
 
 

 
               

Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE: 
 

RS-01 
SUBJECT: 
 
OVERVIEW OF MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 

AND DOCUMENTS 
 

DESCRIPTION: 
 
This procedure provides information and instructions to guide employees and agents of the department in 
issuing and renewing license plates. 

 
PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

This procedure is governed by: 
 

Chapter 320, Florida Statutes, Motor Vehicle Licenses   

            Section 119.071(4)(d)1.2a(III)c, Florida Statutes, Public Records 
 

DOCUMENTATION AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

The procedures listed below are used in the transactions described in this procedure: 
 

Procedure RS-08 Public Records, Protection of Home Addresses for Specific Public Officials and Victims 
of Domestic Abuse 
Procedure RS-12 Government License Plates 
Procedure RS-13 Legislative and Press License Plates 
Procedure RS-14 Transporter License Plates 
Procedure RS-15 Military Service-Related License Plates 
Procedure RS-16 Paralyzed Veterans of America License Plates 
Procedure RS-17 Disabled Veteran License Plates & Wheelchair License Plates 
Procedure RS-19 Wheelchair Symbol (Suffix) License Plates 
Procedure RS-21 Amateur Radio License Plates 
Procedure RS-22 Specialty License Plates 
Procedure RS-23 Miccosukee and Seminole Indian Tribe License Plates 
Procedure RS-25 Horseless Carriage (Ancient), Antique (Regular and Permanent) and Authenticated 
License Plates 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Revision(s) to this procedure: Removed color rotation Blue (2017) and Orange (2018) for the registration 
periods on MH/Vessel/HOV decals. Added color rotation Orange for the registration period 2022. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:                                                                                                                    
Immediately 

REVISION DATE: 
08/14/19 

 
 
 
 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0320/0320ContentsIndex.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0100-0199/0119/Sections/0119.071.html
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-08%20Public%20Records,%20Protection%20of%20Home%20Addresses.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-12%20Government%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-13%20Legislative%20and%20Press%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-14%20Transporter%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-15%20Military%20Service%20Related%20License%20Plates%20and%20Military%20Exemptions.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-16%20Paralyzed%20Veterans%20of%20America%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-17%20%20Disabled%20Veteran%20License%20Plates%20and%20Wheelchair%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-19%20Wheelchair%20Symbol%20(Suffix)%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-21%20Amateur%20Radio%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-22%20Specialty%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-23%20Miccosukee%20and%20Seminole%20Indian%20Tribal%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-25%20Horseless%20Carriage%20(Ancient),%20Antique%20(Regular%20and%20Permanent)%20and%20Authenticated%20License%20Plates.pdf


 
STATE OF FLORIDA 

                                                             Division of Motorist Services 
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SUBJECT: 
OVERVIEW OF MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 
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Procedure RS-26 Dealer and Manufacturer License Plates 
Procedure RS-27 Personalized License Plates 
Procedure RS-28 Street Rod and Custom Vehicle License Plates 
Procedure RS-29 X-Series (Exempt) License Plates 
Procedure RS-32 Front End Emergency Service License Plates 
Procedure RS-36 Insurance Verification 
Procedure RS-38 Disabled Person Parking Permit Placards 
Procedure RS-40 Honorary Consul License Plates 
Procedure RS-46 Motor Vehicle Registration for Wreckers 
Procedure RS-68 Bicycle with a Gas Motor (Defined as a MOPED) 
 
FORMS: 
 

Form HSMV 83140 (License Plate Rate Chart) is used in the transactions described in this procedure. 
 
 
TABLE OF CONTENTS:    
 
General Information                                                                                                                     Page - 04 
 
Issuance of License Plates and Validation Decals                                                                       Page - 07 
 
Exhibit: 
 

       A.  How to Do an Inquiry on the Following License Plates                                                     
 
 

 
 

            RS-01-02 
  

 

http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-26%20Dealer%20and%20Manufacturer%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-27%20Personalized%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-28%20Custom%20Vehicle%20and%20Street%20Rod%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-29%20X-Series%20(Exempt)%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-32%20Front%20End%20Emergency%20Service%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-36%20%20Insurance%20Verification.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-38%20Disabled%20Person%20Parking%20Permit.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-40%20Honorary%20Consul%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-46%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Registration%20for%20Wreckers.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-68%20Bicycle%20with%20a%20Gas%20Motor%20(Defined%20as%20a%20MOPED).pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83140.pdf
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SUBJECT: 
OVERVIEW OF MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 
AND DOCUMENTS 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 
A. PROOF OF OWNERSHIP: 

 

The Florida Certificate of Title must be in the name of the customer applying for registration, or 
their application for a Florida Certificate of Title must be submitted with proper proof of 
ownership. 

 

B. NAME OF OWNER OR REGISTRANT: 
 

The complete first name, full middle/maiden name, and last name for each owner. 
If the application is in the name(s) of a natural person(s), the Florida driver license or 
Florida ID card number(s) should be shown for all owners.  If the customer is a business, the 
FEID number is required. 
 
Beginning Oct. 1, 2018, when performing a registration, customers will have an opportunity to 
voluntarily indicate if they are Deaf or Hard of Hearing. The customer must be present to 
voluntarily make the indication. This information will assist law enforcement in ensuring they 
use adequate and appropriate communications with deaf or hard of hearing motorists. If the 
customer responds “yes”, check the box that corresponds with the customer. If the transaction is 
voided, the indicator flag will have to be manually removed from the Customer Detail 
Maintenance Form (MTRFM010). 
 

C. ADDRESS OF OWNER OR REGISTRANT: 
 

1. RESIDENCE ADDRESS REQUIRED: 
 

Section 320.02(2)(a), Florida Statutes, requires the application for registration must include 
the street address of the owner’s (registrant's) permanent residence or the address of his or her 
permanent place of business and be accompanied by personal or business identification 
information. An individual customer must provide a valid driver license or identification card 
issued by this state or another state or a valid passport. A business customer may provide a 
federal employer identification number, if applicable, or verification that the business is 
authorized to conduct business in the state, or a Florida municipal or county business license 
or number. 

 

If the owner/registrant does not have a permanent residence or permanent place of business, or 
if the owner's permanent residence or permanent place of business cannot be identified by a 
street address, the application must include additional information. 

 

a. If the vehicle is registered to a business, the name and street address of the permanent 
residence of an owner of the business, an officer of the corporation, or an employee who is 
in a supervisory position. 

 

or, 
 

b. If the vehicle is registered to an individual, the name and street address of the permanent 
residence of a close relative or friend who is a resident of this state. 

                

If the vehicle is registered to an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United 
States who is a Florida resident, the active duty member is exempt from the requirement to 

        
 

 
 

  RS-01-03 
 
 
 
 

 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.02.html
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             2.   MAILING ADDRESS REQUIRED: 
 

If the owner/registrant has a mailing address that is different from the address of their 
permanent residence, the mailing address is required to be used for mailing purposes.  If a 
Florida resident is using a Post Office Box as a mailing address, the residential address 
must also be provided. This does not apply to an active duty member of the Armed Forces 
of the United States who is a Florida resident. 

 
3. ADDRESS CHANGE: 

 

The owner/registrant of any motor vehicle registered in the state shall notify the 
department in writing of any change of address within 30 days of such change.  The 
notification shall include the registration license plate number, vehicle identification 
number, or title certificate number, the year and make of the vehicle, and the owner's 
full name, including their driver license or FEID number. 

 

4.   EXEMPTIONS: 
 

Section 119.071, Florida Statutes, allows active and former judges, firefighters, law 
enforcement officers, and various others to exercise the exemption to use their home 
address. For additional information, refer to Procedure RS-08. 

 

Section 320.02(2)(a), Florida Statutes, allows an active duty member of the Armed 
Forces of the United States who is a Florida resident exemption from the requirement to 
provide the street address of a permanent residence. 

 

D. VEHICLE INFORMATION: 
 

A complete description of the motor vehicle including the make, year, model, body, color, 
weight, length, bhp/cc, GVW/loc, and identification number for vehicle makes manufactured 
in 1955 or later. Use the motor number for all vehicle makes manufactured through 1954. 

 

The person requesting registration declares the maximum gross vehicle weight for trucks (over 
5000 lbs.), truck-tractors and buses.  The length in feet for mobile homes. 
 
Fully autonomous vehicles (AVs) belonging to a fleet or being tested in a pilot program 
should be titled and registered in the company name with an FEID number. Government 
entities, such as state agencies, counties, cities and state universities utilizing AVs should 
title and register these vehicles in the same manner that they do their other vehicles.  These 
vehicles are to be processed in the same manner as any other similar, equal or comparable 
motor vehicle.  If the AV is a bus, process as a standard bus registration and title transaction 
with the correct corresponding Class Code (See RS-56 and TL-10). For a passenger vehicle, 
see RS-01 and for a motorcycle, see RS-61. 

 
 

 
 

  RS-01-04 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0100-0199/0119/Sections/0119.071.html
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-08%20Public%20Records,%20Protection%20of%20Home%20Addresses.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-08%20Public%20Records,%20Protection%20of%20Home%20Addresses.pdf
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=320.02&URL=0300-0399/0320/Sections/0320.02.html
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-56%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Registration%20for%20Buses.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/1%20Title%20&%20Lien%20Procedures/TL-10%20Original%20Certificate%20of%20Title%20Applications%20.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-01%20Overview%20of%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Registration%20Requirements%20and%20Documents.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-61%20Motorcycles,%20Mopeds,%20Autocycles,%20and%20Disability%20Access%20Vehicles.pdf
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E. OWNER/REGISTRANT'S SEX AND DATE OF BIRTH OR ANNUAL REGISTRATION 

PERIOD: 
 

1. The owner/registrant's sex must be identified as follows: 
 

a. "F" for female. 
 

b. "M" for male. 
 

2. The owner/registrant's date of birth must be identified in numeric characters using two digits 
each for the month, day and year as follows: 

 

a. An individual with a birth date of July 3, 1947, would be recorded as 07/03/47. 
 

b. An entity with the assigned annual registration expiration date of October 31, 2000, 
would be recorded as 10/31/00. 

 

 
F. PROOF OF INSURANCE: 

 

Proof of Florida insurance is required.  Refer to Procedure RS-36 for additional insurance 
requirements. 

 

1. Proof of insurance is not required on any self-propelled vehicle with less than four wheels, 
trailer, mobile home, motorcycle or government-owned vehicles. 

 

2. The use of a vehicle or the name in which it is registered has no effect on the insurance 
requirement. 

 

3. If an individual has a pending Financial Responsibility suspension, they must contact the 
nearest Driver License Examining Office or the Customer Service Center for instructions on 
how to clear the suspension. 

4. Registration must be refused if the owner does not submit proof of insurance or if proof cannot 
be obtained. 

 

5. Insurers shall furnish uniform proof-of-purchase cards in a paper or electronic format in a 
form prescribed by the department and shall include the name of the insured's insurance 
company, the coverage identification number, and the make, year, and vehicle identification 
number of the vehicle insured. 

 

 
 

RS-01-05 
 

http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-36%20%20Insurance%20Verification.pdf
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G. FIVE-DIGIT INSURANCE CODE: 

 

All acceptable forms of insurance verification should have the five-digit company code to 
accurately identify the company.  If that code is not shown, use the following steps to determine if 
the company is approved to do business in Florida: 

 

1. Enter the insurance company's name to find out if it is on the insurance table as an approved 
company. 

 

2. If the insurance company's name is not found in the insurance table, contact the insurance agent 
to get the code. The website link to check an insurance company through the Florida 
Department of Financial Services is: https://myfloridacfo.com/. 

 

A U.S. Armed Forces member and their spouse, who is a Florida resident stationed out of 
this state, and is the owner or co- owner of a vehicle, may be exempt from proof of Florida 
insurance. Refer to special requirements and instructions in Procedure RS-36.  

 

H. ASSIGNED IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: 
 

1. Individual 
 

a. Driver license number 
 

b. Identification card number 
 

c. Customer Number assigned by FRVIS  
 

2. Companies and entities other than a natural person 
 

a. Federal Employee Identification Number (FEID) and Suffix (if available) 
 

b. Customer number assigned by FRVIS  
 

If one of the above assigned identification numbers is not available, the customer must be 
created, and FRVIS will generate a customer number to be used for future transactions. 

 
 
ISSUANCE OF LICENSE PLATES AND VALIDATION DECALS: 

 

Motor vehicle registration documentation consists of a metal license plate, a Florida vehicle 
registration certificate, and a validation decal.  Certain permanent and special issue license plates do 
not require a validation decal to be affixed.  There are four categories of license plates: regular 
graphic, special, specialty, and personalized. 

 

When a license plate is issued, a regular validation decal is issued, and the license plate is displayed 
on the rear of the vehicle. However, when a license plate is issued for a truck tractor, the license 
plate is displayed on the front of the truck tractor.  For information on the issuance of wrecker license 
plates, see Procedure RS-46. 

 
 

RS-01-06 

https://myfloridacfo.com/
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-36%20%20Insurance%20Verification.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-46%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Registration%20for%20Wreckers.pdf
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A. ALPHA NUMERIC LICENSE PLATES: 
 

1. These license plates are issued on a passenger car, motor home, motor coach, trailer, 
heavy truck, truck tractor and bus whether privately owned, for-hire or motor vehicle 
dealer. 

 

License plates are issued or transferred interchangeably for certain types of vehicles and class 
codes. 

 

The expiration date is determined by class code and registration use code. 
 

2. DEALER LICENSE PLATES:  
 

License plates issued to a dealer for use on vehicles in their inventory are imprinted with 
"Dealer" at the bottom. These are not to be used on wreckers or car carriers. Refer to 
Procedure RS-26. 

 

The motorcycle dealer license plate does not have "Dealer" imprinted on the bottom. 
The expiration date is determined by the expiration date of the dealership's dealer license. 

 

3. RESTRICTED LICENSE PLATES:  
 

All vehicles that are issued a Restricted license plate have a restricted use, depending on the 
specific reason it was issued. See “Vehicle Class Combination” in FRVIS for a list of all 
restricted license plates. 

 

EXAMPLES: The restrictions for agriculture/horticulture are that the owner must be the 
grower, own the heavy truck or truck tractor and haul within a 150-mile 
radius of the vehicle’s home address. 

 

The restriction for a tool (crane, well driller, etc.) is that it may not carry a 
load or pull a trailer. 

 

4. PERMANENT SEMI-TRAILERS:  
 

Permanent license plates are issued for private or for-hire semi-trailers. The license plate is 
not transferable and does not expire. 

 

5. MOTORCYCLES:  
 

a. A motorcycle is motor driven, has a seat or saddle, and is a kick or electric start.  There 
are two categories: over 50 cubic centimeters displacement engine (over 5 BHP) and up 
to 50 cubic centimeters displacement engine (below 5 BHP). 
 

b. A moped has pedals to permit propulsion by human power, a seat or saddle, designed to 
travel on not more than 3 wheels, a motor not in excess of 2 BHP and not capable of 
propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 MPH on level ground.  It also has a 
power-drive system that functions directly or automatically without clutching or shifting 
gears by the operator after the drive system is engaged.  

 

   
 

RS-01-07 

 

http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-26%20Dealer%20and%20Manufacturer%20License%20Plates.pdf
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c. A motorized disability access vehicle is designed to be fueled by gasoline or electricity and 
used primarily for handicapped individuals with normal upper body abilities to drive their 
wheelchairs up into a motor vehicle.  It must travel on not more than 3 wheels with a motor 
rated not in excess of 2 BHP and not capable of propelling the vehicle at a speed greater 
than 30 MPH on level ground.  The power-driven system shall function directly or 
automatically without clutching or shifting gears by the operator after the drive system is 
engaged.  Body type is "DA". 

 

d.    Motorized Bicycle: The 1999 Legislature de-authorized the registration of motorized 
bicycles. A license plate is no longer issued. However, if the bicycle is motorized with a 
gas (not electric) motor, see Procedure RS-68 for registration requirements. 

 
 

B. SPECIAL LICENSE PLATES:  

 

1.  These are license plates where the customer must meet specific qualifications to obtain the 
license plate. 

 

Refer to the separate procedure when applicable for instructions on the application, issuance, 
transfer, replacement and renewal of each of these special category license plates. 

 

Amateur Radio: Procedure RS-21 
 

Procedure RS-21 
These may also be issued on specialty license plate sheeting if the number of characters does 
not exceed the number authorized for that type of specialty license plate. See Procedure RS-
22. 

 

Wheelchair Suffix Procedure RS-19 (Procedure RS-17, 
Procedure RS-16 and 
Procedure RS-38)  

Front End Emergency License Plates Procedure RS-32 
Honorary Consul                                                         Procedure RS-40 
Governor                                                                       Procedure RS-13 
House Speaker 
Member of Congress 
Member of the Press 
Retired Congress 
Retired House 
Retired Senate 
Senate President 
State Legislator 
State Senator 

  US Senator 
      Miccosukee Indian                                                                                                             Procedure RS-23 

                          Seminole Indian 
 

 

   
 

RS-01-08 
 

http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-68%20Bicycle%20with%20a%20Gas%20Motor%20(Defined%20as%20a%20MOPED).pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-21%20Amateur%20Radio%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-21%20Amateur%20Radio%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-22%20Specialty%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-22%20Specialty%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-19%20Wheelchair%20Symbol%20(Suffix)%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-17%20%20Disabled%20Veteran%20License%20Plates%20and%20Wheelchair%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-16%20Paralyzed%20Veterans%20of%20America%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-38%20Disabled%20Person%20Parking%20Permit.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-32%20Front%20End%20Emergency%20Service%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-32%20Front%20End%20Emergency%20Service%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-40%20Honorary%20Consul%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-13%20Legislative%20and%20Press%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-23%20Miccosukee%20and%20Seminole%20Indian%20Tribal%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-23%20Miccosukee%20and%20Seminole%20Indian%20Tribal%20License%20Plates.pdf
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Government                                                                Procedure RS-12 
City         
College  
County  
Sheriff 
State 
CY Motorcycle 
CO Motorcycle 
ST Motorcycle 
Florida Department of Law Enforcement 
Volunteer Fire Department 

 

AWI                                                                                  Agency for Work Force & Innovation 
ACS Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services 
DC Dept. of Corrections 
DDL Division of Driver Licenses 
DMV Division of Motor Vehicles 
DEP Dept. of Environmental Protection 
DNR (Formerly Dept. of Natural Resources) 
DOT Dept. of Transportation 
FHP Florida Highway Patrol 
FMP Florida Marine Patrol 
FWC Fish and Wildlife Commission (FWC 

Officer and MyFWC) 
LES                                                                         Dept. of Labor & Employment Security 
NBHD                                                                         North Broward Hospital District 
PSC Public Service Commission 
WMD Water Management District 
FDVA                                                                         Florida Dept. of Veterans Affairs 
                                                                                    Florida National Guard 
DFS                                                                         State Fire Marshall                       

X-Series                                                                      Procedure RS-29 
 

    Foreign Organization                                                           Taiwanese Officials of the Taipei 
Taiwanese Officials must submit their request to:                Economic and Cultural Office in Miami                                                     

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles          No fee required for title, registration, 
Title and Registration Issuance                                            or sales tax.                                           
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS-72                                                
Tallahassee, FL 32399 

 

2.  Vehicles must meet specific qualifications to obtain these license plates. 
 

Refer to the separate procedure for instructions on the application, issuance, transfer, 
replacement and renewal of each of these special category license plates. 

 

Horseless Carriage, Antique and Authenticated  Procedure RS-25 
 

Street Rod and Custom Vehicle             Procedure RS-28 
 

Custom Vehicle 
 

               
 

 
 

RS-01-09 

http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-12%20Government%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-29%20X-Series%20(Exempt)%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-25%20Horseless%20Carriage%20(Ancient),%20Antique%20(Regular%20and%20Permanent)%20and%20Authenticated%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-28%20Custom%20Vehicle%20and%20Street%20Rod%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://www3.flhsmv.gov/DMV/Proc/RS/RS-14.pdf
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OVERVIEW OF MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 
AND DOCUMENTS 

 
C. SPECIAL MILITARY AND DISABLED VETERAN LICENSE PLATES:  

 

The military customer or family member of the military customer or disabled veteran must meet specific 
qualifications to obtain the license plate. 

 

Refer to Procedure RS-15 for details on all military license plates.  Visit the following website to see a 
list of all special military and disabled veteran plates and view the Military License Plate Images. 

 

D. PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATES:  
 

Refer to Procedure RS-27 for details on all personalized license plates. 
 

 SPECIALTY LICENSE PLATES:  
 

Refer to Procedure RS-22 for details on all specialty license plates.  Visit the following website to view 
Florida’s Specialty License Plate Images, which include environmental, professional sports, 
universities and miscellaneous plates. 

 

F. STANDARD, SPECIALTY, MILITARY, AUTHENTICATED, COMMERCIAL VEHICLE, 
FRONT END FOR EMERGENCY PERSONNEL, GOVERNMENTAL, HISTORICAL VEHICLE, 
DIPLOMATIC/LEGISLATIVE, MISCELLANEOUS, MOTORCYCLE, DECALS AND PERMITS:  

 

View the online brochure at the following link to see all Florida License Plates, Decals, Permits, etc. 
 

G. VALIDATION DECALS:  
 

The validation decal is affixed to the upper right corner of the license plate in the indention provided. 
This decal indicates the month and year of expiration, the sequential decal number, the license plate 
number, and type of vehicle (vehicle, trailer, mobile home, or vessel) which indicates payment of 
registration taxes paid for that period. 

 

H. MAILING FEES: 
 

Refer to form HSMV 83140 License Plate Rate Chart, for applicable mailing fees. 
 

I. INVENTORY CODES (See Exhibit A): 
 

Each type of license plate has an inventory code.  All inventory codes, which end with the letter "R", 
indicate regular license plates. All inventory codes, which end with the letter "P", indicate personalized 
license plates. All inventory codes, which end with the letter "A", indicate Amateur Radio license 
plates. 

 

J. CLASS CODES: 
 

Passenger vehicles class code 01 
For-Hire vehicles class code 09 
Non-resident military class code 14 
Light weight trucks (under 5,001 pounds) class code 31 
Buses                                                                                                 class code 36 
License tax exempt                                                                         class code 37 
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http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-15%20Military%20Service%20Related%20License%20Plates%20and%20Military%20Exemptions.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/specialtyplates/military_brochure.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/specialtyplates/military_brochure.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-27%20Personalized%20License%20Plates.pdf
http://hsmvpartnernet.flhsmv.gov/MV%20Security%20Documents/2%20Registration%20Procedures/RS-22%20Specialty%20License%20Plates.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/motor-vehicles-tags-titles/personalized-specialty-license-plates/specialty-license-plates/
https://www3.flhsmv.gov/tagbrochure/tagbrochure.pdf
https://www3.flhsmv.gov/tagbrochure/tagbrochure.pdf
https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/83140.pdf
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Forestry trucks class code 39 
Heavy trucks (over 5,000 pounds) class code 41 
Motor homes and Motor coach class code 42 
Non-resident military mobile home class code 50 
Mobile homes class code 51 
Vehicle trailer (up to 500 pounds) class code 52 
Vehicle trailers (over 500 pounds) class code 53 
For-Hire vehicle trailers class code 54 
Semi-trailer class code 56 
Camp trailer class code 62 
Motorcycles class code 65 
Moped class code 69 
Transporter                                                                                     class code 70 
Dealer class code 71 
Boat Dealer class code 74 
Park trailer class code 76 
Travel trailer (up to 35 feet) class code 77 
Travel trailer (over 35 feet) class code 78 
Antique Motorcycle class code 80 
Horseless Carriage class code 82 
Antique Truck/Military Trailer class code 91 
Restricted class code 92 
Goats class code 93 
Tools                                                                                                 class code 94 
Antique vehicles class code 95 
Exempt (X-Series) class code 96 
Exempt (government) class code 97 
Vessels class code 100 
Vessel Dealer class code 101 
Agricultural class code 102 
Permanent Semi-trailer                                                                    class code 103 

 

OHV decals are green, and RP decals are black.  There is no color rotation. 
 

There is a color rotation for the registration period on Mobile Home/Vessel and HOV decals. 
 

                            
                                 2019                                                                      Green 
                                  2020                                                                       Red 
                                  2021                                                                       Blue 

                                                            2022                                                                      Orange 
  
Historical Revisions: 
10/01/18 Changed Federal Employer ID number from “must” to “may” be required. 
10/1/18 Added information about asking customers if they are deaf or hard of hearing. Added information about    driverless 
autonomous vehicles. 
04/10/18 Reviewed statutes, added links.  Added links to related procedures.  Added Historical Revisions. 
06/16/16 Changed the number of days the owner/registrant of any motor vehicle registered in Florida has to notify the department 
in writing of any change of address from 20 to 30 days on page 5, removed license plate exhibit, and provided links for specialty, 
disabled veteran, military and other miscellaneous license plate images, decals, etc. 
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 EXHIBIT A 

 
HOW TO DO AN INQUIRY ON THE FOLLOWING LICENSE PLATES; 

 
Type of License Plate    When All Numeric   When Alpha/Numeric 
 
Antique      ANTI####    BA0000 – BZ9999 
Antique Motorcycle     Q#####    000QA – 999RZ 
College      COLLEG####    IA00 – LZ99 
County       COUNT##### or COUN###### TA0000 – UZ9999 
County Motorcycle     CO####    F00000 – G99999 
City       CITY#####    XA0000 – ZZ9999 
City Motorcycle     CY####    J00000 – K99999 
Disabled Veteran     DV#####    DV0000A – DV9999Z 
Disabled Veteran Motorcycle    ####DV    0000DV – 9999DV 
Disabled Veteran Wheelchair    WC####    AAA0 – NZZ9 
EX-POW      EX#####    PAA0 - ZZZ9 
Foreign Organization     FGNORG###    A00 – E99 
Honorary Consul     HCON####    AA0 – ZZ9 
Horseless Carriage     HC####    FA000 – FZ999 
Horseless Carriage Motorcycle   HC###A    HCA00 – HCZ99 
Medal of Honor     MEDAL#####   F00 – K99 
National Guard     NG####    A00A – L99Z 
Paralyzed Veterans of America   PVAM######    U00A – Z99Z 
Paralyzed Veterans of America Motorcycle  PVA######    A0 – Z9 
Pearl Harbor Survivor     PEARL#####    A000 – L999 
Purple Heart      HEART#####    QA0AA – QZ9ZZ 
State       STATE#####    YA000 – ZZ999 
State Motorcycle     ST####    SA0A – SZ9Z 
Sheriff       SHERF#####    ZAA00 – ZZZ99 
Street Rod      SR#####    Z0000 – Z9999 
US Reserve      US#####    UA000 – UZ999 
Volunteer Fire      VOLFIR####    AA00 – HZ99 
Wheelchair Symbol Suffix    ####WT or #####WT   Y0AAA – Z9ZZZ 
Motorcycle Symbol Suffix    0001WC – 9999WC   WA0A – ZZ9Z 
X-Series      X#####    X0000A – X9999Z 
 
Legislative/Personalized:   Enter Characters Below Plus Actual Alpha/Numeric 
      Characters On License Plate 
Member of Congress  MC 
State Legislator    SLEG 
State Senator     SSEN 
US Senator     USS 
 
Miscellaneous Plates    Prefix     When Alpha/Numeric 
Seminole Indian Tribe   SI####     SI000G – SI999G 
Miccosukee Indian Tribe   MI####    MI0001 – MI999G 
Member of PRESS    PRES###    PRES### - PRES#### 
PRIDE      PRIDE#####    PRIDE0001 – PRIDE9999 
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