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SUBJECT: 
 

ANTIQUE VESSEL (30 YEARS OR OLDER) REGISTRATION AND DECAL 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE 
DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES FOR THE ISSUANCE OF 
ANTIQUE VESSEL (30 YEARS OR OLDER) REGISTRATION AND DECAL. 

 
I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 

 

  Section 328.72(2)(a), Florida Statutes, provides for antique vessel (30 years old or more) and 
antique vessel decals.   

 

  Section 328.72(14), Florida Statutes, exempts antique vessels from an annual registration fee.  If 
the vessel does not have an FL number, a number will be assigned by the system along with a 
state decal.  The only fees charged are the service fees for the registration. 

 

 II. DEFINITION: 
 

  A vessel that meets all of the following requirements qualifies to be registered as an antique 
vessel: 

 

A.  At least 30 years old.  
 

B. Used for noncommercial (recreational) purposes only.  
 

C. Powered by the vessel’s original type power plant. 
 

III. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING AN ANTIQUE REGISTRATION: 
 

A. Form HSMV 87243, Certification for an Antique Vessel Registration, completed by 
the owner or a licensed marine surveyor.  This document certifies that the vessel 
meets or exceeds the standards established in 328.72(2)(a), Florida Statutes. 
 

B. Submit form HSMV 87243 to a tax collector office or a license plate agency.   
 

C. The county will issue a registration reflecting exempt antique vessel status, and the 
form HSMV 87243 will be returned to the applicant. 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Revision(s) to this procedure: Added new section III, application requirements for obtaining an antique 
vessel registration and corrected & clarified new Section IV for obtaining an antique decal.   
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IV. APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING AN ANTIQUE DECAL: 
 

  After acquiring a vessel registration indicating exempt antique vessel status as described in 
section III., the applicant may obtain an antique decal to display on the vessel.   

 

The following must be submitted to the Department:  
 

                        A. A copy of the most current certificate of vessel registration in the applicant's name. 
 

B. The same previously completed form HSMV 87243, Certification for an Antique 
Vessel Registration, that was returned to the applicant with his/her new antique 
vessel registration.   

 

C.        Mail these documents to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles 
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS# 72, Tallahassee, Florida  32399. 

 

D. The Department will issue the decal at no charge. 
 

V.  MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 
 

 A.   Antique vessels are exempt from the annual base registration fee.  However, a certificate  
  of registration, numbers, and decal must be issued upon application and payment of  
  service fees.  When issuing the registration certificate, insure that "EA" is entered as the  
  "Reg Use" to exempt it from base registration charges.  Service fees will be charged  
  annually upon each renewal of the state decal and registration.  

 

B. The registration number for an antique vessel shall be affixed on the forward half of the 
hull.  The antique decal shall be placed within three inches of the registration number. 

 

C. If there is a change in ownership, no action is required to have the antique decal 
 recorded in the purchaser’s name.  However, the certificates of title and registration must 
 be transferred into the name of the purchaser. 

 

D. In the event an antique vessel decal is lost, destroyed, or mutilated, the owner of the 
vessel may apply to the department for a replacement decal at no charge. 

 

 E. The antique decal will remain current for the life of the vessel provided the vessel  
  continues to conform to the definition of an antique vessel.  The antique decal shall  
  not exempt an antique vessel from other title and registration requirements established by 

    Florida Statutes. 
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