
      Florida 
Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE 
 
VSTL-29 

 

SUBJECT: 
 
TRANSFER OF A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR LOST OR ABANDONED PROPERTY 
OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY OR VESTED FINDER 
 

DESCRIPTION AND USE:   
 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES IN TRANSFERRING OF A VESSEL CERTIFICATE 
OF TITLE INVOLVING LOST OR ABANDONED PROPERTY OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE BY A LAW 
ENFORCEMENT AGENCY. 

 

 

 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 

Section 705.103, Florida Statutes, provides a process for law enforcement agencies 
regarding abandoned or lost property. 
 
For abandoned property, the law enforcement agency may retain any or all of the property 
for its own use or for use by the state or unit of local government, trade such property to 
another unit of local government or state agency, donate the property to a charitable 
organization, sell the property, or notify the appropriate refuse removal service. 
For lost property, the officer shall take custody and the agency shall retain custody of the 
property for 90 days.  The agency shall publish notice of the intended disposition of the 
property, as provided in this section, during the first 45 days of this time period.  The law 
enforcement agency may retain the property for use by the unit of government, trade such 
property to another unit of local government or state agency, donate the property to a 
charitable organization, surrender the property to the finder, or sell the property. 
 

Section 705.104(1), Florida Statutes, states, “Title to lost or abandoned property is hereby 
vested in the finder upon the expiration of the 90-day custodial time period specified in s. 
705.103(2)(b), provided the notice requirements of s. 705.103 have been met, unless the 
rightful owner or a lienholder claims the property within that time.” 
 

 Section 705.105, Florida Statutes, provides a procedure for law enforcement agencies 
regarding unclaimed evidence.  The agency may elect to: 

 

• retain the property for an agency's own use 
• transfer the property to another unit of state or local government 
• donate the property to a charitable organization 
• sell the property at public sale, pursuant to the provisions of s. 705.103   

 or, 
 

• if the property is not of appreciable value, the agency may elect to destroy it. 
      

Revision(s) to this Procedure:  Added information for a “vested finder.” 
EFFECTIVE DATE 

 
Immediately 

REVISION DATE 
 

08/15/13 
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Section 50.011, Florida Statutes, provides that a newspaper which is printed and published 
periodically once a week (or more often) is considered to be in general circulation. 

 
Section 50.031, Florida Statutes, provides that a newspaper of "general circulation" is a 
newspaper (business) that (at the time of publication) has been in existence for at least one 
(1) year. 

 
II. GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 

A. If an individual wants to make a claim on an abandoned vessel pursuant to section 
715.102, Florida Statutes, they must report it to a law enforcement agency.  The 
agency will conduct an investigation pursuant to 705.103, Florida Statutes.   If the 
vessel is not claimed in the process of the investigation, the agency will provide the 
finder a bill of sale and certificate of compliance/evidence of the investigation.  The 
finder would then make application for a certificate of title.  See III, C of this 
procedure. 

 
B. The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s website contains 

additional information concerning the abandoned vessel claims process for a vested 
finder (individual).  The link for their website is located at: 
http://myfwc.com/boating/waterway/derelict-vessels/claims-process-faqs/ 
 

C. The law enforcement agency may elect to provide a Certificate of Compliance to a 
purchaser in lieu of giving him/her the physical documentation (copy of notice, 
newspaper advertisement, etc.).  The Certificate of Compliance is considered 
verification the law enforcement agency has complied with the requirements in this 
procedure and is retaining the physical documentation for their records.  The 
purchaser must submit the Certificate of Compliance along with their bill of sale 
from the law enforcement agency to make application for certificate of title. 

 
D. The law enforcement agency may also elect to provide a Certificate of Compliance 

for itself in lieu of submitting the physical documentation (copy of notice, newspaper 
advertisement, etc.) with their application for title.   
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 III. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS:    

 A. If the law enforcement agency elects to SELL AT PUBLIC SALE, a vessel  as LOST 
PROPERTY OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE, the applicant must submit the 
following documentation to the tax collector’s office:    

 1. If the vessel is titled in Florida: 
   

a. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant. 

 

b. A copy of the notice (which was physically posted/placed on the vessel by the 
law enforcement officer), that was mailed certified, return receipt requested, 
to the owner and lienholder (if applicable), on or before the date of posting.  
The original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the 
certified mail, or the returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter, must 
also be submitted. 

 

 The notice physically placed on the vessel and mailed to the owner and all 
persons interested in the vessel should be in substantially the following form 
or contain this same information: 

 

NOTICE TO THE OWNER AND ALL PERSONS INTERESTED IN 
THE ATTACHED PROPERTY. 
 

This Property, to wit: (setting forth brief description) is unlawfully 
upon public property known as (setting forth brief description of 
location) and must be removed within 5 days; otherwise, it will be 
removed and disposed of pursuant to Chapter 705, Florida Statutes.  
The owner will be liable for the costs of removal, storage and 
publication of notice. 
 

Dated this:  setting forth the date of posting of notice 
 

Signed:  (setting forth name, title, address and telephone number of law 
enforcement officer). 

 

c. A copy of the newspaper advertisement showing the name of the newspaper 
and the date the advertisement was published.  The advertisement must 
include a complete description of the vessel including the make, year, and 
hull identification number, date, time and location of the sale and state that 
the sale shall be subject to any and all liens.    

 NOTE:  The advertisement must be published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the county where the sale is to be held.  The sale must 
be held at the nearest suitable place where the lost property is held or stored.  If there is no 
newspaper of general circulation in the county where the sale is to be held, the 
advertisement shall be posted at the door of the courthouse and at three other public places 
in the county at least 10 days prior to the sale.  Notice of the agency's intended disposition 
shall describe the property in a manner reasonably adequate to permit the rightful owner of 
the property to identify it. 
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d. A bill of sale on original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement 
agency to the purchaser, which provides a complete description of the vessel 
including the make, year and hull identification number and states the sale is 
subject to any and all liens. 

 
 e. Lien satisfaction(s), for any lien(s), as shown on the motor vehicle records of 

this or any other state, if applicable. 
 

f. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on an accurately 
completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 
with/without Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
 
 g. The Florida registration transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a nonuse 

affidavit. 
   
 h. Title fees. 
 
 2. If the vessel is titled out of state: 
   
 a. Verification of title and lien status issued by the Motor Vehicle Division in 

the state where the vessel was last registered.  The verification must contain a 
description of the vessel including year, make and hull identification number.  
Verification may be one of the following: 

   
 1. A computer generated printout from the out-of-state motor vehicle 

division. 
   
 2. A letter on letterhead stationery from the out-of-state motor vehicle 

division. 
   
 3. A photocopy of the current out-of-state certificate of title. 
 
 4. A copy of the teletype printout or a statement which shows the 

ownership information, lien status and the name of the law 
enforcement agency that provided the verification information. 

 
 c. When the state where the vessel was previously registered is unknown, 

submit a notarized or perjury clause affidavit signed by an authorized 
representative of the law enforcement agency stating that fact. 

 
 d. All items listed in Section III, A, 1, a-h. 
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B.  If the law enforcement agency elects to RETAIN, DONATE, SURRENDER TO 
 THE FINDER OR TRADE a vessel as LOST PROPERTY, the applicant or agency 
 must submit the following documentation to the tax collector’s office: 

 

 1. If the vessel is titled in Florida:    

a. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without  
 Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of  
 Title and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant or an  
 authorized representative of the law enforcement agency applying for  
 title. 

 

b. A copy of the notice (which was physically posted/placed on the vessel by the 
law enforcement officer), that was mailed certified, return receipt requested, 
to the owner and lienholder (if applicable), on or before the date of posting.  
The original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the 
certified mail, or the returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter, must 
also be submitted. 

 

 The notice physically placed on the vessel and mailed to the owner and all 
persons interested in the vessel should be in substantially the following form 
or contain this same information: 

 

NOTICE TO THE OWNER AND ALL PERSONS INTERESTED IN 
THE ATTACHED PROPERTY. 
 

This Property, to wit: (setting forth brief description) is unlawfully 
upon public property known as (setting forth brief description of 
location) and must be removed within 5 days; otherwise, it will be 
removed and disposed of pursuant to Chapter 705, Florida Statutes.  
The owner will be liable for the costs of removal, storage and 
publication of notice. 
 

Dated this:  setting forth the date of posting of notice 
 

Signed:  (setting forth name, title, address and telephone number of law 
enforcement officer). 

 

 c. If the value of the vessel is over $100, a copy of the newspaper advertisement 
showing the name of the newspaper and the date the advertisement was 
published.  The advertisement must be published once a week for two 
consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where 
the property was found.  The advertisement must include a complete 
description of the vessel including the make, year, and hull identification 
number and state the choice of the law enforcement agency (whether it wants 
to retain, donate, surrender or trade).     

    OR 
 

  If the value of the vessel is $100 or less, notice must be given by posting a 
description of the property at the law enforcement agency where the property 
was turned in.  The notice must be posted for two consecutive weeks in a 
public place designated by the law enforcement agency.  The notice must 
describe the property in a manner reasonably adequate to permit the rightful 
owner of the property to claim it. 

PAGE # 
TL-29-05 

 



 

STATE OF FLORIDA 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE # 
 

VSTL-29 

SUBJECT: 
 
TRANSFER OF A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR LOST OR ABANDONED PROPERTY OR 
UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY OR VESTED FINDER 

 
 

d. If applicable, a statement on original letterhead stationery from the law 
enforcement agency to the applicant, which provides a complete description 
of the vessel including the make, year and hull identification number, 
specifies that the vessel is being surrendered, traded to another unit of local 
government or state agency, or donated to the applicant and is subject to any 
and all liens. 

 
 e. Lien satisfaction(s), for any lien(s), as shown on the motor vehicle records of 

this or any other state, if applicable. 
   

f.  Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on an accurately 
 completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 
 with/without Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
 Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
NOTE:  If the agency is applying for title, it should show "Retaining pursuant to  

s. 705.103, Florida Statutes," in the sales tax area on the form HSMV 82040 or 82041. 
 
 g. The Florida registration transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a nonuse 

affidavit. 
 
 h. Title fees. 
 
 2. If the vessel is titled out of state:    

 a. Verification of title and lien status issued by the Motor Vehicle Division in 
the state where the vessel was last registered.  The verification must contain a 
description of the vessel including year, make and hull identification number.  
Verification may be one of the following: 

 

 1. A computer generated printout from the out-of-state motor vehicle 
division.    

 2. A letter on letterhead stationery from the out-of-state motor vehicle 
division.    

 3. A photocopy of the current out-of-state certificate of title. 
 

 4. A copy of the teletype printout or a statement which shows the 
ownership information, lien status and the name of the law 
enforcement agency that provided the verification information. 

 

 b. When the state where the vessel was previously registered is unknown, 
submit a notarized or perjury clause affidavit signed by an authorized 
representative of the law enforcement agency stating that fact. 

 

 c. All items listed in Section III, B, 1, a-h. 
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C. If the law enforcement agency elects to RETAIN, TRADE, DONATE OR SELL a vessel as 

ABANDONED property, the purchaser, vested finder, or agency must submit the following 
documentation to the tax collector’s office: 

 

 1. If the vessel titled in Florida: 
 

a. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant or an authorized 
representative of the law enforcement agency applying for title.    

b. A copy of the notice (which was physically posted/placed on the vessel by the 
law enforcement officer), that was mailed certified, return receipt requested, 
to the owner and lienholder (if applicable), on or before the date of posting.  
The original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the 
certified mail, or the returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter, must 
also be submitted. 

 

 The notice physically placed on the vessel and mailed to the owner and all 
persons interested in the vessel should be in substantially the following form 
or contain this same information: 

 

NOTICE TO THE OWNER AND ALL PERSONS INTERESTED IN 
THE ATTACHED PROPERTY. 
 

This Property, to wit: (setting forth brief description) is unlawfully 
upon public property known as (setting forth brief description of 
location) and must be removed within 5 days; otherwise, it will be 
removed and disposed of pursuant to Chapter 705, Florida Statutes.  
The owner will be liable for the costs of removal, storage and 
publication of notice. 
 

Dated this:  setting forth the date of posting of notice 
 

Signed:  (setting forth name, title, address and telephone number of law 
enforcement officer). 

 

c. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit from the law enforcement agency 
which states that the property constitutes abandoned property according to 
the definition provided in s. 705.101 (3), Florida Statutes.  The affidavit 
must also provide a complete description of the vessel including the make, 
year and hull identification number and state the disposition of the property 
(such as, the agency is retaining, trading, donating or selling the property). 

 
d. If sold, a bill of sale on original letterhead stationery from the law 

enforcement agency to the purchaser, which provides a complete description 
of the vessel including the make, year and hull identification number and 
states the sale is subject to any and all liens. 

 
 e. Lien satisfaction(s), for any lien(s), as shown on the motor vehicle records of 

this or any other state, if applicable. 
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f.  Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on an accurately 

completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 
with/without Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 
NOTE:  If the agency is applying for title, it should show "Retaining pursuant to  

s. 705.103, Florida Statutes," in the sales tax area on the form HSMV 82040 or 82041. 
 
 g. The Florida registration transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a nonuse 

affidavit. 
   
 h. Title fees. 
 
 2. If the vessel is titled out of state: 
 
   a. Verification of title and lien status issued by the Motor Vehicle Division in 

the state where the vessel was last registered.  The verification must contain a 
complete description of the vessel including year, make and hull 
identification number.  Verification may be one of the following: 

 
 1. A computer generated printout from the out-of-state motor vehicle 

division. 
 

2. A letter on letterhead stationery from the out-of-state motor vehicle 
division. 

 

 3. A photocopy of the current out-of-state certificate of title. 
 

4.  A copy of the teletype printout or a statement which shows the 
 ownership information, lien status and the name of the law 
 enforcement agency that provided the verification information. 

 
b. When the state where the vessel was previously registered is unknown, 

submit a notarized or perjury clause affidavit signed by an authorized 
representative of the law enforcement agency stating that fact. 

   
 d. All items listed in Section III, C, 1, a-h. 
 

D. If the law enforcement agency elects to RETAIN, TRANSFER OR DONATE the vessel 
as UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE, the applicant or agency must submit the following 
documentation to the tax collector’s office: 

 
 1. If the vessel is titled in Florida: 
   

a. A form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title 
and/or Registration, accurately completed by the applicant or agency. 
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b. A notarized or perjury clause affidavit from the law enforcement agency 

which states that the property constitutes unclaimed evidence according to 
the definition provided in Section 705.101(6), Florida Statutes, and the 
related proceedings have been over for a period of at least 60 days.  The 
affidavit must also provide a complete description of the vessel including the 
make, year and hull identification number and state the disposition of the 
evidence (such as, the agency is retaining, transferring to another unit of 
government, or donating the property). 

 
c. If transferred to another unit of state or local government, a bill of sale on 

original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement agency to the 
government agency, which provides a complete description of the vessel 
including the make, year and hull identification number and states the sale is 
subject to any and all liens. 

 

 d. Lien satisfaction(s), for any lien(s), as shown on the motor vehicle records of 
this or any other state, if applicable. 

 
e. Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on an accurately 

completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 
with/without Registration or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration.    

NOTE:  If the agency is applying for title, it should show "Retaining pursuant to  
s. 705.105, Florida Statutes," in the sales tax area on the form HSMV 82040 or 82041. 

 
 f. The Florida registration transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a nonuse 

affidavit. 
   
 g. Title fees. 
 
 2. If the vessel is titled out of state: 
 

All items listed in Section III, D, 1, a-g. 
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 III. MISCELLANEOUS: 
   

A. When a dealer/individual purchases a vessel from a law enforcement agency at a public sale, 
a certificate of title must be issued in the dealer or individual's name before the vessel can be 
sold to another person. 

 
B. If any unclaimed evidence (vessel) is not of appreciable value, the law enforcement agency 

may elect to destroy it.  The agency would NOT be required to obtain a certificate of title in 
its name prior to destroying the vessel. 

 
C. Since most abandoned property (vessel) is not of appreciable value, the law enforcement 

agency may elect to notify the appropriate refuse removal service.  The agency would NOT 
be required to obtain a certificate of title in its name prior to having the vessel removed and 
destroyed. 

 
D. A documentation check list "Law Enforcement Selling Lost Property or Unclaimed 
 Evidence at Public Sale" is attached to this procedure as Exhibit A. 

 
E. A documentation check list "Law Enforcement Retaining, Donating, Surrendering or 
 Trading Lost Property" is attached to this procedure as Exhibit B. 

 
F. A documentation check list "Law Enforcement Retaining, Trading, Donating, or Selling 
 Abandoned Property" is attached to this procedure as Exhibit C. 

 
G. A documentation check list "Law Enforcement Retaining, Transferring or Donating 
 Unclaimed Evidence" is attached to this procedure as Exhibit D. 

 
 H. A "Definitions" page is attached to this procedure as Exhibit E. 
   

I. Section 705.102, Florida Statutes, is located at; 
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/STATUTES/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Searc
h_String=&URL=0700-0799/0705/Sections/0705.102.html 

 
  J. Section 705.103, Florida Statutes, is located at:   

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/STATUTES/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Searc
h_String=&URL=0700-0799/0705/Sections/0705.103.html 

 
  K. Section 705.104, Florida Statutes, is located at: 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/STATUTES/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Searc
h_String=&URL=0700-0799/0705/Sections/0705.104.html 
 

L. Section 705.105, Florida Statutes, is located at: 
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/STATUTES/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Searc
h_String=&URL=0700-0799/0705/Sections/0705.105.html 

 
M. See Forms Appendix for a sample of the HSMV forms referred to in this procedure. 
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EXHIBIT A 

   
 

LAW ENFORCEMENT "SELLING LOST PROPERTY  
OR UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE AT PUBLIC SALE" CHECK LIST 

 
 
 FLORIDA RECORD OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
    

  _______ Verification of title/lien status or an 
affidavit stating the previous state is 
"UNKNOWN." 

   
 
 

_______ A copy of the notice sent to the owner and lienholder (if applicable) along with the   
  original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the certified mail,   
  or the returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter. 

   
_______ A copy of the newspaper advertisement. 

   
_______ The bill of sale on the original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement agency to the 

purchaser with the selling price and a complete description of the vessel. 
 

_______ Lien satisfaction(s), if applicable. 
   

_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on the form HSMV   
  82040 or 82041. 

   
_______ The Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a nonuse affidavit. 

   
_______ Title fees. 
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EXHIBIT B 

 
 

LAW ENFORCEMENT "RETAINING, DONATING, SURRENDERING TO FINDER, 
OR TRADING LOST PROPERTY" CHECK LIST 

 
 
 
 FLORIDA RECORD OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   
 

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
  _______ Verification of title/lien status or an 

affidavit stating the previous state is 
"UNKNOWN." 

 
 

_______ A copy of the notice sent to the owner and lienholder (if applicable) along with the   
  original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the certified mail,   
  or the returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter. 

 
_______ A copy of the newspaper advertisement (if value is over $100). 
 
   Or, 
 
   A copy of the posted notice (if value is $100 or less). 
 
_______ If applicable, a statement on original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement agency 

to the applicant, which provides a complete description of the vessel including the make, 
year and hull identification number; specifies that the vessel is being surrendered, traded to 
another unit of local government or state agency, or donated to the applicant and is subject to 
any and all liens. 

 
_______ Lien satisfaction(s), if applicable. 

   
_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on the form HSMV   

  82040 or 82041. 
 
_______ The Florida registration number transferred to or issued fpr the vessel, or a nonuse affidavit. 
   
_______ Title fees. 
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EXHIBIT C 

   
LAW ENFORCEMENT "RETAINING, TRADING, DONATING, OR 

SELLING ABANDONED PROPERTY" CHECK LIST 
 
 
 

   FLORIDA RECORD     OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
     

  _______ Verification of title/lien status or an 
affidavit stating the previous state is 
"UNKNOWN." 

 
_______ A copy of the notice sent to the owner and lienholder (if applicable) along with the   

  original or certified copy of the post office return receipt card for the certified mail,   
  or the returned, unclaimed, unopened, certified letter. 

   
_______ A notarized/perjury clause affidavit from the law enforcement agency stating the following: 

  
 _______ The property (must include a complete description) constitutes abandoned 

property according to the definition provided in s. 705.101(3), Florida 
Statutes. 

 
  _______ The agency is retaining, trading, donating or selling the property. 
   

_______ If sold, the bill of sale on the original letterhead stationery from the law enforcement agency 
to the purchaser. 

 
_______ Lien satisfaction(s), if applicable. 

   
_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on the form HSMV   

  82040 or 82041. 
 
_______ The Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a nonuse affidavit. 
 
_______ Title fees. 

   
NOTE:  Since most abandoned property (vessel) is not of appreciable value, the law enforcement 

agency may elect to notify the appropriate refuse removal service.  The agency would 
NOT be required to obtain a certificate of title in its name prior to having the motor vessel 
removed and destroyed. 
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EXHIBIT D 

 
 

LAW ENFORCEMENT "RETAINING, TRANSFERRING OR  
DONATING UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE" CHECK LIST 

 
 

 
 FLORIDA RECORD OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
   
 

_______ HSMV 82040 or 82041  _______ HSMV 82040 or 82041 
   
  
 

_______ A notarized/perjury clause affidavit from the law enforcement agency stating the following: 
  
 _______ The property (must include a complete description) constitutes unclaimed 

evidence according to the definition provided in s. 705.101(6), Florida 
Statutes and the related proceedings have been over for a period of at least 60 
days. 

 
  _______ The agency is retaining, transferring to another unit of    

  government or donating the property. 
   

_______ If transferred to another unit of state or local government, the bill of sale on the original 
letterhead stationery from the law enforcement agency to the purchaser. 

 
_______ Lien satisfaction(s), if applicable. 
   
_______ Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on the form HSMV 82040  

  or 82041. 
 

_______ The Florida registration number transferred to or issued for the vessel, or a nonuse affidavit. 
   

_______ Title fees. 
   

NOTE:  If a vessel is not of appreciable value, the law enforcement agency may elect to destroy it.  The 
agency would NOT be required to obtain a certificate of title in its name prior to destroying the 
vessel. 
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EXHIBIT E 

   
DEFINITIONS: 

 
ABANDONED PROPERTY All tangible personal property that does not have an identifiable owner 

and that has been disposed on public property in a wrecked, inoperative, 
or partially dismantled condition or has no apparent intrinsic value to the 
rightful owner. 

 
LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER Any person who is elected, appointed, or employed full time by any 

sheriff, any municipality, or the state or any political subdivision thereof; 
who is vested with authority to bear arms and make arrests; and whose 
primary responsibility is the prevention and detection of crime or the 
enforcement of the penal, criminal, traffic, or highway laws of the state.  
This definition includes all certified supervisory and command personnel 
whose duties include, in whole or in part, the supervision, training, 
guidance, and management responsibilities of full-time law enforcement 
officers or auxiliary law enforcement officers but does not include 
support personnel employed by the employing agency. 

 
LOCAL GOVERNMENT The board of county commissioners of a county or the commission or 

council of any municipality in the county. 
 
LOST PROPERTY All tangible personal property which does not have an identifiable owner 

and which has been mislaid on public property, upon a public 
conveyance, on premises used at the time for business purposes, or in 
parks, places of amusement, public recreation areas, or other places open 
to the public in a substantially operable, functioning condition or which 
has an apparent intrinsic value to the rightful owner. 

 
PUBLIC PROPERTY Lands and improvements owned by the Federal Government, the state, 

the county, or a municipality and includes sovereignty submerged lands 
located adjacent to the county or municipality, buildings, grounds, parks, 
playgrounds, streets, sidewalks, parkways, right-of-way and other similar 
property. 

 
UNCLAIMED EVIDENCE Any tangible personal property, including cash, NOT included within the 

definition of "contraband article," as provided in s. 932.701(2), which 
was seized by a law enforcement agency, was intended for use in a 
criminal or quasi-criminal proceeding, and is retained by the law 
enforcement agency or the clerk of the county or circuit court for 60 days 
after the final disposition of the proceeding and to which no claim of 
ownership has been made. 
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