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SUBJECT: 

 
  HOMEMADE VESSEL TITLING REQUIREMENTS 

 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
 

 THIS PROCEDURE IS PROVIDED TO ASSIST EMPLOYEES OF TAX COLLECTORS' OFFICES 
AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES IN PROCESSING 
APPLICATIONS FOR A HOMEMADE VESSEL CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 

 
 

 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 
  Section 328.01(2)(c), Florida Statutes, provides for the titling of homemade vessels. 

 

 II. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

A. The following documentation must be submitted when applying for a Florida Certificate 
of Title: 

   
1. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without   

  Registration, or HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of  
  Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant(s). 

 
 

2. For vessels less than 16 feet in length, a form HSMV 87002, Vessel Statement of 
Builder (Rev.11/00 or later), OR, its equivalent. 

 
3.  For vessels 16 feet or more in length, a form HSMV 87002, Vessel Statement of 

  Builder (Rev. 11/00 or later), OR, its equivalent. 
 

AND  
 

A Certificate of Inspection from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation 
 Commission. 
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   4. A bill of sale, if purchased from the builder. 
 

  5. Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax information on an accurately   
  completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title   
  with/without Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for   
  Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
NOTE:  Sales tax must be collected according to the purchase price of the vessel and the 

purchase price of all materials where sales tax was not already collected. 
 

 B.  Hull Identification Numbers: 
 

  A hull identification number may be assigned by the department pursuant to section 
  328.07, Florida Statutes. 
 

 III. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 
   
 A. A documentation check list is attached to this procedure as Exhibit A. 
   
 B. See forms Appendix for a sample of the HSMV forms referred to in this procedure. 
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EXHIBIT A 
   
 

HOMEMADE VESSEL CHECK LIST 
   
 
 FORMS: 
 
 
 _______ HSMV 82040 or HSMV 82041 
 
 _______ For vessels less than 16 feet in length, a form HSMV 87002, Vessel Statement of Builder  
     (Rev.11/00 or later), OR, its equivalent. 
   
 _______ For vessels 16 feet or more in length, a form HSMV 87002, Vessel Statement of Builder  
     (Rev.11/00 or later), OR, its equivalent. 
 
     AND 
 
     A Certificate of Inspection from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. 
 
 _______ A bill of sale, if purchased from the builder. 
 

_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax information on an accurately completed form 
HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration, or form 
HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

   
 _______ Title fees 
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