
      Florida 
Department of Highway Safety 

and Motor Vehicles 
Division of Motorist Services 

 PROCEDURE 
 

TL-43 
 

SUBJECT: 
 

APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR A MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE 
HOME, MOTORCYCLE OR A TRAILER ASSEMBLED FROM PARTS 

 

DESCRIPTION AND USE: 
 

THIS PROCEDURE PROVIDES INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS TO ASSIST TAX 
COLLECTOR EMPLOYEES, LICENSE PLATE AGENCY EMPLOYEES, AND THE DEPARTMENT 
OF HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES IN PROCESSING APPLICATIONS FOR A 
CERTIFICATE OF TITLE TO MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE HOME, MOTORCYCLE, OR TRAILER 
ASSEMBLED FROM PARTS. 

 
 I. PROVISIONS OF LAW: 
 
  Section 319.14(1)(c)4, Florida Statutes, reads:  "Assembled from parts" means a motor   
  vehicle or mobile home assembled from parts or combined from parts of motor vehicles or  
  mobile homes, new or used.  "Assembled from parts" does not mean a motor vehicle defined as a 
  "rebuilt vehicle" in subparagraph 3, which has been declared a total loss pursuant to s. 319.30,  
  Florida Statutes. 
 
 Section 319.23, Florida Statutes, provides for the application and issuance of certificates of title 

for motor vehicles and mobile homes. 
 
 Section 319.30(3)(b), Florida Statutes, provides for the issuance of a certificate of destruction in 

lieu of a salvage unrebuildable title.  Motor vehicles or mobile homes with certificates of 
destruction (or salvage unrebuildable titles issued prior to 10/01/00) are only good for parts or 
scrap.  When such motor vehicle or mobile home is disassembled and acquired for parts, such 
parts may be used in assembly of various motor vehicles. 

 
Section 319.30(8)(c), Florida Statutes, states “For the purpose of enforcement of this section, the 
department or its agents and employees have the same right of inspection as law enforcement 
officers as provided in s. 812.055.” 

 
Section 319.32(1), Florida Statutes, provides that if an application for a certificate of title is for a 
vehicle that is required by s. 319.14(1)(b) to have a physical examination, the department shall 
charge an additional fee of $40 for the initial examination and $20 for each subsequent 
examination. 

 
Section 319.33(5), Florida Statutes, provides for any approved replacement manufacturer's 
identification number plates or serial plates or any decal to be issued by the department or any 
state. 
 
 

 
   

Revision(s) to this Procedure:    Updated the name of the form for FLT numbers on page 7, 8 & Exhibit A. 
Updated the “unit” name on pages 5, 6, & 8.  Added additional information on pages 5, 6 & 8. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

Immediately 

REVISION DATE 
 

07/23/13 
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 II. GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 
 ASPT (assembled from parts) is a designation for motor vehicles, mobile homes, motorcycles, 

trailers and off-highway vehicles that are assembled from parts of other motor vehicles, mobile 
homes, motorcycles, trailers or off-highway vehicles, new and used, and placed on an existing 
frame or a frame that is homemade.  A three-wheel motorcycle made from a motor vehicle is 
also designated as ASPT. 

 

Motor vehicles, mobile homes, motorcycles, trailers and off-highway vehicles must be in their 
completed state before applying for a certificate of title.  ASPT applications must be submitted to 
a Division of Motorist Services (DMS) Regional Office in the applicant’s region. 
 
The applicant should be prepared to give the DMS Compliance Examiner all the original 
documents, and one set of photocopies and a 5x7 or 8x10 inch envelope. 
 
If the application is rejected, the DMS Compliance Examiner will hold the paperwork until the 
reason for the rejection has been satisfied. 

 

NOTE:  An initial inspection fee of $40 will be charged; subsequent inspection fees (if 
applicable) are $20 per inspection. 

 
 III. DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED AND SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

 After the provisions of section 319.23, F.S., have been met, the following documents must be 
submitted and screened for completeness and accuracy: 

 

 The MAKE will be ASPT and the model YEAR will be the year the motor vehicle, mobile 
home, trailer, or off-highway vehicle is assembled.  An "FLA" (Florida Assigned Vehicle 
Identification Number) decal or "FLT" (Florida Assigned Trailer Number) will be assigned by a 
DMS Compliance Examiner to the motor vehicle, mobile home, or trailer when the application is 
reviewed and found to be in order.  The motor vehicle, mobile home, trailer or off-highway 
vehicle, will be branded as “assembled from parts.” 

 

 A. Using frames from motor vehicles, mobile homes and motorcycles titled in Florida or out 
of state: 

 

 1. The Florida Certificate of Title issued in the applicant's name or accurately 
assigned for transfer to the applicant.  (Once title is received, the database record 
will be marked "Cancelled (Junked)."  If a certificate of title cannot be obtained, 
see DMS Procedure TL-07. 

 
 

   or, 
 

   The out-of-state proof of ownership issued in the name of the applicant or 
 accurately assigned/completed for transfer to the applicant.  If title cannot be 
 obtained, see DMS Procedure TL-07. 

 

NOTE:  If the proof of ownership used is a certificate of destruction or salvage unrebuildable 
certificate of title (issued prior to 10/01/00), submit a bill of sale showing the vehicle 
identification number along with a photocopy of the certificate of destruction or salvage 
unrebuildable certificate of title.  (Do NOT submit the original certificate of destruction 
or salvage unrebuildable certificate of title). 

 
 

PAGE # 
TL-43-02 

 



STATE OF FLORIDA 
Division of Motorist Services 

PROCEDURE # 
 

TL-43 

SUBJECT: 
 

APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR A MOTOR VEHICLE, MOBILE 
HOME, MOTORCYCLE OR A TRAILER ASSEMBLED FROM PARTS 

 

 
2. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 

Registration, showing the new "FLA" number, which was assigned by the 
DMS Compliance Examiner. 

 
3. Form HSMV 84490, Statement of Builder, accurately completed, by the applicant 
 and the DMS Compliance Examiner. 

 
 4. The original bills of sale or receipts with name, address, and signature of the seller 

for all major component parts.  A signature is not required on a business receipt.  
The identification number for each major component part used to assemble the 
motor vehicle/motorcycle must be shown on the bill of sale/receipt for that part.  
The bill of sale or receipt for any engine must also include the year of the engine.  
Receipts/bills of sale must be in the name of the applicant/builder. 

 
a. Motor vehicle major component parts are defined as: 

   
1. Any fender, hood, and bumper. 
 
2. The cowl assembly (fire wall) (The top portion of the front part of 

an automobile body, supporting the windshield and dashboard). 
 
3. The rear quarter panel, trunk lid, door, decklid, and floor pan. 
 
4. The engine (A machine that converts energy into mechanical 

motion; the source of power). 
 
5. The frame (An open structure or rim encasing, holding or 

bordering). 
 
6. The transmission (An automotive assembly of gears and associated 

parts by which power is transmitted from the engine to a driving 
axle; a system of gears). 

 
7. The catalytic converter. 
 
8. The airbag. 

 
b. Truck major component parts are defined as all of the above listed parts 

and any truck bed, including dump, wrecker, crane, mixer, cargo box or 
any bed, which mounts to a truck frame. 
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c. Motorcycle major component parts are defined as: 
 

1. The body assembly (frame, fenders and gas tanks) or any single 
 part of the body assembly. 

 
NOTE:  Harley Davidson frames prior to 1970 do not have vehicle identification numbers.  

 Bills of sale for these frames are acceptable.  This does not include other makes. 
   

2. The engine, (A machine that converts energy into mechanical 
motion; the source of power) means cylinder block, heads, engine 
case and crank case. 

 
3. The transmission (An automotive assembly of gears and associated 

parts by which power is transmitted from the engine to a driving 
axle; a system of gears) means drive train. 

 
NOTE:  A Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) for a crankcase or transmission case 

does not do away with the requirement for a bill of sale or receipt for the engine or 
transmission. 

 
4. The front fork assembly (or any single part of the front fork 
 assembly). 

 
 5. Wheels. 
 
 d. Mobile home major component parts are defined as the frame. 
 

NOTE:  An "FLA" number will be assigned for a mobile home. 
     

5. Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on an accurately 
completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of 
Title and/or Registration. 

 
Sales tax must be collected according to the purchase price of the motor vehicle 
and the purchase price of all component part bills of sale where sales tax was not 
already collected. 

 
6. A certified weight slip for the completed vehicle, unless it is a motorcycle or a 

mobile home/trailer (HS, TV, CA, etc.) which is registered according to the length 
and not the weight. 
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7.  All title fees should be submitted to the Tax Collector’s office or the license plate 
 agency. 

 

The applicant will be given the original form HSMV 82040, the original  
form HSMV 84490 and photocopies of all bills of sale/receipts for all major 
component parts, which must be presented to the Tax Collector’s office or license 
plate agency.  The documentation will be in a 5x7 or 8x10 envelope, which has 
been sealed by the Compliance Examiner.  The examiner will place their regional 
stamp over the sealed area of the envelope.  If the seal appears to be broken, do 
not accept the documentation in the envelope.  They must be referred back to the 
Regional Office.  If the envelope is acceptable, the Tax Collector personnel must 
verify that the bills of sale submitted to them are the same number as those 
indicated on the form HSMV 84490.  At that time, the applicant can transfer or 
purchase a metal license plate.  All documentation must be submitted to the 
department by the Tax Collector’s office or License Plate Agency. 
 

When the title transaction is processed, the processing agency must enter the 
Region number of the Region inspecting the vehicle and the audit number of 
the FLA decal affixed to the vehicle or mobile home in the “Comment Desc.” 
Field.  

 

If the application is processed in the Regional Office, all documentation must be 
submitted to the department for imaging.  The mailing address is:   
 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles  
High-Speed Scanning Unit, MS# 71, Room BB01  
2900 Apalachee Parkway  
Tallahassee, Florida 3239 9-0500 

 
 B. When the frame used is homemade: 
 
 1. An affidavit stating the frame is homemade and describing the construction of the 

frame. 
 

 2. All documentation listed in Section III, A, 2-7. 
 
 C. When a motorcycle has previously been titled in another state showing the make as 

the original Manufactured Brand Name (example: HD, etc.), and the VIN shown is 
for an after market frame vehicle identification number: 
 

1.  The out-of-state proof of ownership issued in the name of the applicant, or 
accurately assigned/completed for transfer to the applicant. 

 

2. form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration, 
showing the new "FLA" number, which was assigned by the DMS Compliance 
Examiner. 

 

3.  Form HSMV 84490, Statement of Builder, accurately completed by the DMS 
 Compliance Examiner. 
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4. Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on an accurately 
completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of 
Title and/or Registration. 

 

5.  Title fees should be submitted to the Tax Collector’s office or license plate 
agency. 
 
The applicant will be given the original form HSMV 82040 and the original 
form HSMV 84490, which must be presented to the Tax Collector’s office or 
license plate agency.  The documentation will be in a 5x7 or 8x10 envelope, 
which has been sealed by the Compliance Examiner.  The examiner will place 
their regional stamp over the sealed area of the envelope.  If the seal appears to be 
broken, do not accept the documentation in the envelope.  They must be referred 
back to the Regional Office. If the Tax Collector personnel finds the envelope 
acceptable, the applicant can transfer or purchase a metal license plate for the 
motorcycle.  All documentation must be submitted to the department by the Tax 
Collector’s office or License Plate Agency. 
 

When the title transaction is processed, the processing agency must enter the 
Region number of the Region inspecting the vehicle and the audit number of 
the FLA decal affixed to the motorcycle in the “Comment Desc.” Field.  
 

If the application is processed in the Regional Office, all documentation must be 
submitted to the department for imaging.  The mailing address is:   
 

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles  
High-Speed Scanning Unit, MS# 71, Room BB01  
2900 Apalachee Parkway  
Tallahassee, Florida 3239 9-0500 

 
D. Assembled from Parts Trailers (TL body type, Weighing 2,000 pounds or more): 

   

The documentation for the trailer (TL) must be submitted to a DMS Regional Office 
servicing the area in which the applicant resides.  A temporary license plate may be 
issued by the DMS Regional office in order for the customer to transport the trailer to be 
weighed or inspected.  When issuing a temporary license plate in FRVIS, go to 
registration, original, regular, choose Menu at the top and “Create a TIN Number.” The 
system will create a TIN number, which will identify the trailer until the new FLT is 
assigned.  If found to be in order a DMS Compliance Examiner will assign an "FLT" 
number to the trailer.  The "FLT" number must be either die-cut (1/4 inch stamp) or 
welded to the trailer in a permanent and visible location, usually on the tow hitch or near 
the front portion of the trailer.  The die-cut or welded number must include the prefix 
"FLT".  The placement of the "FLT" identification number on all ASPT trailers must be 
inspected by a DMS Compliance Examiner.  If the trailer identification number is not 
legible, the certification will not be approved. 
 

NOTE:  Only trailers (TL) weighing 2,000 pounds or more are required to be titled.  Trailers 
(TL) with a net weight of 1,999 or less are not allowed to be titled. 
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 Any ASPT trailer (TL) weighing 2,000 pounds or more, which is titled according to the 
weight of the trailer will be assigned an "FLT" number.  Any trailer NOT titled according 
to the weight of the trailer (TV, CA, HS, etc.) will be assigned an "FLA" number. 
 

 The owner is responsible for the construction and safety of the trailer. 
 

 If only repairs have been made on a factory built trailer, it will not be considered an 
assembled from parts trailer. 

 

 1. The following documentation is required in order for an FLT number to be 
 assigned by the DMS Regional office: 

 

  a. Form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without 
 Registration, accurately completed by the purchaser(s). 

   

      b. An affidavit outlining the assembly process and stating the trailer is road  
     worthy. 
 

   c. An affidavit stating the frame is homemade and describing the   
  construction of the frame. 

 

 d. The original bills of sale or receipts with the name, address and signature  
  of the seller for all major component parts.  A signature is not required on  
  a business receipt. 

 
   Trailer component parts are defined as: 
   
   1. The axle (a supporting shaft or member on which a wheel or 

 wheels revolve). 
   
   2. The frame (an open structure or rim encasing, holding or 

 bordering). 
   
   3. The body (the cargo-carrying part of a trailer). 

 

NOTE:  An initial inspection fee of $40 will be charged; subsequent inspection fees (if 
applicable) are $20 per inspection. 

 
 

2. When the inspection and “Florida Trailer (FLT) Serial Number Assignment” 
form have been completed by the DMS Compliance Examiner, the applicant 
should submit the following to the Tax Collector’s office or License Plate 
Agency: 

 

 a. “Florida Trailer (FLT) Serial Number Assignment” form, showing the 
  "FLT" (Florida Licensed Trailer) number assigned to the trailer, accurately 
  completed by a DMS Compliance Examiner. 

   
  b. Original form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of Title 

 with/without Registration, accurately completed by the purchaser(s). 
   

  c. The certified weight slip for the completed trailer. 
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 d. Florida sales tax or specify the sales tax exemption information on an 
 accurately completed form HSMV 82040, Application for Certificate of 
 Title with/without Registration, or form HSMV 82041, Application for 
 Vehicle/Vessel Certificate of Title and/or Registration. 

 

 Sales tax must be collected according to the purchase price of the motor 
 vehicle and the purchase price of all component part bills of sale where 
 sales tax was not already collected. 

 

 e. Title fees. 
 

The applicant will be given the original form HSMV 82040 and “Florida 
Trailer (FLT) Serial Number Assignment” form, along with 
photocopies of all bills of sale/receipts for all major component parts, 
which must be presented to the Tax Collector’s office or License Plate 
Agency.  The documentation will be in a 5x7 or 8x10 envelope, which has 
been sealed by the Compliance Examiner.  The examiner will place their 
regional stamp over the sealed area of the envelope.  If the seal appears to 
be broken, do not accept the documentation in the envelope.  The 
customer must be referred back to the Regional Office.  If the envelope is 
acceptable, the applicant can transfer or purchase a metal license plate.  
All documentation must be submitted to the department by the Tax 
Collector’s office or License Plate Agency. 
 

When the title transaction is processed, the processing agency must 
enter the Region number of the Region inspecting the trailer. 
 

If the trailer was assigned an FLA number (instead of an FLT), the 
audit number of the FLA decal (when applicable) must be entered in 
the “Comment Desc.” Field. 
 

NOTE:  Any ASPT trailer (TL) weighing 2,000 pounds or more, which is titled according 
to the weight of the trailer will be assigned an "FLT" number.  Any trailer NOT 
titled according to the weight of the trailer (TV, CA, HS, etc.) will be assigned an 
"FLA" number. 

 
If the application is processed in the Regional Office, all documentation 
must be submitted to the department for imaging.  The mailing address is:   
 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles  
High-Speed Scanning Unit, MS# 71, Room BB01  
2900 Apalachee Parkway  
Tallahassee, Florida 3239 9-0500 

 

 IV. MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: 
 

A.  Some confusion may exist when a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) for a 
crank case or transmission case is submitted.  This MCO only covers the crank case or 
transmission case, not the engine or transmission.  Accordingly, the submission of the 
crank case or transmission case MCO does not do away with the requirement for a bill of 
sale or receipt for the engine or transmission. 
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B. Assigned "FLA" decals must be placed in the driver’s door in a conspicuous (visible) 
place for motor vehicles and as near as possible to the right side frame down tube for 
motorcycles.  The assigned decal must be placed in the main door jam, hinge side, just 
below the lower hinge on mobile homes.  Decals must not be placed on a removable part. 

 

C.  Remove the red and white decal from the clear laminate strip and affix.  Slice through the 
decal before placing the clear laminate strip on top of the decal. 

 

D. Applicants are responsible for scheduling an appointment with a DMS Compliance 
Examiner for examination of their documents. 

 

E. The odometer reading on a motor vehicle or a motorcycle that has been assembled from 
parts will be branded NOT ACTUAL MILEAGE. 

 

F. If all parts for the assembled motor vehicles, mobile homes, motorcycles or assembled 
from parts trailer are provided by the builder, the builder must take title in his name, 
before it can be sold. 

 

G. If the assembled vehicle had a prior FLA decal number that is still attached, it must be 
removed by the DMS Compliance Examiner when the new FLA decal number is 
assigned and affixed. 

 

  H. An FLA number is issued to any off-highway (OH) assembled from parts vehicle.  The 
title will reflect “ASPT” as the make and “OH” as the body type.  It will be branded as 
“assembled from parts.” 

 

I. If the applicant is a *legal resident of Florida, but resides out of state for a portion of the 
year, or is a Florida resident on active military duty out of state, the application must be 
submitted directly to the DMS Regional office serving the applicant's county of 
residence.  The applicant must comply with all requirements listed in Section II, A, 1-7 of 
this procedure.  An affidavit outlining the assembly process and stating the motor 
vehicle/motorcycle is road operable OR in the case of a mobile home, complete for 
occupancy (livable condition), may be submitted by the applicant, in lieu of his/her 
portion of the "Statement of Builder."  If the application is in order, an "FLA" decal 
number will be assigned by the DMS Regional office and mailed to a specific out of state 
law enforcement officer or military law enforcement authority in the applicant's transient 
state, along with a certification document for certifying that the "FLA" decal number has 
been properly affixed.  The certification document must be completed/signed by the out 
of state law enforcement officer or military law enforcement authority and returned to the 
DMS Regional office so the certificate of title can be issued. 

 

NOTE:  * Applicant must meet the requirement of a legal resident as defined in section 
320.01(35), Florida Statutes, as a person who has his or her principal place of 
domicile in this state for a period of more than 6 consecutive months, who has 
registered to vote in this state, who has made a statement of domicile or who has filed 
for homestead tax exemption on property in this state. 

 
If the applicant is a business, the federal identification number (FEID) is required.  If 
the motor vehicle or mobile home is registered to a business, the name and street 
address of the permanent residence of an owner of the business, an officer of the 
corporation, or an employee who is in a supervisory position is required. 
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J. If an applicant applying for a certificate of title to an assembled from parts motor vehicle 

is no longer a legal resident of the state of Florida, an FLA decal number will not be 
assigned and a Florida Certificate of Title will not be issued. 

 
K. A ten (10) day temporary license plate may be issued when a motor vehicle must be 

inspected for the purpose of applying for a Florida Certificate of Title or for registration 
purposes (Refer to RS-31 for additional information). 

   
L. When ONLY the cab (regardless of the year and make) of a motor vehicle (non-branded 

title) has been replaced, the customer must contact a DMS Regional Office for assistance.  
The motor vehicle will be considered as an ASPT.  Therefore, the title will be branded as 
an "ASPT" and an FLA decal number will be assigned. 

 
M. Any heavy truck or tractor truck with a vehicle type of TR which has  

been modified to a dump truck must be processed as an assembled from parts (ASPT) 
vehicle.  The customer must be referred to a DMS Regional Office in their county of 
residence.  The Tax Collector’s office or license plate agency should NOT perform a 
change of body/correction transaction on these vehicles.  The DMS Regional Office will 
inspect, per section 319.14(1)(b), the vehicle and all associated paperwork and if the 
vehicle is found to be in compliance, an "FLA” number will be issued.  The $40 
inspection fee and appropriate title fees will be applicable.  The DMS Regional Office 
will process a corrected certificate of title showing the make as "ASPT." 

 
N. If a customer has built a homemade dune buggy, which they state is street legal; you 

should have them contact a local DMS Regional Office for assistance. 
 
O. A customer can locate an address and telephone number for the DMS Regional Office 

assigned to their county by choosing the appropriate county at the following link: 
 

http://www.flhsmv.gov/offices/ 
 
P. A documentation check list is attached to this procedure as Exhibit A. 
 
Q. A list of Questions and Answers (Assembled From Parts) is attached as Exhibit B. 
 
R. Pictures of major component parts are attached to DMS Procedure TL-37 as Exhibit C. 

 
S. See Forms Appendix for a sample of HSMV Forms referred to in the procedure. 
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EXHIBIT A 

   
ASSEMBLED FROM PARTS CHECK LIST 

   
 FORMS 
 
 
 FLORIDA RECORD     OUT-OF-STATE RECORD 
 
 _______ Florida title or     _______ Out-of-state proof of ownership 
   alternate proof of ownership      or alternate proof of ownership 
   
 _______ HSMV 82040. 
 
 _______ HSMV 84490, Statement of Builder. 
 
 _______ Original bills of sale and/or receipts for all major component parts. 
 
 _______ Certified weight slip for motor vehicles. 
 
 _______ Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV 82040 or form HSMV 82041. 
   
 _______ All title fees. 
 
 

WHEN FRAME IS HOMEMADE 
 

   
 _______ HSMV 82040. 
 
 _______ HSMV 84490, Statement of Builder. 
 
 _______ Affidavit stating the frame is homemade and describing construction of the frame. 
   
 _______ Original bills of sale for all major component parts. 
 
 _______ Certified weight slip for motor vehicles. 
   
 _______ Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV 82040 or form HSMV 82041. 
 
 _______ Florida license plate number or non-use affidavit or mobile home decal or RP decal. 
   
 _______ All title fees. 
   
   

CHECK LIST FOR ASPT TRAILERS (weighing 2,000 pounds or more) 
 

     
 _______ Florida Trailer (FLT) Serial Number Assignment form 
   
 _______ HSMV 82040. 
 
 _______ Certified weight slip. 
   
 _______ Affidavit outlining assembly process and stating trailer is road worthy. 
   
 _______ Affidavit stating the frame is homemade and describing the construction of the frame. 
   
 _______ Bills of sale for all major component parts. 
   
 _______ Florida sales tax or specify sales tax exemption information on form HSMV 82040 or form HSMV 82041. 
   
 _______ Florida license plate or non-use affidavit. 
   
 _______ All title fees. 
 

NOTE:   An initial inspection fee of $40 will be charged; subsequent inspection fees (if applicable) 
are $20 per inspection. 
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EXHIBIT B 

 
   

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS (ASSEMBLED FROM PARTS) 
 
 

1. Q. Can I take parts from two (2) or more vehicles that have been branded as a   
  Certificate of Destruction (CD) and create an ASPT from these parts? 

   
 A. No.  However, you can take parts from three (3) or more CD vehicles to create an   
  ASPT as long as 49% or less of the parts came from a single CD vehicle. 

 
2. Q. Can I take parts from a CD and add new aftermarket or used parts to the CD vehicle 

 parts and create an ASPT? 
 

A. Yes, as long as 49% or less of the parts come from a single CD vehicle. 
 
3. Q. At what point would it be considered that I am rebuilding the CD vehicle? 
 
 A. When 50% or more of the parts used to build the ASPT came from a single CD   
  vehicle. 
 
4.  Can I take parts from a CD vehicle and utilize them on another CD vehicle and   
  create an ASPT?  (By calling it an ASPT, we are assigning a new FLA VIN and not  
  using the CD vehicle’s original VIN.) 
 
 A. No.  See Question 1 above. 
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