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PROCEDURE

RS-33

SUBJECT:

COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE

DESCRIPTION AND USE:

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES WITH THE COLLECTION OF COMMERCIAL
MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE.

PROVISIONS OF LAW:

Section 320.02(5)(e), Florida Statutes, provides that upon the expiration date noted in the
cancellation notice that the department receives from the insurer, the department shall suspend
the registration, issued under this chapter or section 207.004(1), Florida Statutes, of a motor
carrier who operates a commercial motor vehicle or who permits it to be operated in this state
during the registration period without having in full force liability insurance, a surety bond, or a
valid self-insurance certificate that complies with this section. The insurer shall provide notice
to the department at the same time the cancellation notice is provided to the insured pursuant to
S. 627.7281. The department may adopt rules regarding the electronic submission of the
cancellation notice.

DEFINITIONS:

"Commercial motor vehicle™ is defined by section 320.01(25), Florida Statutes, as
any vehicle which is not owned or operated by a governmental entity, which uses
special fuel or motor fuel on the public highways, and which has a gross vehicle
weight of 26,001 pounds or more, or has three or more axles regardless of weight,
or is used in combination when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,001
pounds gross vehicle weight.

Combined Single Limit ensures that the full limit of the policy will be payable for
damages or injuries, whether there is only one damage or injury or multiple
damages and injuries where the at-fault driver is liable.

Split Level Policy identifies the maximum limit for injury and damage.

Revision(s) to this procedure: Updated Exhibit B with new bureau chief name.

EFFECTIVE DATE

REVISION DATE

Immediately 02/15/16
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RS-33 COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE
. MINIMUM COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS:

The minimum required amounts of coverage for the combined bodily liability insurance and

property damage liability insurance, as provided in section 627.7415, Florida Statutes.

A. $50,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of
26,000 pounds or more, but less than 35,000 pounds.

B. $100,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of
35,000 pounds or more, but less than 44,000 pounds.

C. $300,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of
44,000 pounds or more.

D. All commercial motor vehicles subject to regulations of the United States Department of
Transportation, Title 49 C.F.R. part 387, subpart A, for all for-hire interstate carriers or
all carriers transporting hazardous materials with vehicles having a gross vehicle weight
of 10,000 pounds or more, the minimum level is $750,000 CSL.

NOTE: A split limit policy is acceptable in lieu of the combined single limit policy only if each
of the split limits meets or exceeds the amount of the required combined limits
coverage.

E. Proof of insurance must specify Personal Injury Protection/PIP coverage in the amount of
$10,000. PIP is required in addition to any other insurance requirements and regardless
of the gross vehicle weight of the covered vehicle(s).

A standard Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) insurance policy must indicate that it
includes Personal Injury Protection (PIP), Property Damage Liability (PDL) and Bodily
Injury Liability (BIL) coverage.

NOTE: Many commercial vehicles are privately owned and operated under a lease
agreement with motor carrier companies. Lessors (owner/operators)
operate under the insurance coverage of lessees (carrier companies).

When a lessor files an application for registration for a commercial vehicle and

provides acceptable proof of purchase of the required insurance coverage and the

named insured on the proof of purchase is a lessee carrier, the applicant must also

provide evidence of insurance, under a lease arrangement, with the insured lessee.
V. ACCEPTABLE PROOF OF INSURANCE:

Unless the policy or binder is marked as “Scheduled Autos”, proof of insurance is not required to

list the specific VIN number(s) for the vehicle(s) covered. “Scheduled Auto” means specific

vehicles are insured by the policy. Therefore, if “Scheduled Auto” appears on the policy or
binder and the VIN number(s) for the vehicle(s) is not listed, the insurance document is NOT
valid.
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The following are acceptable types of proof of insurance:

A. Certificate of Liability Insurance also referred to as a COI. This form must show the
policy number and levels of insurance coverage including Personal Injury Protection
(PIP).

B. The ACORD form, which is a type of Certificate of Liability Insurance form. PIP
coverage should be shown on the ACORD form.

The ACORD form is pre-printed with a standard clause in the “Cancellation” box at the
bottom right of the form.
A sample of the ACORD form is attached as Exhibit A.

C. Certificate of self-insurance issued by the department’s Bureau of Financial
Responsibility. See Exhibit B for an example.

D. Form E, Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability.

See Exhibit C for a sample.

NOTE: Form E is NOT a departmental form. The form is determined by the National
Association of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners and promulgated pursuant to the
provisions of section 202(b)(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act. (49 U.S.C., Sec. 302
(b)(2).

NOTE: When the carrier is based in Florida, the Name of Commission is the Department of
Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

E. Proof of self-insurance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

F. Policy which provides the required coverage.

G. Insurance policy binder.

H. Certificate of insurance issued on insurance form only. This must reflect policy number
and levels of insurance.

l. Depositing a surety bond with the department issued by a surety company authorized to
do business in Florida or a combination of a surety bond and insurance policy which
satisfies the requirements of section 320.02(5)(e), Florida Statutes.

NOTE: An insurance affidavit (form HSMV 83330) is not acceptable proof of commercial

vehicle insurance.
V. Miscellaneous:

If an individual's residence is in Florida and he has a commercial vehicle titled and registered in

Florida in his name, but he leases the vehicle to a company out of state, the owner must have

Florida commercial insurance.
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EXHIBIT A

—
ACORD"  CERTIFICATE OF LIABILITY INSURANCE e

THIS CERTIFICATE IS ISSUED AS A MATTER OF INFORMATION ONLY AND CONFERS NO RIGHTS UPON THE CERTIFICATE HOLDER. THIS
CERTIFICATE DOES NOT AFFIRMATIVELY OR NEGATIVELY AMEND, EXTEND OR ALTER THE COVERAGE AFFORDED BY THE POLICIES
BELOW. THIS CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE DOES NOT CONSTITUTE A CONTRACT BETWEEN THE ISSUING INSURER(S), AUTHORIZED
REPRESENTATIVE OR PRODUCER, AND THE CERTIFICATE HOLDER.

IMPORTANT: If the certificate holder is an ADDITIONAL INSURED, the policy(ies) must be endorsed. If SUBROGATION IS WAIVED, subject to
the terms and conditions of the policy, certain policies may require an endorsement. A statement on this certificate does not confer rights to the
certificate holder in lieu of such endorsement(s).

CONTACT
PRODUCER NAME:

FAX
H (AIC, No):

INSURER(S} AFFORDINGCOVERAGE | NAICS® |

INSURED INSURER A :
INSURER B :

| INSURERD :
INSURERE :
INSURERF :
COVERAGES CERTIFICATE NUMBER: REVISION NUMBER:

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT THE POLICIES OF INSURANCE LISTED BELOW HAVE BEEN ISSUED TO THE INSURED NAMED ABOVE FOR THE POLICY PERIOD
INDICATED. NOTWITHSTANDING ANY REQUIREMENT, TERM OR CONDITION OF ANY CONTRACT OR OTHER DOCUMENT WITH RESPECT TO WHICH THIS
CERTIFICATE MAY BE ISSUED OR MAY PERTAIN, THE INSURANCE AFFORDED BY THE POLICIES DESCRIBED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL THE TERMS,
EXCLUSIONS AND CONDITIONS OF SUCH POLICIES. LIMITS SHOWN MAY HAVE BEEN REDUCED BY PAID CLAIMS.

[ ADDLSUER POLICY EFF | POLICY EXP
= TYPE OF INSURANCE INSR|WVD POLICY NUMBER (MM/DD/YYYY) (MMDODIYYYY) Luns
GENERAL LIABILITY | EACH OCCURRENCE ]
MAGE TC RENTED
COMMERCIAL GENERAL LIABILITY [ | PREMISES (£a ocourrence) | § M|
| CLAIMS-MADE | OCCUR MED EXP (Any one person) s
PERSONAL & ADV INJURY $
GENERAL AGGREGATE 5 - -
| GEN'L AGGREGATE LIMIT APPLIES PER | PRODUCTS - COMP/OP AGG | §
POLICY E?_r | Loc $
AUTOMOBILE LIABILITY | COMBINED SINGLE LIMIT s
| | (Ea accident)
ANY AUT!
— LTe BODILY INJURY (Per person) | §
Al NED AUT
[ ALLOWNEDALITOS | BODILY INJURY (Per accident) | §
|| SCHEDULED AUTOS | PROPERTY DAMAGE &
|| HIRED AUTCS | | (Per accicent) | .
NON-OWNED AUTOS 2
s
| UMBRELLALIAB OCCUR | EACH OCCURRENCE |5
| | EXCESSLIAB | | cLaims-mape | | AGGREGATE 15
DEDUCTIBLE s
RETENTION _§ | H
WORKERS COMPENSATION WC STATU- OTH-|
AND EMPLOYERS' LABILITY -— | lroRvumms! [eR| =
ANY PROPRIETOR/PARTNER/EXECUTIVE | | EL. EACH ACCIDENT $
OFFICERMEMBER EXCLUDED? [:I NIA|
(Mandatory in NH) E.L. DISEASE - EA EMPLOYEE §
i yes. gescrion undar |
DESCRIPTION OF OPERATIONS below E.L. DISEASE - POLICY LIMIT | §
I

DESCRIPTION OF OPERATIONS / LOCATIONS / VEHICLES (Attach ACORD 101, Additional Remarks Schedule, if more space is required)

CERTIFICATE HOLDER CANCELLATION

SHOULD ANY OF THE ABOVE DESCRIBED POLICIES BE CANCELLED BEFORE
THE EXPIRATION DATE THEREOF, NOTICE WILL BE DELIVERED IN
ACCORDANCE WITH THE POLICY PROVISIONS.

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE

© 1988-2009 ACORD CORPORATION. All rights reserved.
ACORD 25 (2009/09) The ACORD name and logo are registered marks of ACORD
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EXHIBIT B

Florida Department of ITighway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Division of Motorist Services
Bureau of Motorist Compliance

Certificate of Self-Insurance

TIIIS IS TO CERTIFY:
CompanyCertificateName

has furnished satisfactory evidence, pursuant to Chapter 324.171, Florida Statutes, of
possessing a net unencumbered capital for a commercial motor vehicle and will respond to
the requirements of the Florida IFinancial Responsibility Law. This certificate provides
combined limits of liability insurance of CoverageLimits for vehicles with a gross weight
as specified in Chapter 627.7415, and personal injury protection coverage, Chapter
627.733(3)(b), Florida Statutes, covering ofHeavyVehicles motor vehicles.

This certificate is valid from IssueDate through ExpirationDate and may, upon notice, be
cancelled by the Department.

T T e
Certificate Number

CommCertificate William "Ray" Graves, Chiel Burcau of Motorist Compliance
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

HSMV 740728 (1/2015)
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EXHIBIT C

Form E
UNIFORM MOTOR CARRIER BODILY INJURY AND PROPERTY
DAMAGE LIABILITY CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE

(Execute in Triplicate)

Filed with (hereinafter called Commission)
(Name of Commission)

This is to certify, that the

(Name of Company)

(hereinafter called Company) of

(Home Office Address of Company)

has issued to

(Name of Motor Carrier)

Of

(Address of Motor Carrier)

a policy or policies of insurance effective from 12:01 A.M. standard time at the address of the
insured stated in said policy or policies and continuing until cancelled as provided herein, which, by attachment of the Uniform Motor
Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Insurance Endorsement, has or have been amended to provide automobile bodily
injury and property damage liability insurance covering the obligations imposed upon such motor carrier by the provisions of the motor
carrier law of the State in which the Commission has jurisdiction or regulations promulgated in accordance therewith.

Whenever requested, the Company agrees to furnish the Commission a duplicate original of said policy or policies and all
endorsements thereon.

This certificate and the endorsement described herein may not be cancelled without cancellation of the policy to which it is attached.
Such cancellation may be effected by the Company or the insured giving thirty (30) days’ notice in writing to the State Commission,
such thirty (30) days’ notice to commence to run from the date notice is actually received in the office of the Commission.

Countersigned at

(Street Address) (City) (State) (Zip Code)

This day of ,

Authorized Company Representative
Insurance Company File No.
(Policy Number)

This form determined by the National Association of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners and Promulgated pursuant to the provisions of Section 202(b)(2) of the
Interstate Commerce Act (49 U.S.C., Sec. 302[b][2]).
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