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SUBJECT: 

 APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OF CERTIFICATE OF  
 TITLE INVOLVING FORECLOSURE PROCEEDINGS 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE:   
 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES IN IMPLEMENTING TITLING REQUIREMENTS 
FOR MOBILE HOMES INVOLVED IN FORECLOSURE. 

 

 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
   
 Section 702.09, Florida Statutes, provides that for the purposes of ss. 702.07 and 702.08, Florida 

Statutes, the words "decree of foreclosure" shall include a judgment or order rendered or passed 
in the foreclosure proceedings in which the decree of foreclosure shall be rescinded, vacated, and 
set aside; the word "mortgage" shall mean any written instrument securing the payment of 
money or advances; the word "debt" shall include promissory notes, bonds, and all other written 
obligations given for the payment of money; the words "foreclosure proceedings" shall embrace 
every action in the circuit courts of this state wherein it is sought to foreclose a mortgage and sell 
the property covered by the same; and the word "property" shall mean and include both real and 
personal property. 

  
 Section 45.031, Florida Statutes, provides for any sale of real or personal property under an order 

or judgment, the following procedure may be followed as an alternative to any other sale 
procedure if so ordered by the court. 

 

 In the order or final judgement, the court shall direct the Clerk of the Court to sell the property at 
public sale on a specified day that shall be not less than 20 days or more than 35 days after the 
date thereof, on terms and conditions specified in the order or judgement.  A Notice of Sale shall 
be published once a week for 2 consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation, as 
defined in Chapter 50, in the county where the sale is to be held.  The second publication shall be 
at least 5 days before the sale.  The notice shall contain a description of the property to be sold, 
the time and place of the sale, a statement that the sale will be made pursuant to the order or final 
judgement, the caption of the action and the name of the clerk making the sale.  After the sale of 
the property to the highest bidder, the clerk shall file a certificate of sale.  If no objections to the 
sale are filed within 10 days after filing the certificate of sale, the clerk shall file and record the 
"Certificate of Title."  The "CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" issued by the Clerk of the Court looks 
like a court order, has a description of the mobile home and land and states who the property was 
sold to (See Exhibit B). 

 
 
 

 

  Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Replaced the term “certified” with “photocopy” of a certificate of title and 
revised Exhibit B.  
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SUBJECT: 

 APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OF CERTIFICATE OF  
 TITLE INVOLVING FORECLOSURE PROCEEDINGS 
 

 
II. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 

 
After the "CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" has been issued by the Clerk of the Court pursuant to s. 
45.031, Florida Statutes, the following documents must be submitted to the tax collector's office 
to be screened for completeness and accuracy: 

 
When the mobile home is titled in Florida with a Florida or out-of-state lien or there is NO 
Florida title record: 

   
A. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Vehicle 

Registration, or HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or 
Registration, accurately completed by the applicant. 

   
B. A photocopy of the "CERTIFICATE OF TITLE", issued by the Clerk of the Court, 

 showing a complete description of the mobile home, including the year, make & 
 identification number and the filing/recording information (book/page, etc.). 
 

NOTE:  A lien satisfaction is not required for any recorded lien(s). 
 

C. Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax information on an accurately completed form 
HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration or form 
HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

   
D. The mobile home decal number purchased for or the RP Decal transferred to or 

purchased for the mobile home.  A non-use affidavit is not acceptable for mobile homes. 
   
 E. Title fees. 
   
 III. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 
   
 A. The court order for foreclosure should have the heading "Certificate of Title". 
   
 B. A foreclosure is a judicial procedure (court order) and a repossession is a non-judicial 

procedure (not a court order). 
 
  C.  A checklist is attached to this procedure as Exhibit A. 
 
 D. A sample of a judicial court order "Certificate of Title" is attached to this procedure as 

Exhibit B. 
   
 E. See Forms Appendix for a sample of the HSMV forms referred to in this procedure. 
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EXHIBIT A 
 

CHECK LIST FOR FORECLOSURE 
   
   
   
 
Florida Record or NO Florida Record: 
   
_________ HSMV 82040 or HSMV 82041 
   
_________ A photocopy of the "CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" issued by the Clerk of the Court. 
 

NOTE:  A lien satisfaction is not required for any recorded lien(s). 
 
  _________ Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV 82040 or HSMV  
  82041. 
   
_________ A mobile home decal or RP decal. 
   
_________ Title fees. 
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EXHIBIT B 
 

JUDICIAL COURT ORDER SAMPLE 
 

(FORECLOSURE PROCEEDINGS) 
 

Do Re Mi Mortgage Corporation 
Plantiff, 
 
vs.   Case No. 10-AU-022419 
   Division A 
 
Joseph Haines; 
Defendent 

"CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" 
 
 

The undersigned clerk of the court certifies that he or she executed and filed a certificate of sale in this action on  
July 12, 2010, for the property described herein and that no objections to the sale have been filed within the 
time allowed for filing objections. 
 
The following property in Leon County, Florida: 
 
LOT 5, BLOCK A, LEGAL PARK FIRST ADDITION, ACCORDING TO THE PLAT THEREOF AS 
RECORDED IN PLAT BOOK Y, PAGE 31, PUBLIC RECORDS OF LEON COUNTY FLORIDA; 
 
TOGETHER WITH A CERTAIN MOBILE HOME LOCATED THEREON, SERIAL NUMBER 
FHFL234A77411FE21 & FHFL234b77411FE21: 
 
A/K/A 111 CUPID AVENUE, TALLAHASSEE, FL 32311 
 
was sold to:  Do Re Mi Mortgage Corporation, whose address is: 1941 Mundane St., Tallahassee, FL, 32311. 
 
 
WITNESS my hand and the seal of the court on August 3, 2010, as Clerk of the Circuit Court. 
 
 

 
(Clerk of the Circuit Court) 

 
 

By (Deputy Clerk) 
 

 
INSTR  #  2010122669 
Book 08191, PG 1821, PG(s) 1 
Recorded 09/03/10, 08:11:36 AM 
John Doe, Clerk of Court 
Leon County 
Recorded by G Newman 
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