
      Florida 
Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 

 PROCEDURE 
 

RS-55 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

FLEET REGISTRATION PROGRAM 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX COLLECTOR 
EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT OF HIGHWAY 
SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES FOR THOSE COMPANIES ELIGIBLE FOR FLEET LICENSE 
PLATES. 
 
 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 
  Section 320.0657, Florida Statutes, provides the authority for any owner or lessee of a fleet of 

nonapportion commercial motor vehicles to apply for fleet license plates, upon annual payment 
of tax and fees.  An additional $2 annual fleet management fee and a one-time $1.50 
manufacturing fee are also collected.  Short-term rental vehicles are excluded from the 
provisions of this section.  The Department shall establish the number of vehicles comprising a 
"FLEET". 

 
320.0605 Certificate of registration; possession required; exception--The registration certificate 
or an official copy thereof, a true copy of a rental or lease agreement issued for a motor vehicle 
or issued for a replacement vehicle in the same registration period, a temporary receipt printed 
upon self-initiated electronic renewal of a registration via the Internet, or a cab card issued for a 
vehicle registered under the International Registration Plan shall, at all times while the vehicle is 
being used or operated on the roads of this state, be in the possession of the operator thereof or 
be carried in the vehicle for which issued and shall be exhibited upon demand of any authorized 
law enforcement officer or any agent of the department, except for a vehicle registered under s. 
320.0657. 

 
  The license plates have a distinctive color and have the word "FLEET" appearing at the bottom 

and the word "FLORIDA" appearing at the top.  There are no annual validation decals or 
individual registration certificates required. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Updated pages 2 and 4 and Exhibits A and D. 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE 
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REVISION DATE 
 

02/08/13 
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 II. ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA: 
 
  A. The owner or lessee must obtain and provide a list of all vehicles registered in the 

company name that are to be in the fleet program.  If the company does not have a 
complete list of the registered vehicles they want in the fleet program, they can obtain 
(for a fee) a list from the Data Listing Unit.  The contact information is shown below: 

 
   Submit to:     Division of Motorist Services 
                         Attn: Data Listing Unit 
                         2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 91 
                         Tallahassee, FL. 32399-0500 
 
   Telephone: (850) 617-2805 (Monday – Friday, 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM) 
   Email: datalistingunit@flhsmv.gov 
 
  B. The owner or lessee must submit an application specifying the number and types of 

vehicles to be registered in the fleet (along with the FEID number of the company or the 
customer numbers assigned by FRVIS 2000 computer system) to the local county tax 
collector office for processing.  The tax collector office will identify the customer number 
that will be used and submit the application to the Division of Motorist Services to assign 
the fleet numbers.  Applications can be faxed to the Fleet Unit at 850-617-5139.  If you 
have any questions, call the Fleet Unit at 850-617-3001. 

 
  C. All fleet vehicles assigned fleet license plates must have the company's name or logo and 

unit number displayed on the vehicle so that they are easily identifiable. 
 
  D. In order to participate in the fleet program, the fleet company must have a minimum of 

200 vehicles or a minimum of 25 trailers or semitrailers used exclusively to haul 
agricultural products. 

 
  E. Fleet vehicles CANNOT be apportioned motor vehicles as defined in s. 320.01, Florida 

Statutes. 
 
 III. REGISTRATION PERIODS: 
 
  A. The initial application, which includes a complete listing of all vehicles for participation  
   in the fleet registration program, must be made 90 days prior to the expiration of the  
   current registrations. 
 
  B. Renewal information, along with any corrections, should be submitted to the   
   appropriate agency at least 60 days prior to expiration. 
 

C. Fleet registrations will expire in June or December of each year.  The expiration month 
will depend on the weight of the vehicle.   
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 IV. FEES: 
 
  A. REGISTRATION TAXES AND FEES: 
 
   1. Registration taxes and fees are paid annually and a single receipt shall be issued  
    covering the entire fleet as evidence of payment.  This payment includes an  
    additional $2.00 annual fleet management fee per vehicle and a one-time $1.50  
    manufacturing fee. 
 

2. When a company increases its fleet size, an issuance fee of $10 per vehicle will be 
charged.  This will include the $1.50 manufacturing fee. 

 
  B. DELINQUENT FEES: 
 
   Failure to renew a registration prior to the end of the month, in which the renewal 

registration is due, will impose a delinquent fee.  The delinquent fee shall be applied 
beginning on the 11th calendar day of the month succeeding the renewal period.  The 
delinquent fee shall not apply to those vehicles, which have not been required to be 
registered during the preceding registration period or as provided in s. 320.18(2).  The 
delinquent fee shall be imposed as follows: 

 

   1. License tax of $5, but not more than $25: ($5 flat). 
 

   2. License tax over $25, but not more than $50: ($10 flat). 
 

   3. License tax over $50, but not more than $100: ($15 flat). 
 

   4. License tax over $100, but not more than $400: ($50 flat). 
 

   5. License tax over $400, but not more than $600: ($100 flat). 
 

   6. License tax over $600 and up: ($250 flat). 
 
 V. RECONCILIATION: 
 
  All recipients of fleet license plates must submit annual vehicle reconciliation and   
  surrender all unassigned license plates.  Failure to comply may result in fines of up to   
  $1,000 for each occurrence or in suspension or termination from the fleet program. 
 
  A. Prior to registration renewal, the license plate agency will run an exception   
   report, which identifies administrative stops and any other exceptions. 
 
  B. The Fleet company must return all unassigned license plates to the license    
   plate agency on an annual basis. 
 
  C. Fleet companies are required to have in place an internal procedure for    
   control of vehicles. 
 
  D. The license plate agencies may conduct random checks of fleet companies.    
   Companies and vehicles to be checked are determined by the renewing    
   agency. 
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  E.  It is the responsibility of each fleet company to renew fleet vehicles in a timely   
   manner, as the department does not provide renewal notifications. 
 
  F. A more detailed investigation of a fleet company may be conducted with just   
   cause. 
 
  G. Fleet companies and license plate agencies may use the appropriate review checklist  
   (See Exhibits B and C) when conducting reviews and/or investigations. 
 
  H. Sanctions may be imposed for failure to comply with the program     
   requirements.  This may include, but not limited to: 
 
   1. Written Notice of Violation from the Division of Motorist Services. 
 
   2. Fines up to $1,000 for each occurrence. 
 
   3. Administrative stops placed on registrations to prevent renewals. 
 
   4. Suspension or termination from the program and cancellation of    
    license plates. 
 
 VI. GENERAL INFORMATION:  
 

A. The department has developed a Fleet Registration Program to facilitate registrations 
authorized by section 320.0657, Florida Statutes. 

 
  B. The license plates have a light green background with darker green alphanumeric plate 

numbers with the word "FLEET" appearing at the bottom and the word "FLORIDA" 
appearing at the top.  There are no annual validation stickers or individual registration 
certificates required. 

 
  C. The participating license plate agencies and the Division of Motorist Services will 

maintain an appropriate inventory level of new unassigned fleet license plates. 
 
  D. Participating companies will return all unassigned license plates to the participating 

license plate agencies or the Division of Motorist Services. 
 

E. Inventory codes FLR and DUR have a plate expiration date of 12/31/2099.  FRVIS 
will not indicate the license plate needs to be replaced. 

 
F. Fleet license plates are only replaced at the company’s request, due to damage, loss, 

or theft.  Replacement fees, if applicable, will be charged, 
 
  G. The "Application For Fleet Registration" is attached as Exhibit A. 
 

H. The "Fleet Company Review Checklist" is attached as Exhibit B. 
 

I. The "County Tax Collector Review Checklist" is attached as Exhibit C. 
 
J. A "FRVIS Instructions For Various Transactions" sheet is attached as Exhibit D. 
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Exhibit A 
 

Application for Fleet Registration 
 
Company 
Name:                 
 
Fleet Administrator:               
 
Fleet Administrator's 
Company Address:               
 
Florida County to be Used for Fleet Transactions:          
 
Phone number:         Fax number:        
 
Email address:                
 
Number of Heavy Trucks over 26,001 or more GVW   +       
 (Trucks will be issued dual license plates) 
 
Number of Truck Tractors or Heavy Trucks less than 26,001 GVW  +      
 
Number of trailers/semi-trailers hauling agricultural products  +       
 
Regular Fleet Vehicle +       
 
Grand Total Fleet Vehicles       =       
 
FEID or Customer Number:       
 
Fleet registrations expire in June or December each year. 
 
I have been furnished a copy of the Fleet Registration procedures and agree to abide by the terms and 
conditions as prescribed. 
 
 
           _________________ 
(Signature of Company Fleet Administrator)       (Date) 
 
 
                
(Print Name)           (Title) 
 
NOTE:  ALL FLEET VEHICLES AND TRAILERS MUST DISPLAY YOUR COMPANY NAME OR 

LOGO AND UNIT NUMBER. 
 
******************************************************************************************************************* 

Interoffice use only 
 

     County     County   Agency 
Fleet Number:    Name:      Number:    Number:   
 
Reviewed by Tax Collector Representative:            
 
Accepted:  Yes     No     If no, list reason:      
 
________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Exhibit B 
 

Fleet Company Review Checklist 
 
 

Fleet Number:     Company Name:          
 

1. Current fleet registrations. 
 
Comments:                
 
                
 
 

2. Obtain listing of fleet vehicles registered. 
 
Comments:                
 
                
 
 

3. Review listing, noting the number of license plates issued, renewed, 
            transferred, disposed of and any additions. 

 
Comments:                
 
                
 

4. Obtain exception report, if any. 
 
Comments:                
 
                
 

5. Select the number of vehicles to be inspected. 
 
Comments:                
 
                
 
 

6. Determine if there are any unassigned plates. 
 
Comments:                
 
                
        
 
Reviewed by:                
     (Company) 
 
Approved by:                
      (Name) 
 
Position:          Telephone:       
 
Date:      
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Exhibit C 
 

County Tax Collector Review Checklist 
 
 
Fleet Number:     Company Name:          
 

1. Obtain and review the companies written control procedures regarding fleet vehicles. 
 
Comments:                
 
                
 

2. Ensure that the company's reconciliation procedures are adequate in the following areas: plate 
assignment, disposal, and transfer. 

 
Comments:                
 
                
 

3. Obtain and review the company's list of vehicles. 
 
Comments:                
 
                
 

4. Compare assigned license plates on vehicles being inspected to the list generated by the  
company and DHSMV, to ensure plates are properly assigned. 

 
Comments:                
 
                
 

5. Determine if there are any unassigned license plates.  If there are, ensure that they are paid for,  
properly secured and awaiting assignment to a vehicle within the fleet in the near future. 

 
Comments:                
 
                
 

6. Investigate items noted on the exception report. 
 
Comments:                
 
                
 
 
Reviewed by:                
     (County and Agency) 
 
Approved by:                
      (Name) 
 
Telephone:         Date:        
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Exhibit D 

 
FRVIS INSTRUCTIONS FOR VARIOUS TRANSACTIONS 

 
To transfer from regular plate to Fleet Plate: 
Registration, Replacement, Registration 
Enter tag number 
Accept 
Change license plate code to FLR or DUR 
Enter Fleet Number 
Enter insurance 
CR – Reason 
Comments – Fleet 
Fees 
Process 
 
Fleet Renewals: 
Registration 
E-Commerce 
Action to Take: Remove Fleet Number 
Process 
 
Action to Take: Download 
Enter Fleet Number 
Process 
 
Action to Take: Run Renewals 
Process 
 
Action to Take: Error Report 
Process 
 
Cashier 
EOD Report 
Fleet Detail Report (print 2) 1 – office; 1 – company for billing 
Fleet Summary (print 1) 
Check problems and make corrections 
Run E-Commerce renewal again 
Run Fleet Detail Report (will add to previous report) 1 – office 1 – company for billing 
 
Fleet Number Removal: 
If the company no longer needs a vehicle in the fleet, the fleet number can be removed from the 
registration.  This must be done under Registration Correction in FRVIS. 
 
Company Merger Or Name Change Or Buyout: 
Contact the Fleet Unit, Division of Motorist Services, Tallahassee, (850) 617-3001. 
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