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SUBJECT: 
 

CREATION OF A NEW SPECIALTY LICENSE PLATE 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES IN PROVIDING THE REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CREATION OF A NEW SPECIALTY LICENSE PLATE. 

 
I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 

 
Section 45 of Chapter 2008-176, Laws of Florida provides that, except for a specialty license 
plate proposal which has submitted a letter of intent to the Department of Highway Safety and 
Motor Vehicles before May 2, 2008, and which has submitted a valid survey, marketing strategy, 
and application fee as required by s. 320.08053, Florida Statutes, before October 1, 2008, or 
which was included in a bill filed during the 2008 Legislative Session, the Department of 
Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may not issue any new specialty license plates pursuant to 
ss. 320.08056 and 320.08058, Florida Statutes, between July 1, 2008, and July 1, 2016. 

 
Section 320.08053, Florida Statutes, provides the requirements for an organization to request the 
creation of a new specialty license plate. 
 
Section 320.08056, Florida Statutes, provides the responsibilities of this department in 
developing and issuing specialty license plates when legislation authorizes a new specialty 
license plate to be established. 

 
Legislation must be enacted to establish a new specialty license plate design.  Proposals for 
specialty license plates may only be considered by the legislature upon compliance with the 
following conditions and requirements. 

 
II. LEGISLATIVE PROCESS: 

 
The proposed legislation will be generic to be consistent with all other existing specialty license 
plates.  It will include the following general information: 
 
A. Provide for the specialty license plate to be issued to the owner or lessee of any motor 

vehicle, except vehicles that require a restricted, apportioned, motorcycle size, or dual 
(two) truck license plates pursuant to 320.08056(2), Florida Statutes. 

 
B. Specify the amount of the annual use fee and how the funds are to be expended pursuant 

to section 320.08056(3)(a)-(d), Florida Statutes. 
 

Revision(s) to this procedure: Updated Section I and Section III with updated statute numbers. 
EFFECTIVE DATE 
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C. Describe the basic design specifications of the license plate and provide for the license 

plate to be personalized. 
 

D. Provide for the department to retain an amount sufficient to defray the costs directly 
related to issuing the specialty license plate pursuant to section 320.08056(7), Florida 
Statutes. 

 
E. Specify audit requirements pursuant to section 320.08062, Florida Statutes. 
 

III. PRE-SALE VOUCHERS:   
 

Section 320.08053(2)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that within 120 days following the specialty 
license plate becoming law, the department shall establish a method to issue a specialty license 
plate voucher to allow for the presale of the specialty license plate.   

 
Section 320.08053(2)(b), Florida Statutes, provides for the following: 

 
A. Within 24 months after the presale specialty license plate voucher is established, the 

approved specialty license plate organization must record with the department a 
minimum of 1,000 voucher sales before manufacture of the license plate may commence. 

 
B. If, at the conclusion of the 24-month presale period, the minimum sales requirements 

have not been met, the specialty plate is deauthorized and the department shall 
discontinue development of the plate and discontinue issuance of the presale vouchers.  

 
C. Upon de-authorization of the license plate, a purchaser of the license plate voucher may 

use the annual use fee collected as a credit towards any other specialty license plate or 
apply for a refund on form HSMV 83363, Application For License Plate/Decal Refund.  
 

IV. SPECIALTY LICENSE PLATE DESIGN, DEVELOPMENT, MANUFACTURE AND 
DISTRIBUTION: 

 
The following provides general information concerning the design, development, 
manufacture, and distribution of a specialty license plate: 

 
A. The Division of Motorist Services is responsible for coordinating the design and 

development of the specialty license plate authorized in section 320.08053, Florida 
Statutes.   

 
B. Section 320.08056(6), Florida Statutes, provides that specialty license plates must bear 

the design required by law for the appropriate specialty license plate, and the design 
and colors must be approved by the department.  In addition, the produced specialty 
license plates may bear the imprint of numerals from 1 to 999, inclusive, capital letters 
"A" through "Z" or a combination thereof.  The department shall determine the 
maximum number of characters including both numbers and letters.  All specialty 
license plates must be of the same material and size as standard license plates. 
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C. Section 320.08056(9), Florida Statutes, provides that the organization that requested 

the specialty license plate may not request a redesign of the specialty plate unless the 
inventory of those plates has been depleted.  However, to proceed with a redesign 
request, the organization must purchase the remaining inventory of the specialty 
license plates from the department at cost. 

 
V. DE-AUTHORIZATION AND DISCONTINUATION OF A SPECIALTY LICENSE PLATE: 

 
Section 320.08056(8)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that the department shall de-authorize and 
discontinue the issuance of the specialty license plate if the number of valid specialty license 
plates falls below 1,000 plates for at least 12 consecutive months.  A warning letter shall be 
mailed to the sponsoring organization of each plate whose total number of valid specialty plate 
registrations is below 1,000.  This requirement does not apply to collegiate license plates. 

 
VI. AUDITS AND ATTESTATIONS: 

 
For specific information, instructions, and forms, refer to RS-39, Annual Audit or Report of 
Specialty License Plate and Voluntary Contribution Annual Use Fees. 
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EXHIBIT A 
 

BASIC SPECIFICATIONS FOR SPECIALTY LICENSE PLATES 
 
 
 The following basic specifications would apply to specialty license plates based on whether a center 
design or left side design graphic is used. 
 
GENERAL SPECIFICATIONS: 
 
1. The size of the license plate must be 12 inches by 6 inches. 
 
2. A four-color process is used to create the design; cyan, magenta, yellow, and black. 
   This does not include the rollcoat color for the alphanumeric.  Solid color backgrounds will not be 

accepted. 
 
3. The license plate characters will be rollcoated in basic black, blue, green or red ink.  The contrast 

between the background colors for the license plate and the license plate number must be sufficient for 
law enforcement officers to clearly read the license plate characters during day and night time hours. 

 
4. The word "FLORIDA" must be printed at the top of the license plate.  Florida must be in font Arial Bold 

and size 75 point.  The bottom words must be in font Arial Bold.  The organization can decide the size 
to ensure the fit, but it must be in Arial Bold.  A specialty license plate may bear a department approved 
graphic. 

 
5. All colors must be specified on the color printouts submitted with the requirements. 
 
CENTER DESIGN: 
 
1. The center graphic must be no larger than 2 1/2 inches wide by 3 inches high.  In addition, a specialty 

license plate may bear only one appropriate slogan at the bottom of the license plate. 
 
2. The license plate number must have three characters to the left and three to the right of the centered 

graphic design.  The license plate number is limited to six (6) digits of alpha and numeric characters. 
 
LEFT SIDE DESIGN: 
 
1. The graphic must be on the left side of the license plate and be no larger than 3 ½ inches wide and 3 

inches high.  In addition, a specialty license plate may bear only one appropriate slogan at the bottom of 
the license plate. 
 

2. The license plate number is limited to five (5) digits of alpha and numeric characters that will be printed 
to the right of the left side graphic. 
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