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and Motor Vehicles 
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 PROCEDURE 

 
TL-29 

 

SUBJECT: 
 

TRANSFER OF A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR LOST OR ABANDONED PROPERTY 
OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 

 

DESCRIPTION AND USE:   
 

 THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES IN TRANSFERRING OF A CERTIFICATE OF 
TITLE INVOLVING LOST OR ABANDONED PROPERTY OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE BY A LAW 
ENFORCEMENT AGENCY. 

 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

 Section 705.103, Florida Statutes, provides a procedure for law enforcement agencies 
regarding abandoned or lost property.  When a law enforcement officer ascertains that an 
article of lost or abandoned property is present on public property and cannot be easily 
removed, the officer shall place a notice on the vehicle and mail a copy of the notice to the 
owner on or before the date of posting.  If, at the end of 5 days after posting the notice and 
mailing a copy to the owner and lienholder (if applicable), the owner or person interested 
in the lost or abandoned property has not removed the property from public property or 
shown reasonable cause for failure to do so, the following shall apply: 

 

For abandoned property, the law enforcement agency may retain any or all of the property 
for its own use or for use by the state or unit of local government, trade such property to 
another unit of local government or state agency, donate the property to a charitable 
organization, sell the property, or notify the appropriate refuse removal service. 
For lost property, the officer shall take custody and the agency shall retain custody of the 
property for 90 days.  The agency shall publish notice of the intended disposition of the 
property, as provided in this section, during the first 45 days of this time period.  The law 
enforcement agency may retain the property for use by the unit of government, trade such 
property to another unit of local government or state agency, donate the property to a 
charitable organization, surrender the property to the finder, or sell the property. 

 

 Section 705.105, Florida Statutes, provides a procedure for law enforcement agencies 
regarding unclaimed evidence.  The agency may elect to: 

 

 retain the property for an agency's own use 
 transfer the property to another unit of state or local government 
 donate the property to a charitable organization 
 sell the property at public sale, pursuant to the provisions of s. 705.103   

 or, 
 

 if the property is not of appreciable value, the agency may elect to destroy it. 
      

  Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Revised and clarified the entire procedure. 
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Section 50.011, Florida Statutes, provides that a newspaper which is printed and published 
periodically once a week (or more often) is considered to be in general circulation. 

 

Section 50.031, Florida Statutes, provides that a newspaper of "general circulation" is a 
newspaper (business) that (at the time of publication) has been in existence for at least one 
(1) year. 

 
 II. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
   
 A. If the law enforcement agency elects to SELL AT PUBLIC SALE, a motor vehicle 

or mobile home, as LOST PROPERTY OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE, the 
applicant must submit the following documentation to the tax collector’s office: 

   
 1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida: 
   

a. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of 
Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant. 

 

b. A copy of the notice (which was physically posted/placed on the vehicle 
by the law enforcement officer), that was mailed certified, return 
receipt requested, to the owner and lienholder (if applicable), on or 
before the date of posting.  The original or certified copy of the post 
office return receipt card for the certified mail, or the returned, 
unclaimed, unopened, certified letter, must also be submitted. 

 

 The notice physically placed on the vehicle and mailed to the owner 
and all persons interested in the motor vehicle or mobile home should 
be in substantially the following form or contain this same 
information: 

 

NOTICE TO THE OWNER AND ALL PERSONS INTERESTED IN 
THE ATTACHED PROPERTY. 
 

This Property, to wit: (setting forth brief description) is unlawfully 
upon public property known as (setting forth brief description of 
location) and must be removed within 5 days; otherwise, it will be 
removed and disposed of pursuant to Chapter 705, Florida Statutes.  
The owner will be liable for the costs of removal, storage and 
publication of notice. 
 

Dated this:  setting forth the date of posting of notice 
 

Signed:  (setting forth name, title, address and telephone number of 
law enforcement officer). 
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 c. A copy of the newspaper advertisement showing the name of the 

newspaper and the date the advertisement was published.  The 
advertisement must include a complete description of the motor vehicle or 
mobile home including the make, year, and vehicle identification number, 
date, time and location of the sale and state that the sale shall be 
subject to any and all liens. 

   

 NOTE:  The advertisement must be published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the county where the sale is to be held.  The sale 
must be held at the nearest suitable place where the lost property is held or stored.  
If there is no newspaper of general circulation in the county where the sale is to be held, 
the advertisement shall be posted at the door of the courthouse and at three other public 
places in the county at least 10 days prior to the sale.  Notice of the agency's intended 
disposition shall describe the property in a manner reasonably adequate to permit the 
rightful owner of the property to identify it. 

 
d. A bill of sale on original letterhead stationery from the law 

enforcement agency to the purchaser, which provides a complete 
description of the motor vehicle or mobile home including the make, 
year and vehicle identification number and states the sale is subject to 
any and all liens. 

 

 e. Lien satisfaction(s), for any lien(s), as shown on the motor vehicle records 
of this or any other state, if applicable. 

   
f. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax information on an accurately 

completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 
with/without Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 

 g. The Florida license plate transferred to or purchased for the motor vehicle, 
or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased for or 
the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A non-use 
affidavit is not acceptable for mobile homes. 

 

 h. Title fees. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
PAGE # 

TL-29-03 
 

REVISION DATE 

01/12/04 
 

 



STATE OF FLORIDA 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE # 

 
TL-29 

 

SUBJECT: 
 

TRANSFER OF A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR LOST OR ABANDONED PROPERTY 
OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 

 
 

 2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled out of state: 
   

a. A form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 
Verification, accurately completed by the applicant(s) with the vehicle 
identification number verified by one of the four officials shown on the 
lower portion of the form. 

 

Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 
 

Verification is not required on any mobile home; any trailer or semi-trailer 
with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel trailer, camping 
trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 

 

 b. Verification of title and lien status issued by the Motor Vehicle Division  
in the state where the motor vehicle or mobile home was last registered.  
The verification must contain a description of the motor vehicle or mobile 
home including year, make and vehicle identification number.  
Verification may be one of the following: 

   
 1. A computer generated printout from the out-of-state motor vehicle 

division. 
   
 2. A letter on letterhead stationery from the out-of-state motor vehicle 

division. 
   
 3. A photocopy of the current out-of-state certificate of title. 
 

 4. A copy of the teletype printout or a statement which shows the 
ownership information, lien status and the name of the law 
enforcement agency who provided the verification information.

 

 c. When the state where the motor vehicle or mobile home was previously 
registered is unknown, submit a notarized or perjury clause affidavit 
signed by an authorized representative of the law enforcement agency 
stating that fact. 

 
 d. All items listed in Section II, A, 1, a-h. 
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B.  If the law enforcement agency elects to RETAIN, DONATE, SURRENDER TO 

 THE FINDER OR TRADE a motor vehicle as LOST PROPERTY, the applicant or 
 agency must submit the following documentation to the tax collector’s office: 

 
 1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida: 
   

a. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
  Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of  
  Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant or an 
  authorized representative of the law enforcement agency applying for  
  title. 

 
b. A copy of the notice (which was physically posted/placed on the 
 vehicle by the law enforcement officer), that was mailed certified, 
 return receipt requested, to the owner and lienholder (if applicable), 
 on or before  the date of posting.  The original or certified copy of the 
 post office return receipt card for the certified mail, or the returned, 
 unclaimed, unopened, certified letter, must also be submitted. 

 

 The notice physically placed on the vehicle and mailed to the owner 
and all persons interested in the motor vehicle or mobile home should 
be in substantially the following form or contain this same 
information: 

 
NOTICE TO THE OWNER AND ALL PERSONS 
INTERESTED IN THE ATTACHED PROPERTY. 
 

This Property, to wit: (setting forth brief description) is unlawfully 
upon public property known as (setting forth brief description of 
location) and must be removed within 5 days; otherwise, it will be 
removed and disposed of pursuant to Chapter 705, Florida 
Statutes.  The owner will be liable for the costs of removal, 
storage and publication of notice. 
 
Dated this:  setting forth the date of posting of notice 
 

Signed:  (setting forth name, title, address and telephone number of 
law enforcement officer). 
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 c. If the value of the motor vehicle or mobile home is over $100, a copy 
of the newspaper advertisement showing the name of the newspaper 
and the date the advertisement was published.  The advertisement 
must include a complete description of the motor vehicle or mobile 
home including the make, year, and vehicle identification number and 
state the choice of the law enforcement agency (whether they wish to 
retain, donate, surrender or trade). 

   
 NOTE:  The advertisement must be published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a 

newspaper of general circulation in the county where the property was found. 
 

    OR 
 

  If the value of the motor vehicle or mobile home is $100 or less, notice 
must be given by posting a description of the property at the law 
enforcement agency where the property was turned in.  The notice 
must be posted for two consecutive weeks in a public place designated 
by the law enforcement agency.  The notice must describe the 
property in a manner reasonably adequate to permit the rightful 
owner of the property to claim it. 

 

d. If applicable, a statement on original letterhead stationery from the 
law enforcement agency to the applicant, which provides a complete 
description of the motor vehicle or mobile home including the make, 
year and vehicle identification number; specifies that the vehicle is 
being surrendered, traded to another unit of local government or state 
agency, or donated to the applicant and is subject to any and all liens. 

 

 e. Lien satisfaction(s), for any lien(s), as shown on the motor vehicle 
records of this or any other state, if applicable. 

   

f.  Florida sales tax or specify sales tax information on an accurately 
 completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 
 with/without Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
 Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 

NOTE:  If the agency is applying for title, they should show "Retaining pursuant to  
s. 705.103, Florida Statutes," in the sales tax area on the form HSMV 82040 or 
82041. 

 

 g. The Florida license plate transferred to or purchased for the motor 
vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number 
purchased for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the 
mobile home.  A non-use affidavit is not acceptable for mobile homes. 

 

 h. Title fees. 
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 2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled out of state: 
   

a. A form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 
Verification, accurately completed by the applicant(s) with the vehicle 
identification number verified by one of the four officials shown on 
the lower portion of the form. 

 

Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 
 

Verification is not required on any mobile home; any trailer or semi-
trailer with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel 
trailer, camping trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation 
trailer. 

 

 b. Verification of title and lien status issued by the Motor Vehicle 
Division in the state where the motor vehicle or mobile home was last 
registered.  The verification must contain a description of the motor 
vehicle or mobile home including year, make and vehicle 
identification number.  Verification may be one of the following: 

 

 1. A computer generated printout from the out-of-state motor 
vehicle division. 

   
 2. A letter on letterhead stationery from the out-of-state motor 

vehicle division. 
   
 3. A photocopy of the current out-of-state certificate of title. 
 

 4. A copy of the teletype printout or a statement which shows the 
ownership information, lien status and the name of the law 
enforcement agency who provided the verification information.

 

 c. When the state where the motor vehicle or mobile home was 
previously registered is unknown, submit a notarized or perjury 
clause affidavit signed by an authorized representative of the law 
enforcement agency stating that fact. 

 

 d. All items listed in Section II, B, 1, a-h. 
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C. If the law enforcement agency elects to RETAIN, TRADE, DONATE OR SELL a 
motor vehicle or mobile home as ABANDONED property, the purchaser or agency 
must submit the following documentation to the tax collector’s office: 

 

 1. If motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida: 
 

a. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of 
Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant or an 
authorized representative of the law enforcement agency applying for 
title.    

b.  A copy of the notice (which was physically posted/placed on the  vehicle 
by the law enforcement officer), that was mailed certified, return 
 receipt requested, to the owner and lienholder (if applicable), on or 
before the date of posting.  The original or certified copy of the post 
office return receipt card for the certified mail, or the returned, 
unclaimed, unopened, certified letter, must also be submitted. 

 

 The notice physically placed on the vehicle and mailed to the owner 
and all persons interested in the motor vehicle or mobile home should 
be in substantially the following form or contain this same 
information: 

 

NOTICE TO THE OWNER AND ALL PERSONS 
INTERESTED IN THE ATTACHED PROPERTY. 
 

This Property, to wit: (setting forth brief description) is unlawfully 
upon public property known as (setting forth brief description of 
location) and must be removed within 5 days; otherwise, it will be 
removed and disposed of pursuant to Chapter 705, Florida 
Statutes.  The owner will be liable for the costs of removal, 
storage and publication of notice. 
 

Dated this:  setting forth the date of posting of notice 
 

Signed:  (setting forth name, title, address and telephone number of 
law enforcement officer). 

 

c. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit from the law enforcement 
agency which states that the property constitutes abandoned property 
according to the definition provided in s. 705.101 (3), Florida Statutes.  
The affidavit must also provide a complete description of the motor 
vehicle or mobile home including the make, year and vehicle 
identification number and state the disposition of the property (such 
as, the agency is retaining, trading, donating or selling the property). 
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d. If sold, a bill of sale on original letterhead stationery from the law 

enforcement agency to the purchaser, which provides a complete 
description of the motor vehicle or mobile home including the make, 
year and vehicle identification number and states the sale is subject to 
any and all liens. 

 
 e. Lien satisfaction(s), for any lien(s), as shown on the motor vehicle 

records of this or any other state, if applicable. 
   

f. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax information on an accurately 
completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 
with/without Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
NOTE:  If the agency is applying for title, they should show "Retaining pursuant to  

s. 705.103, Florida Statutes," in the sales tax area on the form HSMV 82040 or 
82041. 

 
 g. The Florida license plate transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number 
purchased for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the 
mobile home.  A non-use affidavit is not acceptable for mobile homes. 

   
 h. Title fees. 
 
 2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled out of state: 
   

a. A form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 
Verification, accurately completed by the applicant(s) with the vehicle 
identification number verified by one of the four officials shown on the 
lower portion of the form. 

 
Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 
 

Verification is not required on any mobile home; any trailer or semi-trailer 
with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel trailer, camping 
trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 
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 b. Verification of title and lien status issued by the Motor Vehicle Division in 
the state where the motor vehicle or mobile home was last registered.  The 
verification must contain a complete description of the motor vehicle or 
mobile home including year, make and vehicle identification number.  
Verification may be one of the following: 

 

 1. A computer generated printout from the out-of-state motor vehicle 
division. 

 

2. A letter on letterhead stationery from the out-of-state motor vehicle 
division. 

 

 3. A photocopy of the current out-of-state certificate of title. 
 

4.  A copy of the teletype printout or a statement which shows the 
 ownership information, lien status and the name of the law 
 enforcement agency who provided the verification information.

 

 c. When the state where the motor vehicle or mobile home was previously 
registered is unknown, submit a notarized or perjury clause affidavit 
signed by an authorized representative of the law enforcement agency 
stating that fact. 

   
 d. All items listed in Section II, C, 1, a-h. 
 

D. If the law enforcement agency elects to RETAIN, TRANSFER OR DONATE the 
 motor vehicle or mobile home as UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE, the applicant or 
 agency must submit the following documentation to the tax collector’s office: 
 

 1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida: 
   

a. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of 
Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant or 
agency. 

 
b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit from the law enforcement 

agency which states that the property constitutes unclaimed evidence 
according to the definition provided in Section 705.101(6), Florida 
Statutes, and the related proceedings have been over for a period of at 
least 60 days.  The affidavit must also provides a complete description 
of the motor vehicle or mobile home including the make, year and 
vehicle identification number and state the disposition of the evidence 
(such as, the agency is retaining, transferring to another unit of 
government, or donating the property). 
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c. If transferred to another unit of state or local government, a bill of 
sale on original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement 
agency to the government agency, which provides a complete 
description of the motor vehicle or mobile home including the make, 
year and vehicle identification number and states the sale is subject to 
any and all liens. 

 

 d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any lien(s), as shown on the motor vehicle records 
of this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax information on an accurately 
completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 
with/without Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration.    

NOTE:  If the agency is applying for title, they should show "Retaining pursuant to  
s. 705.105, Florida Statutes," in the sales tax area on the form HSMV 82040 or 
82041. 

 

 f. The Florida license plate transferred to or purchased for the motor vehicle, 
or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased for or 
the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A non-use 
affidavit is not acceptable for mobile homes. 

   

 g. Title fees. 
   
 2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled out of state: 
 

a. A form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 
Verification, accurately completed by the applicant(s) with the vehicle 
identification number verified by one of the four officials shown on the 
lower portion of the form. 

 

Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 
 

Verification is not required on any mobile home; any trailer or semi-trailer 
with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel trailer, camping 
trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 
 

b.  All items listed in Section II, D, 1, a-g. 
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 III. MISCELLANEOUS: 
   

A. When a licensed motor vehicle dealer or an individual purchases a motor vehicle or 
mobile home obtained by operation of law, a certificate of title must be issued in the 
dealer's or individual's name before the motor vehicle or mobile home can be sold. 

 
B. If any unclaimed evidence (motor vehicle or mobile home) is not of appreciable 

value, the law enforcement agency may elect to destroy it.  The agency would NOT 
be required to obtain a certificate of title in their name prior to destroying the 
motor vehicle or mobile home. 

 
C. Since most abandoned property (motor vehicle or mobile home) is not of 

appreciable value, the law enforcement agency may elect to notify the appropriate 
refuse removal service.  The agency would NOT be required to obtain a certificate 
of title in their name prior to having the motor vehicle or mobile home removed and 
destroyed. 

 
D. A documentation check list "Law Enforcement Selling Lost Property or Unclaimed 
 Evidence at Public Sale" is attached to this procedure as Exhibit A. 

 
E. A documentation check list "Law Enforcement Retaining, Donating, Surrendering 
 or Trading Lost Property" is attached to this procedure as Exhibit B. 

 
F. A documentation check list "Law Enforcement Retaining, Trading, Donating, or 
 Selling Abandoned Property" is attached to this procedure as Exhibit C. 

 
G. A documentation check list "Law Enforcement Retaining, Transferring or Donating 
 Unclaimed Evidence" is attached to this procedure as Exhibit D. 

 
 H. A "Definitions" page is attached to this procedure as Exhibit E. 
   

I. Section 705.102, Florida Statutes, is attached as Exhibit F. 

 

  J. Section 705.103, Florida Statutes, is attached as Exhibit G. 

 

  K. Section 705.104-105, Florida Statutes, is attached as Exhibit H. 

 

 L. See Forms Appendix for a sample of the HSMV forms referred to in this procedure. 
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LAW ENFORCEMENT "SELLING LOST PROPERTY  
OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE AT PUBLIC SALE" CHECK LIST 

 
 FORMS: 
 
 FLORIDA RECORD OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
  _______ HSMV 82042, or the VIN 

verification section on form HSMV 
82040, (if applicable). 

   
  _______ Verification of title/lien status or 

an affidavit stating the previous 
state is "UNKNOWN." 

   
 
 

_______ A copy of the notice sent to the owner and lienholder (if applicable) along with the  
  original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the certified mail,  
  or the  returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter. 

   
_______ A copy of the newspaper advertisement. 

   
_______ The bill of sale on the original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement 

agency to the purchaser. 
 

_______ Lien satisfaction(s), if applicable. 
   

_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax information on the form HSMV 82040 or  
  82041. 

   
_______ A license plate number, non-use affidavit or mobile home or RP decal. 

   
_______ Title fees. 
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EXHIBIT B 
 
 

LAW ENFORCEMENT "RETAINING, DONATING, SURRENDERING TO FINDER 
OR TRADING LOST PROPERTY" CHECK LIST 

 
 
 FORMS 
 
 FLORIDA RECORD OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   
 

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
  _______ HSMV 82042, or the VIN 

verification section on form HSMV 
82040, (if applicable). 

   
  _______ Verification of title/lien status or 

an affidavit stating the previous 
state is "UNKNOWN." 

 
_______ A copy of the notice sent to the owner and lienholder (if applicable) along with the  

  original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the certified mail,  
  or the  returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter. 

 
_______ A copy of the newspaper advertisement (if value is over $100). 
 
   Or, 
 
   A copy of the posted notice (if value is $100 or less). 
 
_______ If applicable, a statement on original letterhead stationery from the law 

enforcement agency to the applicant, which provides a complete description of the 
motor vehicle or mobile home including the make, year and vehicle identification 
number; specifies that the vehicle is being surrendered, traded to another unit of 
local government or state agency, or donated to the applicant and is subject to any 
and all liens. 

 
_______ Lien satisfaction(s), if applicable. 

   
_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax information on the form HSMV 82040 or  

  82041. 
   

_______ A license plate number, non-use affidavit or mobile home or RP decal. 
   

_______ Title fees. 
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EXHIBIT C 
   

LAW ENFORCEMENT "RETAINING, TRADING, DONATING, OR 
SELLING ABANDONED PROPERTY" CHECK LIST 

 
 FORMS: 

 
   FLORIDA RECORD     OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
  _______ HSMV 82042, or the VIN 

verification section on form HSMV 
82040, (if applicable). 

   
  _______ Verification of title/lien status or 

an affidavit stating the previous 
state is "UNKNOWN." 

 
_______ A copy of the notice sent to the owner and lienholder (if applicable) along with the  

  original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the certified mail,  
  or the  returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter. 

   
_______ A notarized/perjury clause affidavit from the law enforcement agency stating the  

   following: 
  
 _______ The property (must include a complete description) constitutes 

abandoned property according to the definition provided in s. 
705.101(3), Florida Statutes. 

 
  _______ The agency is retaining, trading, donating or selling the property. 
   

_______ If sold, the bill of sale on the original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement 
agency to the purchaser. 

 
_______ Lien satisfaction(s), if applicable. 

   
_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax information on the form HSMV 82040 or  

  82041. 
 

_______ A license plate number, non-use affidavit or mobile home or RP decal. 
   

_______ Title fees. 
   

NOTE:  Since most abandoned property (motor vehicle or mobile home) is not of 
appreciable value, the law enforcement agency may elect to notify the appropriate 
refuse removal service.  The agency would NOT be required to obtain a certificate 
of title in their name prior to having the motor vehicle or mobile home removed 
and destroyed. 
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EXHIBIT D 
 
 

LAW ENFORCEMENT "RETAINING, TRANSFERRING OR  
DONATING UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE" CHECK LIST 

 
 
 FORMS: 
 
 FLORIDA RECORD OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   
 

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
  _______ HSMV 82042, or the VIN 

verification section on form HSMV 
82040, (if applicable). 

 
 

_______ A notarized/perjury clause affidavit from the law enforcement agency stating the  
   following: 
  
 _______ The property (must include a complete description) constitutes 

unclaimed evidence according to the definition provided in s. 
705.101(6), Florida Statutes and the related proceedings have been 
over for a period of at least 60 days. 

 
  _______ The agency is retaining, transferring to another unit of    

  government or donating the property. 
   

_______ If transferred to another unit of state or local government, the bill of sale on the 
original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement agency to the purchaser. 

 
_______ Lien satisfaction(s), if applicable. 
   
_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax information on the form HSMV 82040 or  

  82041. 
 

_______ A license plate number, non-use affidavit or mobile home or RP decal. 
   

_______ Title fees. 
   
 

NOTE:  If a motor vehicle or mobile home is not of appreciable value, the law enforcement agency 
may elect to destroy it.  The agency would NOT be required to obtain a certificate of title 
in their name prior to destroying the motor vehicle or mobile home. 
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EXHIBIT E 
   

DEFINITIONS: 
 

ABANDONED PROPERTY  All tangible personal property that does not have an identifiable 
 owner and that has been disposed on public property in a wrecked, 
 inoperative, or partially dismantled condition or has no apparent 
 intrinsic value to the rightful owner. 

 
LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER Any person who is elected, appointed, or employed full time by 

any sheriff, any municipality, or the state or any political 
subdivision thereof; who is vested with authority to bear arms and 
make arrests; and whose primary responsibility is the prevention 
and detection of crime or the enforcement of the penal, criminal, 
traffic, or highway laws of the state.  This definition includes all 
certified supervisory and command personnel whose duties 
include, in whole or in part, the supervision, training, guidance, 
and management responsibilities of full-time law enforcement 
officers or auxiliary law enforcement officers but does not include 
support personnel employed by the employing agency. 

 

LOCAL GOVERNMENT The board of county commissioners of a county or the commission 
or council of any municipality in the county. 

 
LOST PROPERTY All tangible personal property which does not have an identifiable 

owner and which has been mislaid on public property, upon a public 
conveyance, on premises used at the time for business purposes, or in 
parks, places of amusement, public recreation areas, or other places 
open to the public in a substantially operable, functioning condition or 
which has an apparent intrinsic value to the rightful owner. 

 
PUBLIC PROPERTY Lands and improvements owned by the Federal Government, the 

state, the county, or a municipality and includes sovereignty 
submerged lands located adjacent to the county or municipality, 
buildings, grounds, parks, playgrounds, streets, sidewalks, 
parkways, right-of-way and other similar property. 

 
UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE Any tangible personal property, including cash, NOT included 

within the definition of "contraband article," as provided in s. 
932.701(2), which was seized by a law enforcement agency, was 
intended for use in a criminal or quasi-criminal proceeding, and is 
retained by the law enforcement agency or the clerk of the county 
or circuit court for 60 days after the final disposition of the 
proceeding and to which no claim of ownership has been made. 
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EXHIBIT F 
 
 

705.102 Reporting lost or abandoned property.— 
 

(1) Whenever any person finds any lost or abandoned property, such person shall report the description and 
location of the property to a law enforcement officer. 

 

(2) The law enforcement officer taking the report shall ascertain whether the person reporting the property 
wishes to make a claim to it if the rightful owner cannot be identified or located. If the person does wish to 
make such claim, he or she shall deposit with the law enforcement agency a reasonable sum sufficient to 
cover the agency's cost for transportation, storage, and publication of notice. This sum shall be reimbursed 
to the finder by the rightful owner should he or she identify and reclaim the property. 

 

(3) It is unlawful for any person who finds any lost or abandoned property to appropriate the same to his or her 
own use or to refuse to deliver the same when required. 
 

(4) Any person who unlawfully appropriates such lost or abandoned property to his or her own use or refuses to 
deliver such property when required commits theft as defined in s. 812.014, punishable as provided in s. 
775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.  
 
History.--s. 2, ch. 87-82; s. 4, ch. 92-79; s. 790, ch. 97-102.  
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EXHIBIT G 
 
 
705.103  Procedure for abandoned or lost property.--  
 
(1)  Whenever a law enforcement officer ascertains that an article of lost or abandoned property is present on 
public property and is of such nature that it can be easily removed, the officer shall take such article into 
custody and shall make a reasonable attempt to ascertain the rightful owner or lienholder pursuant to the 
provisions of this section. 
 

(2)  Whenever a law enforcement officer ascertains that an article of lost or abandoned property is present on 
public property and is of such nature that it cannot be easily removed, the officer shall cause a notice to be 
placed upon such article in substantially the following form:  
 

NOTICE TO THE OWNER AND ALL PERSONS INTERESTED IN THE ATTACHED PROPERTY. This 
property, to wit:  (setting forth brief description)  is unlawfully upon public property known as  (setting forth 
brief description of location)  and must be removed within 5 days; otherwise, it will be removed and disposed of 
pursuant to chapter 705, Florida Statutes. The owner will be liable for the costs of removal, storage, and 
publication of notice. Dated this:  (setting forth the date of posting of notice) , signed:  (setting forth name, title, 
address, and telephone number of law enforcement officer) .  
 

Such notice shall be not less than 8 inches by 10 inches and shall be sufficiently weatherproof to withstand 
normal exposure to the elements. In addition to posting, the law enforcement officer shall make a reasonable 
effort to ascertain the name and address of the owner. If such is reasonably available to the officer, she or he 
shall mail a copy of such notice to the owner on or before the date of posting. If the property is a motor vehicle 
as defined in s. 320.01(1) or a vessel as defined in s. 327.02, the law enforcement agency shall contact the 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in order to determine the name and address of the owner 
and any person who has filed a lien on the vehicle or vessel as provided in s. 319.27(2) or (3) or s. 328.15(1). 
On receipt of this information, the law enforcement agency shall mail a copy of the notice by certified mail, 
return receipt requested, to the owner and to the lienholder, if any. If, at the end of 5 days after posting the 
notice and mailing such notice, if required, the owner or any person interested in the lost or abandoned article or 
articles described has not removed the article or articles from public property or shown reasonable cause for 
failure to do so, the following shall apply:  
 

(a)  For abandoned property, the law enforcement agency may retain any or all of the property for its own use or 
for use by the state or unit of local government, trade such property to another unit of local government or state 
agency, donate the property to a charitable organization, sell the property, or notify the appropriate refuse 
removal service. 
 
(b)  For lost property, the officer shall take custody and the agency shall retain custody of the property for 90 
days. The agency shall publish notice of the intended disposition of the property, as provided in this section, 
during the first 45 days of this time period.  
 

1.  If the agency elects to retain the property for use by the unit of government, donate the property to a 
charitable organization, surrender such property to the finder, sell the property, or trade the property to another 
unit of local government or state agency, notice of such election shall be given by an advertisement published 
once a week for 2 consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the property was 
found if the value of the property is more than $100. If the value of the property is $100 or less, notice shall be 
given by posting a description of the property at the law enforcement agency where the property was turned in. 
The notice must be posted for not less than 2 consecutive weeks in a public place designated by the law 
enforcement agency. The notice must describe the property in a manner reasonably adequate to permit the 
rightful owner of the property to claim it. 
 
 
 
 
 
 



EXHIBIT G (page 2, cont.) 
 
 

2.  If the agency elects to sell the property, it must do so at public sale by competitive bidding. Notice of the 
time and place of the sale shall be given by an advertisement of the sale published once a week for 2 
consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the sale is to be held. The notice 
shall include a statement that the sale shall be subject to any and all liens. The sale must be held at the nearest 
suitable place to that where the lost or abandoned property is held or stored. The advertisement must include a 
description of the goods and the time and place of the sale. The sale may take place no earlier than 10 days after 
the final publication. If there is no newspaper of general circulation in the county where the sale is to be held, 
the advertisement shall be posted at the door of the courthouse and at three other public places in the county at 
least 10 days prior to sale. Notice of the agency's intended disposition shall describe the property in a manner 
reasonably adequate to permit the rightful owner of the property to identify it.  
 

(3)  If the property is sold at public sale pursuant to subparagraph (2)(b)2., the agency shall deduct from the 
proceeds the costs of transportation, storage, and publication of notice, and any balance of proceeds shall be 
deposited into an interest-bearing account not later than 30 days after the date of the sale and held there for 1 
year. The agency shall provide a bill of sale clearly stating that the sale is subject to any and all liens. The 
rightful owner of the property may claim the balance of the proceeds within 1 year from the date of the above 
stated deposit by making application to the agency. If no rightful owner comes forward with a claim to the 
property within the designated year, the balance of the proceeds shall be deposited into the State School Fund.  
 

(4)  The owner of any abandoned or lost property who, after notice as provided in this section, does not remove 
such property within the specified period shall be liable to the law enforcement agency for all costs of removal, 
storage, and destruction of such property, less any salvage value obtained by disposal of the property. Upon 
final disposition of the property, the law enforcement officer shall notify the owner, if known, of the amount 
owed. In the case of an abandoned boat or motor vehicle, any person who neglects or refuses to pay such 
amount is not entitled to be issued a certificate of registration for such boat or motor vehicle, or any other boat 
or motor vehicle, until such costs have been paid. The law enforcement officer shall supply the Department of 
Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles with a list of persons whose boat registration privileges or whose motor 
vehicle privileges have been revoked under this subsection. Neither the department nor any other person acting 
as agent thereof shall issue a certificate of registration to a person whose boat or motor vehicle registration 
privileges have been revoked, as provided by this subsection, until such costs have been paid.  
 

(5)  Whoever opposes, obstructs, or resists any law enforcement officer or any person authorized by the law 
enforcement officer in the discharge of her or his duties as provided in this section upon conviction is guilty of a 
misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.  
 

(6)  Any law enforcement officer or any person authorized by the law enforcement officer is immune from 
prosecution, civil or criminal, for reasonable, good faith trespass upon real property while in the discharge of 
duties imposed by this section.  
 

(7)  The rightful owner shall be liable for the law enforcement agency's costs for transportation and storage of 
lost or abandoned property and the agency's cost for publication of notice of disposition of lost property. If the 
rightful owner does not pay such costs within 30 days of making claim to the property, title to the property shall 
vest in the law enforcement agency.  
 

History.--s. 3, ch. 87-82; s. 1, ch. 90-307; s. 12, ch. 94-241; s. 471, ch. 94-356; s. 1, ch. 97-51; s. 791, ch. 97-
102; s. 29, ch. 2000-197.  
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EXHIBIT H 
 
 
705.104 Title to lost or abandoned property.— 
 
(1) Title to lost or abandoned property is hereby vested in the finder upon the expiration of the 90-day custodial 
time period specified in s. 705.103(2)(b), provided the notice requirements of s. 705.103 have been met, unless 
the rightful owner or a lienholder claims the property within that time.  
 

(2) Employees of any state, county, or municipal agency shall be deemed agents of such governmental entity, 
and lost or abandoned property found by them during the course of their official duties shall be turned in to the 
proper person or department designated to receive such property by the governmental entity. Such property 
shall be subject to the provisions of this chapter, after which, if unclaimed by the rightful owner, the title to such 
property shall be vested in the state, county, or municipality and not in the employee.  
 

(3) Employees of public transportation systems shall be deemed agents of such transportation systems, and lost 
or abandoned property found on public conveyances, in depots, or in garages of a transportation system shall be 
turned in to the proper person or department designated to receive such property by the transportation systems. 
Such property shall be subject to the provisions of this section, after which, if unclaimed by the rightful owner, 
the title to such property shall be vested in the transportation system and not in the employee.  
 

History.--s. 4, ch. 87-82; s. 2, ch. 90-307.  
 
 
 
 
705.105 Procedure regarding unclaimed evidence.— 
 
(1) Title to unclaimed evidence or unclaimed tangible personal property lawfully seized pursuant to a lawful 

investigation in the custody of the court or clerk of the court from a criminal proceeding or seized as 
evidence by and in the custody of a law enforcement agency shall vest permanently in the law enforcement 
agency 60 days after the conclusion of the proceeding.  

 

(a) If the property is of appreciable value, the agency may elect to:  
 

 1. Retain the property for the agency's own use;  
 

 2. Transfer the property to another unit of state or local government;  
 

 3. Donate the property to a charitable organization;  
 

 4. Sell the property at public sale, pursuant to the provisions of s. 705.103.  
 

(b) If the property is not of appreciable value, the law enforcement agency may elect to destroy it.  
 
(2) Nothing in this section shall be construed to repeal or supersede the provisions of s. 790.08 relating to the 

disposition of weapons and firearms. 
 

History.--s. 5, ch. 87-82; s. 5, ch. 90-113.  
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