
      Florida 
Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 

 PROCEDURE 
 

TL-36 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

 TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENTS INVOLVING INSURANCE COMPANIES 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE:   
 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES IN ESTABLISHING REQUIREMENTS FOR 
TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENTS INVOLVING INSURANCE COMPANIES. 

 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 319.30(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides the meaning of the term "Certificate of 
Destruction" as the certificate issued pursuant to s. 713.78(11) or s. 713.785(7)(a). 
 

Section 319.30(1)(g), Florida Statutes, provides the meaning of the term "Independent Entity" as 
a business or entity that may temporarily store damaged or dismantled motor vehicles pursuant to 
an agreement with an insurance company and is engaged in the sale or resale of damaged or 
dismantled motor  vehicles. 
 

Section 319.30(1)(i), Florida Statutes, provides the meaning of the term “Late model vehicle” as 
a motor vehicle that has a manufacturer’s model year of 7 years or newer. 
 

319.30(1)(n) Florida Statutes, defines "National Motor Vehicle Title Information System" means 
the national mandated vehicle history database maintained by the United States Department of 
Justice to link the states' motor vehicle title records, including Florida's Department of Highway 
Safety and Motor Vehicles' title records, and ensure that states, law enforcement agencies, and 
consumers have access to vehicle titling, branding, and other information that enables them to 
verify the accuracy and legality of a motor vehicle title before purchase or title transfer of the 
vehicle occurs. 

 

Section 319.30(3)(a)1,a, Florida Statutes, provides that a motor vehicle or mobile home is a 
"total loss" when an insurance company pays the motor vehicle owner to replace the wrecked or 
damaged motor vehicle with one of like kind and quality or when an insurance company pays the 
owner upon the theft of the motor vehicle or motor home.  This includes all motor vehicles and 
mobile homes regardless of the year or make. 
 
Section 319.30(3)(a)1,b, Florida Statutes, provides that a motor vehicle or mobile home is a 
"total loss" when an UNINSURED motor vehicle or mobile home is wrecked or damaged and 
the cost, at the time of loss, of repairing or rebuilding the vehicle is 80 percent or more of the 
cost to the owner of replacing the wrecked or damaged motor vehicle or mobile home with one 
of like kind and quality.   
 
 
   

Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Added clarification of old law & current law on page 5, (J & K) and added 
information to letter O on page 24. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

Immediately 
 

REVISION DATE 
 

10/08/14 
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Section 319.30(3)(a)(2), Florida Statutes, states, "A motor vehicle or mobile home shall not be 
considered a "total loss" if the insurance company and owner of a motor vehicle or mobile home 
agree to repair, rather than to replace, the motor vehicle or mobile home.  However, if the actual 
cost to repair the motor vehicle or mobile home to the insurance company exceeds 100 percent of 
the cost of replacing the wrecked or damaged motor vehicle or mobile home with one of like 
kind and quality, the owner shall forward to the department, within 72 hours after the agreement, 
a request to brand the certificate of title with the words "Total Loss Vehicle."  Such a brand shall 
become part of the vehicle's title history (see IV, H, of this procedure). 
 
Section 319.30(3)(b), Florida Statutes, requires an insurance company which pays money as 
compensation for total loss of a motor vehicle or mobile home to obtain the certificate of title for 
the motor vehicle or mobile home, make the required notification to the National Motor Vehicle 
Title Information System, and, within 72 hours after receiving such certificate of title forward it 
to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for processing.  Application for a 
salvage certificate of title or certificate of destruction must be made by the insurance company.  
The vehicle identification number plate must remain on the vehicle. 
 

If the estimated costs of repairing the physical and mechanical damage to the MOBILE HOME 
are equal to 80 percent or more of the current retail cost of the mobile home, as established in 
any official used mobile home guide, the department shall declare the mobile home 
unrebuildable and print a certificate of destruction, which authorizes the dismantling or 
destruction of the mobile home.  This does not apply to mobile homes worth less than $1500 
retail just prior to sustaining the damage that resulted in the total loss. 
 

For a late model vehicle (seven years old or newer) with a retail value of at least $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service, and when the estimated costs to 
repair the physical and mechanical damage to the vehicle are equal to 90 percent or more of the 
current retail value, the department shall declare the vehicle unrebuildable and print a certificate 
of destruction, which authorizes the dismantling or destruction of the motor vehicle. 
 

However, if the damaged motor vehicle (van) is equipped with custom-lowered floors for 
wheelchair access or a wheelchair lift, the insurance company may, upon determining that the 
vehicle is repairable to a condition that is safe for operation on public roads, submit the 
certificate of title to the department for reissuance as a salvage rebuildable title and the addition 
of a title brand of “insurance declared total loss.” 
 

If a total loss vehicle has a current retail value of less than $7,500, as established in any official 
used motor vehicle guide or valuation service, or the vehicle is not a late model vehicle, and the 
vehicle is damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent that the only residual value of the motor 
vehicle is a source of parts or scrap metal or if the vehicle comes into the state under a title or 
other ownership document that indicates the vehicle is not repairable, is junked or is for parts or 
dismantling only, the owner or insurance company shall obtain a certificate of destruction. 
 

NOTE:  Although Florida law requires insurance companies to make the required notification to 
NMVTIS for salvage motor vehicles, proof of that notification is not required to be 
submitted at the time of application for a salvage title or certificate of destruction.  
Proof of notification is still required from and MUST be submitted by an independent 
entity.  See IV, J of this procedure for instructions for independent entities. 
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Section 319.30(9)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that an insurance company may notify an 
independent entity that obtains possession of a damaged or dismantled motor vehicle to release 
the vehicle to the owner.  The insurance company shall provide the independent entity a release 
statement on a form prescribed by the department authorizing the independent entity to release 
the vehicle to the owner.  The form shall, at a minimum, contain the following: 
 

1. The policy and claim number.   

2. The name and address of the insured. 
 

3. The vehicle identification number. 
4. The signature of an authorized representative of the insurance company. 
 

Section 319.30(9)(b), Florida Statutes, provides that the independent entity in possession of a 
motor vehicle must send a notice to the owner that the vehicle is available for pick up when it 
receives a release statement from the insurance company.  The notice shall be sent by certified 
mail to the owner at the owner's address reflected in the department's records.  The notice must 
inform the owner that the owner has 30 days after receipt of the notice to pick up the vehicle 
from the independent entity.  If the motor vehicle is not claimed within 30 days after the owner 
receives the notice, the independent entity may apply for a certificate of destruction or a 
certificate of title. 
 

Section 319.30(c), Florida Statutes, provides that the independent entity shall make the required 
notification to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System before releasing any 
damaged or dismantled motor vehicle to the owner or before applying for a certificate of 
destruction or salvage certificate of title. 
 

Section 319.30(9)(d), Florida Statutes, provides that upon applying for a certificate of destruction 
or certificate of title, the independent entity shall provide a copy of the release statement from 
the insurance company to the independent entity, proof of providing the 30-day notice to the 
owner, and applicable fees. 

 

Section 319.30(9)(e), Florida Statutes, provides that the independent entity may not charge an 
owner of the vehicle storage fees or apply for a title under s. 713.585 or s. 713.78. 

 
II. GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 

A. You should refer to Exhibit C of this procedure for further clarification of when to 
apply for a rebuildable and when to apply for a certificate of destruction. 

 

B. When an insurance company pays (total loss) to replace a motor vehicle or mobile home 
with one of like kind and quality, it may not dispose of the motor vehicle or mobile home 
until a certificate of destruction or salvage certificate of title (branded either Rebuildable 
or Rebuildable Flood) has been issued in its name. 

 

C. An owner of an UNINSURED/SELF-INSURED total loss mobile home must apply for a 
certificate of destruction when the estimated costs of repairing the physical damage is 
equal to 80 percent or more of the current retail cost, as established in any official used 
mobile home guide.  (Use section 5 of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

 

 A total loss is not applicable to “unisured/self-insured” when the estimated costs of 
repairing the mobile home is LESS than 80% of the current retail cost or when the mobile 
home is worth LESS than $1,500 retail just prior to sustaining the damage. 

•  

PAGE # 
TL-36-03 

 



STATE OF FLORIDA 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE # 
 

TL-36 

SUBJECT: 
 
 TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENTS INVOLVING INSURANCE COMPANIES 
 

 
D. An “insurance company” of a total loss mobile home must apply for a certificate of 

destruction when the estimated costs of repairing the physical damage is equal to 80 
percent or more of the current retail cost, as established in any official used mobile home 
guide.  (Use section 5 of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

 

 When the estimated costs of repairing the (insurance total loss) mobile home is LESS 
than 80% of the current retail cost, a rebuildable title would apply.  However, the salvage 
law is not applicable when the mobile home is worth LESS than $1,500 retail just prior to 
sustaining the damage. 

 

E. An insurance company or an owner (including self-insured) must apply for a certificate 
of destruction when: 

  

A motor vehicle is seven (7) years or newer** with a retail value of at least $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service, and the estimated costs to 
repair the physical and mechanical damage to the motor vehicle are equal to 90 percent or 
more of the current retail value.  (Use section 6, of the form HSMV 82363, Application 
for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction. 
 

(**To calculate the model years included, take the current year and subtract 6.  This will 
give you the range of model years that would apply.) 
 

Example: Current year: 2014 – 6 = 2008 (This would include 2008 model year vehicles and 
newer.) 

 

• A motor vehicle with a retail value of less than $7,500, as established in any official used 
car guide or valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model vehicle (more than 
seven model years old) and is damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent that the only 
residual value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts or scrap metal.  (Use section 7, a, 
of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

 

• A motor vehicle with a retail value of less than $7,500, as established in any official used 
car guide or valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model vehicle (more than 
seven model years old) comes into Florida under a title or other ownership document that 
indicates the vehicle is not repairable, is junked or is for parts or dismantling only.  (Use 
section 8, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.) 

 

• The estimated costs of repairing the physical and mechanical damage to a MOBILE 
HOME (with a retail value of $1,500 or more) are equal to 80 percent or more of the 
current retail cost of the mobile home, as established in any official used mobile home 
guide.  (Use section 5 of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

 

NOTE:  The insurance company or owner/self-insured MAY CHOOSE to request a certificate 
of destruction regardless of the age or value of the motor vehicle or mobile home if it 
deems necessary  (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363.) . 

 
 

 

PAGE # 
TL-36-04 

 



STATE OF FLORIDA 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE # 
 

TL-36 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

 TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENTS INVOLVING INSURANCE COMPANIES 
 

 

F. An insurance company of a total loss motor vehicle MUST apply for a rebuildable 
certificate of title when: 
 

The motor vehicle being replaced has a retail value of less than $7,500, as established in 
any official used car guide or valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model 
vehicle (more than seven model years old) and HAS NOT been damaged, wrecked, or 
burned to the extent that the only residual value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts 
or scrap metal.  (Use section 7, b, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 
 

NOTE:  The insurance company may choose to request a certificate of destruction in lieu of a 
rebuildable title (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363). 

 

G. When an owner or self-insured total loss motor vehicle MUST apply for a rebuildable 
certificate of title when: 
 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or newer with a retail value of at least 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide or valuation service, and the 
estimated costs of repairing the motor vehicle is equal to 80 – 89% of the current retail 
cost of the motor vehicle, as established in any official used car guide or valuation 
service.  (Use section 6, c, 3, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 
 

NOTE:  The owner/self-insured may choose to request a certificate of destruction in lieu of 
a rebuildable title (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363). 

 

H. The insurance company also has the option to request an "insurance-declared total loss" 
(which will be a salvage rebuildable title) in lieu of a certificate of destruction if the 
damaged vehicle (van) is equipped with custom-lowered floors for wheelchair access or a 
wheelchair lift and the insurance company deems that the vehicle is repairable to a 
condition that is safe for operation on public roads (see IV, I, of this procedure).  (Use 
section 11 of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.) 

 

I. The application and supporting documentation must be submitted to a tax collector's 
office within seventy-two (72) hours after receiving the certificate of title from the owner. 

 

J. The “Date of Loss” (self-insured) or the “Date Declared Total Loss and 
Compensation Paid” (insurance company) determines whether a salvage application 
must be processed under the old salvage law (prior to July 1, 2014) or the current 
law (effective July 1, 2014). 

 

EXAMPLE:   
 

Date of loss/total loss paid: May 21, 2014 (Prior to July 1) Old Law 
  July 1, 2014     Current Law 
 

• For information and instructions concerning the prior salvage law (total loss prior 
to July 1, 2014) go to DMS Procedure TL-36, located at: 
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/bulletins/2014/tl_36_%20062013.pdf 
 

 

• When applicable, the form HSMV 82363 (total loss prior to July 1, 2014), is 
available at:  http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/bulletins/2014/82363_02_13.pdf 

 

K. A certificate of destruction issued prior to July 1, 2014 CANNOT be 
cancelled/reversed and reprocessed as a rebuildable under the current salvage law 
(effective July 1, 2014), as the date of loss was prior to July 1, 2014. 
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III. E-SIGNATURE (ELECTRONIC) PROCESS FOR TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENT 
VEHICLES (CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION) ONLY AND WHEN THE TITLE IS 
LOST/NOT AVAILABLE: 

 

If not using a form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney, with an electronic signature, follow 
the appropriate instructions in section IV of this procedure. 

 

A. An insurance company authorized and licensed to do business in Florida will email 
form HSMV 82053 (Power of Attorney – non-secure) to the owner/insured. 

 

B. The owner/insured will electronically sign (e-sign) form HSMV 82053 and send it 
back to the insurance company, authorizing the insurance company to act on behalf of 
the owner/insured as the owner’s/insured’s attorney in fact. 

 

C. The insurance company will complete: 
 
Form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost In Transit/Reassignment for a 
Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate, in the applicable sections to 
apply for a certificate of title on behalf of the owner, 
 
Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction,  
 

and 
Form HSMV 82052, Electronic Signature Agreement. 
 

D. The insurance company will take documents and lien satisfaction (when applicable) to a 
tax collector office. 

 
The tax collector office will process a certificate of destruction. 

 
IV. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 

 

In order to apply for a Florida salvage certificate of title or a certificate of destruction, the 
following documentation must be submitted: 

 

A. All Insured Motor Vehicles or Mobile Homes Declared a Total Loss as a Result of Being 
Wrecked or Damaged. 

 

When the insurance company pays to replace the motor vehicle or mobile home, an 
application for a Florida salvage certificate of title or a certificate of destruction must be 
made by the insurance company.  Under the following circumstances, the documents 
listed should be submitted: 

 

1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title 
is available for transfer to the insurance company: 

 

a. The certificate of title must be assigned in the "Transfer of Title by Seller" 
section by the owner(s) transferring interest to the insurance company.  
The insurance company's name must appear as the purchaser. 

 

All required odometer information must be entered in this section.  See 
procedure TL-09.  It is necessary that the selling price (settlement amount 
or purchase price) of the motor vehicle or mobile home be shown in the 
"Transfer of Title by Seller" section of the Florida certificate of title. 
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b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 

c. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records 
of this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

d. Title fees. 
 

NOTE:  A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction. 

 

2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title 
is unavailable for transfer to the insurance company: 

 

A form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost In Transit/Reassignment 
for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate, accurately 
completed in the applicable section, by owner.   

 

a. The verification portion of form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate 
or Lost In Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or 
Vessel Title Certificate, must be completed.  Refer to the verification 
process as outlined in Procedure TL-05. 

 

b. A form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost In 
Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title 
Certificate, accurately completed in the applicable sections, by an 
authorized agent for the insurance company, as applicant for the certificate 
of title. 

c. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 

d. Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state. 

 

e. Title fees.  Collect duplicate title fee from the owner and transfer of title 
fee from the insurance company.  FRVIS will charge title and service fees 
for both owner and insurance company. 

 

NOTE:  A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction. 

 

3. If the motor vehicle or mobile home has never been titled in Florida, the dealer 
was in possession of the vehicle at the time of the total loss, the salvage is to 
remain in Florida and the insurance company has paid a total loss claim to the 
dealer: 
 

a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) or the out-of-state 
certificate of title must be assigned by the dealer transferring interest to the 
insurance company.  The insurance company's name must appear as the 
purchaser. 
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b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, accurately completed by an authorized agent for the insurance 
company. 

 

c. Form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 
Verification, accurately completed by the purchaser(s) with the motor 
vehicle identification number verified by one of the four officials shown 
on the lower portion of the form. 
 

NOTE:  If the application is for a certificate of destruction and the proof of ownership is an out 
of state title, the vehicle identification number must be verified by a Florida law 
enforcement officer ONLY. 

 
 

Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 
 

or, 
 

An affidavit from the seller(s) and the purchaser(s) verifying that the 
vehicle identification number shown on the affidavit is identical to the 
vehicle identification number shown on the motor vehicle. 

 

d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records 
of this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

e. Title fees. 
 

NOTE:  A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction. 

 
4. For new or used motor vehicles or mobile homes that have never been titled in the 

State of Florida, purchased by an individual or company, the salvage is to remain 
in Florida and a title is needed for transfer to the insurance company:   

a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) or out-of-state certificate 
of title must be assigned by the dealer transferring interest to the retail 
purchaser(s). 

 

b. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, accurately completed by the retail purchaser(s). 

 

 c. Form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 
Verification, accurately completed by the retail purchaser(s) with the 
motor vehicle identification number verified by one of the four officials 
shown on the lower portion of the form. 

 

Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, may be used in lieu of the above listed form HSMV 82042. 

 

or, 
   

An affidavit from the seller(s) and the purchaser(s) verifying that the 
vehicle identification number shown on the affidavit is identical to the 
vehicle identification number shown on the motor vehicle. 
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d. Lien satisfactions, for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 
HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel 
Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 

f. The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 
vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for mobile homes. 

 

g. Title fees. 
 

NOTE:  When the certificate of title has been issued in the name of the retail purchaser(s), it 
must be completed for transfer to the insurance company. (Refer to IV, A, 1). 

 

1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the insurance 
 company is unable to obtain the certificate of title for transfer to the insurance 
 company, the following is required: 
 

a. An affidavit from an authorized agent of the insurance company, stating 
why the title is unavailable.  

 

b. Proof of payment of the total loss claim.   
 

c. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 

d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records 
of this or any other state, if applicable, or proof that the total loss claim 
was paid directly to the lienholder.   

 

e. Title fees. 
 

NOTE:  A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction. 

 

6. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida with an electronic status; 
the insurance company paid a total loss claim directly to the lienholder; and the 
title record needs to be transferred to the insurance company the following is 
required: 
 

a. Form HSMV 82994, Motor Vehicle Title Reassignment, accurately 
completed by the owner of the motor vehicle or mobile home, transferring 
their interest over to the insurance company.   

 

b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company.  

 

c.  Title fees.   
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7. If the Florida certificate of title branded "REBUILDABLE" or "REBUILDABLE 
FLOOD" in the name of the insurance company has been transferred to an 
individual who is NOT rebuilding the motor vehicle: 

 
a. The Florida certificate of title completed for transfer to the purchaser. 

 
b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 

Destruction, accurately completed as salvage by owner.  The estimation of 
fees in sections 5 or 6 would not be applicable, however, the “rebuildable” 
or “rebuildable flood” block in one of these sections must be checked. 

 
c. Florida sales tax or check the box in section 6 on the form HSMV 82363, 

Application for Salvage, which states the vehicle is exempt from Florida 
sales tax due to a settlement of an insurance claim. 

 
d. Title fees. 

 

NOTE:  The purchaser who rebuilds the motor vehicle must follow rebuilt instructions as 
provided in DMS procedure TL-37. 

 
B. All Insured Motor Vehicles or Mobile Homes Declared a Total Loss as a Result of Being 

an Unrecovered Theft. 
 

Salvage certificate of titles issued for motor vehicles or mobile homes in the name of an 
insurance company under the following circumstances will be branded "SALVAGE 
THEFT".  This does not include motor vehicles and mobile homes worth less than $1,500 
retail value. 

 
1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title 

is available for transfer to the insurance company: 
 
a. The certificate of title must be assigned in the "Transfer of Title By Seller" 

section by the owner(s) transferring interest to the insurance company.  
The insurance company's name must appear as the purchaser. 

 
b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 

Destruction, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 
 

NOTE:  The applicant must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all of the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted with 
the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be obtained 
because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 

c. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records 
of this or any other state, if applicable. 

  

d. Title fees. 
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2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title 
is unavailable for transfer to the insurance company: 

 

a. A form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost In 
Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title 
Certificate, accurately completed in the applicable section, by owner.   
 

1. The verification portion of the form HSMV 82101, Application for 
Duplicate or Lost In Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, 
Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate, must be completed.  
Refer to the verification process as outlined in Procedure TL-05. 

 

2. A form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost In 
Transit/Reassignment for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or 
Vessel Title Certificate, accurately completed in the applicable 
sections, by an authorized agent for the insurance company, as 
applicant for the certificate of title. 

 

b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 

NOTE:  The applicant must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all of the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted with 
the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be obtained 
because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 

c. Lien satisfaction(s) for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 

d. Title fees.  Collect duplicate title fee from the owner and transfer fee from 
the insurance company.  FRVIS will charge title and service fees for both 
owner and insurance company. 

 

NOTE:  A salvage theft certificate of title will be issued in the name of the insurance company, 
as shown on the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.   

 

3. If a used motor vehicle or mobile home titled in Florida was stolen from a retail 
purchaser (before the purchaser had a title issued in their name) and a title is 
needed for transfer to their insurance company, the following is required: 

 

a. The Florida certificate of title accurately completed for transfer in the 
"Transfer of Title By Seller" section to the retail purchaser(s). 

 

b. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of 
Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by the retail 
purchaser(s). 

 

NOTE:  The applicant must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all of the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted with 
the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be obtained 
because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   
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c. A copy of the police theft report showing the owner of the motor vehicle 

or mobile home as the victim. 
 
d. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel 
Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
e. The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 

 
f. Title fees. 

 
NOTE:  When certificate of title has been issued in the name of the retail purchaser, it must be 

completed for transfer to the insurance company.  (Refer to section IV, B, (l). 
 
4. If the motor vehicle or mobile home has never been titled and has been stolen 

from a Florida dealer, and the insurance company has paid a total loss claim: 
 

a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) or out-of-state certificate 
of title must be assigned by the dealer transferring interest to the insurance 
company.  The insurance company's name must appear as the purchaser. 

 

b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, completed by an authorized agent of the insurance company. 

 

NOTE:  The applicant must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all of the 
odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted with 
the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be obtained 
because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 

c. Form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 
Verification, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company with the motor vehicle identification number verified by one of 
the four officials shown on the lower portion of the form.  Verification is 
not required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or out-of-state 
licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or semi-trailer 
with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel trailer, camping 
trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 

 

or, 
 

An affidavit from the Florida dealer and an authorized agent of the 
insurance company verifying that the vehicle identification number shown 
on the affidavit is identical to the vehicle identification number shown on 
the motor vehicle. 

 
d. Title fees. 
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5. For a new motor vehicle or mobile home that has never been titled and has been 

stolen from a retail purchaser who purchased the motor vehicle from a Florida or 
out-of-state dealer: 

 
a. The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) must be assigned by the 

dealer transferring interest to the retail purchaser(s). 
 

b. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, completed by the purchaser(s). 

 
NOTE:  The applicant must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all of the 

odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted with 
the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be obtained 
because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 
c. A copy of the police theft report showing the owner of the motor vehicle 

or mobile home as the victim. 
 

d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 
e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel 
Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
f. Title fees. 
 

NOTE:  When the certificate of title has been issued in the name of the retail purchaser, it must 
be completed for transfer to the insurance company.  (Refer to section IV, B, l of this 
procedure.) 

 
6. For a used motor vehicle or used mobile home that has never been titled in 

Florida, has been stolen from a retail purchaser who purchased the motor vehicle 
or mobile home from a Florida or out-of-state dealer, and a title is needed for 
transfer to the insurance company: 

 
a. The out-of-state certificate of title assigned by the owner(s) transferring 

interest to the Florida or out-of-state dealer.  The dealer must reassign 
interest to the retail purchaser(s). 

 
b. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, accurately completed by the retail purchaser(s). 
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NOTE:  The applicant must enter the last recorded odometer reading (previous) in all of the 

odometer spaces on the required documentation.  An affidavit must be submitted with 
the required documentation stating that a current odometer reading cannot be obtained 
because the motor vehicle has been stolen.   

 
c. Form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 

Verification, accurately completed by the retail purchaser(s) with the 
motor vehicle identification number verified by one of the four officials 
shown on the lower portion of the form. 

 
Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 

 
or 

 
An affidavit from the Florida dealer and the purchaser(s) verifying that the 
vehicle identification number shown on the affidavit is identical to the 
vehicle identification number shown on the motor vehicle. 

 
Verification is not required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or 
out-of-state licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or 
semi-trailer with net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel trailer, 
camping trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 

 
NOTE:  If the vehicle identification number was not verified prior to the vehicle being stolen, 

the customer will not be able to process the application until the vehicle has been 
recovered. 

 
d. A copy of the police theft report showing the owner of the motor vehicle 

or mobile home as the victim. 
 

e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 
HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel 
Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
e. The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 
 

g. Title fees. 
 

NOTE:  When certificate of title has been issued in the name of the retail purchaser, it must be 
completed for transfer to the insurance company.  (Refer to section IV, B, l). 

 
 

 

PAGE # 
TL-36-14 

 



STATE OF FLORIDA 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE # 
 

TL-36 

SUBJECT: 
 
 TOTAL LOSS SETTLEMENTS INVOLVING INSURANCE COMPANIES 
 

C. When the insurance company has the Florida certificate of title branded "Salvage Theft" 
and the motor vehicle or mobile home is recovered in substantially intact condition and is 
readily resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of the frame or engine and 
the insurance company wants a certificate of title without a "salvage brand", the 
following documentation is required: 
 

1. The Florida Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is available: 
 

a. The Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT". 
 

b. An affidavit on insurance company letterhead stationery stating the 
description of the motor vehicle or mobile home and stating that the motor 
vehicle or mobile home was recovered in substantially intact condition and 
is resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of frame or engine. 

 

2. When the Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is not 
available: 

 

Form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit Title Certificate, 
accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance company. 
 

NOTE:  When the duplicate certificate of title, in the name of the insurance company is 
received, follow instructions in IV, C, 1. 

 
D. When the insurance company has the Florida certificate of title branded "Salvage Theft" 

and the motor vehicle or mobile home is recovered in substantially intact condition and is 
readily resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of, the frame or engine and 
the insurance company has sold the motor vehicle or mobile home to a retail purchaser: 

 
1. When the motor vehicle or mobile home is sold and the Salvage certificate of title 

branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is available: 
 
a. The Salvage certificate of title must be signed in the "Transfer of Title By 

Seller" section by the insurance company transferring interest to the 
purchaser(s).  The selling price and all required odometer information 
must be entered in labeled places. 

 
If the odometer reading shown in the “Transfer of Title by Seller” section 
of the Florida certificate of title is lower than the odometer reading shown 
on the Division of Motorist Services (DMS) database, the insurance 
company must submit a notarized affidavit which provides a description of 
the vehicle, explaining the “discrepancy/alteration” that is shown in the 
“Transfer of Title by Seller” section of the Florida title. 
 

b. An affidavit on insurance company letterhead stationery describing the 
motor vehicle or mobile home and stating that the motor vehicle or mobile 
home was recovered in substantially intact condition. 

 
c. Lien satisfaction(s), for any liens, as shown on the motor vehicle records 

of this or any other state, if applicable. 
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d. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel 
Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
e. The Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 

 
f. Title fees. 

 
2. If the Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is not available: 

 
Form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit Title Certificate, 
accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance company. 

 
NOTE:  When the duplicate Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is 

received, follow instructions in IV, D, 1. 
 

E. When the insurance company has the Florida certificate of title branded "Salvage Theft" 
and the motor vehicle or mobile home is recovered, but NOT in substantially intact 
condition, the insurance company must apply for a Salvage certificate of title (rebuildable 
or rebuildable flood) or a certificate of destruction. 

 
1. If the Florida Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is 

available, the following items must be submitted: 
   

a. The Salvage certificate of title in the name of the insurance company. 
 

b. Form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company. 

 
c. Title fees. 
 

NOTE:  A salvage (rebuildable or rebuildable flood) certificate of title or certificate of 
destruction will be issued in the name of the insurance company, as shown on the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction. 

 
2. If the Florida Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is not 

available: 
 

Form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit Title Certificate, 
accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance company. 
 

NOTE:  When the duplicate Salvage certificate of title branded "SALVAGE THEFT" is 
received, follow instructions in IV, E, 1. 
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F. If a motor vehicle or mobile home that was declared a TOTAL LOSS prior to January 1, 

1990, as a result of theft is recovered in substantially intact condition and is readily 
resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of, the frame or engine and the 
department is holding the proof of ownership and form DHSMV-V-363A, Report of 
Total Loss Settlement, as previously required by Florida law, submit the following 
documentation to apply for a certificate of title in the name of the insurance company: 
 
1. When the department is holding a Florida certificate of title and form DHSMV-V-

363A, Report of Total Loss Settlement, submit the following: 
 

a. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate 
of Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by an authorized agent 
of the insurance company.  An indication that the vehicle was recovered in 
substantially intact condition must be made by the insurance company.  
This can be shown in the “OTHER” space provided on form HSMV 
82040 in the “Non-Use and Other Certifications” section, or on a 
letterhead affidavit. 

 
b. Title fees. 

 
2. If the department is holding an out-of-state certificate of title or a Manufacturer's 

Certificate of Origin (MCO) and a form DHSMV-V-363A, Report of Total Loss 
Settlement, submit the following: 
 
a. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, or HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate 
of Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by an authorized agent 
of the insurance company.  An indication that the vehicle was recovered in 
substantially intact condition must be made by the insurance company.  
This can be shown in the “OTHER” space provided on form HSMV 
82040 in the “Non-Use and Other Certifications” section, or on a 
letterhead affidavit. 

 
b. Form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 

Verification, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company with the motor vehicle identification number verified by one of 
the four officials shown on the lower portion of the form. 
 
Form HSMV 82040, Application for certificate of title with/without 
Registration, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 

 
Verification is not required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or 
out-of-state licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or 
semi-trailer with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel 
trailer, camping trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 
 

c. Title fees. 
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NOTE:  Documentation should be mailed by the insurance company directly to the: 
 

Division of Motorist Services, ATTN:  Title and Registration Issuance, MS# 72, 2900 
Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, FL 32399. 

 
NOTE:  The certificate of title will be issued in the name of the insurance company and may 

then be transferred to the purchaser. 
 
G. When a stolen motor vehicle or mobile home is recovered in substantially intact 

condition and is readily resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of, the 
frame or engine BEFORE the certificate of title has been received by the insurance 
company from the owner or the lienholder, the insurance company may apply for a 
certificate of title that has no brand. 

 
This is in lieu of a Salvage certificate of title branded "Theft".  The appropriate certificate 
of title shall be applied for within 72 hours after receiving the certificate of title or proof 
of ownership from owner: 

 
1. If the motor vehicle or mobile home is titled in Florida and the certificate of title 

is available for transfer to the insurance company: 
 

a. The certificate of title must be assigned in the "Transfer of Title by Seller" 
section by the owner(s) transferring interest to the insurance company.  
The insurance company's name must appear as the purchaser.  All required 
odometer information must be entered in this section (see DMS Procedure 
TL-09). 

 
b. An affidavit on insurance company letterhead stationery describing the 

motor vehicle or mobile home and stating that the motor vehicle or mobile 
home was recovered in substantially intact condition and is readily 
resalable without extensive repair to, or replacement of, the frame or 
engine. 

 
 

c. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, accurately completed by the insurance company. 
 

d. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 
HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel 
Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 
 

e. A Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 
vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.  A 
non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 
 

f. Title fees. 
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2. If the motor vehicle or mobile home has never been titled in Florida and the out-

of-state proof of ownership is available for transfer to the insurance company: 
 

a. The certificate of title must be accurately assigned in the transfer section 
of the out-of-state certificate of title by the owner(s) transferring interest to 
the insurance company.  The insurance company's name must appear as 
the purchaser. 

  
b. An affidavit on insurance company letterhead stationery describing the 

motor vehicle or mobile home and stating that the motor vehicle or mobile 
home was recovered in substantially intact condition. 
 

c. Form HSMV 82040, Application for certificate of title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, accurately completed by the insurance company. 

 
d. Form HSMV 82042, Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer 

Verification, accurately completed by an authorized agent of the insurance 
company with the motor vehicle identification number verified by one of 
the four officials shown on the lower portion of the form. 

 
Form HSMV 82040, Application for certificate of title with/without 
Registration, may be used in lieu of the above listed form. 

 
Verification is not required on any new motor vehicle sold by a Florida or 
out-of-state licensed motor vehicle dealer; any mobile home; any trailer or 
semi-trailer with a net weight of less than 2,000 pounds; or any travel 
trailer, camping trailer, truck camper, or fifth-wheel recreation trailer. 

 
e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form 

HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel 
Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
f. Florida license plate number transferred to or purchased for the motor 

vehicle, or a non-use affidavit.  The mobile home decal number purchased 
for or the RP decal transferred to or purchased for the mobile home.   
A non-use affidavit is not acceptable for a mobile home. 

 
g. Title fees. 

 
NOTE:  Form HSMV 82363 is not required in the above listed scenarios. 
 
H. When the actual cost to repair the motor vehicle or mobile home to the insurance 

company exceeds 100 percent of the cost of replacing the wrecked or damaged motor 
vehicle or mobile home with one of like kind and quality and the owner is requesting to 
brand the certificate of title with the words "Total Loss:" 
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NOTE:  This process will "brand" the title as a "Total Loss" and will physically appear on the 
title as such.  An inspection of the motor vehicle or mobile home is NOT required.  The 
branded title is just a regular title with a "brand" which may be transferred to a 
purchaser when sold.  This brand will alert the consumer that an insurance company has 
previously paid for repairs to the vehicle which exceeded 100 percent of the value of 
the vehicle. 

 

1. When the certificate of title is available: 
 

a. The certificate of title. 
 

b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit (from the owner) describing the 
motor vehicle or mobile home; requesting the brand of "Total Loss" to be 
placed on the certificate of title. 

 

c. Title fees. 
 

2. When the certificate of title is NOT available: 
 

a. Form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit Title 
Certificate, accurately completed by the owner.   

 

b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit (from the owner) describing the 
motor vehicle or mobile home; requesting the brand of "Total Loss" to be 
placed on the certificate of title.   

 

c. Title fees. 
 

I. When the insurance company is requesting the brand "insurance-declared total loss" 
(which will be a salvage rebuildable title) in lieu of a certificate of destruction, (for a 
damaged vehicle that is equipped with custom-lowered floors for wheelchair access or a 
wheel chair lift) and the insurance company deems that the vehicle is repairable to a 
condition that is safe for operation on public roads: 

 

1. When the certificate of title is available: 
 

a. The certificate of title completed for transfer from the owner to the 
insurance company. 
 

b. A form HSMV 82363, Application For Salvage Title/Certificate of 
destruction, accurately completed by the insurance company.  Item # 11 
on the HSMV 82363 must be checked. 
 

c. Title fees. 
 

2. When the certificate of title is not available: 
 

Form HSMV 82101, Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit Title Certificate, 
accurately completed by the owner.   
 

NOTE:  When the duplicate certificate of title has been issued, it must be completed for transfer 
to the insurance company.  (Refer to section IV, I, l, of this procedure.) 
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J. When an insurance company notifies an independent entity that it may release a vehicle 
in its possession to the vehicle’s owner. 

\ 

An “Independent Entity” is a business that sells or resells damaged or disabled vehicles it 
temporarily stores pursuant to an agreement the entity has with an insurance company. 
 

NOTE:  “Independent Entity” does not include a wrecker operator, towing company, or a repair 
facility. 

 

1. The insurance company provides the independent entity with an accurately 
completed form HSMV 82089, Insurance Company Motor Vehicle Release 
Statement to an independent entity.  This form authorizes the independent entity 
to release the vehicle to its owner. 
 

2. After receiving a release statement, the independent entity must notify the owner 
that the vehicle is available for pick up as follows: 

 

(a)  Notification must be sent via certified mail, return receipt requested, 
 to the owner at the address reflected in department records, and 
 

(b) Notification must inform the owner/insured that he/she has 30 days after 
receiving the notice (use date on return receipt requested/green card) to 
retrieve the vehicle from the independent entity.  A suggested form “Notice 
of Vehicle Availability” is attached as Exhibit B. 

 

3. If the owner/insured does not claim the vehicle within 30 days of receipt of 
notification (use date on return receipt requested/green card to determine receipt 
of notification date), or if the certified notification letter is returned as unclaimed 
(use the postmark date the notice was sent), the independent entity may apply for 
a certificate of title or destruction by submitting the following: 
 

(a)  An accurately completed form HSMV 82040, Application For 
 Certificate Of Title With/Without Registration, in the name of the 
 independent entity, 

 

 or, 
 

 An accurately completed form HSMV 82363, Application For Salvage 
 Title/Certificate of Destruction. 

 

(b) A copy of the completed form HSMV 82089, Insurance Company Motor 
Vehicle Release Statement. 

 

(c)  Proof of certified mail, including the return receipt requested/ 
green card or the returned unclaimed letter. 

 

(d) A copy of the notification letter, which the independent entity sent to the 
owner. 

 

(e) A copy of the proof of reporting the vehicle to the National Motor Vehicle 
Title Information System (NMVTIS).  See V, S, of this procedure for a list 
of approved NMVTIS data consolidators.  

 

NOTE:  Reporting to NMVTIS does not apply to any vehicle which is not motor driven (such as 
mobile homes, etc.). 

 

(f)  Lien satisfaction, if applicable. 
 

(g)  Applicable fees. 
 

NOTE:  The independent entity may not charge a motor vehicle owner storage fees or apply for 
a title under labor or services or towing or storing statutes. 
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V. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION 
 

A. If a certificate of destruction (or unrebuildable title issued prior to 10/01/00) has been 
issued or is being issued for a motor vehicle missing the vehicle identification number 
plate, the insurance company is NOT required to get a replacement decal affixed to the 
motor vehicle before it can be sold. 

 

B. If a salvage certificate of title is branded “Unrebuildable” (issued prior to 10/01/00), the 
motor vehicle or mobile home should not be rebuilt and will not be titled in the state of 
Florida.  If the unrebuildable motor vehicle is subsequently titled in another state and is 
returned to the state of Florida, the motor vehicle cannot be titled. 

 

C. If an unrebuildable salvage motor vehicle (issued prior to 10/01/00) is dismantled and 
used for parts, the certificate of title branded "Salvage Unrebuildable” should be sent to 
the Department as stated in TL-35, section II, B. 

 

D. If an out-of-state certificate of title is branded salvage as a result of a theft loss, the first 
Florida purchaser, whether a licensed motor vehicle dealer or an individual, must obtain 
an affidavit on letterhead stationery from the insurance company stating that the motor 
vehicle was recovered intact and road operable or comply with DMS Procedure TL-37 
and obtain a rebuilt certificate of title. 
 

E. If a California Certificate of Title is received showing a brand of salvage, it has already 
been rebuilt in that state.  Therefore, process the application for Florida certificate of title 
using the brand of rebuilt.  An inspection is not required. 

 

However, if a California Salvage Certificate (in lieu of a title) is received with the 
notation of salvage, it has not been rebuilt in that state.  Therefore, the customer must 
contact a Florida DMS regional office in order to follow the rebuilt process. 

 

F. If an out-of-state certificate of title branded salvage is submitted as a result of damage, 
the first Florida purchaser, whether a licensed Florida dealer or an individual, must 
submit an affidavit advising the department if the motor vehicle was rebuilt and road 
operable when they purchased it or they must comply with DMS Procedure TL-37 and 
obtain a rebuilt certificate of title. 

 

G. If a motor vehicle has been branded by the state of Florida as unrebuildable (issued prior 
to 10/01/00) due to an error in the application by an insurance company, the only 
circumstances under which the department will accept an application for a corrected 
salvage certificate of title or regular certificate of title are as follows: 

 

1. When an insurance company has paid to repair a motor vehicle rather than replace 
it with one of like kind and quality as originally declared.  The insurance 
company must submit the salvage title and a letterhead affidavit explaining the 
circumstances and stating that the motor vehicle was actually repaired rather than 
replaced, in order for the salvage title to be cancelled and the previous record 
reinstated.  The previous owner will need to apply for a duplicate certificate of 
title and pay all title fees. 

 

or, 
 

The insurance company must submit the salvage certificate of title, properly 
completed for transfer to the previous owner (insured), along with a letterhead 
affidavit stating the motor vehicle was actually repaired rather than replaced and 
was transferred to them in error.  The previous owner must complete an 
application and pay title fees in order for a clear title to be issued in their name. 
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2. When an insurance company has declared a motor vehicle a "total loss," and has 
paid to replace the motor vehicle and then makes an error on the salvage 
application that causes the repair to equal or exceed 90 percent of the motor 
vehicle's value, causing the motor vehicle to be branded as unrebuildable (issued 
prior to 10/01/00), the insurance company must submit an affidavit on their 
letterhead stating the circumstances along with a correct application. 

 

3. When an insurance company submits the wrong certificate of title with the 
Salvage application and the certificate of title has been issued, the insurance 
company must submit the salvage title and a letterhead affidavit stating the wrong 
title was transferred to them in error, in order for the certificate of title to be 
cancelled and the previous record reinstated.  The previous owner will need to 
apply for a duplicate certificate of title and pay all title fees. 

 

or, 
 

The insurance company must submit the salvage certificate of title, properly 
completed for transfer to the previous owner, along with a letterhead affidavit 
stating the wrong title was transferred to them in error.  The previous owner must 
complete an application and pay title fees in order for a clear title to be issued in 
their name. 

 

NOTE:  The insurance company must resubmit their application with the correct certificate of 
title. 

 

H. A salvage rebuildable or rebuildable flood certificate of title can be reassigned from the 
insurance company to a dealer on the back of the salvage certificate of title and may be 
reassigned from dealer to dealer as many times as necessary.  When the dealer sells the 
motor vehicle to a non-dealer, the dealer is responsible for submitting the applicant’s 
application for the salvage rebuildable or rebuildable flood certificate of title to the tax 
collector’s office within 30 days from the date of delivery.  The form HSMV 82363 
should be marked as salvage by owner.  The estimation of fees in sections 5 or 6 would 
not be applicable, however, the “rebuildable” or “rebuildable flood” block in one of these 
sections must be checked. 

 

NOTE:  If a dealer rebuilds a rebuildable vehicle, they must apply for a rebuilt title in their name 
prior to selling it. 

 

I. If an insurance company transfers a salvage rebuildable or rebuildable flood certificate of 
title back to the previous owner or a non-dealer, the previous owner or non-dealer may 
apply for a salvage rebuildable, rebuildable flood, or a rebuilt certificate of title.  If the 
previous owner or non-dealer applies for a salvage rebuildable or rebuildable flood 
certificate of title, the form HSMV 82363 should be marked as salvage by owner.  The 
estimation of fees in sections 5 or 6 would not be applicable, however, the “rebuildable” 
or “rebuildable flood” block in one of these sections must be checked. 
 

J. When an insurance company pays to replace a motor vehicle which is worth less than 
$7,500 or is more than seven model years old, the insurance company MUST obtain a 
rebuildable certificate of title in its name (UNLESS the vehicle has been damaged, 
wrecked, burned and the only residual value is for parts or scrap metal). 

 

If the motor vehicle has been damaged, wrecked, or burned and the only residual value is 
for parts or scrap metal, the insurance company MUST obtain a certificate of destruction 
for the vehicle. 
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K. A salvage certificate of title cannot be issued to an insurance company when the owner is 
paid to repair rather than replace a motor vehicle or mobile home. 

 

L. If the brand "Lease", "Taxicab" or "Police Car" is shown on a Florida certificate of title 
that is received with a salvage application, it must be shown on the salvage certificate of 
title application also. 

 

M. Form HSMV 82040, Application for certificate of title with/without Registration, does 
not need to accompany a salvage application when form HSMV 82363, Application for 
Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction, is required. 

 

N. When a total loss is paid and the owner (seller) signs the certificate of title over to the 
insurance company, they should show the date they are signing the title over and not the 
actual date of the loss.  The date the certificate of title is signed over to the insurance 
company would be used to determine the penalty date.  The title is required to be 
transferred within 30 days.  The 30-day period begins the day after the title is completed 
for transfer to the purchaser. 

 

O. When a certificate of destruction has been issued in error, the certificate must be mailed 
to the following address along with an affidavit of explanation (must specify a reason 
for the error) in order for it to be cancelled and the previous record reinstated: 

 

Division of Motorist Services 
ATTN:  Title and Registration Issuance, MS# 72 

2900 Apalachee Parkway 
Tallahassee, Fl. 32399 

 

P/ If FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Administration) has bought a motor vehicle  
 or mobile home because of a natural disaster, it does not have to take title in its name.  
 The title should be reassigned by FEMA using the dealer’s reassignment section. 

 

Q. If the application being submitted is for a certificate of destruction and the proof of 
ownership is an out of state title, the vehicle identification number must be verified by a 
Florida law enforcement officer ONLY. 

 

R. A certificate of destruction is re-assignable a maximum of two times before dismantling 
or destruction of the vehicle or mobile home is required. 

 

S. A list of the various approved NMVTIS Data consolidators (for reporting purposes) are 
located on the website of The National Motor Vehicle Title Information System 
(NMVTIS) at: 

 

http://www.vehiclehistory.gov/nmvtis_vehiclehistory.html 
 

 T. Frequently Asked Questions and Answers are attached to this procedure as Exhibit A. 
 

U. A “Notice to Owner that Motor Vehicle is Available for Pick up” is attached as  
 Exhibit B. 
 

V. A chart entitled “When to Apply for a Rebuildable Title and When to Apply for a 
Certificate of Destruction” is attached as Exhibit C.  

 

 W. All numbered HSMV forms referred to in this procedure can be found in the DMS 
Procedure Manual Forms Appendix. 
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EXHIBIT A 
     

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 
     
1. Q. What are the exact procedures for total losses involving mobile homes whose value falls below 

$1500 and the owner decides to retain salvage?  May the owner retain the motor vehicle without 
applying for a certificate of title in Insurers name? 

   
 A.  Yes.  If the owner and insurance company agree for the owner to retain possession and 

ownership of the mobile home, the certificate of title may be retained by the owner since section 
319.30(3)(b), Florida Statutes, provides for nothing in this subsection to be applicable when a 
mobile home is worth less than $1500 retail prior to sustaining damage that resulted in the total 
loss.  If the insurance company takes possession of the mobile home, a regular certificate of title 
must be obtained in the name of the insurance company.  The insurance company would then be 
able to sell the mobile home to anyone, including the previous owner. 

 
2. Q. What are the penalties if proper procedure is not followed? 
   
 A. Insurance companies are regulated by the Department of Insurance.  Penalties for title fraud are 

covered in Florida Statute 319.33. 
   
3. Q. A vehicle is involved in an accident and the insurance company and the owner agree to   
  repair rather than replace the vehicle.  After the vehicle has been repaired, the owner is   
  dissatisfied and demands that the insurance company pay him to replace the vehicle.  The  
  insurance company agrees and pays the owner for the vehicle, and the owner assigns the   
  certificate of title to the insurance company.  Is the insurance company required to obtain a  
  salvage certificate of title to the vehicle? 
 

 A. Yes. 
 
4. Q. If a motor vehicle is totaled due to unavailable parts, must an insurer obtain a rebuildable 

certificate of title if the amount of damage is over 90% with available new parts, e.g. used parts 
would prevent the certificate of title from being branded "Unrebuildable" if they are readily 
available, new parts cause the total amount of damage to the motor vehicle to equal or exceed 
90% damage? 

 

A. When an insurance company pays a "total loss" settlement on a motor vehicle, they must apply 
for a Salvage certificate of title/certificate of destruction.  A certificate of destruction must be 
issued when a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or newer with a retail value of at least 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide or valuation service, and the estimated costs 
to repair the physical and mechanical damage to the motor vehicle are equal to 90 percent or 
more of the current retail value.  The Salvage certificate of title law does not address the use of 
new or used parts in computing the estimates of the cost of repair. 

 
5. Q. What is the proper procedure related to VIN Plate Replacement? 
   
 a. Interacting with local DMS and Police Agencies 
 b. Ramifications if compliance is not met 
   

 A. It is against the law for a person or company to have a motor vehicle in their possession that is 
missing the manufacturer's identification number plate.  If all numbers have been removed, 
destroyed, altered, or defaced, the motor vehicle is considered contraband and subject to 
forfeiture.  If the visible VIN is missing the insurance company must have a replacement decal 
affixed to the motor vehicle before it can be sold.  The DMS or police agencies dealing in auto 
theft must look for the confidential VIN number on the motor vehicle and make an affidavit on 
letterhead stationery stating what the number is and that a replacement decal is needed.  If it is a 
motor vehicle that will have a certificate of destruction issued on it, a replacement decal is NOT 
required. 

 

TL-36 



 
EXHIBIT A (page 2, cont.) 

 
6. Q. What procedure must be followed if an owner wishes to retain salvage on a mobile home whose 

value exceeds $1500 or a motor vehicle whose value is at least $7500 and the motor vehicle is a 
model year of 7 years or newer? 

   
 1. What is required of the insurer that pays the Actual Cash Value? 
   
   A. DMS Procedure TL-36 is the procedure to follow.  The insurance company is  

  required to apply for a Salvage certificate of title/certificate of destruction, if  
  they pay replacement value for a motor vehicle.  The estimate of the cost to repair 
  the motor vehicle determines whether a certificate of title will be issued,   
  branded “Rebuildable,” or if a certificate of destruction will be issued. 

   
  2. What is required of the motor vehicle owner who retains the salvage? 
   
   A. The motor vehicle owner is required to assign certificate of title to the insurance  

  company making the total loss payoff.  When the insurance company receives the  
  certificate of title issued in their name, they must reassign it to the owner retaining 
  the salvage. 

 
7. Q. Is there still a requirement that motor vehicles be declared a total loss if the repairs exceed 90% 

of the Actual Cash Value? 
 
 A. If the owner and the insurance company agree to repair the motor vehicle rather than replace the 

motor vehicle regardless of whether the repairs are less than or more than 90% percent of the 
value of the motor vehicle in undamaged condition, the motor vehicle is exempt from the 
Salvage certificate of title law.  However, if the actual cost to repair the motor vehicle or mobile 
home to the insurance company exceeds 100 percent of the cost of replacing the wrecked or 
damaged motor vehicle or mobile home with one of like kind and quality, the owner shall 
forward to the department, within 72 hours after the agreement, a request to brand the certificate 
of title with the words "Total Loss Vehicle."  If the insurance company pays the owner 
replacement value for the motor vehicle, the insurance company must apply for a Salvage 
certificate of title/certificate of destruction.  If the estimate of the cost to repair the motor vehicle 
is equal to or exceeds 90% of the value of the motor vehicle in undamaged condition, a 
certificate of destruction will be issued.  If the estimate is less than 90%, the Salvage certificate 
of title will be branded "Rebuildable". 

 
8. Q. Are self insured groups excluded from state salvage titling procedures? 
   
 A. No.  Section 319.30, Florida Statutes, states that when an self-insured motor vehicle is   
  wrecked or damaged and the cost of repairing or rebuilding the motor vehicle is 90% or more of  
  the cost to replace the motor vehicle with one of like kind and quality, it is a total loss therefore,  
  they are required to apply for a certificate of destruction. 
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EXHIBIT B 
 

NOTICE TO OWNER THAT MOTOR VEHICLE IS AVAILABLE FOR PICK UP 
 

DATE: ___________________ 
 

This notice is to inform you as the owner of record for the vehicle described below that you have 30 days from receipt of 

this notice to pick up your vehicle from the business/entity shown on this notice.  You may contact this business to make 

arrangements to claim your vehicle at no charge. 
 

If the motor vehicle is not claimed within 30 days after you receive this notice, the business/entity has the authority to apply 

for either a Salvage Certificate of Title or a Certificate of Destruction in their name pursuant to s. 319.30(9)(b), Florida 

Statutes. 
 

As mandated under Florida Statute 319.30(9)(c), before any damaged or dismantled vehicle is released to the owner or 

application for a Salvage Certificate of Title or Certificate of Destruction is made by the business/entity it will be reported to 

the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System. 
 

Vehicle Description 

Year: 

 

Make: 

 

Title Number: 

 

Vehicle Identification Number: 

 
 

 

Name Of the Insurance Company who Authorized  

the Release on form HSMV 82089: 
Date of the Authorized Release: 

  

 

Name Of the Independent Entity/Business Where the Vehicle Is Located 

Name: 

Address: Phone Number: 

City: State: Zip: 

Signature of Authorized Agent: Printed Name of Authorized Agent: 

 

Note:  This is a suggested form.  This is not a prescribed form; however, it does contain all the information required. 
 

TL-36 

Registered Owner 

Name of Owner: 

 

Address: 

 

City: State: Zip: 



EXHIBIT C 
 

WHEN TO APPLY FOR A REBUILDABLE TITLE 
AND WHEN TO APPLY FOR A CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION  

 

INSURANCE COMPANY (MOTOR VEHICLES) 

 CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION    REBUILDABLE 
 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or 
newer with a retail value of at least $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation 
service, and the estimated costs to repair the physical 
and mechanical damage to the motor vehicle are equal 
to 90 percent or more of the current retail value.  (Use 
section 6, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for 
Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or 
newer with a retail value of at least $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation 
service, and the estimated costs to repair the physical 
and mechanical damage to the motor vehicle is less 
than 90 percent of the current retail cost. (Use 
section 6, of the form HSMV 82363, Application 
for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.)  

When a motor vehicle with a retail value of less than 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide or 
valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model 
vehicle (more than seven model years old) and is 
damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent that the only 
residual value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts 
or scrap metal(Use section 7, a, of the form HSMV 
82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.).   

When a motor vehicle has a retail value of less than 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide 
or valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late 
model vehicle (more than seven model years old) and 
HAS NOT been damaged, wrecked, or burned to the 
extent that the only residual value of the motor 
vehicle is a source of parts or scrap metal.  (Use 
section 7, b, of the form HSMV 82363, Application 
for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

When a motor vehicle with a retail value of less than 
$7,500, as established in any official used car guide or 
valuation service or if the vehicle is not a late model 
vehicle (more than seven model years old) comes into 
Florida under a title or other ownership document that 
indicates the vehicle is not repairable, is junked or is for 
parts or dismantling only.  (Use section 8, of the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

 

Upon request (regardless of the make, value or model 
year).  (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.) 

 

 

INSURANCE COMPANY (MOBILE HOME) 
 

 CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION    REBUILDABLE  
 

The estimated costs of repairing the physical and 
mechanical damage to a MOBILE HOME (with a 
retail value of $1,500 or more) are equal to 80 percent 
or more of the current retail cost of the mobile home, as 
established in any official used mobile home guide. 
(Use section 5, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.)  

The estimated costs of repairing the physical and 
mechanical damage to a MOBILE HOME (with a 
retail value of $1,500 or more) is LESS THAN 80% 
of the current retail cost of the mobile home, as 
established in any official used mobile home guide. 
(Use section 5, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.) 

Upon request (regardless of the make, value or model 
year).  (Use section 9, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.) 

 

 

NOTE:  A total loss is not applicable when the mobile home is worth LESS than $1,500 retail prior to the 
damage. 
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EXHIBIT C (page 2, continued) 
 

WHEN TO APPLY FOR A REBUILDABLE TITLE 
AND WHEN TO APPLY FOR A CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION  

 

SELF INSURED/OWNER (MOTOR VEHICLES) 
 

 CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION    REBUILDABLE 
 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model years or newer with a 
retail value of at least $7,500, as established in any official used 
car guide or valuation service, and the estimated costs to repair 
the physical and mechanical damage to the motor vehicle are 
equal to 90 percent or more of the current retail value.  (Use 
section 6, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

When a motor vehicle is seven (7) model 
years or newer with a retail value of at least 
$7,500, as established in any official used 
car guide or valuation service, and the 
estimated costs of repairing the motor 
vehicle is equal to 80 – 89% of the current 
retail cost of the motor vehicle, as 
established in any official used car guide or 
valuation service.  (Use section 6, c, 3, of 
the form HSMV 82363, Application for 
Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.)  

When a motor vehicle with a retail value of less than $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service or if 
the vehicle is not a late model vehicle (more than seven model 
years old) and is damaged, wrecked, or burned to the extent that 
the only residual value of the motor vehicle is a source of parts or 
scrap metal. (Use section 7, a, of the form HSMV 82363, 
Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.).   

 

When a motor vehicle with a retail value of less than $7,500, as 
established in any official used car guide or valuation service or if 
the vehicle is not a late model vehicle (more than seven model 
years old) comes into Florida under a title or other ownership 
document that indicates the vehicle is not repairable, is junked or 
is for parts or dismantling only.  (Use section 8, of the form 
HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage Title/Certificate of 
Destruction.) 

 

Upon request (regardless of the make, value or model year).  (Use 
section 9, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

 

NOTE:  A total loss is not applicable when the estimated costs of repairing the motor vehicle is LESS 
than 80% of the current retail cost of the motor vehicle. 

 

SELF INSURED/OWNER (MOBILE HOME) 
 

 CERTIFICATE OF DESTRUCTION    REBUILDABLE  
 

The estimated costs of repairing the physical and mechanical 
damage to a MOBILE HOME (with a retail value of $1,500 or 
more) are equal to 80 percent or more of the current retail cost of 
the mobile home, as established in any official used mobile home 
guide. (Use section 5, of the form HSMV 82363, Application 
for Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.)  

Not Applicable. 

Upon request (regardless of the make, value or model year).  (Use 
section 9, of the form HSMV 82363, Application for Salvage 
Title/Certificate of Destruction.) 

Upon request (even when the estimated 
costs of repairing the mobile home is less 
than 80% of the current retail cost of the 
mobile home.  (Use section 5, f, of the 
form HSMV 82363, Application for 
Salvage Title/Certificate of Destruction.). 

NOTE:  A total loss is not applicable when the estimated costs of repairing the mobile home is LESS than 
80% of the current retail cost or when it is worth LESS than $1,500 retail prior to the damage. 
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