
 
 

 
 
 
 

Florida 
Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE 
 

RS-30 

SUBJECT: 
 

INITIAL REGISTRATION FEE 
DESCRIPTION AND USE: 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES WITH THE COLLECTION OR EXEMPTION OF 
THE INITIAL REGISTRATION FEE. 

I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
Section 320.072, Florida Statutes, provides for a $225 Initial Registration Fee to be imposed 
upon the initial application for registration pursuant to s. 320.06, of every motor vehicle 
classified in s. 320.08(2), (3), and (9)(c) and (d) and for the exemptions of the fee.  The fees will 
be deposited as follows: 
• 44.5 percent into the State Transportation Trust Fund 
• 55.5 percent into the General Revenue Fund 

 

II. REQUIREMENT OF THE FEE: 
 

The $225 Initial Registration Fee must be collected when the owner does not have a license plate 
or record of a license plate registered in his or her name for a vehicle he or she previously owned 
(in Florida), to transfer to a newly acquired vehicle. 

 

III. EXEMPTION OF THE FEE: 
 

A. THE FOLLOWING CLASS CODES ARE EXEMPT FROM THE INITIAL FEE: 
 

09, 14, 36, 37, 39, 41, *42 (Motor Coach), 46, 50, 51, 53, 54, 56, 62, 65, 69, 70, 71, 76, 
77 78, 80, 83, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, and 97. 

 

NOTE: A car or truck registered with class code 91 or 95, is exempt, if the year make of the 
vehicle is 30 years old or older. 

NOTE:  *A private motor coach with class code 42 is exempt. 
 

A private motor coach is defined as:  A  vehicular unit which does not exceed the length, 
width, and height limitations provided in s. 316.515(9), Florida Statutes, is built on a self-
propelled bus type chassis having no fewer than three load-bearing axles, and is primarily 
designed to provide temporary living quarters for recreational, camping, or travel use. 

NOTE:  The Initial Registration Fee is not required on motorcycles, mopeds, or disability 
access vehicles. 

 
 

 

 

 
 Revision(s) to this Procedure: Added information to the Note on page 8. 
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STATE OF FLORIDA 
Division of Motorist Services 

 

PROCEDURE # 
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SUBJECT: 
 

INITIAL REGISTRATION FEE 
B. The Initial Registration Fee may be exempt in the following situations, unless there is an 

exception listed in part IV of this procedure. An exemption reason is required to be 
selected in the FRVIS system in order to exempt the Initial Registration Fee. 
The person claiming the exemption is not required to complete or sign a Form HSMV 
82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit (unless they are 
claiming the military exemption).  However, an employee of the tax collector’s office or 
license plate agency must complete the form and sign the lower portion verifying the 
exemption. 
The Initial Registration Fee Exempt Report, Form HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later) 
and supporting documents must be submitted with your daily transaction summary 
reports.  See DMS Procedure TL-62 for further information. 

NOTE:  Submitting Form HSMV 82002 helps the Quality Review Section to associate the 
supporting documents with records on the Initial Registration Fee Exempt Report. 

1. When applying for an original registration and proof of prior registration is 
being submitted. 
When using a prior registration to exempt the fee, the person claiming the 
exemption is not required to complete or sign the Form HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/04 
or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit (unless they are claiming 
the military exemption).  However, an employee of the tax collector’s office or 
license plate agency must complete the form and sign the lower portion verifying 
the exemption. 
Select exemption reason of "prior registration" in FRVIS.  The license plate 
number must be entered in the prior registration field in FRVIS.  When an 
override code is required, contact your Help Desk Representative. 

 

2. A Florida license plate is being transferred (or transferred and replaced) to a 
replacement motor vehicle and the Initial Registration Fee is charged. 

EXAMPLE: A license plate was registered on a class code 31 vehicle, then transferred to a 
registration on a class code 41 vehicle and then the license plate is being 
transferred back to a registration on a class code 31 vehicle. 
When using a prior registration to exempt the fee, the person claiming the 
exemption is not required to complete or sign the Form HSMV 82002 (Rev. 
11/04 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit (unless they are 
claiming the military exemption).  However, an employee of the tax 
collector’s office or license plate agency must complete the form and sign the 
lower portion verifying the exemption. 
Select exemption reason of "prior registration" in FRVIS.  The license plate 
number must be entered in the prior registration field in FRVIS.  When an 
override code is required, contact your Help Desk Representative. 

NOTE:  If proof (of prior registration) is supplied that a vehicle in the specified category of 
vehicles was previously disposed of (although the most recently disposed of vehicle for 
which the plate was assigned was not in the same specified category), it would be 
consistent with the intent of the law to allow the exemption. Section 320.072, Florida 
Statutes, does not specify a time period by which a motor vehicle must be purchased. 
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3. A transfer of ownership on a Florida Certificate of Title occurs by operation of 
law as provided by section 319.28, Florida Statutes.  Examples of operation of 
law are: inheritance, devise or bequest, order in bankruptcy, insolvency, replevin, 
attachment, execution, divorce decree, or other judicial sale or whenever a motor 
vehicle is sold to satisfy storage or repair charges or repossession, trust receipt, or 
other like agreements. The person claiming the exemption is not required to 
complete or sign the Form HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial 
Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit (unless they are claiming the military 
exemption).  However, an employee of the tax collector’s office or license 
plate agency must complete the form and sign the lower portion verifying the 
exemption. 

 
Select exemption reason of "operation of law" in FRVIS. Submit the 
documentation which validates how the vehicle was acquired. 

 
NOTE: If the motor vehicle is awarded in a divorce decree, the Initial Registration Fee is not 

due even if the person named in the decree was not on the previous registration. If the 
motor vehicle is not awarded in the decree, and the certificate of title is being 
transferred to a name not previously on the registration, the Initial Registration Fee is 
due. 

 
4. Transfer of ownership on a Florida Certificate of Title occurs from a person to a 

member of that person's immediate family. The term "immediate family", is 
defined in Section 657.002(8), Florida Statutes, to mean "parents, children, 
spouse, or surviving spouse, or any other relative by blood, marriage, or 
adoption." Therefore, parents, children, spouse, surviving spouse, stepchildren, 
and any other relative by blood, marriage, or adoption who reside in the same 
household, are exempt from paying the Initial Registration Fee. 

 
The person claiming the exemption is not required to complete or sign the Form 
HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit 
(unless they are claiming the military exemption). However, an employee of the 
tax collector’s office or license plate agency must complete the form and sign the 
lower portion verifying the exemption. 

 
Select exemption reason of "immediate family" in FRVIS.  The address for both 
the previous owner and the new owner must be the same in the FRVIS system. 
However, if the customer's address (in FRVIS) is not current, the customer must 
submit a copy of their driver license showing their current address. Their address 
must be updated in the FRVIS system. 
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5. The motor vehicle being registered is owned by and operated exclusively for the 
personal use of: 
a. Any member of the United States Armed Forces, or his/her spouse or 

dependent child, who is not a resident of this state and who is stationed in 
this state while in compliance with military orders. 
The person claiming the exemption must complete and sign Form HSMV 
82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit. 
An employee of the tax collector’s office or license plate agency must also 
complete the lower portion of the form verifying the exemption. 
The system will automatically exempt the Initial Registration Fee when 
the "Reg Use" of "Non-resident" is selected in FRVIS. Members or 
dependents will need to submit a copy of the military orders and out of 
state driver license. 

 

b. Any member of the United States Armed Forces, or his/her spouse or 
dependent child, who was not a resident of this state and who is stationed 
in this state while in compliance with military orders and is now becoming 
a resident of Florida. 

NOTE:  The prior non-resident member or his/her spouse or dependent child would qualify for 
this exemption even if the vehicle was not previously registered in Florida as a 
"Registration Only."  Some members retain an out of state license plate for their vehicle 
from their state of residence while stationed in Florida. 

The person claiming the exemption must complete and sign Form HSMV 
82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit. 
An employee of the tax collector’s office or license plate agency must also 
complete the lower portion of the form verifying the exemption. 
Select exemption reason of "military" in FRVIS. Members or dependents 
will need to submit a copy of the military orders and Florida driver 
license. 

c. Any former member of the United States Armed Forces, or his/her spouse 
or dependent child, who purchased such motor vehicle while stationed 
outside of Florida, who has separated from the Armed Forces and was not 
dishonorably discharged or discharged for bad conduct, who was a 
resident of this state at the time of enlistment and at the time of discharge, 
who continues to be a resident of Florida, and who applies for registration 
of such motor vehicle within six months after discharge. 
The person claiming the exemption must complete and sign Form HSMV 
82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit. 
An employee of the tax collector’s office or license plate agency must also 
complete the lower portion of the form verifying the exemption. 
Select exemption reason of "military" in FRVIS. Submit a copy of the 
Discharge Order (DD214) and the Florida driver license. 
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d. Any member of the United States Armed Forces, or his/her spouse or 
dependent child, who was a resident of this state at the time of enlistment, 
who continues to be a resident of Florida and who purchased a motor 
vehicle while stationed outside of Florida and is now reassigned by 
military orders to this state.  The person claiming the exemption must 
complete Form HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration 
Fee Exemption Affidavit. An employee of the tax collector’s office or 
license plate agency must also complete the lower portion of the form 
verifying the exemption. 
Select exemption reason of "military" in FRVIS. Members or dependents 
will need to submit a copy of the military orders and Florida driver 
license. 

 
e. Any spouse or dependent child of a member of the United States Armed 

Forces who loses his/her life while on active duty (submit proof of 
military death notification) or who is listed by the Armed Forces as 
"missing-in-action" (MIA) (submit proof of MIA status). Such spouse or 
child must be a resident of this state and the serviceman must have been a 
resident of this state at the time of enlistment. Registration must occur 
within one year of the notification of the serviceman's death or of his/her 
status as "missing-in-action." The person claiming the exemption must 
complete Form HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration 
Fee Exemption Affidavit. An employee of the tax collector’s office or 
license plate agency must also complete the lower portion of the form 
verifying the exemption. 

 
Select exemption reason of "military" in FRVIS. Submit the applicable 
death notification or MIA status as stated above. 

 
f. Any member of the United States Armed Forces, or his or her spouse or 

dependent child, who was a resident of this state at the time of enlistment, 
who continues to be a resident of Florida, who purchased a motor vehicle 
while stationed outside of Florida, and who continues to be stationed 
outside of Florida.  It does not make any difference where the vehicle was 
purchased. The person claiming the exemption must complete Form 
HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption 
Affidavit.  An employee of the tax collector’s office or license plate 
agency must also complete the lower portion of the form verifying the 
exemption. 

 
Select exemption reason of "military" in FRVIS. Members or dependents 
will need to submit a copy of the military orders and Florida driver 
license. 
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6. When a transfer of ownership on a Florida Certificate of Title occurs pursuant to a 
court order awarding/declaring ownership to the person. The person claiming the 
exemption is not required to complete or sign the Form HSMV 82002 (Rev. 11/04 
or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit (unless they are claiming the 
military exemption).  However, an employee of the tax collector’s office or license 
plate agency must complete the form and sign the lower portion verifying the 
exemption. 

 
Select exemption reason of "court order" in FRVIS.  Submit a copy of the court 
order. 

 
7. On a transfer of license plate when there is a name change due to a fictitious name 

change affidavit or corporate name change affidavit properly filed with the 
Department of State, pursuant to section 865.09, Florida Statutes.  The entity 
claiming the exemption is not required to complete or sign the Form HSMV 
82002 (Rev. 11/04 or later), Initial Registration Fee Exemption Affidavit (unless 
they are claiming the military exemption). However, an employee of the tax 
collector’s office or license plate agency must complete the form and sign the 
lower portion verifying the exemption. 

 
NOTE:  The definition of "fictitious name" is: Any name under which a person transacts 

business in this state, other than the person's legal name. 
 

EXAMPLE:  "Don's Tree Service" changes to "Don's Complete Outdoor Service." 
 

Select exemption reason of "administrative" in FRVIS.  Submit a copy of the 
name change affidavit from the Department of State. 
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C. The following situations are exempt from the Initial Registration Fee, but DO NOT 
require an exemption reason or form HSMV 82002: 

 
1. The transaction is a registration renewal with an existing Florida license plate 

record. 
 

2. A transfer of a Florida Certificate of Title is processed between co-owners. This 
is to be interpreted to mean that the vehicle was registered in joint ownership and 
is being transferred to one of the original co-owners shown on the title. 

 
3. A Florida license plate is being issued on a demonstrator motor vehicle for a 

manufacturer, factory branch, and factory representative or factory importer. 
 

4. When a 90-day temporarily employed license plate is issued. Refer to Procedure 
RS-41. 

 
5. When an affidavit is submitted by the owner that the registration being transferred 

is from a vehicle (not disposed of) that is not operational, is in storage, or will not 
be operated on the streets and highways of this state. 

 
6. The motor vehicle being registered is owned or exclusively operated by the state, 

county, municipal, or other governmental entity. 
 

7. The motor vehicle being registered is a "goat." A "goat" is a motor vehicle 
designed, constructed, and used principally for the transportation of citrus fruits 
within citrus groves or for the transportation of crops on farms, and which can 
also be used for the hauling of associated equipment or supplies, including 
required sanitary equipment and the towing of farm trailers. 

 
8. The motor vehicle being registered is owned and operated exclusively for the 

personal use of an owner who is eligible for one of the following license plates: 
 

DISABLED VETERAN (100%) EX-PRISONER OF WAR 
MEDAL OF HONOR MICCOSUKEE INDIAN 
SEMINOLE INDIAN TAIWANESE OFFICIAL 
X-SERIES 

 
NOTE: Each qualifying disabled veteran can only be issued one tax-free license plate. An 

additional Disabled Veteran license plate may be issued for regular registration fees. 
Also, the veteran is NOT eligible to receive the exemption of the Initial Registration 
Fee when purchasing any license plate in which a base tax is applicable. 
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IV. EXCEPTIONS TO THE EXEMPTIONS: 
 

The following exceptions to the exemptions (listed in section III. of this procedure) require the 
payment of the Initial Registration Fee, (even if a Florida license plate has been previously 
issued): 

 
A. A motor vehicle is titled/registered in an individual's name and the title is now being 

transferred to a "Trust" or other legal designation, which makes the owner an entity 
other than a natural person. The customer (trust) record must be created as a business 
customer with the TRUST flag marked with an "X" on the Customer Detail 
Maintenance screen in FRVIS 2000. 

 
NOTE:  However, if the trustee provides an affidavit stating the name of the individual who 

has the beneficial use of the vehicle, they may become the "registrant" by transferring 
their license plate to the vehicle.  The statement of beneficial use MAY be placed on 
the reverse side of form HSMV 82040 (under "Other" in the "Non-use and Other 
Certifications" section) in lieu of a separate affidavit, if applicable. In this case the 
Initial Registration Fee is not required. 

 
B. A motor vehicle registered in the name of a company, corporation, or any entity other 

than the natural person is transferred to the owner's individual name. In this instance a 
title transfer is also required. 

 
C. When an original registration is processed due to a customer stop (current license plate 

has expired and cannot be transferred). Refer to RS-50 for customer stops. 
 

NOTE:  When a customer stop exists and the current license plate can not be transferred 
(expired or within the month of expiration), the Initial Registration Fee will be due.  If 
the customer stop is cleared within 90 days and the previous license plate has been 
transferred to the replacement vehicle, this fee may be refunded. This applies when the 
replacement vehicle is purchased from a dealership or casual sale. 

 
V. REFUND OF THE INITIAL REGISTRATION FEE: 

 
A refund of the Initial Registration Fee may be granted to the registered owner who within three 
months after paying such fee, sells, transfers, or otherwise disposes of a private passenger 
automobile, any truck 5,000 pounds or less or a motor home. 

 
See DMS Procedure RS-65, Refunds for License Plates, Decals or Initial Registration Fees, for 
refund instructions. 

 
VI. MISCELLANEOUS: 

 
A "Questions and Answers Concerning Initial Registration Fee" page is attached as 
Exhibit A. 
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EXHIBIT A 
 

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS CONCERNING INITIAL REGISTRATION FEE 
 

1. QUESTION: (Scenario): A vehicle is owned by 3 people. Two of the owners are signing off their 
interest on the title to the remaining owner. The owner will be titling the vehicle in only his/her name 
and purchasing a new license plate. One of the previous owners will be keeping the prior license plate 
to transfer to his/her recently acquired vehicle.  The remaining previous owner is also purchasing a 
vehicle for which he/she will need a new license plate. Are all three of these owners exempt from the 
Initial Registration Fee? 

 

ANSWER:  The owner keeping the vehicle would be exempt based on s. 320.072 (2)(c), Florida 
Statutes, since any initial registration resulting from transfer of title between co-owners as provided in 
319.22, Florida Statutes, qualifies for exemption.  The co-owner, who is keeping the license plate to 
transfer to another vehicle would also be exempt from the fee based on section 320.072 (2)(b), Florida 
Statutes, since it was a transfer or exchange of a registration license plate from a motor vehicle that was 
disposed of to a newly acquired vehicle.  The remaining previous owner who acquired a new vehicle and 
is applying for an original license plate would NOT be exempt from the fee. 

 

2. QUESTION: (Scenario): An owner of a vehicle is deceased; their will is probated and letters of 
administration are issued naming a personal representative. Can the personal representative (of the 
estate) title and register the vehicle in their name, as an operation of law and be exempted from the 
Initial Registration Fee?  Do we not need to see the will to verify that the personal representative was 
given the vehicle in order to exempt their Initial Registration Fee? 

 

ANSWER:  The personal representative would be exempt from the Initial Registration Fee based on 
operation of law.  You would need to view a copy of the letters of administration and not a copy of the 
will. 

 

3. QUESTION: (Scenario): A customer has purchased a vehicle and wishes to transfer their license plate 
to the acquired vehicle. However, FRVIS shows license plate is on a vehicle that is still in the 
customer's name. The customer says he/she has sold the vehicle. Do we need a disposal affidavit in 
order to transfer the license plate to the new vehicle? 

 

ANSWER:  The customer must complete a form HSMV 82050, Notice of Sale of Motor vehicle, 
Mobile Home or Vessel, in order to mark the record as "sold."  This will detach the registration from the 
record. It will also release the customer of any liability concerning the disposed of vehicle. However, 
an affidavit stating the vehicle has been disposed of is acceptable. 

 

4. QUESTION: Scenario: A towing company holds a public sale (pursuant to s. 713.78, Florida Statutes), 
in order to sell some motor vehicles for unpaid towing and storage charges. An individual purchases 
one of the vehicles at the sale and will be applying for title in their name. The towing company did not 
sell the remaining vehicles and will be titling them in their name and will be applying for a license plate 
on one of them. 

 

a. Would the individual that purchased the vehicle at the sale be exempt from the initial 
registration fee? 

 

ANSWER:  No. 
 

b. Would the towing company be exempt from the Initial Registration Fee when purchasing a 
license plate for the vehicle(s) being titled in their name? 

 

ANSWER:  Yes.  The exemption reason would be "operation of law." 
 

c. If the towing company sells one of the vehicles to an individual (after they are titled in the 
towing company's name), is that purchaser exempt from the Initial Registration Fee? 

 

ANSWER:  No. 
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