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TL-52 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

MARK TITLE SOLD 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES FOR PROCESSING A NOTICE OF SALE FOR A 
MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME, OR VESSEL. 

 
I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 

 

Section 319.22 (2) (b), Florida Statutes, requires an owner or co-owner who has transferred or 
sold a motor vehicle and has delivered the motor vehicle to a purchaser, to notify the department 
within 30 days after the sale or transfer using the form prescribed by the department.  Notice by 
such owner or co-owner shall satisfy the notice requirement for limitation of liability.   

 

NOTE:  The above requirement does not apply when a vehicle is traded in or sold to a licensed 
motor vehicle dealer or when an insurance company takes possession of the motor 
vehicle due to a policy of insurance.   

 

Section 319.23(6), Florida Statutes, requires a licensed dealer that acquires a motor vehicle or 
mobile home by trade-in to file with the department within 30 days by submitting a notice of sale 
signed by the seller.   

 

Section 328.01(3) (d), Florida Statutes, provides that an owner or co-owner who has transferred 
or sold a vessel and has delivered the vessel to a purchaser along with a properly endorsed title or 
has submitted a notice prescribed by the department, shall not be considered the owner or co-
owner and not be subject to civil liability for the operation of such vessel. 

 

II. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

In some instances, the owner/seller may not accompany the buyer/purchaser to perfect the 
transfer of a title; therefore, the title transfer may not be completed in a timely manner. 

 

A. The instructions listed below should be followed in order to mark a title record as sold: 
 

The seller/owner must submit an accurately completed form HSMV 82050, Notice of 
Sale of Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel, or the completed form labeled “Notice of 
Sale of Motor vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel” located on the top section (back) of the 
certificate of title, to the tax collector’s office or license plate agency. 

 
 

 

Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Added item G under Section III, which requires the clerk to enter a non-ELT 
exception reason when marking a paper title sold for a non-ELT lienholder.  
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2. When a motor vehicle or mobile home is traded in to a licensed dealership, the 

dealership must submit a notice of sale signed by the seller to the department 
within 30 days by completing section 7 on form HSMV 82040, Application for 
Certificate of Title with/without Registration (Rev. 06/05 or later).  The DMV 
database must be updated to reflect “SOLD” for the motor vehicle traded in when 
the customer’s paperwork is submitted to the tax collector’s office.  The title clerk 
processing the transaction will need to verify that the name(s) on FRVIS and the 
name(s) on the form HSMV 82040 (Rev.06/05 or later) are the same.  If the motor 
vehicle traded in has already been transferred to a new owner, the title clerk 
should not mark the database as sold. 

 

NOTE:  The above information applies when the motor vehicle is traded in to a licensed 
dealership.  However, if the sale is casual or private, the seller should complete form 
HSMV 82050, Notice of Sale of Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel or the 
completed form labeled “Notice of Sale of Motor vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel” 
located on the top section (back) of the certificate of title. 

 
3. When the title clerk processes the transaction, the DMV database will update to 

reflect “SOLD.”  The name of the purchaser/dealer and the actual date of sale 
must be entered in the “Comment Desc” Field.  The actual date of sale may differ 
from the date of the transaction.  If the exact date of the sale is unknown, enter as 
much of the date as you have, such as:  07/03 or 2003.  The seller’s name will 
remain on the DMV database until the certificate of title is submitted for transfer. 

 

NOTE:  The title clerk must physically view the completed and signed form HSMV 82050 or 
the completed and signed top section (back) of the certificate of title.  However, the 
Department does not retain this form.  It is the customer’s responsibility to retain the 
form for their records. 

 

B. If the purchaser loses the title and FRVIS reflects “SOLD,” the seller must apply for a 
duplicate by submitting the following to the tax collector’s office: 

 

1. Form HSMV 82101 accurately completed by the seller. 
 

2. After the duplicate is issued, if the new purchaser is not ready to process the 
transfer of title transaction, the title clerk will need to update FRVIS to reflect the 
previous status of “SOLD.” 

 

III. MISCELLANEOUS: 
 

A. FRVIS will prompt the “SOLD” status on all transactions after the “Mark Title Sold” 
transaction has been successfully performed. 

 

B. Registration information (for a motor vehicle or mobile home) associated with the title 
record will be detached.  This will allow the system to issue a temporary license plate, if 
applicable. 
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C. When a purchaser of a motor vehicle or mobile home (casual or private sale) is waiting 
for the previous owner’s lienholder to release the certificate of title, the, purchaser must 
submit the following to the license plate agency in order for them to “Mark Title Sold” 
and issue a temporary license plate, since the lien is not being satisfied at this time: 

 

1. A letter of verification (signed by the previous owner’s lienholder) stating the 
loan has been paid and it will be several weeks before the title (with the lien 
satisfaction) is mailed to the customer. 

 

OR, 
 

2. A letter of verification (signed by the purchaser’s lienholder) stating they have 
paid off the loan (against the previous owner) and it will be several weeks before 
the previous owner’s lienholder releases the title (with the lien satisfaction) to 
them for their customer. 

 

AND 
 

An accurately completed form HSMV 82050, Notice of Sale of Motor Vehicle, 
Mobile Home or Vessel. 

 

NOTE:  This process does not apply to vessels. 
 

D. Use the date shown in the “Transfer of Title by Seller” section on the title to determine if 
a penalty fee is due.  If there is no date on the title, use the title status date of the “Mark 
Title Sold” transaction.  However, if the “Mark Title Sold” transaction has a date in the 
“Comment Desc” field, use that date instead. 

 

E. If a certificate of title is submitted for transfer and the name of the purchaser/dealer 
entered in the “Transfer of Title by Seller” section has been lined through or altered and 
the system reflects “SOLD,” refer to TL-11, section III. 

 

F. If the “Mark Title Sold” transaction was done in error and a purchaser/dealer did not take 
possession of the motor vehicle or vessel, submit an affidavit from the seller stating that 
fact.  The sold flag may be removed in a “Title Correction” transaction.  A certificate of 
title should not be printed. 

 

G. Every unsatisfied non-ELT lien, no matter when it was placed, requires a non-ELT 
exception reason.  This was not in effect when many of these liens were initially 
placed.  Therefore, the non-ELT exception reason MUST be added during the first 
title transaction on that vehicle after 2/9/2013.   

 

When a clerk marks a title sold on a paper title showing a non-ELT lienholder, the 
clerk MUST select an exception reason.  All clerks should choose exception 10, lien 
received prior to 2/9/13.  The exception reason is added to the lien not the lienholder 
and is shown on the SOLD transaction in history.  
 

NOTE:  These transactions will show up on the non-ELT Liens Report. 
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