c)(2)(a) Florida Statutes.   

 
F. “Long Term Lease” is defined as a motor vehicle leased without a driver and under a 

written agreement to one or more persons for a period of twelve months or longer, per 
section 319.14(1)(c)(2)(b) Florida Statutes. 

 
III. REGISTRATION AND RENEWAL PERIODS: 

 
The following registration and renewal periods are established in Chapter 320, Florida Statutes: 

 
A. In Section 320.07, Florida Statutes, for motor vehicles owned by a natural person, the 

registration period begins at midnight on the owner's birthday and ends at midnight on 
the owner's birthday of the following year, unless another registration period is specified 
according to a specific type of motor vehicle or mobile home. 

 
If the vehicle is registered in the name of more than one person, the birthday of the 
person whose name appears first on the registration application shall be used to determine 
the registration period. 

 
The renewal period is the 30-day period prior to and ending at midnight on the vehicle 
owner’s date of birth.  The expiration date would be midnight of the birthday. 

 

. 
 

B. Mobile homes are subject to the registration period of January 1 through December 31.  
The renewal period is the 31-day period prior to the expiration.  The expiration date 
would be December 31. 

 

Refer to section 320.055(2), Florida Statutes. 
 

C. For motor vehicles owned by a company or entity other than a natural person or for a 
"short term rental vehicle," unless otherwise specified, the registration period begins June 
1 and ends May 31 of the following calendar year.  The renewal period is the 30-day 
period beginning June 1.  The expiration date would be June 30. 

 

Refer to section 320.055(4), Florida Statutes. 
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Any six-month registration period is available for "for-hire" motor vehicles by using 
"REG USE" of HH, upon payment of one-half the annual license tax plus an additional 
semiannual fee.  There will be no grace period for "for-hire" vehicles registered for any 
six-month period.  Refer to section 320.0705(3), Florida Statutes. 

 
D. An individual who has had his or her driver’s license suspended for driving under the 

influence must obtain a six-month registration as a condition of reinstating the license. 
 

The registration period begins the first day of the birth month of the owner and ends the 
last day of the fifth month immediately following the owner’s birth month. A validation 
sticker that displays an expiration date of six months after the date of issuance and a 
registration certificate valid for six months will be issued.  

 
Fees: One-half of the annual license tax will apply.  Other applicable fees, (including the 
service fee) will also be due. 

 
E. For heavy trucks weighing over 5,000 pounds, truck-tractors, semi-trailers, and nine or 

more passenger motor vehicles for hire (buses), the registration period begins December 
1 and ends November 30 of the following calendar year.  The renewal period is the 31-
day period beginning December 1.  The expiration date would be December 31. 

 
Refer to section 320.055(5), Florida Statutes. 

 
Semiannual registration is available for heavy trucks, truck tractors and buses, provided 
the amount of license tax due annually is more than $100 and the vehicle registration is 
not required to be apportioned under the International Registration Plan.  Payment of an 
additional semiannual registration fee is collected on semiannual registrations.  Tax class 
code 41 with "REG USE" of "HY" must be used for semiannual registration of heavy 
trucks and truck tractors.  Tax class code 36 with "REG USE" of "HY" must be used for 
semiannual registration of buses. 

 
Refer to section 320.0705, Florida Statutes. 

 
1. The first semiannual registration period begins December 1 and ends May 31 of 

the following calendar year.  There is no grace period for vehicles registered 
under the first semiannual period.  The expiration date would be May 31. 

 
2. The second semiannual registration period begins June 1 and ends November 30.  

However, the expiration date is December 31, since a grace period is allowed at 
the end of the annual registration period.  A new validation decal must be issued 
because registration tax and fees are being collected for additional tax months. 

 
F. For-hire automobiles that are rented or leased, which are not short-term rental/leased 

vehicles, must be registered in the name of the lessee.  Therefore, the registration periods 
would differ as follows: 
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1. NATURAL PERSON AS THE LESSEE/REGISTRANT: 
 

When a natural person is the lessee/registrant, the registration period begins at 
midnight on the birthday of the registrant and ends at midnight on the registrant’s 
birthday of the succeeding year.  If the vehicle is registered in the name of more 
than one person, the birthday of the person whose name appears first on the 
registration shall be used to determine the registration period.  The renewal period 
ends at midnight on the registrant’s date of birth.  The expiration date would be 
midnight of the birthday. 

 
 
See IV. Miscellaneous, section A, for information about delinquent fees for 
late registration. 

 
2. COMPANY AS THE LESSEE/REGISTRANT: 

 
When a company is the lessee/registrant with the appropriate "REG USE," the 
expiration is staggered based on the first alpha character of the company’s name.  
The registration period will begin the first day of the assigned registration month 
and end on the last day of the month immediately preceding the assigned 
registration month.  The renewal period will be during the assigned registration 
month; therefore, there is a grace period through the last day of the assigned 
registration month.  Exhibit A may be used to determine the expiration month.   
Refer to section 320.055(6), Florida Statutes. 

 
G. Dealer license plates are subject to the same registration and renewal period as the dealer-

licensing period.  A current motor vehicle or mobile home dealer license number or 
occupational license (for marine boat trailer dealers) is required for each registration 
period.  The renewal period is the last month of the license period.  The following are 
registration periods for dealers: 

 
1. All dealer license plates issued to a franchised dealer (motor vehicle or 

motorcycle) will use the registration period of January through December.  The 
expiration date will be December 31. 

 
2. All dealer license plates issued to an independent dealer (motor vehicle or 

motorcycle) will use the registration period of May through April.  The expiration 
date will be April 30. 

 
3. All dealer license plates issued to a recreational vehicle dealer will use the 

registration period of October through September.  The expiration date will be 
September 30. 

 
4. All dealer license plates purchased by a marine boat trailer dealer use the 

registration period of July through June.  The expiration date will be June 30. 
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H. TRANSPORTER LICENSE PLATES 

 
The registration period for "Transporter license plates" is January through December.  
The expiration date would be December 31. 

 
IV. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 

 
A. A delinquent registration fee may be applicable if an applicant fails to renew their 

registration by the 11th calendar day of the month succeeding the month in which the 
renewal registration was due.  Refer to Procedure RS-35 for an explanation of 
exemptions and to determine if a delinquent registration fee is applicable. 

 
B. The "Chart for Staggered Registration for "For-Hire" Automobiles By Company Name" 

is attached as Exhibit A. 
 

C. Biennial (extended) registrations can be processed on qualifying vehicles during an 
original registration or during any transaction where the registration is being renewed.  
All fees will be doubled except for the Initial Registration fee, back tax and mail fees.  
The following types of registrations are NOT allowed to have a biennial registration. 

 

• Registrations with a restricted plate. 
 

• Any registration where the National Guard Exemption is being used. 
 

• Registrations issued to out-of-state military in class codes 14 and 50. 
 

• Trucks in Class Code 41 unless the net weight is less than 8,000 pounds. 
 

• Semi-trailer registrations in class codes 56 and 103. 
 

• Transporters (class code 70). 
 

• Dealer Registrations (class codes 71, 74 and 101). 
 

• Registrations issued to government vehicles in class code 97. 
 
 
 
Historic Revisions: 
 
12/14/12  Added new statutes to procedure 
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EXHIBIT A 
 
 

CHART FOR STAGGERED REGISTRATION FOR 
"FOR-HIRE" AUTOMOBILES BY COMPANY NAME 

 
 
  1st Alpha Character      Expiration 
  of Company Name:     Date: 
 
 
  A       June 30 
 
  B, C       July 31 
 
  D, E       August 31 
 
  F       September 30 
 
  G       October 31 
 
  H, I, J       November 30 
 
  K. L       December 31 
 
  M, N       January 31 
 
  O, P, Q      February 29 
 
  R, S, T, U      March 31 
 
  V       April 30 
 
  W, X, Y, Z      May 31 
 
 

If the name of the company begins with numeric characters, the first alpha character in the name would 
determine the registration period. 

 
 Example:  123 Leasing would expire December 31. 
 
 If the company name is all numeric characters, FRVIS assigns an expiration date of June 30. 
 
 If the name of the company begins with "The," the first alpha character following "the" would be used to 

assign the registration period. 
 
 Example:  The Hertz Corporation, would expire November 30. 
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