
      Florida 
Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 

 PROCEDURE 
 

TL-09 

SUBJECT: 
 

ODOMETER DISCLOSURE AND DECLARATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
         THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 

COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT OF 
HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES FOR OBTAINING PROPER ODOMETER 
DISCLOSURES FOR ALL CERTIFICATE OF TITLE APPLICATIONS IN ACCORDANCE WITH 
FEDERAL AND STATE REGULATIONS. 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 319.21(2), Florida Statutes, provides that motor vehicle dealers may, in lieu of taking 
title in their name, reassign existing certificates of title as provided for in section 319.225, 
Florida Statutes. 

 

Section 319.225(1), Florida Statutes, provides that certificates of title shall contain warning 
statements about federal and state law regarding odometer disclosures. 

 

Section 319.225(2), Florida Statutes, provides that certificates of title shall contain forms for the 
transfer of certificates of title and forms for odometer disclosure statements that conform to 
federal rule. 
 

Section 319.225(3), Florida Statutes, states: "Each certificate of title issued by the department 
must contain on its reverse side as many forms as space allows for reassignment of title by a 
licensed dealer as permitted by s. 319.21(3), which form or forms shall contain an odometer 
disclosure statement in the form required by 49 C.F.R. s. 580.5.  When all dealer reassignment 
forms provided on the back of the title certificate have been filled in, a dealer may reassign the 
title certificate by using a separate dealer reassignment form issued by the department in 
compliance with 49 C.F.R. ss. 580.4 and 580.5, which form shall contain an original that shall be 
submitted to the department by the dealer and a copy that shall be retained by the dealer in his or 
her records for 5 years.  The provisions of this subsection shall also apply to vehicles not 
previously titled in this state and vehicles whose title certificates do not contain the forms 
required by this section." 

 

Section 319.225(4), Florida Statutes, provides that upon transfer or reassignment of a certificate 
of title, the transferor shall complete the odometer disclosure statement and the transferee shall 
acknowledge the disclosure by signing and printing their names in the spaces provided.  The 
subsection provides an exemption for motor vehicles, which are 10 years old or older, motor 
vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds and motor vehicles 
which are not self-propelled. 
 
 

 

Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Added a scenario on page 17, letter H. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

Immediately 
 

REVISION DATE 
 

05/04/15 
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Section 319.225(5), Florida Statutes, prohibits a person from signing a disclosure statement as 
both transferor and transferee, unless done in compliance with subsection 319.225(6), Florida 
Statutes. 

 
NOTE:  However, in the case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, there is no one else 

available to sign.  Therefore, the disclosure would have to be made by the same person. 
 

Sections 319.225(6)(a) and (b), Florida Statutes, provide that if the certificate of title is 
physically held by a lienholder or has been lost or destroyed, a transferor may give a power of 
attorney to his or her transferee for purposes of odometer disclosure and provide for the content 
and use of such powers of attorney.  The department shall not require the signature of the 
transferor to be notarized on the form; however, in lieu of notarization, the form shall include an 
affidavit with the following wording: Under penalty of perjury, I declare that I have read the 
forgoing document and that the facts stated in it are true. 
 
Section 319.225(7), Florida Statutes, provides that if a title is held electronically and the 
transferee agrees to maintain the title electronically, the transferor and transferee shall complete a 
secure reassignment document that discloses the odometer reading and is signed by both the 
transferor and transferee at the tax collector office or license plate agency.  It further states the 
department must provide space on the certificate of title for separate dealer disclosure statements 
and for motor vehicle auctions to make notations. 

 
Section 319.225(8), Florida Statutes, requires that auctions make certain notations on certificates 
of title and on separate dealer odometer disclosure statements. 

 
Section 319.23(3), Florida Statutes, requires that an application for a certificate of title to a motor 
vehicle previously titled in another state be accompanied by a sworn affidavit by the owner that 
the odometer reading on the motor vehicle is identical to that in the affidavit. 
 

II. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

A. Federal regulations regarding odometer disclosure require that disclosures be made on all 
transfers of ownership on documents by a secure printing process or by other secure 
means.  Federal rule specifies that transferors (sellers) are to make odometer disclosures 
by signing and printing their name and transferees (buyers) are to acknowledge 
disclosures by signing and printing their name.  The rule specifies that odometer 
disclosure statements are to contain the following information: 

 
1. The current odometer reading. 

 
2. The date the odometer was read. 
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3. The transferor's certification that the mileage is: 
 

(a) Actual  
 

or, 
 

(b) In excess of the mechanical limits of the odometer 
 

or, 
 

(c) Not actual and should not be relied on. 
 

NOTE:  Please ensure that ONE of the above three odometer statements (II, A, 3, a-c) is 
properly recorded.  Any alteration to these statements and/or the use of "true mileage 
unknown (TMU)" or "exceeds true mileage (ETM)" are in violation of state and federal 
laws and must be rejected. 

 
An odometer reading of 100,000 miles or more may not necessarily be incorrect if the 
vehicle has a six-digit odometer.  A six-digit odometer does not require the box "In 
Excess Of Its Mechanical Limits" to be checked. 

 
4. The transferor's name and current address. 

 
5. The transferee's name and current address. 

 
6.  The signature and printed name of the transferor and the transferee. 

 
NOTE:  Do NOT reject the documentation if the "printed name" is not hand written (Example: 

typed, stamped, etc.).  However, the documentation must be rejected if the "printed 
name" is left blank. 

 
7. The motor vehicle description to include make, model, year, body type, and 

vehicle identification number. 
 

The box, "Odometer Reading is Not Actual Mileage, Warning Odometer Discrepancy" 
should be checked if the mileage is incorrect or if there is definite knowledge that the 
odometer reading is not the actual mileage.  The actual mileage appearing on an 
odometer only exceeds its mechanical limits if the odometer is in working order and has 
rolled over maximum reading capability. 

 
ODOMETER READING CAPABILITY 

 
TYPE  MAXIMUM READING 
Five Digits    99,999.9 
Six Digits  999,999.9 

 
NOTE:  Do not write in the tenths block. 
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NOTE:  When a business (who sells salvage vehicles) is NOT able (due to no keys, no battery, 
burned vehicle, etc.) to obtain an odometer reading for an inoperable vehicle, the 
person making the odometer declaration on the required documentation should enter 
"9s" in all of the odometer spaces along with "Not Actual Miles."  Since it is unlikely a 
motor vehicle would have such a reading, this would indicate there was a problem 
obtaining the reading.  An affidavit must be submitted with the required documentation 
stating why the odometer reading could not be obtained. 

 
B. Transactions Requiring Odometer Disclosure or Declaration and Exemption: 

 
1. State law regarding odometer disclosure provides that the reading shall be 

recorded at the time of any title activity.  Federal odometer disclosure statements 
or odometer declarations are required on the following transactions: 

 
a. New car original. 

 
b. Used car original. 

 
c. Transfer. 

 
d. Duplicate. 

 
e. Original salvage certificate of title. 

 
f. Duplicate with transfer. 

 
g. Title reinstatement. 

 

NOTE:  NON-EXEMPT VEHICLES - If no reading is shown in the odometer 
disclosure/declaration area on the title and/or the application for title, the paperwork 
must be rejected.  Refer to TL-09, II, J, 1, for the additional documentation required. 

 
2. The following motor vehicles are EXEMPT from all odometer disclosure 

statements or odometer declarations: 
 

a. Any motor vehicle that is 10 calendar years old or older as of January 1 of 
the current year. 
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NOTE:  EXEMPT VEHICLES - A vehicle should not be automatically exempted if an odometer 
reading is available.  If current mileage, date read and odometer status (actual, exceeds 
or not actual) are shown in the odometer disclosure/declaration area on the title 
("Transfer of Title By Seller" section) and/or the application for title, this information 
should be entered when processing the application, unless the previous motor vehicle 
record was shown as exempt.  If there is an odometer error on the title and 
accompanying paperwork, and the customer requests that the vehicle be marked as 
exempt, rather than obtaining corrected odometer disclosures/affidavits, this request 
should be noted in the "Comment Desc." field and the transaction processed as exempt.  
If the customer chooses to place the wording "exempt" for the odometer reading in lieu 
of the mileage, date read and odometer status, or leaves the odometer reading blank, do 
not reject their paperwork, since the odometer reading is not required on an exempt 
vehicle.   

 

b. Any motor vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more 
than 16,000 pounds. 

 

NOTE:  GVWR means the value specified by the MANUFACTURER as the loaded (maximum 
permissible) weight of a single vehicle. 

 

c. Any motor vehicle that is not self-propelled. 
 

d. Any new motor vehicle, covered by an MCO, transferred between dealers 
(dealer swaps). 

 

NOTE:  Some exceptions to this exemption that would require an odometer declaration, not a 
disclosure, are: 

 

• When an MCO is assigned to a dealership and the dealership chooses to take title in 
its name.  

 

• When a dealership transfers a new motor vehicle to another dealership and that 
dealership chooses to take title in its name. 

 

e. Low speed electric vehicles. 
 

f. Off-Highway vehicles.   
 

NOTE:  When a motor vehicle is exempt and the exemption is reflected on the motor vehicle 
database, the reading will not subsequently reflect actual mileage.  If a power of 
attorney is needed for a motor vehicle that is exempt from odometer disclosure, use 
form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney.  The form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle 
Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, should not be used. 

 

C. Conforming and Nonconforming Certificates of Title: 
 

1. All certificates of title with a title revision date of 1/90 issued by the state of 
Florida conform to federal law and rules.  The Division of Motorist Services 
began using these titles on April 29, 1990.  They conform by having the full 
odometer disclosure statement elements outlined in Section II, A, of this 
procedure and are referred to as "conforming" certificates of title. 

 

2. All certificates of title issued by the state of Florida with a revision date prior to 
1/90 are considered to be "nonconforming" certificates of title. 

 
1 
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D. Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment (HSMV 82993):  Form 
HSMV 82993, Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment, in 
conjunction with Code of Federal Regulations, 49 C.F.R, ss. 580.04 and 580.13, was 
designed to be used when a person buys, sells, trades, or gives a motor vehicle, not 
exempt from the odometer law, to an individual or company.  Two original forms HSMV 
82993, Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment, must be 
completed and exchanged between the transferor (seller) and transferee (purchaser). 

 
NOTE:  This form may also be used by a dealership in the same capacity as any separate 

odometer disclosure statement as required by federal law.  The dealership would be 
required by federal law to retain a copy of this executed document in their files for five 
years. 

 
E. Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement (HSMV 82994): 

 
1. Form HSMV 82994, Motor Vehicle Dealer Title Reassignment Supplement, is a 

secure form which is filed as follows: 
 

a. The ORIGINAL form is required to be attached to the certificate of title or 
the manufacturer's certificate of Origin (MCO) being surrendered with the 
application for title. 

 
b. The COPY of the form is for the dealer's record and must be retained by 

the dealer for a period of five years. 
 

NOTE:  If the dealer sells the vehicle to an out of state resident or an out of state dealer (and the 
form is applicable to the transaction), they must photocopy the completed original of 
the form and mail directly to Division of Motorist Services (DMS) within 5 business 
days after the title and form are delivered by the dealer to its purchaser. 

 
It is used to reassign a certificate of title and make odometer disclosures between 
licensed dealers or between dealers and their retail buyers. 

 
2. Form 82994, Motor Vehicle Title Reassignment Supplement, can only be used by 

a licensed motor vehicle dealer to reassign a certificate of title or other form of 
proof of ownership issued by another state or foreign country, to another dealer or 
retail purchaser. 

 
3. Form HSMV 82994, Motor Vehicle Title Reassignment Supplement, must be 

used by dealers: 
 

a. With conforming Florida Certificates of Title to make additional dealer 
reassignments and odometer disclosures when all reassignment and 
odometer disclosure spaces on the reverse side of the certificate of title 
have been used. 

 
b. With nonconforming Florida Certificates of Title to make reassignments 

and odometer disclosures. 
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c. With a conforming MCO, when the MCO is not available at the time of 
sale. 

d. With all out-of-state nonconforming certificates of title to make dealer 
reassignments and odometer disclosures. 

 
NOTE:  When a motor vehicle is traded or assigned to a dealer and a conforming certificate of 

title is provided as proof of ownership, all dealer reassignments on the conforming 
Florida Certificate of Title must be completed before a form HSMV 82994 can be used.  
Florida law and federal regulations do not permit a dealer to jump off the original 
certificate of title, even in situations when the certificate of title is with a floor planner.  
If a dealer jumps from the conforming certificate of title to the form HSMV 82994 and 
all reassignments on the actual certificate of title have not been completed, the 
application for certificate of title must be rejected. 

 
Dealers involved in the transaction chain must complete the Florida Certificate of Title 
reassignments with all required information, including addresses.  However, auctions 
are only required to show their name and license number, located on its reverse side.  
When all reassignments are completed, the subsequent dealers may then complete the 
form HSMV 82994 up through an assignment to a retail customer. 

 
If a Florida dealer jumps from the conforming certificate of title to the form HSMV 
82994 and a subsequent dealer jumps back to the conforming certificate of title, in the 
same chain, the Florida dealer that jumped off the conforming certificate of title must 
first apply for a certificate of title in their name.   
 

EXCEPTION:  The department does not have the authority to regulate out-of-state dealers 
involving non-compliance of this requirement.  Therefore, in situations where 
this occurs involving an out-of-state dealer, do not reject the customer's 
paperwork. 

 
Once the title is issued in the Florida dealership’s name, that dealership must reassign 
the title to the next Florida dealer in sequence and continue with the dealer 
reassignments on the title to each subsequent Florida dealer.  After all dealer 
reassignments have been used on the certificate of title, form HSMV 82994, Motor 
Vehicle Title Reassignment Supplement or form HSMV 82091, Reassignment 
Supplement To A Certificate Of Title, must be used to continue the chain of any 
additional reassignments.  Form HSMV 82091, Reassignment Supplement To A 
Certificate Of Title may only be used on non-conforming certificates of title.   

 
NOTE:  Florida dealer to Florida dealer reassignments must be completed on conforming out-

of-state certificates of title, even if that state’s title reassignment specifies 
"Reassignment By (example: Oklahoma) Dealer," in lieu of using form HSMV 82994, 
Motor Vehicle Title Reassignment Supplement.  This requirement is pursuant to section 
319.225(3), Florida Statutes.  However, if the reassignment by a licensed dealer is on a 
non-conforming certificate of title, the form HSMV 82994 must be completed and 
submitted with the application for a certificate of title. 
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NOTE:  If certain alterations/discrepancies (see list below) are made on the form HSMV 
82994, a letterhead affidavit from the dealership/business explaining the error(s) 
would be acceptable. 
 

• Incorrect make, model, or body description. 
 

• Incorrect address for the seller, purchaser or dealership/business. 
 

F. Form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure: 
 

1. Form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, is a 
secure form which is filed as follows: 

 
a. The ORIGINAL form must be attached to the certificate of title when it is 

obtained and is to remain with the title until the application for title is 
made for the purchaser.  The full name of the appointed Power of Attorney 
is required on form HSMV 82995. 

 
b. The COPY of the form is for the dealer's record and must be retained by 

the dealer for a period of five years. 
 

NOTE:  If the dealer sells the vehicle to an out of state resident or an out of state dealer (and the 
form is applicable to the transaction), the dealer must photocopy the completed original 
of the form and mail directly to DMS within 5 business days after the certificate of title 
and dealer reassignment form are delivered by the dealer to its purchaser. 

 
2. Federal and state law prohibits an individual who has been appointed as an 

attorney-in-fact from acting as both transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer) for 
purposes of completing odometer disclosure statements in conjunction with the 
transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle, unless a secure power of attorney form 
is used. 

 
EXCEPTION:  In the case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, the disclosure would be 

made by the same person.  Therefore, the secure power of attorney would not be 
needed. 

 
3. This secure power of attorney form is only to be used when an individual 

appointed as the attorney-in-fact is acting as both transferor and transferee for 
purposes of completing the odometer disclosure statement in conjunction with the 
transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle.  This form may be used when: 

 
a. The certificate of title is physically being held by the lienholder, and is not 

available for endorsement by the transferor (seller) for the purpose of 
transferring ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer disclosure. 
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NOTE:  When a title transaction is processed electronically (ELT), a physical title does not print 
until the lienholder requests a paper title, therefore, if a certificate of title is submitted 
for transfer using a secure power of attorney and the previous title transaction was 
electronic (ELT), the secure power of attorney would be acceptable. 

 
b. The certificate of title is lost, and is therefore not available for 

endorsement by the transferor (seller) for the purpose of transferring 
ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer disclosure. 

 
NOTE:  There are instances when a company is shown as owner and lienholder on the front of 

the title.  An authorized agent of the company will sign on the face of the certificate of 
title and then send the title to another department for the lien to be satisfied.  This may 
take a few days to a few weeks.  This may look like the title was not available at the 
time of sale; however, it was available and is being endorsed by an authorized agent of 
the company (the owner).  This situation would not require a secure power of attorney. 

 
NOTE:  Form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, does not 

authorize the attorney-in-fact to assign or designate an alternate agent to act as the 
attorney-in-fact.  The full name of the appointee is required on form HSMV 82995.  

 
NOTE:  If certain alterations/discrepancies (see list below) are made on the form HSMV 82995, 

a letterhead affidavit from the dealership/business explaining the error(s) would be 
acceptable. 

 

• Incorrect make, model, or body description. 
 

• Incorrect address for the seller, purchaser or dealership/business. 
 

• Incorrect date in section C. 
 

G. Persons authorized to use form 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer 
Disclosure, when certificate of title is lost or being held by the lienholder: 

 
NOTE:  Only the ORIGINAL form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer 

Disclosure, will be accepted. 
 

1. Transferors (sellers) must complete "Part A" of the form HSMV 82995 when 
transferring their ownership interest in a motor vehicle to a transferee 
(dealership/business) and the certificate of title is not available for odometer 
disclosure.  The transferee (dealership/business) will use this secure power of 
attorney to make the required odometer disclosure on behalf of the transferor, 
when the title is received. 
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2. Transferee (dealership/business) who is obtaining ownership of the motor vehicle 
described on this form from the transferor (seller).  The transferee 
(dealership/business) will use this secure power of attorney to make the required 
odometer disclosure on behalf of the transferor (seller), once the title is received.  
The transferor AND transferee must complete "Part A" of the form.  When the 
odometer information is transferred to the certificate of title, "Part C" must be 
completed by the dealership/business.  The person for the dealership/business 
transferring the odometer information to the certificate of title must be the same 
person signing in Part C. 

 
NOTE:  The transferor (seller) should appoint "dealership/business" as their attorney-in-fact in 

Part A and not an individuals' name with the dealership/business.  This would allow 
any agent with the dealership to sign in Part A and Part C of the form.  The agent 
signing in Part A and Part C would not have to be the same person. 

 
3. A new purchaser(s) who is obtaining ownership of the motor vehicle from the 

dealership/business, prior to the title being received by the dealership/business.  
The dealership/business will use this secure power of attorney to make the 
required odometer disclosure on behalf of the new purchaser, once the title is 
received.  The new purchaser and the dealership/business must complete part B of 
the form.  When the odometer information is transferred to the certificate of title, 
"Part C" must be completed by the dealership.  The date in "Part C" should not be 
prior to the title issue date or prior to the date of the lien satisfaction on the title, 
otherwise, a letterhead affidavit of explanation would be required from the 
dealership. 

 
NOTE:  Parts B and C of this form MAY NOT be used without using Part A.  Conditions for 

use of Part A, as previously stated, must be met before Parts B and C may be used.  
Any HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, submitted 
without Part A completed, voids the document. 

 
H. Non-Secure Power Of Attorney (Limited): 

 
1. Form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney: 

 
a. This form may be used by an individual appointed as attorney-in-fact 

when completing an odometer disclosure statement as transferor (seller) 
only or transferee (purchaser) only.  It is also recommended to use this 
form for any motor vehicle that is exempt from state and federal odometer 
disclosure requirements. 
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b. The seller (transferor) or buyer (transferee) cannot lawfully use form 
HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney, to appoint a licensed Florida motor 
vehicle dealer, an insurance company, an employee of a licensed Florida 
motor vehicle dealer or insurance company as attorney-in-fact to execute a 
conforming certificate of title.   

 
The individual appointed must be an independent third party who is not 
associated with the dealership or insurance company in any capacity.  The 
transferor (seller) cannot lawfully appoint an insurance company, a dealer, 
or any employee of such dealer, as attorney-in-fact using a non-secure 
power of attorney to sign a copy of an odometer disclosure statement for 
the purpose of completing odometer disclosure for both the transferor 
(seller) and transferee (buyer).  A licensed motor vehicle dealer or an 
insurance company, including all employees, is considered one legal 
entity.  Appointments defined above are permitted with the use of the 
secure power of attorney, form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of 
Attorney/Odometer Disclosure.  (see Section G, 1.) 

 
NOTE:  Original or a certified copy of form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney, must accompany 

title documents submitted with application for Florida Certificate of Title showing the 
full name of the appointee. 

 
Disclosure - when signing for either transferor or 
transferee, not both 

HSMV 82053 
Declaration - can be used anytime 
 
Disclosure - when signing for either transferor or 
transferor and transferee.  Must be used when title is 
being held by the lienholder or, if the title is lost or 
destroyed. 

HSMV 82995 
Declaration - not to be used. 
 

NOTE:  If the transaction is between individuals, the seller cannot appoint the buyer, nor the 
buyer appoint the seller power of attorney to sign an odometer disclosure. 

 
I. Form HSMV 82996, Motor Vehicle Dealer/Auto Auction or Customer Odometer 

Affidavit: 
 

This form may be used by a customer (may be an individual or company), auction, or 
dealer (as supporting documentation) to verify that a specific motor vehicle has either a 
five (5) or six (6) digit odometer. 
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Example: A title reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as 124,000 
Actual Miles.  However, because the vehicle has only a five (5) digit odometer, the 
reading is not correct.  Therefore, the reading should be 24,000 Exceeds Mechanical 
limits.  The form HSMV 82996, Motor Vehicle Dealer/Auto Auction or Customer 
Odometer Affidavit, would help to correct this issue. 

 
J. Odometer Disclosure and Declaration Review Process: 

 
Certificate of title applications and other related documents containing odometer 
disclosure or declaration forms or spaces which are filed with the department, tax 
collector or license plate agent shall be reviewed and examined for omissions, alterations 
and discrepancies. 

 
For purposes of reviewing and examining odometer disclosures and declarations on 
certificate of title application documentation, the following definitions and procedures 
should be used: 

 
1. Omission: 

 
An omission is defined as omitting all or part of a required odometer reading on 
any odometer disclosure document where such information is required on the 
form, e.g., the date of reading, status certification, the signature, the printed name 
and address. 

 
When there is an omission of odometer data on a conforming Florida or out-of-
state certificate of title, the application must be rejected for correction of the 
omission. 

 
The applicant must correct the omission by submitting an original (or a copy) of 
an accurately completed form HSMV 82993, Separate Odometer Disclosure 
Statement and Acknowledgment, 
or,  

 

If a dealer is involved, an accurately completed form HSMV 82994, Motor 
Vehicle Title Reassignment Supplement (if applicable), a copy of an accurately 
completed odometer disclosure statement or a copy of an accurately completed 
form HSMV 82993, Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and 
Acknowledgment. 

 
2. Alterations: 

 
An alteration is defined as a strike over, erasure, ink-over, white-out or any other 
method of change made to an odometer disclosure statement required to be filed 
as part of a certificate of title application.  See Discrepancies for corrective action 
to allow the application to be processed. 
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3. Discrepancies: 
 

a. A discrepancy is defined as: 
 

1) An odometer reading which appears on a certificate of title or other 
documents submitted with application for a certificate of title 
which is lower than the previously recorded mileage (either on the 
face of the certificate of title or the motor vehicle data base);  

 
or, 
 

 

2) An odometer date which appears on a certificate of title or other 
documents submitted with the application for a certificate of title 
which proceeds (is before) a previously recorded date (either on 
the face of the certificate of title or the motor vehicle database). 

 
NOTE:  The following may also be considered as discrepancies: 
 

• A title reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as 124,000 
Actual Miles.  However, because the vehicle has only a five (5) digit odometer, the 
reading is not correct.  Therefore, the reading should be 24,000 Exceeds Mechanical 
limits. 

 

• A title reassignment shows the odometer reading for the motor vehicle as 124,000 
Exceeds Mechanical Limits.  However, because the vehicle has a six (6) digit 
odometer, the reading is not correct.  Therefore, the reading should be 124,000 
Actual Miles. 

 
 

• The reading changes from a 5 digit to a six digit (or vice versa) in the paperwork. 
 
A completed form HSMV 82996, Motor Vehicle Dealer/Auto Auction or Customer 
Odometer Affidavit, would help to correct these issues, as it verifies that a specific 
motor vehicle has either a five (5) or six (6) digit odometer. 

 
b. Whenever there is an alteration or discrepancy in the odometer disclosure 

on any documentation submitted with the application for a certificate of 
title, the application must be accompanied by the following, to correct the 
alteration or discrepancy: 

 
1) An original (or a copy) of an accurately completed form HSMV 

82993, Separate Odometer Statement and Acknowledgment. 
or 
If a dealer is involved, an accurately completed form HSMV 
82994, Motor Vehicle Title Reassignment Supplement (if 
applicable), a copy of an accurately completed odometer disclosure 
statement or a copy of an accurately completed form HSMV 
82993, Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and 
Acknowledgment. 
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2) A notarized or perjury clause affidavit signed by the transferor 
(individual/non-dealer or dealer) explaining the reason for the 
alteration or discrepancy.  If the affidavit is from a dealer, it should 
be on the dealership's letterhead stationery. 

 
c. Applications submitted with alterations or discrepancies are subject to 

review by the Odometer Fraud Unit of the Department. 
 
NOTE:  Any odometer brand from an out-of-state certificate of title shall be carried forward 

onto the Florida Certificate of Title.  If an out-of-state certificate of title is submitted 
branded "Uncertified," the Florida Certificate of Title will be issued showing the 
odometer reading and status indicated on the form HSMV 82040, Application for 
Certificate of Title with/without Vehicle Registration.  If the reading on form HSMV 
82040 is lower than that on the out-of-state certificate of title, it is considered a 
discrepancy and is subject to review by the Odometer Fraud Unit of the Department. 

 
K. Correction Of An Odometer Reading Stated On Florida Certificate Of Title: 

 
1. When the certificate of title was issued correctly according to the documents 

submitted to the department, submit the following to the local tax collector's 
office. 

 
a. An original (or a copy) of an accurately completed form HSMV 82993, 

Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement and Acknowledgment, for casual 
sales.  If a dealer is involved, an accurately completed form HSMV 82994, 
Motor Vehicle Title Reassignment Supplement, a copy of an accurately 
completed odometer disclosure statement or a copy of an accurately 
completed form HSMV 82993, Separate Odometer Disclosure Statement 
and Acknowledgment.  

 
b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit from the transferor stating the 

correct odometer reading at time of sale, the date of the reading and an 
explanation of the error.  If the affidavit is from a dealer, it should be on 
the dealership's letterhead stationery. 

 
c. The actual Florida Certificate of Title that needs correction. 

 
d. Microfilm or photocopy of the previously submitted form HSMV 82042, 

Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification, or other 
documents showing the odometer reading at the time of the transaction. 

 
e. Title fees, if applicable.   
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NOTE:  Dealers are allowed to reassign the certificate of title to other dealers with the affidavits 
attached.  When the motor vehicle is actually sold, all paperwork should be submitted 
to the license plate agency for processing. 

 
CORRECTIONS (Omissions, Alterations, and Discrepancies) 

 
       HSMV 82994, copy of an accurately completed odometer 
 Dealer to Dealer    disclosure statement or a copy of an accurately completed 
 Or     form HSMV 82993 
 Dealer to Retail Buyer  

      AND 
 

 Letterhead affidavit signed by the dealer, explaining the error 
(required for alteration or discrepancy). 

 
      An original or a copy of an accurately completed form HSMV 
       82993 
 Individual to 
 Individual/Non-Dealer   AND 
 
      Affidavit signed by transferor explaining the error (required for 

alteration or discrepancy). 
 

2. When the certificate of title was issued showing an incorrect odometer reading 
because of a Division of Motorist Services (including tax collector offices) error, 
submit the following to the local tax collector's office: 

 
a. The actual Florida Certificate of Title that needs correction. 

 
b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit from the registered owner stating 

the odometer reading needs to be corrected. 
 
NOTE:  The license plate agency must obtain microfilm or imaged documents to verify the 

error.  Title fees are not required for correction of errors, if the error was made by an 
agent of the department.  However, fees must be charged if it is clear that the error was 
not made by any agent of the department. 

 
L. Kilometer Odometers: 

 
1. Replacing a Kilometer Odometer With A Mileage Odometer: 

 
There are instances when a motor vehicle's odometer is measured in kilometers.  
This usually occurs in motor vehicles that are titled or registered in another 
country.  If an owner of a motor vehicle wishes to replace the odometer that reads 
in kilometers with an odometer that reads in mileage, the following documents 
must be submitted: 
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a. The certificate of title. 
 

b. A letterhead affidavit from an authorized agent of the garage or repair 
shop licensed to replace kilometer odometer with mileage odometer.   
The affidavit must state that the kilometer odometer was replaced with a 
mileage odometer and that the mileage reflects the accurate conversion of 
kilometers to mileage.  

 

c. Title fees.   
 
2. Converting a Kilometer Odometer to a Mileage Odometer: 

Some motor vehicles are equipped with a switch that allows the owner to read the 
odometer in kilometers or mileage.  If the owner of a motor vehicle wishes to 
convert the odometer reading from kilometers to mileage, the following 
documents must be submitted: 
 

a. The certificate of title. 
 

b. An affidavit from the person who converted the kilometer odometer to a 
mileage odometer.  The affidavit must state that the kilometer odometer 
was converted to a mileage odometer and that the mileage odometer 
reflects the accurate conversion of kilometers to mileage. 

 

c. Title fees. 
 

NOTE:  A certificate of title may be issued showing either a mileage or kilometer reading; 
however, once the unit of measurement for the odometer reading is chosen it must 
remain as such.  The reading should not be converted back and forth from kilometers to 
mileage or mileage to kilometers.   

 
NOTE:  The measurement used to convert kilometers to mileage is:  Kilometers X .6214 

The measurement used to convert mileage to kilometers is:  Mileage X 1.609 
 
III. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 

 
A. Computer generated, laser printed or facsimile (stamped) signatures of the owner or co-

owner are acceptable on applications for title, affidavits, etc., however, they are not 
acceptable when an odometer disclosure is required.  The Code of Federal Regulations, 
49 CFR s. 580.5(c), requires that a transferor of a motor vehicle provide an odometer 
disclosure statement which must be "signed by the transferor, including the printed 
name."  Similarly, 49 CFR s. 580.5(f), requires that the transferee must "sign the 
disclosure statement and print their name."  In accordance with these provisions, buyers 
and sellers must actually sign and print their names when completing odometer disclosure 
statements. 

 

EXCEPTION:  Any Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (new vehicle) submitted with 
electronic signatures in the odometer disclosure area, is acceptable. 

 

NOTE:  Do NOT reject the documentation if the "printed name" is not hand written (Example: 
typed, stamped, etc.).  However, the documentation must be rejected if the "printed 
name" is left blank. 
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B. 1. A current odometer reading is required on a duplicate or lost in transit application 
when applied for by the owner: 

 

• If the vehicle is less than 10 calendar years old and the mileage, date read and 
odometer status are missing, the application must be rejected. 

 

• If the vehicle is 10 calendar years or older, it is exempt from all odometer 
requirements.  However, the vehicle should not be automatically exempted if 
an odometer reading is available.  If current mileage, date read and odometer 
status (actual, exceeds or not actual) are shown in the odometer disclosure 
area on the duplicate application, this information should be entered when 
processing the application, unless the previous motor vehicle record was 
shown as exempt.  If the customer chooses to place the wording "exempt" 
(exempt vehicle only) for the odometer reading in lieu of the mileage, date 
read and odometer status, do not reject their paperwork.   

 

2. If a lienholder or lessor is applying for the duplicate or lost in transit, it is 
understood that the odometer reading may not be available.  Therefore, if the 
mileage, date read and odometer status are not shown on the application, the 
odometer reading and date shown on the DMS database should be brought 
forward.  If the DMS database does not show a date read, the last title issue date 
shall be used. 

 

C. When an application for a "Lien Add" transaction is submitted to a county tax collector's 
office for a motor vehicle without an odometer reading, the odometer reading and date 
read on face of the Florida Certificate of Title must be brought forward. 

 

D. Form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, can be 
used by individuals and is not limited to dealers or insurance companies.  This form 
should never be signed by the transferee (buyer) without the form being completed in 
full. 

 

E. If a motor vehicle odometer is broken, the seller must disclose this information to the 
purchaser and the certificate of title must be issued reflecting the odometer status as 
"NOT ACTUAL." 

 

F. If a motor vehicle odometer is replaced, the certificate of title must reflect the odometer 
status as "NOT ACTUAL." 

 

G. When a Florida Certificate of Title has been issued showing the odometer status as 
"EXEMPT," it can be corrected to show the “actual mileage” reading as long as a reading 
was placed on the certificate of title at the time of each sale and the chain of odometer 
readings was not broken. 

 

H. Scenario:  A Florida Certificate of Title has been issued showing the odometer 
status as "EXEMPT."  However, the new purchaser wants their title issued with a 
current reading.  Is this acceptable? 

 

Answer:   Yes.  As long as the title is being issued with the odometer status as “NOT 
ACTUAL MILEAGE.” 

 

I. Low speed electric vehicles are exempt from the odometer disclosure laws.  However, 
full size electric vehicles require an odometer disclosure. 
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J. Form HSMV 82091, Reassignment Supplement to a Certificate of Title, can only be used 
for motor vehicles that are exempt from the federal and state odometer disclosure laws. 

 

K. If a vehicle is 10 calendar years or older, it is exempt from all odometer requirements.  
However, a vehicle should not be automatically exempted if an odometer reading is 
available.  If current mileage, date read, and odometer status (actual, exceeds or not 
actual) are shown in the odometer disclosure/declaration area on the title ("Transfer of 
Title By Seller" section) and/or the application for title, this information should be 
entered when processing the application, unless the previous motor vehicle record was 
shown as exempt.  If there is an odometer error on the title and accompanying paperwork 
and the customer requests that the vehicle be marked as exempt, rather than obtaining 
corrected odometer disclosures/affidavits, this request should be noted in the "Comment 
Desc." field and the transaction processed as exempt.  If the customer chooses to place 
the wording "exempt" for the odometer reading in lieu of the mileage, date read, and 
odometer status, or leaves the odometer reading blank, do not reject their paperwork 
since the odometer reading is not required on an exempt vehicle. 

 

L. Scenario:  Vehicle is traded in to a dealership.  The title is with the lienholder due to a 
recorded lien on the title.  A form HSMV 82995 is completed by the customer and the 
dealership at the time of sale, showing the current odometer reading.  When the title is 
received, the clerk transfers the odometer information to the title; however, he/she enters 
an incorrect reading, which does not match the reading on the HSMV 82995.  What is 
needed to correct this error? 

 

Answer:  The title, form HSMV 82995 showing the correct information, and a letterhead 
affidavit from the dealership explaining the error. 

 

M. Scenario:  Vehicle is traded in to a dealership.  Customer has a title signed over to him, 
which was never transferred in his name.  He submits the title to the dealership and 
completes a form HSMV 82995 at the dealership.  Can the dealership use the form 
HSMV 82995 to transfer the information to the title when it is received? 

 

Answer:  No.  The form HSMV 82995 would not be acceptable in this situation.  This 
situation does not meet the criteria of "title not available for endorsement," as 
the title should be in the customer's name prior to trading it in. 

 

N. Motorcycles With No Odometer (Rebuilt/reconstructed): 
 

 1. If a non-exempt (less than 10 years old) motorcycle does not have an odometer, 
show 999,999 "Not Actual Mileage" for the odometer reading. 

 

2. If an exempt (10 years or older) motorcycle does not have an odometer, show 
"exempt" for the odometer reading. 

 

O. When an application is received and the current record indicates 999,999 Not Actual, and 
the record needs to be corrected to indicate actual mileage, the following must be 
submitted: 

 

1. An affidavit from seller stating why the odometer reading showed 999,999 not 
actual. 

 

2. An affidavit from the purchaser stating what action was taken to show current 
odometer reading. 

 

3. Form HSMV 82993 or 82994 to show current reading. 
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P. Any entity selling mopeds OR selling motorcycles with a motor displacement of 50 CC's 

or less is NOT required to obtain a dealer's license.  Therefore, since the entity is not a 
licensed dealer, it would be exempt from the requirements of having the customer 
complete an odometer disclosure statement at the time of sale.  However, the odometer 
disclosure on the MCO must be completed.  It is also suggested that a form HSMV 82993 
be completed by both the seller and the buyer. 

 
Q. If an out-of-state title has been issued showing an incorrect odometer reading on the face 

of the title, the error must be corrected in that state prior to being submitted to Florida. 
   

R. If an out-of-state title (for an exempt vehicle) has been issued showing no odometer 
reading on the face of the title, the Florida title must be issued as exempt.  However, the 
customer has the option to return the title back to the previous state for correction. 

   
S. If an out-of-state title (for a non-exempt vehicle) has been issued showing no odometer 

reading or status on the face of the title, the error must be corrected in that state prior to 
being submitted to Florida. 

 
T. If a customer has moved to Florida from out of state and applies for a Florida title, using 

the out of state title (non-exempt vehicle) previously issued in their name, they must 
provide a current odometer reading on the form HSMV 82040 or HSMV 82042, in lieu of 
using the old reading shown on the out of state title. 

 
U. Flowcharts are attached to this procedure as Exhibits A, B, and C. 

 

V. A "Definitions" page is attached as Exhibit D. 
 

W. "Frequently Asked Questions With Answers" is attached as Exhibit E. 
 

X. See Forms Appendix for a sample of the HSMV forms referred to in this procedure. 
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EXHIBIT A 
 

NEW MOTOR VEHICLES 
 
 

        Conforming MCO Completed MCO* 
 
    To Dealer   Non-Conforming MCO 82994 
 
Florida 
Dealer 
        Conforming MCO  Completed MCO** or 
            MCO and completed  
            82994, and 82040 
    To Retail Purchaser            or 82041 
 
        Non-Conforming MCO Completed MCO,  
            82040 or 82041 
            and 82994 
 
 
 

Conforming MCO Completed MCO, or 
MCO and a copy of the 
odometer disclosure 
statement from the out 
of state dealer and 
82040 or 82041 

              
Individual with 
vehicle from 
out-of-state 
Dealer  

Non-Conforming MCO Completed MCO,  
         82040 or 82041 and a 

copy of the 
 odometer disclosure 
 statement from 
 the out-of- State 
 dealer 
 
 
 
* For dealer to dealer reassignments, 82091 or 82994 may be used to supplement MCO when 
 reassignment space is not available on MCO. 
 
** For dealer to retail purchaser reassignment, 82994 may be used to supplement MCO when reassignment 
 space is not available on MCO or the MCO is not available. 
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USED MOTOR VEHICLES 
FLORIDA TITLE 

 
      Conforming  Reassignment section of certificate of title  
         completed  
 
    Florida Dealer 
          to Dealer 
      Non-Conforming Reassignment section completed and a copy 
         of the odometer disclosure statement or  
         82993 or 82994  
 
      Conforming  Reassignment section of title completed  
         and 82040 or 82041    
               
    Florida Dealer 
       to Retail 
      Purchaser   Non-Conforming Reassignment section completed and a copy 
         of the odometer disclosure statement or 
 82993 
         or 
         82994 and 82040, 82041 or "Application for 
         Title by Purchaser" section, completed on  
         the Florida title 
 
Florida Title 
 
      Conforming  "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title  
         completed and 82040 or 82041  
               
              
     Individual 
     Casual Sale    
      
      Non-Conforming "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title  
         completed, and 82040 or 82041 (82993  
         exchanged between parties) 
 
       
      Conforming  "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title  
         completed and 82363 
 
    Insurance 
    Company 
      Non-Conforming "Transfer of Title by Seller" section on title  
         completed, and 82363 (82993 exchanged  
         between parties) 
 
    Salvage 
 

    Self Insured    82363  
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USED MOTOR VEHICLES 
OUT-OF-STATE TITLE 

 
       Conforming  Reassignment section of title   
          completed 
 
   Florida Dealer 
      to Dealer 
       Non-Conforming 82994 completed 
  
        
 
        
       Conforming  Reassignment section of title   
          completed and 82040 
   Florida Dealer 
      to Retail 
     Purchaser  
       Non-Conforming 82040 or 82041, 82042 and 82994 
 
 
   Individual from Out-of-State Dealer   82040 or 82041, 82042 and a  
          copy of the odometer disclosure  
          statement from the out-of- 
          state dealer 
 
Out-of-State 
     Title  Individual, No Transfer    82040 or 82041 and 82042 
 
 
   Individual Casual Sale    82040 or 82041, 82042 and   
          82993 exchanged between   
          parties 
 
 
       Conforming  82040 or 82041, 82042 and   
          82363 
 
     Insurance 
     Company 
       Non-Conforming 82040 or 82041, 82042, 82363  
          and 82993 exchanged between  
          parties 
   Salvage Title 
      
     Self-Insured    82040 or 82041, 82042 and 82363 
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EXHIBIT D 
 

DEFINITIONS 
 
 
 
ALTERATION: A strike over, erasure, ink over, white out or any other method of change to an 

odometer disclosure statement or odometer declaration. 
 
CONFORMING:  A document containing an odometer disclosure statement as required by federal 

law. 
 
DECLARATION:  An odometer verification statement signed by the owner of the motor vehicle. 
 
DISCLOSURE:  An odometer verification statement requiring the transferor to state the odometer 

information and the transferee to acknowledge the statement. 
 
DISCREPANCY: Any error involving a current or prior odometer reading. 
 
NON-CONFORMING: A document that does not contain all the elements of a federal odometer 

disclosure statement. 
 
OMISSION:   Any part of a required statement that has been left out. 
 
TRANSFEREE:  Buyer. 
 
TRANSFEROR:  Seller. 
 
UNCERTIFIED:  Some states brand the title "Uncertified" because a sale did not take place and an 

odometer disclosure did not have to be made.  Some examples are: vehicle 
coming into their state with no ownership change, repossession, and when 
following deceased instructions. 
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EXHIBIT E 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS WITH ANSWERS 
 

Question #1 
What is the difference between an odometer disclosure and odometer declaration? 
 
Answer: 
Odometer Disclosure: An odometer verification statement requiring the transferor to state the odometer 

information and the transferee to acknowledge the statement. 
 
    Example:  An odometer disclosure is on the conforming MCO, conforming title,  
            form HSMV 82994, and form HSMV 82995. 
Odometer Declaration: An odometer verification statement signed by the owner of the motor vehicle. 
 
    Example:  An odometer declaration is on the form HSMV 82040 and form  
            HSMV 82041. 
 
Question #2 
When is a motor vehicle transaction exempt from odometer disclosure requirements? 
 
Answer: 
1. Any motor vehicle that is ten calendar years or older as of January 1 of the current year. 
2. Any motor vehicle that is not self propelled. 
3. Any motor vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 16,000 pounds. 
4. Any new motor vehicle, covered by an MCO, transferred between dealers (dealer swaps). 
 
Question #3 
When may a form HSMV 82995, Motor Vehicle Power of Attorney/Odometer Disclosure, be used for a non-
exempt motor vehicle transaction? 
 
Answer: 
Federal and state law prohibits an individual who has been appointed as attorney in fact from acting as both 
transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer) for the purpose of completing odometer disclosure statements in 
conjunction with the transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle unless a secure power of attorney form is used. 
 
The department adopted form HSMV 82995 (secure power of attorney) to be used only when an individual 
appointed as the attorney in fact is acting as both transferor (seller) and transferee (buyer) for the purposes of 
completing the odometer disclosure in conjunction with the transfer of a motor vehicle in specified situations.  
They are: 
 
1. When the certificate of title is physically held by the lienholder and is not available for endorsement by 
 the seller for the purpose of transferring ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer disclosure. 
2. When the certificate of title has been lost or destroyed and is not available for endorsement by the seller 
 for the purpose of transferring ownership of the motor vehicle and odometer disclosure. 
 

Question #4 
When may a form HSMV 82053, Power of Attorney for a Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel be used for a 
non-exempt motor vehicle transaction? 
 

Answer: 
The form may be used by an individual appointed as attorney in fact when completing an odometer disclosure 
statement as transferor (seller) only or transferee (buyer) only. 
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EXHIBIT E (Page 2, cont.) 
 
Question #5 
May the seller or buyer use the form HSMV 82053 to appoint a licensed motor vehicle dealer or his employees 
as attorney in fact for a non-exempt motor vehicle transaction? 
 
Answer: 
No.  The seller or buyer cannot lawfully use the form HSMV 82053 to appoint a licensed motor vehicle dealer 
or his employee as attorney in fact to execute an odometer disclosure in their behalf.  The individual appointed 
must be an independent third party who is not associated with the dealership in any capacity.  A licensed motor 
vehicle dealer, including his employees, is considered one legal entity. 
 
Scenario:  John Smith owns five different franchises, each with separate dealer licenses.  The title work for all 
five franchises is completed in one location.  When a "third party" is needed to sign as power of attorney, John 
Smith Honda would let the title clerk for John Smith Toyota sign as power of attorney.  The title clerk for John 
Smith Toyota does not work for John Smith Honda. 
 
Question #6 
Because John Smith is the owner of all five franchises, does this mean the title clerk from John Smith's 
franchises cannot sign as a third party on a form HSMV 82053 in this manner? 
 
Answer: 
The title clerk can not sign as the third party because they work for John Smith who owns all five franchises. 
 
Scenario:  John Smith only has one dealer license with DBA's (doing business as) and the third party works for, 
and is paid by, one of the DBA companies under the same dealer's license. 
 
Question #7 
Could the title clerk sign as a legitimate "third party"? 
 
Answer: 
No.  The individual appointed as an independent third party must not be associated with the dealership in any 
capacity. 
 
Question #8 
When a dealer sells a vehicle to a lease company, can the lessee sign for the lease company without a power of 
attorney? 
 
Answer: 
No.  If the lessee is signing for the lease company, a general power of attorney or a form prescribed by the 
department must be submitted showing the name of the lessee and clearly specifying the lessee's authority. 
 
Scenario:  A dealer sells a vehicle to a lease company and the conforming MCO is not available at the time of 
sale. 
 
Question #9 
Can a person from the dealership sign the form HSMV 82994 as seller and another person from the dealership 
sign as purchaser for the lease company using a general power of attorney or form HSMV 82053? 
 
Answer: 
No.  The individual appointed as an independent third party must not be associated with the dealership in any 
capacity. 
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Question #10  
Can a leasing company give the lessee a general power of attorney to sign the odometer disclosure statement 
and the dealer a general power of attorney to sign the odometer declaration?  
 
Answer:  
Yes.  The general power of attorney must show the name of the appointee and clearly specify the appointee’s 
authority.   
 
Question #11 
Is it reasonable for a Tax Collector's office to accept the same third party name continuously as the appointee on 
form HSMV 82053 from the same dealership? 
 
Answer: 
Yes.  If the third party is not associated with the dealership.  No.  If the third party is associated with the 
dealership in any way.  If you are suspicious about a transaction, notify your local Division of Motorist Services 
Regional office.  They will contact the dealership to verify the information in question. 
 
Question #12 
When a dealership is named as power of attorney in Part A on the form HSMV 82995, does the person signing 
for the dealership in Part A also have to sign in Part C? 
 
Answer: 
 
No.  Since the dealership was named and not an individual with the dealership, the person signing for the 
dealership in Part C may be different than the person who signed for the dealership in Part A. 
 
The person in Part C would be the individual to transfer the information to the actual certificate of title after it is 
received. 
 
Question #13 
If a customer is the sole owner of a dealership/company and is selling the vehicle to himself/herself, what is the 
procedure he/she would follow for the odometer disclosure? 
 
Answer: 
 
Federal and state law cites that no person may sign a disclosure statement as the buyer and seller in the same 
transaction.  However, in the case of sole ownership of a dealership/company, there is no one else available to 
sign.  Therefore, the disclosure would have to be made by the same person. 
 
Question #14 
Can a vehicle 10 years or older with no odometer reading or status on the out of state title be issued a Florida 
title with the reading shown on the odometer declaration or disclosure or must it be issued as exempt?  
 
Answer: 
The odometer reading must be shown as exempt, as there would be no unbroken chain of odometer readings. 
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Question #15 
Which odometer reading should be shown when you have more than one reading? 
Scenario:  Title comes in from New York (non-exempt); the seller and buyer complete the odometer disclosure 
on the title showing the mileage as 54,000 actual miles.  The buyer goes into the tax collector's office or license 
plate agency and has a form HSMV 82042 completed, verifying the VIN and showing the mileage as 55,000 
actual miles. 
 
Answer: 
The most current odometer reading should always be entered when processing the transaction. 
 
Question #16 
When applicable, can a form HSMV 82993 be used by a dealer in lieu of an odometer disclosure statement 
which is required by federal law? 
 
Answer: 
Yes.  The form HSMV 82993 has all of the elements required in an odometer disclosure statement. 
 
Question #17 
When a vehicle is titled in two names joined by “OR” and one owner wants to drop the co-owner and the 
vehicle is less than 10 years old (non-exempt), can the same person sign as seller and purchaser?  
 
Answer:  
Yes, the same person can sign as buyer and seller because they are disclosing the odometer information to 
themselves.   
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